FB Twitter

The Cow Hide

The Cow Hide

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
5.0


Just a stunning location with elevated views of Arundel from the spacious terrace. Perfect for a weekend retreat!

Beautiful cottage with incredible views!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is in an amazing location with such a spectacular view from the living room couch! The property had everything we needed for a short stay and was very clean and well laid-out. The owner was super friendly and helpful and made sure we felt at home in the cottage. Even though the cottage is in the middle of beautiful countryside with incredible views, it is still easy to access with it only being a couple of miles up wide country lanes from the A27. Arundel is a short drive away and has plenty to see and do, including Arundel cathedral and castle which I would highly recommend visiting. Overall we had a fantastic stay and would very happily stay here again!



Weekend break

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Cow Hide is in a great location with views across to Arundel. The accomodation was excellent and the breakfast were fantastic. We will definitely be returning in the future.



Room with a view and wonderful host.

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A return trip proved to be just as lovely and peaceful as our last visit. A great place for getting away from the hustle and bustle of city life, breathe fresh air and reward weary eyes with beautiful views. Our host made us feel very welcome, like long lost friends, and provided the most wonderful breakfasts.



Outstanding

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view and hospitality were outstanding. Super relaxing place to stay. Comfy bed. I hadn’t noticed that there was no cooker at The Cow Hide when booking, totally my fault, but Caroline booked us in to the George. Great fish and chips.



Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely loved The Cow Hide, had a wonderful and peaceful stay surrounded by beautiful countryside. Caroline was welcoming and around if we needed anything, yet we had a lot of privacy. It is a great location for exploring Arundel and its surroundings, without being in the sometimes busy centre. Lovely sunset views from the outside patio area, lots of bird song, cows passing by to say hello - it is a place for relaxing and watching nature go by. Appreciated the breakfast items Caroline provided. The village is great too for a wander, and the pub is excellent.




A beautiful spot for a relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Communications with the owner beforehand were straightforward and helpful - even getting a table booked for an evening meal in the local pub!
The Cow Hide is exactly as it appears in the photos - compact, clean and comfortable. Everything is of a good quality and more than adequate for its purpose.
The location is stunning and, even though it was too cold to sit outside, we enjoyed looking out over Arundel during the sun setting and rising and even the pleasure of a rainbow.
We were welcomed on arrival and hugely appreciated the breakfast 'goodies' that appeared.
The location is lovely and quiet but with easy access to the whole of the South Downs.
Definitely somewhere to book as your base if you are in the area.




Nice and small cottage on a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the little cottage is wonderful. You can park your car next to the house, and the view from the terrace is superb.
The owner of the cottage is very friendly and arranged every morning a nice breakfast plate. We had good weather so we could enjoy our breakfast on the terrace while enjoying the view. She also gave us sight seeing tips and where you can park in the village of Arundel. This town is e.g. 7 minutes drive.




Lovely NYE weekend getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Cow Hide for New Year Eve. It was the perfect peaceful getaway we were expecting. The area was lovely and worth exploring, with some trails easy accessible from the cottage. The cottage itself was impeccable and nicely decorated, with all the amenities you would need. Underfloor heating was really nice, keeping our feet warm. The views from the cottage leave you in awe and feeling blissful. Our host, Caroline was great, she looked after us and was very kind, made sure we had everything we needed. Would definitely come again in the summer as we didn't get to see the cows due to bad weather. Recommend this place to anyone for a nice countryside break.