FB Twitter

Priors Barn

Priors Barn

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 27 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.7


A stunning location and a superb finish at this beautiful barn on the edge of the Ashdown Forest.

One double bedroom.

Amazing barn conversion, comfortable, secluded, perfect!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Where to start with Priors Barn - probably one of the nicest, most peaceful stays we've had.

The barn itself is tucked away down a winding country road within Maresfield and surrounded by huge conifers, which makes it all the more peaceful and tranquil. The amount of outside space is just right with a good sized gravel drive and an amazing decking area with a small stream running below. This was the perfect place to have a coffee/breakfast in the morning, or a BBQ in the evening.

It has all the mod cons you could want, even down to an Amazon Alexa device, which was actually extremely handy to have during our stay.

The area surrounding Priors barn is beautiful, with lovely walks all around, a local pub just at the top of the road and Ashdown Forest a short drive away. The nearest (biggest) town centre I would suggest visiting for amenities is probably Uckfield, which is about a 10 minute drive away. It has everything you need from restaurants to supermarkets.

The barn itself is of the highest quality and no part of it has been overlooked. It literally has everything you could need to make you feel at home - WIFI, television (freesat), fully equipped kitchen, dishwasher/washing machine, ample floor space, log burner, wireless activated radiators (pretty cool), comfortable bed... I could go on, but this place needs to be experienced first hand in order to really appreciate it.

The owner Kip was the perfect host. We had a couple of issues during our stay, but Kip was always on the other end of the line to help us with anything we needed and the customer service he provided was prompt and always carried out to perfection.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Priors Barn and we hope to, one day in the future, be back and enjoy it all over again!

Thank you!!




Relaxing

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Extremely comfortable and clean. Very well equipped. A couple of bits of crockery were chipped but caused no problem.



Excellent holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very good holiday because the accommodation at Priors Barn was excellent. Well appointed and comfortable a real home from home. We shall look forward to visiting again.



Andrew Gardner replied 67 days ago
Thank you so much for your lovely review it really makes us all feel that what we provide at Priors Barn is really appreciated and the whole team effort is worthwhile. Hope to see you again soon. All the best Kip and The Team.

condition?

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jul 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The garden not as pictured very over grown can't see stream shame also decking in poor shape and shower area could be revamped.



Andrew Gardner replied 116 days ago
We’re sorry that you found the barn not quite up to your expectations. The photos taken are a couple of years old and the garden has matured and grown over the hot and wet summer as you would expect. We deliberately leave areas of the garden to attract wildlife but the lawns are well kept and mowed weekly. We always cut back later in the year when the wildlife areas die back and the bees and butterflies etc have gone away. The stream is perfectly visible from the decking but doesn’t flow as high as it does out of the summer months. The decking is due for some maintenance at the end of the season but is perfectly safe. Unfortunately due to the eco water system which puts cleaned waste water into the stream we cannot use anything with bleach in it as it will kill the system and so a deep clean is always done at the ends and beginning of the seasons. Our cleaner is very thorough we have never had complaints before. We pride ourselves on customer service and visited within 30 minutes to replace a smoke detector battery which was bleeping. Our housekeeper is 5 minutes away and all our phone numbers are clearing written in the ‘happy holiday’ manual. I’m not sure what more we could have done for you. I do hope you had a happy holiday though.

Have already booked for next year

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my third stay at Priors Barn and I have already booked my fourth which says it all. So quiet and peaceful yet close to main roads making it easy to get around.
Particularly delightful was the Robin redbreast who was in and out of the barn all day helping himself to my dog’s food and water and Oscar didn’t mind! We also saw several deer as we were on our morning walks which was a treat.
Kip, Jan and the neighbours were all brilliant following my mishap with the key - thank you all.




Kip Ims replied 137 days ago
Thank you so much Lesley for leaving us this great review - As you know, we always try our best to make Priors Barn the perfect get-away holiday home - see you next year - Kip, Sue and Jan

Excellent in all areas , couldn't be happier

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully, peaceful property in a superb location. Wildlife fascinating and birdsong beautiful. Property very well equipped.



