FB Twitter

The Hayloft

The Hayloft

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 9 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.8
Location
3.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.4


Bordering the National Park close to Lewes, a superb conversion of a period barn.

One king sized bed and a mezzanine area with twin beds.

Average

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was clean, modern & mostly comfortable. Poor lighting in the living area especially nighttime.
Bed in the main bedroom was so close to the floor difficult to get in & out of. If an elderly person had been staying they would have found it awkward. Needs new mattress.
We felt the kitchen needed more equipment...cups, mugs, cutlery. If there had been more of us staying we would have run out of things after every meal.
Good spot for visiting Lewes, coast, NT properties, Charleston & Monks House.
There was road noise but as we had a fan going at night....it was warm...we didn't really hear it. Wouldn't be able to sleep with the windows open it would have been to noisy.
Owners were very helpful and friendly.




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your feedback. We are pleased to advise that the bed has just been replaced and it is higher off the ground. We’ve also had a look at the kitchen equipment, we know there is at least six of everything but we have added to where we needed to. Hopefully you found plenty of utensils and pans for cooking. We are pleased you found it a good base for visiting the places you wanted to during your stay. We do hope we will see you again at some point.

The hayloft: a cozy retreat in Sussex

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When arriving, we were welcomed by our host. It gave us the possibility to get some information about the area and the cottage itself. In the cottage you have a booklet with a lot of information. When we opened the door, we noticed immediately that the cottage was warm, which gives such a nice touch and makes you feel welcome. The welcome basket was also much appreciated. The cottage was spacious for 4 people. TV and DVD were available (with a lot of movies). It was very nicely decorated. The kitchen was wel equipped. Dishwasher, small fridge, oven, microwave and freezer. Even a washing machine. I also loved the matching tableware.The bathroom is of a good size. Clean! The towels are fluffy! Only 1 toilet available.
Pubs and supermarkets are close by. The house is close to a road.




Beautiful but noisey

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Mar 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
1.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
1.0
A lovely building with good design but failed on comfort due to being feet away from an extremely busy road, sadly a three night stay which required ear plugs to drown out the cars and lorry’s.
We were not warned that this road was so close or so busy and had no help or support from Amberley house cottages.
Other than being told we should of used google maps better.

Beautiful building but if you expect piece and quiet this isn’t the place for you.





Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
We are very sorry that you were disturbed by traffic noise during your stay at The Hayloft. It is never our intention that any guest's enjoyment of a property should be compromised and we always show precisely on our website where all properties are located so we do not mislead. The road can be subject to varying levels of traffic during the day but the road is generally quiet overnight.

A lovely comfortable house

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This house is a relaxing comfortable place to stay. My daughter loved the mezzanine bedroom. The kitchen is well equipped, with a lovely welcome basket with local produce. A very warm welcome from the owners, who made sure we had everything we needed. Great location for Lewes, as well as many other local attractions. We would happily return.



A lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hayloft ways a beautiful cottage. It had everything you needed and the hosts left a very welcoming and generous food hamper for us. The cottage is well situated for walking on the South Downs Way and visiting many local attractions.



Tolle Unterkunft

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super Ferienhaus, Sehr sauber und gepflegt. Sehr nette Vermieter. Tolle Einrichtung.
Nur die nahe Strasse stört vielleicht, wenn man auf der Terrasse sitzen möchte.




Great place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation and location. The basket of groceries and other provisions was particularly considerate. We were made very welcome and would unhesitatingly recommend this property



Sehr schönes Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir waren 10 Tage in den Herbstferien im Hayloft und haben uns dort sehr wohl gefühlt. Es war alles sehr sauber, schön und geschmackvoll eingerichtet. Theresa und Jack waren sehr freundlich und immer für uns da, wenn es Fragen gab.
Besonders gemütlich war es abends am Kaminofen.
Wundervolle Landschaft, haben viele Wanderungen gemacht und die umliegende Gegend besucht. Dafür liegt das Cottage sehr zentral: Seven Sisters, Isle of Wight, Stonehenge, Brighton, Windsor etc.
Unser Tipp: Nach London haben wir den Zug ab Lewes genommen. Fährt nonstop 60' bis Victoriastation zweimal die Stunde und das Ticket gilt auch in ganz London.




An ideal retreat.

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautifully presented cottage which was well equipped, immaculately clean and ideally suited for exploring the area including Charleston, Sheffield Park , the Bluebell Railway and of course the delightful county town of Lewes.
However, what was outstanding was the delightful food hamper awaiting us on arrival and the wonderful welcome and continued, yet unobtrusive support from Jack and Theresa during our stay. Thank you both for ensuring our stay was so enjoyable.