FB Twitter

Shannon Cottage

Shannon Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
88% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.4
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.8
Location
4.5
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.3


A delightful cottage set in a unique East Sussex village within the South Downs National Park and minutes from the Sussex Coast

We’ll be back

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time at Shannon cottage. It’s a beautiful little cottage, and perfect for a couples get away. The cottage is in great condition and the bed was lovely and so comfy. The walks over the local downs and to towns nearby were gorgeous and Telscombe is a lovely little village. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay!

I only have two tips for future guests...firstly the smoke detectors are super sensitive (not a terrible thing, nice and safe, but they would go off as soon as we used the oven or toaster), so make sure you use the extractor fan and window before doing any cooking. Also, some of the basics aren’t provided, like pepper for example, so with the nearest shop being a 20 minute walk make sure to bring those bits with you. But we would still highly recommend Shannon Cottage!




Lovely rural setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage was ideal centre for exploring East Sussex. Coastal and Downs walks and many interesting places to visit. Very quiet,rural setting. Cottage well equipped and cosy.



Nice tucked away.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A pretty cottage in a peaceful location. Well placed for walks on The Downs. The cottage is well equipped and had everything we needed. A mirror nearer to a power point in the bedroom would be useful as, currently, it is too far away when using a hairdryer. Heavier duty saucepans would also help as the water took a very long time to boil and the one lid in the kitchen did not fit any of the pans. However, these minor points did not mar our stay and are not meant as a criticism but are intended to be helpful.



Great Cottage Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has everything you need in a lovely quiet get away from it all location but close enough for excellent walks and short drive or walk to the coast. Would highly recommend a visit to this lovely hamlet.



Great location and top quality

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage is in a great location if you want to be quiet and feel like you're in the country but you are only a few minutes' drive away to the coast and Brighton.
It has recently been refurbished to a high standard.
However, the garden should be made secure for dogs. It is advertised as a dog friendly place but the side entrance is open making it very easy for a dog to get onto the road. All it needs is a fence and gate at the top of the back steps.




Fiona replied more than 1 year ago

A pleasant cottage in the South Downs.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a pleasant place to base a holiday in the South Downs. The cottage is small but comfortable and has most things you could need.

As feedback i would suggest the bathroom needs to have some extra surfaces / shelving for toiletries.

Although Pet Friendly,the cottage is carpeted throughout and a slightly better vacuum is needed for picking up pet hairs before departure (a booking condition is "There must be no evidence that a pet has been at the property upon departure") . In addition the outside space of the cottage to the rear is not completely enclosed unlike many pet friendly lets.

The small kitchen was ideal. Perhaps a non stick baking try would be a useful addition
Bathroom / Bedroom are located downstairs which is a little cooler / damper. It seems to attract a lot of insects in dark areas

We did have an enjoyable week and would return if visiting the area.




Away from it all ....

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The cottage was clearly newly refurbished and very consequently very clean. Parking in this very tiny village is quite difficult and the accommodation is quite compact.There are a number of suggestions we are making to Amberley House Cottages to further improve the rental experience. It is very quiet and peaceful and there are good walks that can be done from the village. The nearby tiny train station at Southease makes travel to Lewes, Brighton and Eastbourne and other local resorts very handy and saves parking issues in those places.



A smart hideaway in an out of the way part of Sussex

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This comfortable upside down cottage in a quiet backwater but close to Brighton was ideal for our short stay. There was everything that we needed for a comfortable break.