FB Twitter

Hideaway Barn (4)

Hideaway Barn (4)

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 3 reviews
67% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.7


This tucked-away beautifully rustic and rather quirky dog-friendly barn sits in a very quiet location only a few minutes’ walk to all the eateries, café’s and shops that make Thornham so desirable for a short break or longer stay.

Cosy cottage for the winter

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend stay at Hideaway Barn. The location is ideal for pubs, restaurants & the beach The barn has been beautifully decorated with every comfort in mind. It was unfortunate that there was no paperwork on arrival to explain how things worked like the tv, heating, WiFi, showers, microwaves, ovens, etc that we usually get in other rental properties. It is a shame that the windows on the ground & first floors are frosted & can only be opened a few inches as it means the house is pretty much in darkness so you have every light on all the time. This was mentioned in the small print but until you’re there it’s hard to imagine. Also for a property that welcomes up to three dogs an outside tap & hose would be a great help!



Norfolk Hideaways replied 6 days ago
Thank you very much for your feedback. I have passed it on to the owner. This can be invaluable as sometimes unless things are reported to us or an owner as being faulty, we are unaware that things need dealing with. We are very pleased that you did enjoy your stay, we hope we can welcome you back to Norfolk soon.

Style over substance

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Nov 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Hideaway Barn is a spacious property in a lovely location. The interior design is stunning and it certainly has the "wow" factor.
Unfortunately once you move in and actually live here for a week some annoying little issues creep up on you. Firstly, no welcome pack of any kind. The vast majority of rental properties of this quality [and price] in our experience, at least gift a welcome bottle of wine, and invariably more - possibly biscuits and or cake ? For a self catering property that sleeps six, with a large open plan kitchen space, adequate food and provisions storage should be available. The fridge here is quite small and additional empty kitchen cupboard storage space virtually non existent. There is a small freezer in a cupboard in the hallway but at the time of our arrival it was blocked in by child stair screens, brooms etc and needed de-frosting. One of the drawers contained old food presumably belonging to a previous occupant. We contacted the agent about this at it was not obvious to us that the freezer was actually for guest use. It is. The marketing of Hideaway Barn alludes to the lack of natural light from "some the windows". In fact only natural light [and view] is available from the master bedroom on the second floor, the rest of the property being dependant on artificial lights. Most if not all the other windows are screened or blocked for some reason. Not a massive problem in November [our stay] when it gets dark at 5.00pm and if you are out all day, but could be quite depressing in the summer. One other niggle is the freestanding tap feeding the bath in the master en-suite. It has been installed too far from the bath and unless you turn it on to full pressure straightaway and rather quickly, water just falls on the floorboards !! On the subject of floorboards they are [apart from the bedrooms] the flooring of choice everywhere. They are impressive look at and in keeping with the overall design brief. However be careful to wear slippers or something similar at all times as they are rough in places and my wife got splitter in her foot mid way through our stay.
It does seem churlish to list problems with this beautiful property but if you want it to be your home for a week and self cater somethings need a remedy. If you want to eat out all the time [thus making the property akin to a very large hotel suite] these issues will bother you less. I do feel the property is a triumph of style over substance and as a rental property which will attract a diverse customer base, more thought should have gone into the practicalities. We did pass on some of the above to the letting agent.




Norfolk Hideaways replied 13 days ago
Good afternoon Kim, Many thanks for your feedback with regards to your stay at Hideaway Barn - we really do appreciate the comments as if we are unaware of any issues, we are unable to attempt to rectify them. I am sorry to hear that there were a few issues which prevented you from enjoying your stay to its fullest. I can see on your booking that you called us the day after you arrived to discuss these niggles and my colleague called the owner for assistance and relayed information back to you. We appreciate that you contacted us so at least we could assist you during your stay. Again, apologies if it didn't quite live up to your expectations. Kind regards and best wishes, Norfolk Hideaways

Prize-winning stay!

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having won a short break here in a prize draw we loved our stay in this quirky but comfortable cottage. Really comfortably furnished and equipped with everything you could need. It's quietly tucked away in the corner of a collection of barn conversions with parking outside. The only thing we were disappointed with was the lack of natural light and no ability to see outside from most of the rooms.