FB Twitter

Cherry Tree Lodge

Cherry Tree Lodge

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 36 reviews
89% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.4
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


Single storey detached lodge with partial loch view and covered balcony

Sleeping 2- 5 persons accommodation comprises:

  • One double and one twin bedroom
  • Cot or fold up bed if required for extra child
  • Bathroom with overhead shower and W.C.
  • Living and dining room open plan
  • Fully equipped kitchen including kettle,toaster, microwave, fridge and utensils
  • Television with DVD player and Freesat
  • Deck Furniture

Pets are not allowed in Cherry.

* Wi-fi access Full secure access is always available in the Games Hut/ Reception area.

Annual orchestra weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first post-covid trip back for our orchestra weekend. We had booked most of the lodges for our group and everything was fantastic. The location is great and the view is amazing.
Julie and Jim are always super helpful and friendly!
Looking forward to our trip next year.




always good which is why we always come back.

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Sep 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
you have really been busy during lockdown. the new bathroom is very good plus the new blinds.More ideas of yours ive got to try and copy. Thank you for a very nice stay you even arranged good weather.!!



A week-end break to attend the Appin Agricultural Show.

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic location overlooking Loch Crerran. Lodge accommodation was clean and cosy. We arrived with two extra guests omitted from our booking by me. No problem. The extra bedding and towels appeared as if by magic by the owners who welcomed us like old friends. A great week-end with some fine dinning at the nearby pub/restaurant. I'd really like to go back for a longer stay.



Great stay in great location

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a great stay the lodge was nice and clean. Nice walks and cycles straight from the lodge and a bar and restaurant 5 mins walk.



Very poor, we expected more from the Owner, felt let down, and disappointed.

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2022
1.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
We have just returned from our holiday at Appin Holidays and like many of you, we read the customer reviews before deciding on our accommodation. After our visit all I can surmise is that any feedback on the lodges is not legitimate and has been written and posted by the owners themselves as our experience certainly does not tie up with the reviews we read.

Our experience - Scotland and location brilliant – lodges – sadly lacking! The pictures have been taken at a distance for a reason. The owner obviously ‘thinks’ he can do DIY, but his expertise are certainly not up to par and would come into the remit of botched to say the least. The standard cleaning and other accessories that the website advises are ‘provided within the package’ are NOT provided – you can ask for them, but this is IF you can actually get hold of the owners, and also IF you don’t mind what is being provided being of the very lowest quality i.e. grey stained and about 10years old tea towels and oven gloves, a few squirts of washing up liquid in the bottom of a 70p bottle of liquid, no hairdryer and the very basic of kitchen utensils some a health hazard as they are sporting so much rust!

The duvets were so old they had mould on and the décor was either simply not done or touched up with any old paint that must have been lying around and not blended in.

The lodges are supposed to be self-catering, but in ours the cooker knobs just wobbled around and came off in your hand leaving you with no idea what temperature you were cooking at and the extract fan was stained brown with old fat and looked like it had never been cleaned in its life. In this day and age of Covid and sanitization, the owner needed to go MUCH further from the health and safety perspective. The only positive we can say is at least our cooker top worked which is more than can be said for some other guests who could not get theirs to work and could not contact the owner so had to resort to knocking on other guests doors to see if they could help.

There were bare wires in the bathroom and when pointed out to the owner that these could be a health and safety issue, he just laughs and says ‘Yes they are aren’t they’ – this was fixed, but only when specifically asked to do so!! Any complaints just fall on deaf ears, saying that all of the things that were wrong are good suggestions for him to look at in the future – this is of no help to us when our ‘self-catering’ holiday cost us so much more than we expected as we had to eat out all the time as the cooker and utensils were not fit for purpose. So sad that the owner does not seem to understand basic quality expectations; customer service or offer any small gesture of compensation for the very evident short comings of the accommodation.





I didnt want to leave

Review submitted on Wed, 25 May 2022
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely lodge in a beautiful spot, spent 2 nights there and wish we had more time to spend inside the lodge itself. The only flaw what we found was trying to find someone to answer telephones for queries we had before we got there and while we were at the property we struggled to find anyone at reception or their separate property. When we eventually got through to Jim on the phone he was very friendly and was there within 5mins to help with extra bedding. Overall the stay was beautiful I hope to return.



