FB Twitter

Yennadon Barn

Yennadon Barn

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.7
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.8


As the Gitcombe Estate appears through the dense trees that border its long drive, it’s clear you've arrived somewhere very special. The setting, in its own private valley, is both magical and instantly relaxing with beautiful rural views stretching as far as the eye can see. Recently listed in The Times' 50 Best Cottages for Summer feature, the cottages themselves are stylish, luxurious, and, despite their high level of sophistication, wonderfully child-friendly. The location is pretty special too being less than five miles from the bistros and boutiques of the yachting town of Dartmouth and roughly the same to the award-winning and beautiful bay at Blackpool Sands. The eight stylish cottages boast luxurious bathrooms and designer kitchens and share facilities that could rival a five star hotel with an elegant pool house complete with indoor heated pool, Klafs sauna and steam rooms, outdoor sundeck with hot tub, outdoor pool, tennis courts and pre-bookable beauty treatments. Gitcombe is as enchanting for kids as it is for their parents thanks to the carved wooden playground, indoor soft play room and opportunity to play spot the moo cow across the valley whilst splashing about in the outdoor hot tub.


Accommodation Overview:

Yennadon sleeps 4 plus infants in 1 double and 1 twin bedroom. Like all the properties at Gicombe, Yennadon is finished to a high standard with a contemporary granite-topped kitchen with double door American fridge/freezer, microwave, Miele dishwasher, washer/dryer, Fisher & Paykel ceramic hob & oven. The dining and living area is open planned providing an light an airy space complete with TV, Freeview channels, DVD & CD and wood burning stove. French doors from dining/sitting room open to decked balcony with wooden chairs & table which offers lovely views over the grounds and is perfect for alfresco dining and cooking with its wall-mounted BBQ. There are 2 bathrooms one ensuite from the double and a family bathroom both with wooden floors.

Short breaks of 3-4 nights are available between Sept-May annually, with shorter stays (min 2nts) and flexible arrival days accommodated Nov-Mid March. See prices tab for more details and use 'Ask the Owner a Question' under 'Owners' tab for special requests.

PLEASE NOTE: Gitcombe provides un-assembled ‘pop up’ style travel cots, so please be aware that you will need to erect the cot before bedtime.

Fabulous stay in an idyllic location

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second trip - and it did not disappoint. Beautiful setting with lovely walks right from the door. The kids loved the play area and the swimming pool. Crabbing at Dittisham was a highlight of our stay!

Sarah from Great Doddington stayed at Yennadon Barn for 7 nights in April 2019


Recent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit to Gitcombe and it did not disappoint. Great facilities and location. It is the perfect hideaway for parents and children alike. We will definitely be back.

Sandi from Worthing stayed at Yennadon Barn for 4 nights in April 2019


Family break

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Dec 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really nice location and Rodney, Peter and Emma very helpful, it felt like we were staying with relatives who kept a respectful distance but were on hand when we needed. Sauna and Steam room were an added bonus as was he unlimited wood for log fires. Whilst the weather wasn’t the best we had great time visiting local sights and keeping our active 4 year old amused. Local eateries Maltsters Arms and Rockfish had lovely local food. Nice touches in the cottage and a store cupboard with items such as tennis racquets, crabbing equipment and holiday essentials you usually forget meant a lot of thought has gone into making families stays easy and entertaining.

Dominic from Kingston stayed at Yennadon Barn for 6 nights in November 2018


Gitcombe House Country Cottages & Leisure Spa, Yennadon Barn

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing stay at Gitcombe House and boy were we lucky with the weather. We spent 3 days on the beach and a bit of surfing at Bantham Beach which was amazing. (35minute drive)

We loved having the indoor pool………in the pool at 8:30 then sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and all before breakfast. Then tennis then beach. A wonderful escape for all of us.

The accommodation really is of the highest standard. It has everything you need and all great quality. The location was equally stunning. We will be back. If you fancy a run from Gitcombe house I suggest you get fit first!!! The only way is up.

Thank you so much for a wonderful break.
The Quiddingtons


Stephen from Cheltenham stayed at Yennadon Barn for 5 nights in October 2018


Brilliant!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just had a wonderful family holiday and get together at Gitcombe House Country Cottages, renting out two of the cottages, Maristow and Yennadon Barn to accommodate the party.
The setting is idyllic and was perfect for our needs and the wide age range of our party. The cottages are superbly decorated and kitted out and have a comfy, cosy, welcoming feel.
Peter and his staff were so helpful. I cannot speak too highly of the place. Brilliant!


Rosemary from Poole stayed at Yennadon Barn for 4 nights in October 2018


Lovely time helped by wonderful weather! Child friendly and picturesque setting.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely time at Gitcombe. The facilities were excellent and the cottage was very well equipped for a break with a young child. Two very minor points which would have made our stay closer to perfect.... a bigger bed would have been nice and the sofa was fairly uncomfortable which didn't cause too much of an issue in the summer but may in the colder months!

Nick from Weybridge stayed at Yennadon Barn for 7 nights in June 2018