FB Twitter

Old Orchard

Old Orchard

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.7
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Set in the heart of this most picturesque village that nestles under the South Downs, this is just ideal accommodation for keen walkers and cyclists!

One double bedroom, one twin bedroom and one day bed suitable for a child.

A very nice bungalow by South Downs

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most welcoming accommodating and considerable host.
Bungalow in excellent condition with everything functional and in excellent working order. We had a great nice relaxing stay.
In short walking distance from some excellent South Downs walks. Brighton is an hour away; a nice country side drive especially on a rainy day.
Amenities- Tesco, Sainsbury’s & Waitrose all in 3-4 miles driving distance.
A very nice countryside retreat.




Very comfortable and clean and equipped with everything we needed plus more

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent find for an elderly mother (En-suite and all downstairs) and her adult children so that we could attend my son (her grandsons) wedding in Bury and then Houghton at the weekend.
The bungalow was a lovely place to sit and relax or use as a base to explore the local area. Car parking on site was a challenge as two large cars, but easy to park on road outside, which was only very busy at school times. The garden was very well maintained and we even managed a small daily supply of strawberries and raspberries from the front. The weather was nice enough to sit outside for quite a lot of the week.
Plenty of hot water and nice to have towel rails on at night.
Lovely local hostelries, sampled the Black Horse and Sportsman in Amberley and the Bridge towards Houghton plus the George and Dragon in Houghton and welcomed in all with good food and nice beer/wine choices.
It was a super base for us and I would recommend without hesitation.




Wonderful place in a stunning location . Highly recommended.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful property in a stunning village. Immaculately clean and comfortable. Bungalow has everything you could need. Owners are lovely. Lots of lovely places to visit nearby. Lovely village tea rooms and shop nearby . Just wonderful.



Nice Bungalow in a lovely Village

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very high-quality nice bungalow with a lovely garden. Everything you would need for a nice holiday is provided with great attention to details. Lovely decor and quality linens are to be admired.

The bathrooms are good and the shower power is excellent.

Such nice welcoming hosts who have clearly put a lot of thought into letting this property so that other people can enjoy the fruits of their labour.

We had a good time despite the things mentioned below.

Parking space is very tight unless you have a small car. It would be difficult to park a long estate or large 4x4.

It is a shame that the traffic noise, especially at night, is loud in the bedrooms. The road seems to be some sort of cut through and the speed limit is totally ignored. Noise and nuisance parking from the school in the mornings destroys any hopes of a lie-in. However, in the lounge and back garden, the noise is not so noticeable.





A peaceful place to rest

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Orchard is in a lovely village with a well stocked store and post office ran by a helpful store owner. The bungalow is situated on the edge of the village with easy access to a good B road. The quietness of the bungalow set in a lovely garden was delightful. The kitchen was well stocked to cook in. Our car is small but a larger car might have difficulties fitting in the space, but could be parked on the road. The countryside in this part of West Sussex is beautiful.



Lovely property very considerate owner

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Old Orchard is a very well appointed property in a lovely location, close to the South Downs and the River Arun, with walking options very easily available from the front door! With everything on one floor and 2 bathrooms, it was the perfect place for my 83-year old mother and I to spend Christmas. There's a log burner in the lounge, and an excellent heating and hot water system. The furnishings and décor are very appealing, and the owner could not have been more welcoming, considerate and helpful.



A short break

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our holiday at Old Orchard started with a personal introduction to the cottage/bungalow from the owner - who provided all the information we needed to make our stay simple.
The cottage/bungalow was spotless and warm and had everything we needed for our stay.
A great base for exploring some many areas of West Sussex.




A pleasant property in a convenient location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A pleasant tastefully decorated property located in Amberley within walking distance of local village store, pottery, children's playground and The Sportsman pub which we recommend for their menu and service. The property was well equipped. Although not mentioned on the website we here was a DVD player and various dvds available.



Lovely stay at this light and airy bungalow in a beautiful quiet village

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is very well equipped and very peaceful. Also light and airy with good beds and plenty of space. The bungalow feels very homely. Amberly is a stunning village with a great little play area for children just around the corner. The local shop is just up the road and provides you with anything you might need. Set in a beautiful location with plenty to see and do nearby.



Fantastic cottage - well very equipped

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic long weekend at Old Orchard. Philip was really helpful explaining how everything worked. The cottage is very well equipped - felt like home from home. Great location for Arundel and the south coast and walking out the door to the south downs way. Lovely garden too with a baby bunny much of the time we were there as well as garden birds.



Holiday accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Jan 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage was booked for my daughter and family from Australia. There was 5 of them in all and were comfortable all they needed. Owners very helpfully with letting us view in advance and explaining all about the cottage. Would reccomend.



A wonderful stay in Amberley ...

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay in this nice propriety nestled in the heart of Amberley , a little village which is full of charm with its thatched roof cottages.
We had a great holiday in this very clean and very comfortable bungalow .
The beautiful garden and the car park were fantastic bonuses .
There are many interesting places for everyone in the area such as Arundel and its famous castle and antiques shops, Petworh House with Turner's paintings , Littlehampton and Brighton Pier with the amusements for the teens ... and it does not take too long to go to London, even by car !!
Thank you so much to our hosts who did all their best to make us feel at home .
We look forward to booking this lovely bungalow again !





Fantastic retreat!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located in the beautiful and quaint village of Amberley, this bungalow has all the comforts of modern times (including broadband WiFi), in a fantastic and relaxing location. The facilities are state-of-the-art and fantastically maintained, and the attention by the owners was excellent at all times. Eating outside in the garden, while listening to the tweeting birds is just perfect.

One reason why we chose Amberley is the amount of activities at walking distance or very short car ride, including the Amberley Museum. There is a remarkably good village shop, a nice tea room and a couple of pubs not further than 10 minutes on foot. I especially recommend the Sportsman for its wonderful views of the South Downs. There's also a pottery worth visiting and a handy playground to bring your kids, and if you feel fancy you could drop by the Amberley Castle. Overall a fantastic and memorable stay!




The Old Orchard, Amberley

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our son and daughter-in-law, from Sydney, and their children stayed here and thoroughly enjoyed themselves. Very comfortable, lovely situation and they'd be happy to stay again if/when they come again.



A lovely home, beautifully decorated, well equipped and comfortable. Excellent information boxes

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Old Orchard was a home from home and a great base from which to walk the South Downs and explore Arundel and the south coast. We appreciated the generosity of the furnishing, the thoughtfulness of the facilities provided, and the clear information.
It was lovely to be able to set off on a day's walk from the front door.




Lovely bungalow...

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We only spent a few days in this very nice bungalow which is very clean , very quiet and has everything you need for a perfect holiday .We received a very warm welcome from the owner who was waiting for us after our very long journey from France .
We really appreciated it .We would love to return to this charming place .