May week break

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lodge very comfortable and clean. Views stunning. Would definitely consider visiting again in the next couple of years




Happy days

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just had the most relaxing stay. The lodge was lovely. Couldn’t ask for more. We loved walking around the grounds and it’s so well situated for a peaceful, relaxing holiday within easy reach of local areas and attractions. Can’t wait to return




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Apr 2022
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve had a lovely time staying at Cherry Tree Lodge this week. The lodge is exceptionally well appointed and very comfortable. The views over the loch are stunning and the tree stump outside with the bird feeders is fantastic - watching the bird life and listening to the birdsong a truly restful and beautiful experience



Annual September visit

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic stay. Gorgeous location! Julie and Jim are always so friendly and helpful. Looking forward to going back next year.



Beautiful Setting

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Sep 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our stay here, very comfortable and the views across the Loch were stunning, the lodge had everything we needed and we would definitely return.



Most Enjoyable Holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Sep 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thoroughly recommend Appin Holiday Homes. Excellent location, lodges ideal, John and Julie most helpful.



Good stay

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Aug 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very good lovely view just the busy road in front a bit off putting but we were out through the day and it was quiet through the night. Owners very pleasant and helpful surrounding s well kept. Certainly recommend to others.



Great location, lovely view

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location with loch view.
Comfortable rooms and bedding. Bring own towels.
It is next to road, so some noise (but not in bedrooms). Easy access to cycle track and Creaghan Inn




Great facility in a fantastic location!

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Jun 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a 4 night stay and had a fantastic time. The kids liked the swings & chess and the view is spectacular. The lodge was spotless and the service received couldn't have been any better. We can't fault Appin Holiday Homes at all, my only note would be the gap in the hedge made me uncomfortable with small children as its so close to the road, otherwise 100% & would certainly return.



conditions for a very pleasant and relaxed holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 31 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with our stay at Cherry Tree Lodge at Appin Holiday Homes. The site is quiet despite the main road running nearby. It is not cramped with lodges and caravans, these are nicely arranged and the landscaping around the lodges is given a lot of care. We also liked the bird feeding place right in front of our lodge. The lodge inside had everything we needed, unfortunately, the weather was too cold to enjoy a longer stay on the veranda. Only few things were not quite to perfection but could be dealt with easily (toilet seat, remote control TV, missing hooks to hang wet towels or wet jackets). Beds and seating corner were very comfortable, the heating made the room cosy when needed, and there was ample storage space for everything. We also like the relaxed manner of the site management. Would recommend the place any time.



Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 10 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the first time in Cherry tree (we normally have Otter) and we were not disappointed. If anything the layout in cherry worked better for us. Overall condition of the Lodge was excellent, hand sanitizer provided on the door was a welcome addition in these strange times. The views out over the Loch were stunning from the decking area, really nice to sit there and soak it all up with our welcome pack of coffee and biscuits. Our puppy Ernie loved it too as he could lie down and watch the world go by.
The oven and kitchen area were spotless and easy to operate and the kitchen had a good selection of utensils and bowls etc. The living room area was nice and snug and really cosy with the excellent electric fire and radiators going, we were never cold and it wasn't warm weather. Beds are the make or break of any accommodation, and I'm pleased to say that the beds were so comfy, we forgot to ask what make the mattress was! The addition of blackout blinds on the windows is another bonus, they work brilliantly. The shower was also very good, nice and powerful and we never ran out of hot water.

I would not hesitate to recommend this lodge.




Really loved the view, would go back

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Oct 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy booking. Really good instructions from owners on finding the place & arrival procedure. Beautiful view. Warm, cosy lodge with 2 good sized bed rooms. Most facilities, most families would need.
No WiFi though. But good mobile coverage. Didn't try tge games room.
Easy to get to oban, glen coe & fort william.
Good value !!




An excellent spot from which to explore.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Aug 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to find, well kitted out chalet with everything necessary. Lovely location. Can walk to local pub/restaurant. Would stay again in the future. Goid value for money.



A stunning locationA stunning location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning location overlooking Loch Crerran. Such a helpful, friendly couple in charge made you feel quite at home.



Great Views shame about the noise

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Aug 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The lodge and its facilities were fantastic for our needs we couldn’t really fault them. The only downside was that lodges are situated right on the main road, A828, and the traffic noise stopped us from sitting outside and enjoying the scenery and views of Loch Creran.



