FB Twitter

Lychgate Cottage

Lychgate Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
5.0


A delightful cottage, ideal for walkers, with the countryside on the doorstep and easy access to the South Downs. A great base for your Sussex holiday.

Comfortable cottage in good location

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well equipped cottage, the owners have made a great deal of effort to anticipate what might be needed. There were flowers and fruit provided as well as homemade biscuits, bread and basic cooking supplies (olive oil, flour etc).

The cottage is quite small but comfortable for 2 with a nice private, sunny outside seating area.

Arrangements for access and departure could not be faulted. The owners live in the adjoining property but were not intrusive at all but were available if needed and very informative about the area.

Nice location close to the village but very quiet with a number of walks from the cottage.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay very much.




A comfy stay for 2

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days staying at this property. Dont let the fact that it is an annex put you off. It was one of the best places we have stayed in. It was just the right size for 2 and very comfotably appointed. Also handily located within walking distance of the High Street, The host had thoughtfully left locally produced bread, milk, butter, jam, marmalade, eggs, cheese, a fruit bowl - all great for breakfast or lunch, and vases of fresh flowers.



Great base for a weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked at late notice and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Marilyn was very welcoming. The cottage is cosy and well equipped and makes for an excellent base for exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside and villages.



Excellent on all counts

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Self-sufficient cottage within walking distance of eating places. Everything provided. Highly recommended. Perfect for short break or longer stay.



Highly recommended - cosy, comfortable, excellent position and more 'extras' provided than usual.

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We highly recommend staying at Lychgate Cottage. We were there over Christmas and the owners had done everything possible to make the cottage festive - lights and decorations, even Christmas presents! The cottage was warm, cosy and very comfortable, especially the pillows and duvet. Lots of extras were provided - many more than usual in our experience. And the location was perfect - we enjoyed the church bells on Christmas Eve and Christmas day.



May break

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nice cottage with good facilities and useful supply of food items on arrival. Suited us well (retired couple) - quiet, minor road noise sometimes (not night), sitting out area and encouraged to use garden by owner. Many pleasant walks from cottage door around the footpaths of Henfield. We enjoyed ourselves!



Highly recommended. Enjoy all modern conveniences in an historical Sussex village.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time. The first surprise was the thoughtful and generous welcome pack. Enjoy the delicious home-made biscuits with a cup of tea in your own private courtyard garden. The second surprise was the charming and picturesque setting in the heart of historical Henfield: an ideal base to explore the Sussex countryside and the South Downs. The cottage has everything you need for a long or short stay and the village shops are a short stroll away. We can thoroughly recommend Lychgate Cottage.
Clive and Elizabeth





Lychgate Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lychgate Cottage is very well equipped and is within a short walking distance of Henfield and all it's amenities.
The owners were welcoming and helpful and also kindly provided a very generous welcome pack.
We enjoyed our stay very much.