FB Twitter

Saxons

Saxons

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 7 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
3.7
Condition
4.3
Location
4.1
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.6


In the heart of the Sussex Weald and bordering the famous Bluebell Railway, Saxons is surrounded by wonderful rolling countryside making it the perfect peaceful setting.

One double bedroom.

Saxons

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Saxons was in a pleasant location and there was a nice patio area to sit outside on the whole the rooms were clean and comfortable. However I felt bedding and towels had been well used/washed and the towels particularly were 'thin' and needed renewing.



Perfect to relax or have active holidays.

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is charming and with plenty of space both on the ground floor with a good separation between the kitchen, the dining room and the living room, as on the first floor where the bedroom and bathroom are. Everything prepared for you to feel better than at home. In the house, there are several books in case you forgot to take a reading, and in the room, you have all kinds of guides for the area.

Near the house, there are several routes for those who enjoy walking and want to forget the car for a few days. Also, the owner will give you all kinds of extra information you may need about the surroundings. Within a few minutes drive there are several attractions plus some National Trust properties.

Two nearby villages Sharpthorne and Horsted Keynes. In the first one, there is an Organic Cafe which is worth visiting, and in Horsted Keynes, besides a visit the village itself, there is the Green Man, a pub with good beer and benches outside to enjoy if there is good weather.




A quiet spot

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy accommodation for two with own entrance and small garden. Dog walks from the house along public footpaths with views of the Bluebell Railway. Owners made us feel very welcome.



A week between christmas and early January 2016-17 at Saxons

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I with our dog had an enjoyable stay at Saxons. Despite the cold weather, the accommodation was lovely and warm.Alison and Ben were on very helpful and friendly. Wifi very good, plenty of parking space.The area is very rural and the lanes very dark in the winter, a satnav is essential I feel. The only suggestion would be to have a more prominent sign or lights by the road outside Saxons. More than once I drove past missing it in the dark. We need to come back in the Summer. A very nice holiday.



Return to West Sussex............

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have lived in Gloucestershire since our retirements 10 years ago, having spent most of our lives living in West Sussex, including 34 years in East Grinstead, so knew the area well. We wanted to return to West Sussex for a celebratory lunch with family and friends to mark our 70th birthdays. Saxons was ideal for us, well appointed with friendly hosts and good to bring Finlay, our 2 year old cocker spaniel.

A most enjoyable short stay, thank you.




Our Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Saxons annex. It was a comfortable apartment for two people and our dog, and the owner is dog friendly, which is nice, as many lovely places we have seen do not take a dog.

The bed was extremely comfortable, and we loved the double aspect windows in the bedroom. The house itself is very beautiful and the local for us was idea.

The owner was very friendly, and said that we didn't need to rush out for 10am as no one was coming in that day. Very thoughtful of her we thought.




A good location

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Saxons was in a very good location. But had no privacy we were overlooked and could hear every thing that was said our done next door. The bed was also very uncomfortable . Apart from that all was ok.



Alison Smith replied more than 1 year ago
We were sorry to read Mr Godding's comments as we always do our best to make our guests comfortable. I spoke to him twice during his stay and, when asked, he said everything was fine. Had we known that the mattress was not to his liking we could have supplied a mattress topper. The matter of privacy is a bit of a mystery as there is only one small window that looks out onto the cottage terrace and we could have drawn the blind if we had known this was causing him a problem.