Christmas stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Priors Barn over Christmas with our two dogs. Communication around booking was good. The barn itself was clean, comfortable and very well equipped. The location was great, within walking distance of a shop and a couple of pubs but very peaceful. We hope to go back again in the summer some time to make more use of the outside space.
Highly recommended




Kip replied 326 days ago
Hi Steve. Thanks for the 5 star review Sue and I really appreciate your comments and hope to see you soon at Priors Barn

A cosy, comfy hideaway in a woodland hollow.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Prior's Barn has it all: a nicely converted small agricultural barn which is perfect for 2 and which will take dogs (our 2 rogues adored it there). Very romantic and exceptionally well-appointed. The considerate hosts have thought of everything, from home comforts to IT needs. The décor is luxurious and fun. To top that, it is a very pleasant 8 min stroll to a really good village food pub and church, and a 10 min drive from a fab indian restaurant in Nutley and numerous good food pubs (try the simple but superb Gallipot Inn at Hartsfield), plus lovely Lewes with its antique shops and brewery, and numerous historic properties to visit. It is on the edge of Ashdown Forest, one of the best remaining woodlands in southern England. Enjoy!



Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Michelle, thank you so much for your fabulous review. Sue and I try so hard to keep Priors Barn looking beautiful and welcoming, we really appreciate your comments and hope to see you again soon. Cheers...Kip

One to return to

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay at Priors Barn and I have already booked for next year which says it all really. I am lucky to stay at four holiday properties a year and this has to be the best equipped of them all. The new furniture is a great improvement and everything else continues the high standards. The location is so quiet and peaceful but only a very short distance from main roads to the rest of the county. From the moment I drive through the gates on arrival I feel at home and I can tell that my greyhound feels the same. The garden is perfect, well furnished and totally secure.



Kip and Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lesley, It was great to see you again and thank you so much for the fantastic review. We’ve spent a lot of time and money on the barn this year and I’m so glad you liked the improvements. The new sofa, chair and foot stool are so comfy and brighten the barn up so much. Thanks for booking again and see you both next year.. Cheers Kip and Sue

Everything you need, plus loads more besides!

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time at Priors Barn. We were on holiday in Sussex in order to visit our daughter and new-born grandson who live nearby, but at the same time to relax and enjoy ourselves. The 'Beast from the East' caused us to be snowed in almost as soon as we arrived, but no matter - the barn was cosy and warm, especially with the wood-burner.
I don't think we have ever stayed in such a well-equipped holiday cottage. Everything you could think of has been provided plus loads more that you wouldn't have imagined! Whilst it is compact, it doesn't feel cramped, even for a fortnight of wintry weather! Indeed, we even managed to provide a comfortable Sunday lunch for the whole family (5 adults + 1) when they ventured out with the baby.
The dogs loved the enclosed garden, and with Ashdown Forest literally on the doorstep there were so many places for lovely long walks to tire them (and us) out.
Unfortunately we didn't meet the owners, which would have been nice, but their contact details are readily at hand if needed. With absolutely no problems at our end, we simply didn't need to make contact.
Would we return? Like a shot!




Kip replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Patrick, Thank you so much for your fantastic review. We do try so hard to keep Priors Barn one of the best Holiday Cottages there is and really appreciate it when we have wonderful reviews - it makes our jobs worthwhile. We do like to leave our guests to enjoy the cottage to themselves but are always on the other end of a telephone, if anything isn't ‘just right’ - we’ll be there in a flash. Thanks again I we hope to see you again in the near future. All the best - Kip and Sue.

Let down by the details

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Sofa and chair pretty uncomfortable - v deep and hard with low back with no support. Too many knick knacks so difficult to find space for our own bits esp in bedroom. Far too many cushions in bedroom nowhere to put them. Better storage needed eg bigger COD and bedside cupboards in bedroom. Unnecessary gizmos (Alexa, TV in bathroom. Another set of crockery would make dishwasher usable - not enough. No serving spoons. Plunger plug in bathroom needed numerous attempts to make it work.
But generally comfortable and warm, esp with log burner. But feel these details let it down.




