FB Twitter

Chapel Bank

Chapel Bank

3.9
out of 5
Ratings from 12 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.4
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.8
Location
4.3
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.0


A newly renovated 3 bedroom house situated within walking distance (1 mile), of Red Wharf Bay. The house is situated on Chapel Street adjacent to the A5025 close to local shops and pubs.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Fab place to stay loved it and has every thing you need and more lovely garden and seating areas will be returning for another stay thank you so much



Well located and dog friendly

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable house although very steep drive and steps to property which is not mentioned in the blurb. Also relatively steep stairs inside so might be a problem for anyone with mobility issues. Sink and toilets not very clean on arrival, and no loo roll available. Lots of 'stuff' in kitchen cupboards so no room for my own items. TV in sitting room would only receive BBC - not even ITV stations. Central heating good although complicated! No mobile signal unless in the street or at end of garden. Lovely dining area with patio doors. Local walks interesting and good for wildlife. Owners helpful and accessible. Could be excellent with a bit more thought maybe?
As regards recommendation (see below) - I would with provisos as noted above.




Comfortable cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Chapel Bank for 4 nights. The house was clean, comfortable more than met our requirements, with modern decor throughout. Red Wharf Bay is a brisk 15 minutes walk from the cottage down a very clearly marked footpath - the bay and beach are stunning. There are many walks in the area, with a fantastic woods with lots of clearly marked walks in and around. Bangor is only a 15 minute drive away and you can visit anywhere on Anglesey without too long a drive.
There is a local pub and chinese takeaway, both only 5-10 mins walk away and plenty of other eating establishments within a 5-10 min drive.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and hope to stay in Chapel Bank again as our son has just started at Bangor Uni! What a great excuse for a few weekends away on Anglesey!
Thankyou for a great stay.




Great location for dog walking. Not very clean.

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was in need of a good clean. The garden and approach to the house was very unsafe the concrete was cracked uneven and quite dangerous. The décor was poor paintwork chipped, flacking plaster. The TV was a waste of time only 4 channels all others just had no reception. Not very happy to have to pay for electricity, only used £2 but had to buy £5. Would be nice to have had a shaver point somewhere



Good family holiday house

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Conveniently situated holiday let which lends itself well to 3 generations sharing. Good local shop and two pubs which serve food within walking distance. Perhaps it would be a good idea to have 7 dining chairs as oppesed to 6 as property does sleep 7!



Chapel Bank- a large, well equipped cottage.

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful holiday at Chapel Bank with our daughter, son in law and their 2 children, aged 5 and 2. The house is clean and spacious. The beds are very comfortable. The kitchen is well equipped. The kids loved playing in the garden on an evening when we returned from our daily jaunts.
Chapel Bank is perfectly situated for sightseeing on Anglesey and North Wales.
The only downside for me was the steep slope and steps up to the house, and the steep stairs inside, up to the bedrooms, as I am disabled. Having said that, we did know about them when we booked and it didn't stop us from enjoying a great week here.
Thank you.




Enjoyed our stay but electricity meter a problem.

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Nice property, good location, would have liked it to be a little cleaner.
Electricity meter top up was a problem. We only spent £1.70 on electricity. On the morning of check out, went all the way to the garage in the village as the property information asked us to do, only to find the minimum top up was £5. This did not seem fair for our short stay and minimal usage, so left £1.70 on the top in the kitchen. Surely electricity up to a certain amount could be included.
Otherwise well equipped and enjoyed our stay




Virtually everything was great as indicated above.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time there, we will be back again.
Only item not given 'Excellent' - Condition - was due to:
1. the side/back gate does not close securely as the bolt barely goes into the hole in the post and it's easy for children to push it open
2, There is a lot of broken wood in the corner of the garden, nearest to the house and this area also leads to a flat roof nest door.

Please note that these were just small matters and certainly not enough to spoil our stay. However, any guests with dogs or small children might benefit from these being fixed..




Nice holiday house

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
6 of us (4 adults,2 children) stayed here for a week. Linen & towels are provided. Bedrooms were of a good size,especially the back one with the ensuite. Living room is a good size with patio door leading outside. The outside area is great,kids played on grassed area while adults lazed in the sun on the paved area! Only thing I would suggest to owners is to purchase a new 2 seater sofa. The one in there now doesn't seem to have much support underneath so you sink into it! Other than that we have no complaints whatsoever.



Hmmmmmm???.......

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Nice large house with big back garden. Garden advertised as enclosed and is not as there is a very rusty garden gate at the front of the house which is impossible to close, followed by steps onto the road which is on a blind corner, therefore not safe for dogs or children. Patio area in back garden unsafe for children as big unfenced drop and loose paving. Old fence panel laid on patio with brushes in ?water that had been used to stain fence, again unsafe. Comfortable living room, kitchen nice but not very clean, has sticky surfaces. We have a 6month old baby and are up at all times of the night to feed her. One particular night we found 2 slugs making their way across the kitchen floor which needless to say is disgusting. The final problems are upstairs. The cleanliness of the mattress on the bed in the ensuite room leaves a lot to desired it is quite frankly revolting!!!!!!!. There is black damp on the wall in the front double room which basically left my husband and I and our baby in a travel cot to sleep in the twin bedded children's room as the mattresses were clean due to waterproof covers but very uncomfortable. A real disappointment this house could be so much better and should be so much better on basic cleanliness when holidaymakers are paying to stay here.




cleanliness

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Aug 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
nice house, but needed a good deep clean , lots of cobwebs around windows and corners. perhaps some more garden furniture . woulnt want to put people off going as it is a nice house , nice quiet location . enjoyed walk on footpath to beach and Ship inn , food there very good but a bit pricey . next door at the boathouse was good too . Linda



July break

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Jul 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The place was dirty, oven filthy, bed smelled and the bin in the bathroom not emptied, other people's leftover food in the cupboard and other peoples socks on a radiator!

Great location and a cottage with good potential though.




Coastal Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for your comments and thank you for bringing these points to our attention. We have forwarded your review on to the owner of the property. Please let us know if we can help with planning any future trips!