FB Twitter

Sheriff Cottage

Sheriff Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.2
Location
4.4
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.6


In beautiful peaceful Sussex countryside this wonderful country cottage is less than half a mile from the Bluebell Railway at Horsted Keynes.

Two king size double bedrooms and one bunk bedded room.

Great decor

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Sep 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quite comfortable and clean. In my experience overpriced compared to other properties we stayed at. Good base.



We had a super week staying at Sheriff Cottage, the former home of my grandparents for 20+ years

Review submitted on Sun, 05 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well equipped, cosy and comfortable cottage. We liked the way it had been sympathetically upgraded and that it retained many of its original features. Garden room an added bonus. We did feel shower curtain arrangement could be improved though. We know the age of the property probably dictates limitations, but a fixed shower screen would be a much better option, especially for larger guests.

We thought the microwave should have been replaced due to its very poor condition.

We would have no hesitation in recommending the property to others. It was a perfect base for us to catch up with friends and family living in the surrounding area.




Worn and just not clean enough.

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The home itself could be lovely. Very nice, peaceful location, great for visiting the Sussex coast, National Trust properties, The Bluebell Railway and lovely villages. The garden is very nice but the home itself smaller than the pictures suggest, especially the kitchen and bathroom, and in all honesty, it could now do with a deep clean and updating. For example:

. Many of the pots and pans in the kitchen are worn and unusable. Scratched beyond use, they need replacing urgently.
. The flexible shower hose is worn where it joins the shower head rendering it unusable. That and the shower controls are likewise worn, meaning the overhead shower was only in use. However, the useless and small shower curtain meant we ended up having baths instead.
. There is a 'bodged' fix to stop water draining down the back of the bath. A piece of rough wood and a sheet of plastic. This is both unsightly and simply not good enough in a holiday property.
. The cottage was overall dirty. We had to buy cleaning materials and clean, for example, the microwave, the kitchen worktops, cutlery (some of which still had food on them) and plates (likewsie with food marks).
. The coffee table and coasters in the lounge still had finger marks and stains on them.
. The seat covers at the dining table are dirty and stained.
. Look under the rugs. When were those areas last cleaned?
. There are dust webs around the property and especially along the side of the dishwasher.

This is not an exhaustive list and perhaps we should have complained at the time, but in all honesty, better quality assurance of how the property is kept would negate this even having to be considered. We do not like to complain and once we had completed our own cleaning, used our own throws on the sofas (dubious cleanliness) and just used the same cooking utensils, plates, cutlery and glasses over and again, we actually had a good time.

The beds are comfortable, the house warm with an easy to use central heating control but wi-fi was slower than the old 52k dial up service rendering it almot unusable! Quiet neighbours was a bonus although parking is just about enough for one estate car and certainly not two unless you request use of the garage.

We took pictures of some of which we mention above and would be happy to share if required. Its just such a shame we had to do so as Sherrif Cottage has so much to offer.




Julian - Amberley House Cottage Holidays replied 308 days ago
Thank you for leaving your recent review of Sheriff Cottage and I am sorry that you found the cottage to be below standard on cleaning and presentation. If you had let us know during your stay we would have immediately arranged for the housekeeper to deal with any areas that were not sufficiently clean. The owner will ensure that everything you mention has been checked and any necessary action taken. We have never had any negative comments about Sheriff Cottage and I am sorry if your experience was different to the norm. The bath in the family bathroom is a free standing one which means that it is not possible to seal right up to the wall. The shower mixer taps were replaced in 2018 and the owner has adjusted the diverter to redirect any overspill from the shower back in to the bath. The speed of internet access at Sheriff Cottage is sufficient for normal usage however not all of West Sussex is yet fibre enabled so video streaming or the downloading of large files is not really possible here or at many truly rural locations.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jan 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking procedure was simple and there was excellent communication regarding location and facilities, and how to access the key safe to get entry. This is a compact property and is tastefully decorated throughout. The beds were comfortable and the sitting room was nice with comfy furniture. The outside "garden room" was delightful. In short, a great experience from start to finish.



Ideal for our needs

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We booked this cottage as we had a family member in Haywards Heath Hospital for a serious operation and we wanted to visit daily. A big plus was the large enclosed garden as we had two dogs with us. Just down the road there is Horstead Keyes Bluebell railway station where there is a large car park and adjoining fields perfect for giving the dogs a good run. Beds were very comfortable and everything is of the highest quality. Did not like the free standing bath with shower over, not good.
Best to back the car in as although the lane is not that busy the locals drive down it like bats out of hell!!!
Another downside is that although the cottage has Wi-Fi there is no mobile phone signal, a problem for us as we needed to be in contact with the hospital. This meant a drive to a spot where there is a signal, apparently this a problem in West Sussex. So a land line at the cottage which could be used in emergencies would have been extremely helpful.




Nice Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely little cottage, perhaps rather cramped for six people.
Nice welcome gifts and the games room is useful for teenagers.

Suggestion for improvement would be a few more mugs.




Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the cottage full of charm, warm and cosy. Would be good if a washing machine was available but other than that it is an excellent place to stay. The Gardener's Arm in the near by town has great food and very popular. Located on a quiet street in a beautiful country setting, I would love to stay there again.



Easter visit

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our Easter stay at Sheriff Cottage (Easter eggs on arrival were a lovely touch as was the bottle of wine and chocolate biscuits), Cottage was well equipped, warm (Easter still quite cold at times)and cozy and well placed for where we wanted to be. Garden very pretty. Wifi signal strong in all parts of the house which was good as poor mobile phone signal in this area. Room sizes a bit smaller than looks on the photo's and the driveway description 'fits up to 2 cars' (maybe correct if you have a couple of smart cars or KA's) fitted one estate sized car quite nicely. We would consider staying here again if we are wanting to visit the area in the future. Great that we weren't tied to a full week (we stayed 4 nights).



A very pleasant week in Sheriff Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Mar 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in Sheriff Cottage for one week at the beginning of March and were fully content with our choice. The interior is overwhelming with a mix of antique and modern, every room has ist special atmosphere with colours, pictures and decoration. The bedrooms are small, but again decorated with much love for detail. Also the bathroom is equipped with period features.The internet photo gallery really meets reality. Central heating is very good and sufficient and easy to steer for one’s own purposes.
The situation of the cottage on Station Approach is very handy for Ardingly Antiques Fair and a lot of sights. The bigger supermarkets can be found in East Grinstead, Crawley or Haywards Heath just a short drive away.
The car can be easily parked on the property in front of the garage by best driving in backwards but also on the side of the lane. The country lane can be quite busy at times, but at night there is no disturbing noise, even the planes heading for Gatwick are hardly perceptible. We slept very well all nights.
So, all in all we look back to a very pleasant week in Sheriff Cottage and would certainly return some day.




Jayne replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your review of Sheriff Cottage. Normally the lane in front of the cottage has barely a handful of passing cars per hour. There may have been a diversion in place in the local area that caused the increase in traffic during your stay, I hope it wasn't too disturbing. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay overall, and I hope we can welcome you back in the future. Jayne

A week in woody Sussex

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Being able to hear the chuff-chuff of the Bluebell Railway trains from the garden adds significantly to the charm of Sheriff Cottage, conveniently located on the country lane leading direct to Horsted Keynes Station. Possibilities for walking are good, with added variety if one drives 15 mins east to Ashdown Forest.
The cottage was the perfect size for the four of us and the garden was nicely enclosed, well kept and very pretty. The summer house and tabletennis were two welcome bonuses!