Kip and Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kate, We’re so sorry you didn’t find priors barn to your liking. We do have a brand new sofa and chair arriving the first week of March so that will resolve that issue. We’ve never had issues with the barn having too many nick nacks or gadgets or storage issues but we’ll take what you say on board. The bedroom has a large four drawn chest of draws in it, 2 bedside units and a wardrobe with 2 shelves in it and there’s loads of storage in the utility room for cases etc. There’s a full set of cutlery for 6 and crockery sets for 4 plus extra serving bowls, dishes, glasses and cups and loads of cooking implements, spoons and pots and pans too so maybe you weren’t able to find them all. We have made the barn ‘homely’ which is why there are things around that we believe make it like a home from home and comfy to stay in. Once again, we’re sorry you didn’t find it your sort of place but have hundreds of very happy visitors who love it just as it is. Best wishes, Kip and Sue.

A great week

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted when we drove in, and even more so when we opened the door into the Barn. It was so welcoming and warm. Such a lovely location. Very quiet and relaxing, yet still close to everywhere we wanted to go. It was so nice to return to such a peaceful place after a day out. Don't worry if you forget anything because Kip has thought of everything, even down to a new toothbrush or a pair of reading glasses! Amazing place. We will definitely be going again.



Kip and Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jenny, Thanks you so much for your lovely review. We’re so please you loved the barn and hope to see you again very soon. We do try very hard to make it as special as possible and always appreciate feedback. All the best, Kip and Sue

Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Priors Barn is a fabulous conversion, amazingly equipped with everything you could possibly need. The location is so tranquil and quiet ( I lay in bed at night listening to the owls ) and yet within easy reach of places of interest. Kip is a fantastic host and nothing is too much trouble. My greyhound loved rummaging in the garden which is very secure. I have already booked a return visit next summer and look forward to it already!



Owner of Priors Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lesley and Oscar (the greyhound). Thank you for your lovely review. It was great to meet you and Oscar and look forward to seeing you again in ‘Summer 18’ All the best - Kip and Sue x

Small but perfectly formed

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great little barn in a beautiful location. Very well equipped and very comfortable . Loads to do in the surrounding areas and a nice little pub in walking distance. Great dog walks. Would definitely recommend this place to friends and family



Owner of Priors Barn replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for the great review - we aim to please! Hope to see you and your four legged friends again soon… Kip and Sue.

Excellent Stay at Priors Barn

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay at Priors Barn.
The barn itself is situated in a lovely quiet lane.
Priors Barn is very clean, comfortable and everything you could possibly need is included. A real home from home.
Kip, the owner is very helpful and if you have any problems there is a landline with a number to call to get assistance.
Our holiday was great value for money and we are hoping to return sometime next year for another break.
I would recommend Priors Barn to anyone for a restful break.




Kip replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Annette, Thank you so much for the fabulous review. We do try very hard with Priors Barn to make it a bit special. Hope to see you again - Thanks again - Kip and Sue..

Fantastic Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is located down a quiet lane in amongst the trees yet still with other properties close so you do not feel too remote. It is a comfy home with absolutely every need catered for, even down to headache tablets! Even when the weather is overcast it was still lovely to sit out the back on the decking and enjoy the quiet although the woodpecker and nightingales give a good chorus! Will certainly return for a rest from hectic life.



Kip replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Julie, It was great to meet you at Priors Barn and we’re so pleased you had a relaxing and peaceful stay. We’d love to see you again - maybe book for a winter break so you can snuggle up on the sofa with the log burner keeping you warm. Thank you so much for your great review - it’s so important for us to be recognised for the work we do keeping Priors Barn in Tip Top condition. ‘see you again soon’ - Kip

Summer Break

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Prior Barn is one of the best places we have ever stayed.It lies in a very peaceful and beautiful area.The cottage is full of unusual and quirky pieces which add to the charm .There is absolutely everything here.The kitchen is extremely well equipped including Italian cookbook.Furnishings and bed linen are top quality.Shower and bathroom excellent.I suppose only one slight issue is that sofa and chair are quite low and difficult to get out of if you have a touch of arthritis.But this is a minor thing.All the locals who pass by were friendly.A truly lovely experience




Kip & Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you Iain for your fabulous review. We’re so pleased you loved our Barn. We’ve tried very hard and it seems that it’s paid off. Thank you and hope to see you again…

Priors barn

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good for a quiet and peaceful holiday,which is want we wanted, dog friendly area, barn,and garden very good, Kip could not be more helpful,hope to return.



