FB Twitter

Rosings

Rosings

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


An attractive period three bedroom cottage with traditional character features set in a rural hamlet close to Arundel amongst the stunning Sussex countryside.

One double bedroom, one small double bedroom and one twin bedroom

A special place

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rosings has a magical feel to it. The view from every window is absorbing: the church, the lane, the down rising beyond. It’s wonderful to see the stars and walk out over the marshes.



Lovely old cottage in a great location for walking and Arundel

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay in this beautiful old cottage. We had fires in the log burner, played board games, went for pub walks and explored Arundel. There's lots to do locally and we had a great time. The cottage was well kept and equipped - perfect for us.



wonderful experience, for a place to discover at all times

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
one suggestion, in the bathroom, it would be handy to provide a little shelf with a glass...but this is peanut compare to the staff we found in the kitchen and elsewhere.
The experience was enjoyable and wonderful, the sitting room is ideal with the fire and coaches.
We really spent a nice and peaceful Christmas, with the decorations provided.
The surroundings are quite pleasant to discover.
The next door neighbours are charming people, and kindly invited us to the Christmas carols in the St Leonard's church.
A nice time to remember altogether.
thank you!




Long weekend at Rosings South Stoke

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rosings was a perfect choice for a Long weekend stay in West Sussex . It is wonderfully positioned and equipped , in a very peaceful and picturesque setting. The church nearby and the River Arun provide great walks and views from the doorstep. The location is also perfect for exploring the Sussex Coast and Brighton. We were delighted with our stay, and Rosings cottage in particular. A warm and romantic cottage to return to after a long day .



Our stay at Rosings

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent a beautiful weekend at Rosings. We were very lucky with the weather and the surrounding countryside and views were spectacular. You could not wish for a better location! The cottage was incredibly comfortable and warm and the kitchen fully kitted out so that self catering was very easy. We found it hard to leave!




Excellent Service

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for walking. Cottage very cosy and well equipped. Great restaurants in Arundel 2mile drive along quiet lane
but mind the pheasants in road. Excellent service from Chris (manager) and Will at Amberley House Cottages.




Excellent property located in a quiet parish but with all relevant facilities and trips within reach

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Aug 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent property located in a quiet parish but with all relevant facilities and nice trips within reach



A walk from home.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Rosings is ideally situated for walking from your doorstep in all 4 directions to explore the Arun valley , river and the South Downs.
The cottage is well equipped, The small double bed was a bit narrow,being a three-quarter bed.The heating worked perfectly.
The one bathroom, which had all mod cons might give problems if you are six in the cottage.
We, 2 couples, enjoyed our stay very much.
We can recommend a Sunday outing to Chichester with the bootsale market, lunch at the iTALIAN RESTAURANT AND Evensong at the Cathedral.
A walk as indicated in the leaflet " Arundel" and a walk via North Stoke to Amberley.
You can even walk to the pub in Houghton or the Black Rabbit, 3/4 of an hour.




a wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I loved this cottage , beautiful location , if you looked out the window you would not know that in the 21st century ,it could have been a 100 years ago - so tranquil and less than a 5 minute walk to the river. Cottage had all the amenities and all in excellent condition. The towels were fluffy (how do you do it?) and the beds snuggly -especially the duvets. I went with friends but would come back again with family or indeed friends again. It was a perfect weekend.



Great location.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, peaceful location. The cottage is very well equipped, lots for kids, beds were very comfortable and there were nice walks around the village.



Stay at Rosings

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable cottage; we were a family 5 staying during October half-term. Cosy, warm with all facilities to self-cater plus washing machine etc. Smart television plus wifi (though not the fastest). Small summer house in garden. Very quiet location, by church towards the end of a long cul-de-sac. Friendly neighbour in adjacent cottage. Great walking opportunities from front door, with paths leading (after a good walk or short drive) to the South Downs trail. Easy cycling distance or short drive to Arundel. Nearby pub with river views, wetlands centre etc. Recommended.



