FB Twitter

Mallards

Mallards

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 26 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


In the heart of the Hampshire Hangers, this beautifully appointed annexe is located in one of the prettiest settings within the Hampshire Downs.

One king size bedroom.

Excellent cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mallards is an excellent cottage, comfortable and with a wonderful hostess. Beautiful surroundings. Highly recommended.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable property with friendly helpful hosts in a beautiful setting. Secluded but close enough to towns for everything one needed. Couldn't fault the accommodation.



A very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in an interesting and convenient location. Mallards was very well equipped with a pleasant living/dining area and one of the most comfortable beds we've ever had in a holiday rental.



An Enjoyable Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mallards is a clean and comfortable holiday home and a perfect base for visiting the many attractions in the area as, although it is in a secluded and peaceful location, it is only a short distance from the A3. The only small negatives were the lack of a couple of hooks on the bathroom door for our dressing gowns and the fact that the counter-top fridge was placed on the floor, making it difficult for less able people as ourselves to reach into.
We felt privileged to be allowed to share the owners lovely garden and have the use of the bird hide. Our list of birds for the week included a nuthatch, grey wagtails, coal tits and moorhens - wonderful!





Perfect fir the South Downs

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a lovely stay in this perfect little annex for two people. It is clean, well equipped and perfect for exploring the South Downs area. The owner Paula is very pleasant and there if you want any thing but otherwise leaves you alone. Would certainly recommend it to any couple wishing to explore the south die a area and would hi back there again if heading that way again.



Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay, lots of walking and cycling routes from cottage and nearby, owners were very helpful and approachable.Petersfield local town with somes and parks.



Two lovely weeks at Mallards.

Review submitted on Mon, 27 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Mallards. Paula and Dave were good hosts and really friendly. The house is a lovely annex with everything you need. The location is good too. The area is beautiful, with wonderful walks all about.
We certainly want to come back again!




A week visiting relatives in the area

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helpful friendly owners. Stay in cottages about 2 or 3 times a year. beautiful gardens we had access to. nice welcome pack.
good provision of towels. one toilet roll.
personal preference for feather/down quilt.
Everything else very good.




Lovely accommodation in a great area to explore

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mallards is a very high standard accommodation fully equipped with everything needed for an enjoyable and relaxing holiday. The location is perfect to explore Hampshire/ West Sussex and the many attractions together with the beautiful scenery of the South Downs. The owners are very welcoming and have a beautiful garden that you are able to enjoy.



Fabulous location and very comfortable

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved it so much wehave booked to go again. Great location for walking the Hampshire Hangars, Selborne area and visiting Jane Austen House Museum and Winchester. Comfortable, clean and homely base to return to after trips out.



Relaxing and quiet holidays

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in a quiet but at the same time really good accessible location.
The welcome-tray from Paula was very much appreciated. She also was very kind and helpful - we rally felt home from home and we would recommend this cottage to our freinds.




An excellent base

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm, comfortable and quiet, this is a very pleasant place to return to after a day out. The owner provides some essentials items such as bread and milk which are very welcome.



Lovely cottage in Hampshire

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely and warm and very convenient for us visiting family in Sheet. Will definately be using it again.



Mallards

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mallards is charming and our hosts Paula and David delightful. The annex had everything you could possibly need including a sewing kit! The location was peaceful and secluded yet close enough to shops and attractions. Paula introduced herself and left us alone which we appreciated. She had placed eggs, bread, butter, tea, coffee and home made scones in the kitchen for us which was a godsend after our long journey from Australia!

A most enjoyable and comfortable experience which we hope to repeat next year.

Thank you Paula.




Great place, very quiet.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The place is so well equipped,Paula has thought of everything including a welcome package of scones eggs bread milk etc.
Very peaceful surroundings but easy access to so many places of interest.
We would recommend it to anyone.




Days spent in & around Petersfield & South Downs.

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was clean, comfortable & well equipped.The annex stood in beautifully landscaped gardens which you were at liberty to wander around.The owner,Paula & husband were always on hand if needed.The location of the property was very quiet & peaceful being off the main roads,the narrowness of the lanes though one had to drive with caution.All in all a most enjoyable holiday break having discovered some excellent walks & places to visit.



The Mallards

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property is an annex to the main house, it was clean and comfortable and all on one level which suited our needs. Paula came over after we arrived and was very welcoming, she had kindly put milk in the fridge and left us some scones and jam which were much appriceated after a long journey. Information for applicences ect. were easy to find and clear as well as lots of brochures for places in the area to visit. The houses has a lovely garden which we were told we could use. Very enjoyable stay and would certainly use again if in the area and would recommend to others.



May break for 2

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our week at Steep Marsh - lovely setting in owner's beautiful gardens which one can walk around - specific small sitting out area for cottage which caught afternoon sun. Internal facilities suited us perfectly (one with mobility limitations) & place spotless - though slightly small bathroom and fridge a bit low! Nearby parking in owner's drive convenient. Helpful owners on hand for queries. Quiet despite proximity to A3 which was convenient.



Well-presented accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Clean, well-looked after annexe.
Home made scones and other provisions much appreciated. Comfortable bed.




Great base for a holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable well equipped annexe in a peaceful location. Makes a great base for visiting the local area.



A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most welcoming and well appointed property, every thing you could ask for. A friendly host and spotless accommodation.



Visiting Family

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mallards for a week while visiting our new Granddaughter. It was a great base to spend time in.



well maintained and equipped bright and airey

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
whilst we were only on a short break (4 nights) we were able to visit different places each of the 3 days. we found the accommodation roomy and bright - nicely furnished and not overloaded with ornaments etc., well equipped kitchen. everything kept to a bright and clean finish. having stayed at many holiday lets in our lifetime, we know what we are talking about. .



Perfect accommodation in a delightful part of the country.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay place was superb. Very comfortable and the area for visits outstanding we would recccomend to anybody. The local pub The Harrow is a must to see, as you're in a time warp .



Mallards is a very good place to be, with a beautiful garden and nice walkings in the surrounding

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Mallards is a nice, comfortable house with plenty of room for two. You may sit and walk in the beautiful garden of the owners. The nice place Petersfield is very easy to reach and there are several nice walks you can do in the surroundings, directly from home. Also the South Downs Way is not far away, so you can walk a part of this trail.



Very Comfortable

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay. Paula was very friendly and welcoming. The cottage had everything we needed for a comfortable stay, in a beautiful area. The bed was a little harder than we are used to, but still comfy. The kitchen is well equipped for self catering. The cottage was very clean, comfortable and private.