Kip Imps replied more than 1 year ago
Hi David. Thank you for your lovely review. It was a pleasure to meet you and you family and of course your lovely pooch. Hope to see you again in the near future.. Kip and Sue.

A beautiful barn conversion in an area of outstanding beauty

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This beautiful house is near amenities, but secluded. A wonderful location for people who like luxury and love nature.
We would surely recommend this property.




Kip & Sue replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Rolf, Thank you so much for your kind words. We do try very hard to keep Priors Barn looking beautiful and up to date and really appreciate your feedback. Best regards Kip and Sue

Lovely stay, great cottage, great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week here with our spaniel. Dog loved it. All home comforts and great enclosed private garden. Easy to get to South Downs and really liked the ashdown forest. We had hot weather so enjoyed sitting in the garden after a day out. Local pub did good food. Would book again.



Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review. We love having dogs at Priors Barn and, as you say, the surrounding countryside is perfect for doggy holidays. Hope to see you again - Kip and Sue.

Priors Barn, Maresfield

Review submitted on Thu, 11 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A good central location for many attractions, relaxing surrounds,shop and pub within walking distance,




A rural hide away

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This rural hide away has everything you could want, if looking for peace and solitude.
A pub - 3 mins walk away (great sunday roast)
Plenty to see and do on your doorstep, if you want to get out & about.




Beautiful converted barn

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beatifully converted barn with all the mod cons, set in a lovely location. Enjoyed 6 relaxing days taking the dog to visit the forest, local pub and attractions.



Lovely setting,

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely setting helped by a great week weather wise, only thing that let it down a little was that we found the sofa uncomfortable but that could just be because we are use to something bigger.
Had everything you could need for a stay away.




Kip replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review. Sadly the barn isn’t huge so we can only fit a 3 seater sofa and a large single chair in. We’ve not had a problem with this before but can only apologise if you found it a bit small for you. Hope to see you again soon. Kip

Lovely property in an ideal location

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just come back from a week staying at Priors Barn. Very enjoyable and relaxing week as it is in a great location and is a really lovely property. The barn is situated in a very quiet setting but where it is easy to get to everywhere from. Very comfortable and well equipped especially with cooking equipment which is a real bonus. Lots of thoughtful extras provided in case you have forgotten anything. Log burner was well used even though not an overly cold week and again everything provided to make things as easy as possible. Secluded outside space which would be ideal for relaxing in warmer weather. We will be coming back to stay again.



Review for Priors Barn - an excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this to be an excellent place to stay. We were warmly welcomed and everything was prepared and to hand. The location is very good and this is a very peaceful but not remote setting. We are already looking forward to our next stay. We had our dog and Priors barn was wonderful for him. Enclosed garden and close to lovely walks.




Kip replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the excellent review and I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was good to meet you both and your lovely dog and look forward to seeing you again at Christmas. Kip

Oh What a wonderful week

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having just returned from Priors Barn cottage we had a wonderful time there, it is ideally situated to get around the country or go to the coast, the cottage and garden are superb with everything that you want nice quiet location in the country.
If we had one thing to complain about it would be that the cottage needs new sofa's as the ones there are extremely uncomfortable.
However that is a small thing in comparison to the great week spent there




Kip replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your glowing review of Priors Barn. I am so pleased you had such a wonderful stay. We try very hard to provide everything our guests require and are always just a phone call away if anything is not up to standard. I am very sorry to hear that you found the sofa so uncomfortable. We have not had any complaints in the past about it but I did actually order new cushions last week which are being made now as I noticed they were starting to wear at the front and starting to sag. These new cushions, I'm sure, will resolve any issues regarding the comfort of the sofa as well as its appearance and will be delivered early in September. I do hope you'll visit again in the near future. Best regards, Kip