FB Twitter

Swallowfield Cottage

Swallowfield Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.7
Location
4.6
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


In the heart of South Downs territory close to Ditchling Beacon, this beautifully presented cottage is in a great setting for keen walkers yet is also just five miles from Brighton, so great for families as well.

One double bedroom and one twin bedroom.

Very comfortable break in the South Downs

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Two couples wanted to complete their walk of the South Downs Way from Amberley to Eastbourne, and the location of this cottage, a few minutes drive from the trail, and about the middle of the walk, was ideal.

The cottage is very clean, comfortable, well-equipped and tidy, with everything we needed for our stay. In fact, there were quite a few "extras" which enhanced our stay. Not only a large and useful collection of books and maps of the local area, but thoughtful touches like the welcome pack of wine, coffee and biscuits to help us settle in.

The village has decent shops and facilities and we walked to local pubs a few times. (Ditchling has a couple of good eating pubs, and is only 10 minutes stroll away.). The owners recommended a community bike hire scheme at Hassock station, which I took advantage of on the last day. An excellent way to see more more of the district, and with friendly, knowledgeable people running it.

The open-plan kitchen/dining area was fine and opened onto a lovely garden. There was also a lounge with TV, but we hardly used that room. The bathroom is fully-tiled and has a good shower/bath and WC. The rear double bedroom has the ridge of the South Downs as a view to wake up to. And we were lucky enough to have perfect weather for the whole week. The owners live next door, and were very welcoming and helpful with any queries that cropped up.

We would love to return here to enjoy more of the area.




It exceeded our expectations

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent welcome package waiting for us in this beautifully presented stylish cottage. Everything one might need during a stay was provided. It exceeded our expectations. On the night we returned to find that the water was off, because of a burst water main locally, Beth appeared at our door with emergency supplies of bottled water.



Well equipped cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is very well equipped with a nice garden. Fresh flowers and drinks for welcome were really very nice!
The exit needs a little bit of experience but no problem at all. Television isn‘t big but in holidays there are much better things to do...
Highly recommended!




A short visit

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Swallowfield after 3 previous stays as we had good memories of the cottage. Everything was as before, sparkling clean, well equipped with a pleasant garden. The beds were comfortable, too. The only issues for people of ‘advancing age’ were the steep stairs, and ground floor bathroom.



Lovely home from home cottage in Sussex village

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Swallowfield is a lovely cottage with all mod cons, the kitchen was very well equipped, we especially liked the separate fridge and freezer, the sitting room was very comfortable so were the beds, the cottage has everything you need. Within walking distance of shops and nice pub serving good food. Although near a road the cottage was quiet. It has a small garden sufficient to sit out and hang out washing. We have booked again for next year. The only downside is the road as the cottage exit is on a bend and it's difficult to see traffic coming from the right. If there was a mirror on the road that would be wise. But this is not the owners fault. You just have to be careful when driving out. Otherwise it was home from home.



Short December break

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable, and well appointed holiday cottage, located near the lovey South Downs and within striking distance of Brighton and other Sussex jewels such as Lewis and Rye. A thoughtful welcome pack was provided on arrival and some festive decoration displayed as our stay was between Christmas and the New Year. No complaints at all.



Walking the South Downs way

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very difficult exit onto the road ,bushes being cut back would help ! Other than that it is a lovely homely place to stay , nice log burner in lounge made relaxing after our days walk on the South Downs really comfortable ,there was everything we needed and more ,sunny back garden really private and great to sit in early evenings when we got home ! Well done Beth and Jeremy xx



Fantastic week in Swallowfield Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage itself was exemplary - spotless; well-equipped and comfortable. The welcome basket was a lovely touch and the shortbread was delicious! It is a great base for all the local attractions including myriad National Trust properties and Brighton itself. We were very sad to have to leave as we enjoyed staying there so much.



Lovely cottage and location

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely cottage and location. Well stocked, and clean cottage. Owners friendly and helpful. Sofas were a little uncomfortable when relaxing in the evenings. All in all a great holiday.