Cherry tree lodge Appin

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2020
1.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
1.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
1.0
Lodge was not cleaned properly kitchen trays frying pan not cleaned. No towel rail or any rail to help in.and out of bath for shower very dangerous no non slip mat what was there had worn away. Suite most uncomfortable bed much the same. Regret having spent £440 for 4 nights stay. Owners did not even make an appearance whole time we were there. Everything very cheaply done would not recommend.



Excellent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great new year here with our family.
Many thanks to Jim and Julie for making it happen!
Much love to both,
Jennifer and David Murray




Annual trip with orchestra.

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location with stunning views. Beautiful lodge and staff very friendly and helpful. Would highly recommend.



A beautiful spot with a perfect view in great comfort

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This lodge is in an excellent location, very comfortable and well equipped. Beautiful weather added to an excellent short stay.



A perfect Hogmanay

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent 3 nights in the Cherry Tree Lodge and loved every minute. The location is stunning and the condition of the lodge is impeccable. Great customer service and was so impressed by the facilities both in the lodge, and also in the grounds of the holiday homes. Can't recommend this place enough! A huge thanks to Jim and Julie for allowing us to have such an awesome start to 2018. Slainte! x



Another perfect break

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Appin Holiday Homes is our perfect destination in Scotland. The lodge was warm, comfortable and contained everything for a weeks self catering break. Ideal location on the West coast of Scotland for Oban, Fort Willian, Glasgow (let the train take the strain) and offered the opportunity of visiting our son in the Cairngorms. Jim and Julie as ever are perfect hosts. Lucky with the weather and great to see the Creagan Inn doing so well. Highly recommended.



Really really lovely

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a lovely stay, what a beautiful area and wonderful view of the loch side. As for the site - the owners really have thought of everything when self catering. Our kids loved the park, particularly the rope swing! The lodge was clean, comfortable, well stocked and very cosy in October. The owners are very friendly and helpful, giving advice on things to do in the area and being very approachable. In fact Julie even drove me to Oban one day when we had car trouble and was such lovely company. Thanks so much for a lovely stay we hope to return one day.



Weekend Away

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just returned from a lovely weekend at Appin Holiday Homes. Cherry Tree Lodge was perfect for our family of four. We had everything we needed for a rainy weekend, from warm, comfortable beds to a cosy lounge area with spectacular views and direct access to the childrens' play area. It was difficult to leave! We can't wait to return.



Very pleasantly surprised with the accommodation

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Good spot, cabins not new but clean and well serviced with very satisfactory space and rooms. Well equipped and a quiet location.
We would be happy to return visit.




Perfect Two Week Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great to be back for a two week break. Lodge scrupulously clean and well presented and contains everything for a self catering break. This small site is family run and Jim and Julie can always be found around the site if needed. Cherry Tree Lodge is advertised as not having a great view of Loch Creran - the view of the Loch is not really compromised. However, having stayed in most of the lodges we would ask for this one again - it's the last in the row and as such is much more private. Great base for exploring the Highlands. Short walk to the Creagan Inn where a warm welcome awaits.



Our return to Appin holiday homes

Review submitted on Sun, 08 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Happy return to one of our favourite places, warm welcome as usual from Julie and Jim, the lodge nice and warm for our arrival, felt at home as soon as we got there, can't wait until we get the chance to return,



Urquharts New Year

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived on Hogmanay for our 2 night stay and the place was lovely and cosy as heating was kindly put on for our arrival,which was a nice touch.The rooms were spacious and comfy and when we went down to the local bar/restaurant we were made to feel right at home and the entertainment was also fantastic.Will definitely be back for another visit.



Lovely family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Aug 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great time staying at Appin Holiday Homes, lovely location and a very comfortable lodge. Recommend the nearby Creagan Inn, & kids really enjoyed the Sea Life Sanctuary (make sure you keep an eye out for discounted tickets!)



Review Cherry Tree Lodge

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We found the accommodation damp and cold.
I appreciate the weather wasn't good, but on arriving home all of our clothes were soaking that had been hanging in the wardrobes.
The floors were dipped in some places that felt quite insecure.
The door was poorly fitting causing a draft.
The seating and bedding was very uncomfortable.
No Wifi in the lodge.




A weeks stay in a lovely lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most enjoyable week spent in a great lodge, with very friendly and helpful staff.
Stunning loch views and plenty for the kids to do.
I would recommend Appin Holiday homes to anyone