FB Twitter

The Barn at Tillington

The Barn at Tillington

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


Stunning barn conversion in the South Downs National Park offering an ideal location for walkers and visitors to Goodwood

A perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I've stayed in many holiday cottages, but The Barn at Tillington has to be one of the very best, if not the best by far. You can completely trust the photos of the property, and in fact the reality is even better. It's beautifully designed, decorated, and furnished. The facilities, fixtures and fittings are excellent, lovely kitchen with excellent quality appliances and kitchenware. The rooms are comfortable and spacious with lots of light and wonderful views. It really is a cut above. And the location is perfect, so quiet and peaceful. Petworth Park is just across the road, and beautiful Petworth village and house is on the doorstep. The owner, Charlotte, is utterly charming and very welcoming, she'd kindly provided a number of food treats for our arrival. The Barn is a lovely cottage in a lovely setting, and it's also the perfect base for touring West Sussex and places of interest. If we're staying in the area again it's the first property we would be looking to book.



Amberley House Cottages replied 43 days ago
Thank you so much for such a fabulous review. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back very soon. Amberly House Cottage Holidays

Friends weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With our friends of over 40yrs we have a weekend away at this time each year. We have been to many locations & accommodation but none as good as The Barn and surrounding area. We all agree we will definitely be back.



A wonderfully comfy & cosy conversion with fantastic views of the South Downs

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed the most relaxing stay in this comfortable Barn with stunning views towards the South Downs. The conversion has been done to a very high standard, beautifully decorated & very well-equipped. Extremely comfy bed and great showers.
The location is perfect for walkers as Petworth Park is just across the road and it's easy to walk into Petworth via the Park. We found lots to do in the area & would never run out of great walks, either from the Barn or a little further afield. We were lucky with the weather so did lovely walks most days but there are also plenty of wet weather options e.g. NT properties, Chichester & Fishbourne Roman Palace are all nearby. Petworth has really good shops & cafes as does Midhurst.
We would definitely recommend The Barn and would love to return. Charlotte is a superb host, very helpful, generous & welcoming.




Excellent place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at the Barn. Charlotte was an excellent host and gave us a lovely welcome. From the personally written card to wine, biscuits and croissants, everything was perfect. The accommodation at the barn is excellent and very comfortable. The views of the garden and the South Downs, even in the rain, were lovely.



What a „barn“! A cosy Home away from home!Charlotte

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Charlotte knew in advance, what was necessary to make the stay perfect. Every detail matches to the Ensemble. Great experience in a surrounding with so much to See - from Cowdray’s polo to Goodwood‘s races!



A Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a tremendous stay at The Barn and found the accommodation fitted, maintained & serviced to the very highest of standards. All rooms & fittings were immaculate and the kitchen well stocked & very user friendly. The tidy garden was a delight and a fantastic place to just sit & enjoy! The owners go of their way to ensure your stay is special and provide a wealth of information on the local area. There is plenty to see & do within easy reach of The Barn, with the option to just sit & chill. We have no hesitation whatsoever in recommending this fantastic holiday cottage. Thank very much Charlotte. (28 Jun 2019 ~ 5 Jul 2019)



Just perfect

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place with incredible hosts. The location was ideal for us for the festival of speed but also to explore the local area. The Barn has been renovated with incredible attention to detail and no expense spared. A real home away from home. Charlotte and James were excellent hosts besides being a lovely couple who went above and beyond in an hour of need! We really enjoyed our stay and would strongly recommend it to anyone wanting a peaceful escape in a lovely setting.



Perfect South Downs break

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful barn conversion in a good location for walks, restaurants, historic properties and our stay coincided with the Petworth fringe festival! Handy too for less local attractions like the West Dean Gardens and outdoor museum at Singleton.



A Home Away From Home

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had been travelling all over Scotland and England and The Barn at Tillington was by far our favourite. It was immaculately clean, spacious, and well equipped. It is situated perfectly for day trips to the south coast, castles, museums, walks in the South Downs and walking distance to Petworth House and the village. We would definitely recommmend this property to our friends.



Excellent property.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A well presented and comfortable property offering wonderful views and an excellent base for visiting the area and some nearby attractions. It is well equipped and offers a relaxing haven.



A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay from 14th of June till the 28th of June at the Barn. The weather was fine!
The Barn is well furnished and everything you need is there!
The beds are excellent!
We enjoyed the beautiful view at the South Downs from the windows and the terrace!
Charlotte is a very kind and helpfull host!
In the area there are a lot of things to do. Par example Petworth deer parc that is opposite The Barn and you can walk there for free! There are also a lot of gardens in the neighbourhood we recommend Woolbeding Gardens!

Wim and Gerda, The Netherlands




Fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully renovated and furnished cottage with large garden and wonderful views of the South Downs and easy access to Petworth Park. Very high standard of equipment and fittings. Excellent directions and information file and lovely welcome provisions. Most welcoming and helpful on-site owners. We would love to stay here again!



Great Place to Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Truly a superb place to stay. Charlotte was an amazing host. Everything about The Barn was wonderful



A place to stay in comfort.

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Barn was excellent for our stay, a good base for our short break for our walking holiday, the host was helpful and friendly.



5 star accommodation and welcome.

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A super find. Great location across the road from Petworth Park with views of South Downs. Lovely accommodation, super beds and linens. Very well equipped. We really enjoyed our stay.