FB Twitter

Rose Cottage

Rose Cottage

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.8
Condition
5.0
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


This beautiful rural cottage is in an idyllic setting beneath Black Down, the highest point in the South Downs National Park. Come and enjoy some relaxing down time.

One king sized double bedroom and one twin bedroom.

Great holiday in beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great time in nicely renovated cottage with a somewhat difficult first floor, due to too litlle ventilation possibilities and a difficult stairway.



Andrew Gardner replied 24 days ago
Thank you for your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the cottage. It was just unfortunate that you were there at the time of some of the hottest days on record here in the south. The stairs I am afraid are quite tight in keeping with a cottage of this design. We do make mention to that in our description.

Excellent week's holiday in a top-notch cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent week's holiday! A first-class cottage: attractively decorated with good-quality fittings etc. and beautifully cared-for; we thought it would make a wonderful place to live. The main cooker is an AGA which, having never used one before, was a novel experience (there's also an electric hob for the less adventurous). There are some nice walks in the woods and countryside around Lickfold, with OS maps available in cottage. There' s also a good selection of what's-on leaflets for the local area and a shelf full of books (novels, wildlife guides and Sussex local history). We visited Uppark House & Petworth House in Sussex, and Jane Austen's cottage and Gilbert White's house just over the border in Hampshire. Best to book if you want to eat at the local pubs, at the weekend especially. The Lickfold Inn seems to have very odd opening times and was closed on three evenings during our stay. We booked this as a last-minute holiday and Amberley House Cottage Hols arranged everything very promptly and efficiently.



Wonderful country cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was looking for somewhere I could simply relax and unwind for a week and this cottage fitted the bill perfectly.

Everything I needed was there and the owner couldn’t have done more to make sure my stay was as enjoyable as possible.

Waking up in the morning, opening the doors into the garden and just listening to the birds with a cup of tea in hand was perfect

Thank you, I will be back

Simon




Wonderful Easter holiday at Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We (Family with two children) spent our Easter Holiday at Rose Cottage. Pat provided us with a warm welcome after a long journey on our arrival day.
The cottage is very cosy and excellent equipped with all interior you need for your stay. In special the AGA oven was a new experience for us. On our second day, my daughter backed fresh Scones for us.
The location of the cottage is within the South Downs national park. If you want a quiet place to relay, this is the place to be.
There are some very good pubs nearby. One is in walking distance (The Lickfold Inn) and two others (The Red Lion) / (The Hollist Arms) approx. 5-8 miles away. All of them serve good beer and very good food.
All attractions around the cottage e.g. Eastbourne, 7 Sisters Cliff, Briton, London, Stonehenge, Portsmouth are in distance on 1 - 2 hours’ drive.
We enjoyed our stay and would recommend Rose Cottage for couples and families.




A little gem

Review submitted on Fri, 03 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a find! Beautiful cozy cottage in lovely location.
Lots of thoughtful extras &
the bonus of an Aga to cook with!
We loved the surrounding woodland & there were plenty of local walks nearby.
We enjoyed a very peaceful & relaxing break.




Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely 4 days in Rose Cottage visiting Christmas fairs and a walk round Petworth Park, great cottage very clean and comfortable, lovely location would definitely recommend.



Little Gem

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely comfortable, immaculate cottage in a very convenient location. The cottage is relatively small but very very workable as a holiday cottage with every need catered for, we loved it. The only minus point were the stairs which would be a little awkward for anyone with mobility problems, we soon became used to them so not a problem. Furnishings and decor were of a very high standard and some delightful extra touches.
We thoroughly enjoyed our week there and found an amazing array of things to do in the area as well as some excellent pubs for great food. We would love to return at some point.




Rose Cottage Stay August 2018

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Friendly office staff, easy booking, comfortable accommodation, great location, everything we needed, value for money, quiet neighbourhood, great local pub with delicious food (albeit a bit pricey) and live music, handy to have washing machine to use).



Holiday in a heatwave July 2018

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cottage very nice mixture of very old ( front room, and bedrooms with 5 foot doors) Modern extension comprising kitchen, dining area and bathroom very tastefully done.
Exceptionally hot weather during our stay, but even in normal conditions an umbrella for the garden is necessary to relax, as cottage is difficult to keep cool, with no blinds to the rear facing west.
Lovely part of the country with narrow lanes and small villages, people very friendly.




