FB Twitter

The Well House

The Well House

4.0
out of 5
Ratings from 10 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.9
Comfort
3.8
Condition
3.7
Location
4.7
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.1


Remote, private and completely unique, a true find high on the Sussex Weald.

One double bedroom.

Beautiful location and fabulous quirky interior but not very comfortable for sleeping at nights.

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Aug 2019
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely quirky looking interior however we didn't sleep very well through the whole stay.
First night we tried the steps up to mezimen bedroom but the noise from the fridge freezer which is so very close starting up all night was too much so we tried making up the sofa bed for the rest of the stay but that wasn't very comfy on one side so apart from lack of sleep we did enjoy the surroundings and the quiet privacy that The Well House has to offer.




Great location and beautiful building

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, my dog and I spent a long weekend in the Well House and loved every minute of it. The location is perfect for some great walks and ideal if you like the peace and tranquility of the countryside. We also spent an afternoon is Lewes which was only a short drive away. We would highly recommend.



Lovely long weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location with birdsong and walks from the front door. Comfortable sofa and warming wood stove too.



Escape to The Well House

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Well House takes a bit of finding, but when we did all our hopes and expectations were realised. If you've chosen to stay here you presumably want peace, quiet, remote and countryside. It's all here in abundance. Then we found the key went in and fell in love with it. There is a Lovely cozy lounge area, dining area looking out over the field, nicely fitted kitchen and bathroom and the bed in the ceiling, which, was so comfortable. Plus some lovely quirky pieces and ornaments dotted around.
We had a wonderful relaxing week in The Well House.




away from everyone!!!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
this is a delightful find if you want peace and quiet away from everyone. unfortunately the grass around the property was too long and there were brambles coming up through the steps on the verandah and it was very musty inside when we got there, but after opening some windows and cutting back the brambles it was great!! there were quite a lot of spiders and webs, but that is to be expected in the middle of a field!! (but we do think it had not been aired for a few days prior to our arrival hence the webs!!)
the furnishings are beautiful and a lot of thought has gone into the property and it was perfect for 2 + a dog, who loved chasing the butterflies in the field!!
We had very hot weather and a fan would have been useful especially sleeping upstairs!!
we arrived early and the owner very kindly said we could get in, so we had extra time for our break away!
we will return next year!!




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
We have always felt that The Well House is perfect for either a writer or an artist wanting peace and quiet. We are really pleased you enjoyed the complete tranquility. The owner will attend to the verandah and the length of the grass. It is a mixture of grass and meadow so finding the right balance is always key. Hopefully you will notice a difference next time and we look forward to welcoming you back at some point.

Lovely relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was really lovely, the location was our main criteria and it really was fantastic! Quiet, picturesque & very relaxing.
Some feedback is that we found the bed very uncomfortable and quite difficult to get up & down even though we are experienced climbers and quite young - well I like to think we are quite young! It would have been really great to have somewhere to store our clothes rather than in our suitcases on the floor.

We really had a lovely relaxing time, such a perfect setting, well appointed and so easy for our Labrador.

Thanks




Andrew Gardner replied more than 1 year ago
We are really pleased that you enjoyed The Well House and sorry you found the bed uncomfortable. The mattress has been changed three times over the last two years to try and find a happy medium for everyone. The housekeeper can make the bed up with the option of fitting a soft mattress topper for anyone preferring a softer bed. The owner is also looking at adding some additional cupboard space which she hopes to have in place soon.

We enjoyed our stay

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Everything was perfect - we had a wonderful time there.
The only thing that was irritating to us, that we should take all the garbage with us. We did - but did not know where to put it, because the recycling did not provide for "normal" garbage.
But as I said everything else was great!!!
Thanks to the landlord or landlady!!!




We wish we could have stayed longer!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wonderful, cosy cottage on a beautiful location! Yet some things were missing or didn't work:
- sign on Church Road to the cottage. It took us 45' to find it...
- wifi!!!
- a wardrobe (instead of those ugly iron lockers with useless pottery in them)
- several light bulbs
- the heating in the bathroom: our towels were still wet in the morning!
- not enough plates and glasses: we had to turn on the dishwasher quite often




Good place to stay, relaxing and well located. Interesting adaptation of the old building.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Pros.
We liked our stay at the well house. It had a relaxed feel and was an interesting and quirky conversion.
The location was perfect for us.
Peaceful, walks from the door, good access to West Sussex attractions. The aircraft from Gatwick were ever present but not intrusive. They did not even disturb our noise reactive dog.
Amberley House Cottage Holidays were very helpful in getting our booking agreed at very very short notice. Good work.

Cons. (All minor)
We had a 2 hour power cut one morning - property is all electric.
Several light bulbs dud or missing, buzzing from the fridge/freezer was noticeable in an open plan layout
Mattress a bit soft for our taste. All minor things that did not spoil our enjoyment over a 4 day stay.




A piece of heaven.....

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Two weeks of sun. Windows and doors open wide all day. Bare feet in the grass. Dogs off the leash all the time. Smell of hay in the air. Loads of books. Beautifull walks from the cottage. Shopping at the farm nearby.

Need we say more?

Only thing we missed was a parasol :-).

So..... Well House! We see you soon!

Frans & Emmie Hallegraeff