FB Twitter

Quince Cottage

Quince Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 29 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.4
Location
4.3
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.3


A beautifully restored listed cottage in the historic village of Gunthorpe, 10 minutes from Holt. A perfect hideaway for two, with charming original features and a private, sunny garden to the rear with furniture and a barbecue.

Lovely cosy cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Nov 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent cosy cottage in rural location. Well equipped. Warm, clean and comfortable. Modern fittings. A real home from home



Perfection in the Norfolk countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most wonderful week at Quince Cottage; couldn't fault it.

Midnight walks in the silence listening to the owls. Bliss. Utter bliss.

One tiny thing and only because it threw us, the location of the key safe; worth noting that its round the back of the cottage and you potentially have to walk through next doors garden to reach it.




Norfolk Hideaways Limited replied 16 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay at Quince Cottage. We are pleased that you had a wonderful week at Quince Cottage. We will pass your comments onto the owner for their consideration and thank you for your helpful comments. I hope we can welcome you back to Norfolk in the future.

Nice stay with a couple of problems

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Nov 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage and great location. Two problems during our stay. Some of the kitchen trays and both frying pans were dirty/rusty/unusable. On the second evening the bedroom fire/smoke detector started bleeping every few seconds. No sleep that night. NF were contacted and helpful. Some odd replacement kitchen items were left for us. It would have been nice if they had told us the the alarm had been sorted out before we returned late afternoon. We were a bit anxious as we would have to have booked into a hotel it it had still been bleeping. A learning point for NH please. Otherwise we enjoyed our stay and would book again.



Norfolk Hideaways Limited replied 18 days ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay at Quince Cottage. I am pleased that over all you enjoyed your time at Quince Cottage. We will pass your comments onto the owner for their consideration and thank you for your helpful comments. I hope we can welcome you back to Norfolk in the future:)

Beautiful little cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Nov 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely little cottage in a picturesque village close by to Holt and the coast. Ideal for our dog with stone and wood flooring that we didn't have to worry would get too dirty. Definitely a get away from it all weekend as there is no shop, pub etc in the village you do need to drive out which didn't worry us.



Quiet rural cottage for two

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved Quince cottage. Everything was just perfect for us. The stairs may be a tad steep for some but we had no issues. The garden was lovely, the location was perfect (i.e. quiet) and the cottage was cosy. The bed is comfy and the lounge was also. The kitchen was well equipped and it was a joy to find sharp kitchen knives. Perfect little hide away for a quiet week away. We found that it was a nice spot from which to explore Norfolk. Would definitely stay there again.



Peaceful retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous quaint cottage. It has period features aplenty-all adding to the charm, though not for everyone (some steep stairs/steps) . Lovely garden and great for our dog. Super comfy bed! The village was very quiet and tucked away. Still accessible to all the attractions Norfolk can offer. Would thoroughly recommend.



Enjoying North Norfolk

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with Quince Cottage.

The bed was such a heavenly delight, so soft and comfortable!
I never wanted to get up!

The kitchen was fine apart from the blind falling off its rail too many times!!!
Bathroom and shower were fabulous and totally invigorating.

The stairs were very steep indeed but the rope was totally safe to grab! It was a great help for mature steps (my mature steps!)
The kitchen steps that went down to the bathroom and garden were the steepest and most uncomfortable without any carpet tread.
Not sure if anything could be laid down to comfort each step but another rope handrail would be advisable to prevent any trips.

The kitchen was quite well equipped but another saucepan with lid would be handy when cooking a full meal.

The welcome pack was a super surprise. Thank you so much.

A special thank you must go to the Norfolk Hideaways representative who visited our property after a phone call about a few issues e.g. broken wardrobe handle and unattached kitchen blind. We never saw her but our neighbours did and she left us a hand tied bunch of garden flowers outside our door when she couldn't find us on her second visit.
Such a lovely gesture and made our day!

We did so enjoy the flowers. Thank you to whoever you were...
What a great ambassador you are for Norfolk Hideaways.
We recognised that these complaints couldn't be solved easily and we were happy to have noted them to make sure everyone knew they were not caused during our visit.





Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We loved our stay in quince cottage it was very clean and had everything you wanted, the Prosecco on arrival was great, the garden was huge and the dogs loved running round, it was a perfect base for exploring Norfolk we are planning to go back next year



Had a lovely stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Aug 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Just a couple of issues. The shower drain had not been cleaned out for a while. And the garden furniture cushions were filthy.



Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Kelvin, Thank you for taking the time to complete the UpFrontReview following your recent stay at Quince Cottage. Your feedback is invaluable whether constructive or positive as without this we are often unaware of the issues that may arise hence customer feedback being something we look at very closely. Once again many thanks for taking the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to North Norfolk sometime in the future.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully renovated cottage with everything you can want for an excellent stay for two. Surprisingly extensive gardens were really appreciated.



Perfect

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this cottage, it had everything we needed for a relaxing week with our dogs. The cottage is well equipped and very tastefully decorated and furnished. The enclosed gardens are amazing and much better than we imagined. There are walks from the door step for the dogs and a great deli / restaurant just 4 miles down the road. This is definitely one of the best cottages we have been to!



Short break in North Norfolk

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A lovely location, and a beautiful cottage, with everthing you could need. It’s also had a lovely enclosed large garden . The stairs to the bedroom where a bit different especially if you had mobile issues.
A lovely long weekend spent is a beautiful part of norfolk.




Quince cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quince cottage was amazing.
Quiet and peaceful .
The gardens we're beautiful to laze around and our dog absolutely loved it!.
The furnishing of the cottage we're like home from home. All were comfortable as well as the super king size bed which I have at home! Amazing.
Would recommend it to any couple as long as they drive.
A real chill out place to get away from it all and destress!.
Accessible to almost everything you need to see and visit.
Will be using Norfolk hideaways not year.




Amazing cottage and garden

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage and garden. A good rural location and very peaceful. Bed was so comfortable and the cottage had everything we needed. Our dog absolutely loved exploring the large garden. Stairs up to the bedroom are very steep so care is needed when going up and down. No phone signal but the cottage has Wi-Fi so we didn't have any issues. Loved the welcome goodies, really nice touch. Would definitely recommend this cottage to family and friends



Charming cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 30 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage and welcoming bottle of wine and goodies very nice.
Dogs loved the garden, so peaceful.
Shower was nice and powerful and the bed was very comfortable.




A lovely cottage in the peaceful village of Gunthorpe

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A quaint cottage with all of the comforts required for a relaxing holiday in Norfolk.

The queen size bed was a treat and the size of the single bedroom made for a real luxurious indulgence.

The downstairs shower room was great for people and muddy dogs as well.




Quince

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Apr 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Had a lovely long weekend at quince Cottage, the cottage is just as advertised, however the garden is better than advertised as it is totally dog proof, so no worries when leaving them out.
Location was excellent for us, Cromer, Sheringham all just half an hour away.
Great way to spend our Anniversary. Would definitely go back.




Pretty cottage but hair found in shower plughole

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Mar 2018
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely cottage in nice quiet location. You can't park directly outside the cottage but there's plenty of parking over by the green. Brilliant huge bed and a comfortable sofa and armchair. Nice thick and soft towels. Kitchen was nice and uncluttered, plus a lovely welcome pack was left for us. However, we did find hair stuck in the shower plughole and there was black hair all over the sofa. Overall we were happy once we'd cleaned the shower (always pack some Dettol wipes!) One thing to note is that there are steep stairs up to the bedroom and down to the kitchen, bathroom and garden so it might not be suitable for some people.



Quince cottage gunthorpe

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Whilst the cottage was cosy and clean with a very comfortable bed and powerful shower (needed new shower head)
The cottage was very under equipped for holidaymakers like us who ate in for our entire holiday.
However I can not fault norfolk hideaway cottages who did all they could to put matters right - thankyou




Quince cottage weekend stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently stayed in this lovely little cottage for a long weekend, well kept very clean and totally perfect for two people and a dog. Central to Cromer and wells-next-sea we will definitely be going back!