Short break

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this break to take parents away . We loved it , ideal location , beautiful scenery and fabulous cottage



Magical location

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a superb weekend in South Stoke, one of the loveliest hamlets in Sussex. Glorious walking, and the cottage was very clean and comfortable - thank you. Two points: it was rather tantalising to look at the open fire and not be able to light it. Just over the next few months, I would recommend that mid-week visitors in search of peace check how the building work is going next door. It was all beautifully quiet at the weekend, but work started on Monday morning and I was very glad we hadn't booked a mid-week stay.



Will replied 142 days ago
Many thanks for your comments and we are pleased that you had a most enjoyable stay. The building work next door to Rosings has finished being completed in 2018.

Wonderful position for walks, stars and birds. Comfortable, well stocked, but NO fire.

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful old property, sensitively renovated and furnished on the whole, very comfortable beds, well appointed kitchen and nice big farmhouse-style table. Sensible flooring so no anxieties about muddy boots. Heating and hot water efficient. Very clean except for horrible, unnecessary plug-in air 'freshener' which we banished to a wardrobe and used windows to freshen air! Attic room - narrower beds but easily accessible, comfy and a lovely space. Wonderful position - nice views over church yard, almost no traffic noise, glorious stars (take a torch with you instead of adding to light pollution?) and lovely variety of walks straight from the front door. Virtually no other walkers (admittedly this was December). Builders in evidence but not obtrusive. One sour note: we specifically looked for, and thought that we had found, a cottage with an open fire which as another reviewer has pointed out turned out to be 'for decoration'. Pleased to see that this is no longer included in cottage description because we did feel cheated and it took the edge of our Christmas treat. Recommend second hand bookshop in Arundel.



Will replied 142 days ago
Many thanks for your feedback. The log burner is now working.

Peaceful comfortable semi-detached cottage ruined by builders next door

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Dec 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was great to be back at South Stoke and the cottage was lovely, although we were disappointed that we couldn't have a real fire (the fireplace was for show only). Unfortunately the builders next door were trying to finish for Christmas so the lane blocked by white vans, scaffolding, noise of hammering, saws etc., Hopefully they did finish! and future holiday makers can really enjoy the peace of the area.



Many thanks for your comments. The building work was finished in early 2018 and the log burner is now working fine. replied 142 days ago
Many thanks for your feedback. The building work finished in early 2018 and the log burner is now working.

Pretty but damp

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First impressions were not great because we arrived in the dark. As Rosings is in a hamlet in the middle of nowhere, we struggled to find the house and then had to feel our way to the front door, down the garden path, unable to see any obstacles or steps. It would have been nice if the outside light had been left on for us. We left it on during our stay which improved our returns in the dark.
The house is probably lovely in the summer but in rainy autumn it feels cold and smells a bit damp and the sitting room smells as if someone has smoked in there. The rooms are all a good size, especially the master bedroom but the doorways upstairs are very low and even with the signs above the doors, we still bumped our heads a few times.
The decor is lovely and the kitchen is well equipped although there were only 4 forks.




Beautiful Cottage in Idliyic Surroundings. But....

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This cottage is located in a very special location where you can enjoy walks along the river into Arundel, yet it is within a few minutes of major access routes and a train station. The cottage was small, cosy and well equipped with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Bedding and towels appeared to be brand new and of good quality. A few essential items were provided our our arrival, which was a nice touch.

This would have been the perfect break except for the demolition and re-building of the neighbouring property, which unfortunately ruined our stay. Instead of being able to enjoy the peacefulness of the garden and the cottage, we were forced to go out every weekday due to the deafening noise of building work whilst the entire roof was stripped off and internal walls were broken out. We were warned about some disruption, but only at the last moment when it was too late to consider a change.

We would thoroughly recommend this property, particularly for a couple rather than a family and on completion of the ongoing next door building work.




Rosings

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rosings is a very attractive comfortable cottage in a beautiful quiet location. We spent a great week there and loved going on walks straight from the cottage.



Beautiful cottage, with everything thats needed

Review submitted on Mon, 01 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage. Everything you need is there, such as soap, salt, hairdryer and kitchen utillities. Situated in a quiet little village.