FB Twitter

Paines Oast Cottage

Paines Oast Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 13 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.6
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


A delightful and spacious detached cottage set in the heart of the Sussex Weald on the edge of the picturesque village of East Hoathly.

One double bedroom and one sofa bed.

A very good find

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed in numerous cottages all over the UK and this one rates very highly indeed. It was exactly as described in the brochure, very comfortable and very clean. The owners were both welcoming and helpful. It proved to be an ideal centre for what we wanted with the bonus of having a good number of National Trust properties within striking distance. As an added bonus the village pub was good and served excellent meals



the prefect retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
from the initial booking via Wil, to arrival at the cottage was seamless. The directions were spot on and easy to follow on google Maps especially as we didn't have SatNav. The welcome from the property owners was very warm and the cottage was in immaculate condition, everything looked new and of high quality. The two bathrooms with one upstairs with a real bath was a bonus as was the central heating and oodles of steaming hot water. We stayed 2 weeks and thoroughly enjoyed the peace and quiet of the surrounding countryside and nearby forest walks. The local pub and corner shops were also within walking distance and overall this place was top of our list. We only wish we'd been able to book longer.



Everything was excellent and the hosts were very friendly. A great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The property filled all our needs and we were made to feel most welcome. This was a long term stay and we were made to feel as if it were our home away from home during the stay.



Perfect location

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Owners are very helpful and friendly.Cottage located in excellent position to visit a wealth of towns and attractions.Clean tidy with everything you will need.Would definately return if holidaying in sussex again.Thanks.



Nice holiday cottage with all the comfort in a pleasant village

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gite très bien équipé et douillet
Endroit intéressant pour rayonner vers la côte et les villes et villages de Brighton, Lewes, Ronottingdean, Arundel, Alfriston, Seaford
Belles balades autour du village
Belles excursions aux Seven Sisters, Devil's Dyke, Beachy Head, la lande de Ashdown forest avec sa balade de Winnie l'ourson
Nous avons visité le très beau domaine Sheffield Park et le sympathique musée Bentley avec son parc zoologique
Nous y avons passé d'agréables vacances.




Lovely cottage and location. Close to village and easy access to main road to Eastbourne/Lewes/Lond

Review submitted on Sun, 06 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Most enjoyable holiday, owners very friendly and helpful. Lovely location close to pretty village. Will definitely be returning.




A Delightful Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a thoroughly enjoyable week at Paines Oast Cottage and could not fault the accommodation. The cottage is in a very convenient location, close to the A22, on the fringe of a peaceful village, perfect for exploring much of East and West Sussex. It is ideal for a relaxing stay, well thought out, with everything you need from washing up liquid to wifi provided to a high standard. The cottage is warm, spotlessly clean and extremely comfortable. The hosts are friendly and welcoming and had generously provided basic essentials (milk, tea, coffee, wine and chocolate!). It was particularly good to know that our dog was also most welcome. We would not hesitate to recommend this super home from home. Thank you so much for our lovely holiday.



Nice Place To stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Paines Cottage is a nice place to stay ,covenient to lots of coastal towns and not too far from london. As it was rented out for two adults and two children, a double bed for us , and two singles or bunk beds for the children would have been more suitable.



Lovely coytage

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Clean and conforyable
Lovely sunny courtyard. Friendly owners.
Excellent position for forrest or beach.




a good stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable, clean and well looked after. Everything we needed was available. The hosts were very helpful and all in all a very worthwhile place to stay



Comfortable and convenient

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set in a pleasant part of Sussex, Paine's Last Cottage affords a clean, comfortable place to stay and explore the area. Every facility you could require is provided, the owners are friendly and helpful and when the weather is not a good as you might like, staying in is a cosy and pleasant experience.



Everything we could have wished for and more

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was well equipped and very comfortable. The owners were on hand if needed which proved useful when we first arrived. The downstairs shower was a bonus. No additional charges for heating and plenty of hot water at all times. Parking in front of the cottage. Thoroughly recommend this rental.



Exceeded my expectations

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean, comfortable, spaceous and nicely decorated. The driving directions from the hosts were very clear and useful. The location is excellent - you are at the edge of s small village, forest walk is outside your porch, but yet you are just off A22, which you use to access everything quickly.
Upstairs bedroom doesn't have a door, it's more like an extension from the living room, which makes it ideal, if you have kids, who are scared to sleep in a separate bedroom
in unfamiliar place. You are together and yet separated.
There's only one little downside - the fridge doesn't have a freezer, so don't stock up on frozen food.