Lovely quaint & cosy cottage ideal for short winter break

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely & comfortable cottage, fabulous woodburner to keep warm during very cold weekend. Kitchen was well equipped, lovely touch to receive a welcome hamper. Garden looked good, but didn't make use of it during our stay, would be great in the summer.

Could benefit from more local info on nearby attractions & places to visit.
Could benefit from a more comprehensive cottage handbook with a summary of how to use items such as cooker,tv,woodburner rather than rely on operator instructions hidden at the back
Could do with hooks in bathroom to hang gown or clothes

Above are minor things and did not affect our stay, but could improve for others in future.

Would definitely recommend both norfolk hideaways and quince cottage, looking forward to booking again.




Cosy bolthole fir us and the digs

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Despite arriving at Quince Cottage on a cold wet Friday evening, from the moment we walked into the cosy cotrage we were warm and at home. The heating was on and we snuggled up in front of the log fire with the bottle of Prosecco provided by the owners. The garden was secure for our two dogs and thr cottage was immaculate. The bed was large and comfortable and the bath robes were a nice touch. Be sure to have a plan for your meals as there are no shops within walking distance. The welcome pack is fine for the basics but we took our own breakfasts, dinner for two nights and ate out for a third. You are in the heart of beautiful Norfolk countryside but within a few minutes drive to the coast. If you have transport and are looking for a country retreat then this cottage is for you.



Lovely warm welcoming cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived in the pouring rain to a lovely warm cosy cottage.
The welcoming Wine crisps and cake were such a lovely treat.
The sun shone and the rain stopped.
Everything was thought of in this lovely little cottage.
We will be back.




Lovely break

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely lovely stay in a beautiful cottage with a beautiful selection of surprises on arrival. We all had a lovely time would absolutely recommend.



Quince. Cottage no one knows

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Jan 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
20 Swanton Road has no indication it is Quine Cottage and nor has literature inside cottage. In rain in dark it is not a easy to find which is no way to start a break. No loo roll in place. The property is good. Facilities are good. I recommend property but directions need improving.



Quince Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is excellent for access to both local towns, shops and the coast, it is also and very quiet, there are no shops in the village. The garden was well maintained. The cottage was very comfortable and fitted with all needed amenities.

Our only observation was that the oven had not been fully cleaned presumably by the previous occupants, and the bottom of the shower curtain was dirty.

We would definitely stay at Quince Cottage on a future occasion.




A nice old cottage but a bit short of small items.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 May 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Everything was fine but it would have been better if the following had been provided.
More utensils
Weighing scales for cooking
Baking dishes
Beer glasses (there were only two wine glasses and one tumbler).

Also, the shower head was a bit low for anyone over 5'9". This is because the ceiling is so low, such that the shower cannot be raised any higher. The high Leylandii trees across the road make the front of the house very dark. It may be worth tackling the neighbour over this. The village is very quiet.




Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave your feedback from your recent stay at Quince Cottage. I am pleased that over all you enjoyed your time at Quince Cottage and had fun in Norfolk. I will pass your comments onto the owner for their consideration and thank you for your helpful comments. I hope we can welcome you back to Norfolk in the future:)

My stay at Quince Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very well located close to Holt and just a few miles from the coastal road, the cottage is suitable for one or two people who do have to be nimble owing to the rather demanding stairs leading to the bedroom. The cottage is unsuitable for the elderly (downstairs wc) and for young children.



Nice memories

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Apr 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I enjoyed our stay at Quince cottage. We thank you for your kind hospitality of supplying us with a bottle of wine. We were aware that the stair case was rather steep to the bedroom, however the two steps leading from the living room to the kitchen was quite difficult to manage, infact my friend fell and hurt his leg. May I suggest that a bannister could be fitted there. Otherwise everything else was good. I would recommend this property to others but those who are disabled should be informed that the cottage is not suitable.



Norfolk Hideaways replied more than 1 year ago
We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Quince Cottage but are very sorry to hear that your friend had a fall during your stay. I do hope he is well and I will ask our photographer to return to Quince so we can provide a photograph of the stairs alongside the the text that we currently have that highlights that the stairs are steep. I do hope we can welcome you back to Norfolk in the future.