Pat Moss replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review and glad to hear you enjoyed your stay, the sun umbrella is in the utility room, obviously it wasn’t noticed. It is such a shame that you did not ask as I would have been happy to point it out to you.

Rose Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A cosy attractive cottage in beautiful countryside. We really enjoyed our Easter break here and the cottage was an ideal base




New Year Break

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely few days in this well appointed cottage in a quiet location. Well situated for walking.



A little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a very well renovated and appointed cottage and is better than the photos show. Everything was spotless and we appreciated how warm and cosy the cottage felt on our arrival. The kitchen is super and had most of what we needed and we arrived to a welcome pack of tea, coffee, sugar & milk. If I do have a criticism it would have been good to have a few more condiments in the cupboard rather than just a salt & empty pepper pot but that is a small thing.

The cottage is in the middle of a beautiful cluster of villages and there are numerous fabulous pubs around, not least the wonderful Lickfold Inn which is truly in walking distance. We found everything we needed (food, logs, newspapers) in the village shop in Lodsworth and lastly the internet was perfect. A great stay and we would definitely return.




Relaxed and rested

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From when we first arrived we knew it was going to be a great holiday. Pat was very welcoming and later on in the week Nick popped round for a friendly chat and to check everything was o.k.
The cottage is beautiful with a very comfy double bed, a snug living room with a very nice wood burner which we thankfully didn't need as the weather was glorious
Sitting at the breakfast table watching the birds in the garden early in the morning was a delight as well with the only other sounds being the cows and sheep in a field a few hundred yards away
The main shower room was spacious as well and the little welcome pack on the kitchen table was a nice touch
We didn't need to use the Aga as we ate out mainly and had cold food when we got back
Would really recommend Rose Cottage either as a great base top explore Sussex or simply to relax and unwind




A little gem

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage in a lovely location. Well equipped with very high end fixtures and refurbished to an excellent standard. I have never cooked on a electric aga before but it was so easy I am now considering a purchase of one. Exceptionally clean, lovely gardens and we couldnt fault it in any way at all.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a very relaxed stay at Rose Cottage. Everything worked well and it was easy to explore the area which we enjoyed. Thanks.



A great week in heaven

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a week when you go some where you have never been you sometimes wonder if you booked the right place.
At Rose cottage we were at home as soon as we went though the door. Everything you needed , clean and well thought out.
If you are N. Trust members as we are you will be more than happy the walking is great. Plenty of maps and books in the cottage. We hire about four cottages a year and I can recommend this one.
Mick C




Fantastic cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful cottage with breakfast room to enjoy morning coffee watching all the birds and cozy living room with fireplace to enjoy. Evenings. Aga was a new experience, which was nice and toasty, plus fun to cook with. Owners were very helpful, welcome package with milk, coffee, tea, and logs for the fire. Stairs are quirky, but only takes one trip up and to learn the best way to navigate. Bathroom and kitchen are top notch.



Second visit

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit just as good as our first. Owners Pat and Nick made us feel welcome.would highly recommend it.



A real gem

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A top quality home. From the decoration to the fittings in a lovely country cottage. They even include an aga! Location is good for walks and there are excellent local pubs.



Good base for the Goodwood Revival

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed with my dad, sister & my daughter as our base for the Goodwood Revival and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The cottage has been furnished & decorated to a high standard. We loved the spacious bathroom. The garden room is an excellent addition to the cottage. It was well equipped and the owners were very helpful and friendly.



Wonderfull stay in a cosy cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stay for one week at Rose Cottage. It was a wonderfull time.
The cottage is so nice and new and well-appointed. The bathroom was appointed with a fantastic shower and really spacious. The gardenroom and the open kitchen is lovely.
The one thing you have to know - the kitchen and a few doors are low-ceilinged.
We had a wonderfull stay and Pat and Nick Moss were very nice and helpfully to us.
I´m sorry for my bad english.




Comfortable summer holliday

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It is a very comfortable house, due to the aga burner, the fantastic bathroom and the really good beds. The owner was nice and made us feel at home immediatly. Excellent l'occitane soap. Our children liked the garden and the sofa.