FB Twitter

Shannon Cottage

Shannon Cottage

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
71% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.1
Location
4.5
Value
3.8
Customer
Service
4.1


A delightful cottage set in a unique East Sussex village within the South Downs National Park and minutes from the Sussex Coast

Nice , but !

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage itself was lovely, for a couple to stay in . Although it allows a dog the garden was not secure, side access is wide open. Garden was very over grown with weeds .
Location is remote, but as a base good .

Shame because these thing easily corrected.
The cottage was very clean!
Bed very comfy!




Nearly perect

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is extraordinary in the middle of downland. It has been renovated to a good standard internally, and was attractive and cosy. A few tweaks would make it perfect.
There is a comfortable, roomy and light living area. However, the table is so small and unstable it is a real struggle to eat a meal on it, and wine glasses don't fit, so unable to have romantic, candle lit meals. Plenty of space for a bigger table.
The bath panel area needs to be sealed properly and then not quite so many hamless woodlice and small beetles would emerge from it at night.
The terrace is great, but looks very neglected.
However, the walks in the area are fantastic.




A poor, neglected and unloved cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Aug 2020
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The cottage has been refurbished to a good standard but sadly, has been neglected over a long time. It was not as originally described on the Agency website. Nobody is willing to take responsibility for its upkeep and therefore a number of issues raised by us were ignored whilst we were there. It has a bug infestation, particularly in the bathroom (where the bath panel is poorly fitted, and unfinished and has a number of access points for the bugs) and the bedroom. Also vermin were present. Pest control were promised by the Property Manager, but never materialised. The garden is described as "tiered" with views of the local church. Unfortunately, the garden is a dumping ground for builders' materials and is overgrown. The patio could be nice, but is neglected and full of weeds. The garden furniture was disgraceful. The locals were also disgruntled at the neglect. Such a shame.

However, it is located in a lovely quiet village close to a number of beautiful walks.




Great location needs changes to garden to make dog friendly but overall good stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
1.5 miles walking distance to the coast over beautiful grassland. Access to garden via side of cottage open and therefore not dog friendly just a simple gate needs to be added.No hand sanitiser in cottage when informed that would be supplied. Saucepans need handle checking as one fell off and had to screwed back on could have caused serious accident. Overall though the cottage was lovely




Lovely cottage but low standards

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Aug 2020
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
First of all, I was there after the lockdown and I believe the owner hasn’t check the state of the cottage. The cleaning was poor, every where was full of cobwebs including the spiders. Unfortunately, windows where dirty without cleaning for months, the patio full of leaves and bugs. The hob was grease, kitchen cabinets dirty and the worst were the cockroaches. The smell of the damp is very bad but improved as I ventilated it every day a lot. The first 3 days I spent my time cleaning. I think that whoever was paid for it has let the owner down. On the positive note is very well equipped but there isn’t anywhere to keep your close as the bedroom wardrobe is locked and I had to keep things in my suitcase and bags on the carpet. The Hoover doesn’t suck and smell terrible bad. The bed was super comfortable but the first thing that I found it was a spider on the pillows. There isn’t a washing machine which is a problem for long stays. It could be all sort it out with a little care as it is beautiful and the location is great if you want to be isolated from the noisy city. It works if you want to spend the weekend and if you are ok with bugs and other insects.



Andrew Gardner replied 48 days ago
We are very sorry that you found the kitchen not as clean as it should be. May we reassure that the correct presentation and cleanliness is essential and the the issues you have raised have been addressed. We apologise if this had an impact on your stay. The property is always aired as part of the changeover process and the heating is left on a timer to reduce the risk of dampness. As the cottage sits into the chalk hillside this is always closely managed to keep any possibility of dampness to s minimum. The closet you refer to is deliberately kept locked as it is not suitable space, however there is hanging space and a chest of drawers in the bedroom.

Winter Stay Considerations

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Regarding Rubbish Collection: Collection Days specified in the Information Compendium in the cottage were not the actual days the Rubbish Truck came. I had to depart leaving my rubbish in the bins. I apologise for any inconvenience for the cleaners.
The week I stayed the weather was atrocious and I couldn’t find any information in the Compendium regarding finding a Laundry in the area to dry wet clothes.
I am sure neither of these issues are a problem in summer and I imagine it is absolutely lovely staying in your beautiful cottage in fine weather!
I hope you can use this information to your benefit.
Kindest regards
Sue Kerivel




We’ll be back

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time at Shannon cottage. It’s a beautiful little cottage, and perfect for a couples get away. The cottage is in great condition and the bed was lovely and so comfy. The walks over the local downs and to towns nearby were gorgeous and Telscombe is a lovely little village. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

I only have two tips for future guests...firstly the smoke detectors are super sensitive (not a terrible thing, nice and safe, but they would go off as soon as we used the oven or toaster), so make sure you use the extractor fan and window before doing any cooking. Also, some of the basics aren’t provided, like pepper for example, so with the nearest shop being a 20 minute walk make sure to bring those bits with you. But we would still highly recommend Shannon Cottage!




Lovely rural setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage was ideal centre for exploring East Sussex. Coastal and Downs walks and many interesting places to visit. Very quiet,rural setting. Cottage well equipped and cosy.



Nice tucked away.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A pretty cottage in a peaceful location. Well placed for walks on The Downs. The cottage is well equipped and had everything we needed. A mirror nearer to a power point in the bedroom would be useful as, currently, it is too far away when using a hairdryer. Heavier duty saucepans would also help as the water took a very long time to boil and the one lid in the kitchen did not fit any of the pans. However, these minor points did not mar our stay and are not meant as a criticism but are intended to be helpful.



Great Cottage Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has everything you need in a lovely quiet get away from it all location but close enough for excellent walks and short drive or walk to the coast. Would highly recommend a visit to this lovely hamlet.



Great location and top quality

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a great location if you want to be quiet and feel like you're in the country but you are only a few minutes' drive away to the coast and Brighton.
It has recently been refurbished to a high standard.
However, the garden should be made secure for dogs. It is advertised as a dog friendly place but the side entrance is open making it very easy for a dog to get onto the road. All it needs is a fence and gate at the top of the back steps.




Fiona replied more than 1 year ago

A pleasant cottage in the South Downs.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a pleasant place to base a holiday in the South Downs. The cottage is small but comfortable and has most things you could need.

As feedback i would suggest the bathroom needs to have some extra surfaces / shelving for toiletries.

Although Pet Friendly,the cottage is carpeted throughout and a slightly better vacuum is needed for picking up pet hairs before departure (a booking condition is "There must be no evidence that a pet has been at the property upon departure") . In addition the outside space of the cottage to the rear is not completely enclosed unlike many pet friendly lets.

The small kitchen was ideal. Perhaps a non stick baking try would be a useful addition
Bathroom / Bedroom are located downstairs which is a little cooler / damper. It seems to attract a lot of insects in dark areas

We did have an enjoyable week and would return if visiting the area.




Away from it all ....

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was clearly newly refurbished and very consequently very clean. Parking in this very tiny village is quite difficult and the accommodation is quite compact.There are a number of suggestions we are making to Amberley House Cottages to further improve the rental experience. It is very quiet and peaceful and there are good walks that can be done from the village. The nearby tiny train station at Southease makes travel to Lewes, Brighton and Eastbourne and other local resorts very handy and saves parking issues in those places.



A smart hideaway in an out of the way part of Sussex

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This comfortable upside down cottage in a quiet backwater but close to Brighton was ideal for our short stay. There was everything that we needed for a comfortable break.