FB Twitter

Hafod

Hafod

4.1
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.7
Comfort
4.1
Condition
3.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.1
Customer
Service
4.2


Hafod, Moelfre, self-catering holiday home with large enclosed rear garden and stunning far reaching sea views. Dogs welcome. Close to beach. Hafod is situated just fifty yards from the sea within a small development on the edge of the village of Moelfre. You are able to see Llandudno, Puffin Island and Red Wharf Bay. A two minute walk will take you to a pebble beach and the famous Anglesey Coastal Path for you to enjoy.

Stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 17 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Rented Haford for a group of 3 Couples with 2 dogs. Suited us ideally. Large conservatory where we could all eat with fabulous views. Everything we needed in the kitchen. Took our portable bbq though we found one in the garage.
Note the spiral staircase, may cause an issue with less mobile people or small children. Enclosed garden, super for the dogs, playing badminton and boules.




Really good stay at Hafod

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a very good time in Hafod. It is minutes from a small cove and has excellent views of the sea. Very comfortable house for eight and the unusual shower position on the first floor is fine. The spiral staircase is modern but very narrow so you have to be reasonably fit to move up and down it. Good kitchen facilities and the beds were comfortable. In a quiet residental area just minutes from Moelfre. We would definitely recommend it. Thank you.



Wonderful week of weather

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our week having been before we were better prepared for any mobility problems, tv signal kept going off, especially during the England matches , thankfully , to save my husbands sanity the wifi was brilliant so he could watch it on the iPad with specs on. Going again in September, hope we are as lucky with weather as this time, views are out of this world and moelfre people are amazing,



Best view in Anglesey

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had one week at Hafod and spent about a third of it sitting in the conservatory just gazing at the incredible view, uninterrupted natural beauty, open and ever-changing skies, the east side of Anglesey and the Penmon lighthouse in clear view, Llandudno and the Orme in the middle distance, and the mountains of Snowdonia on the horizon. The sea immediately in front of us and a glimpse of the little beach a few feet below with many kinds of seabirds around, completed the picture. I am told you might see dolphins playing in the sea but although we looked fervently we didn't see any unfortunately. Hafod itself is comfortable, well equipped and warm. A little quirky with the upstairs landing shower cubicle but this worked out OK, plenty of space there except on the narrow spiral staircase! We will definitely return to Hafod if it isn't booked up already. We like Moelfre too, away from the main road with a pretty harbour, excellent food at Ann's Pantry with a good selection for gluten free diet, and all within walking distance of Hafod. Thank you to the person who designed the back of the house to get the absolute best from the views.



Advice for anyone with mobility problems

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Sep 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As I had told Gary my son is in an electric wheelchair and I was told my 3 foot ramp was ok. Big mistake really high steps into hafod from every way so had to carry chair and occupant, garage door was best bet but hadn't Ben open for a long time so that needs sorting, by 6 days garage door more easy. Location brilliant but little things like no bath mat and a very slippy bath was dangerous as no smoke alarm in kitchen , no bulb in upstairs toilet which made an interesting time in the night. Would go again for location and take a 6 foot ramp and d.v.40 for other jobs.



Another great week in Anglesey

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time that we have stayed in the house. We are a family of 7, 4 children ranging from 4 to 13 and 3 adults. We love the location and the view from the lounge and especially the conservatory is second to none. The house is within easy access of some lovely beaches (Benllech and Lligwy).
The one issue we do have is that the house has not been updated in the last couple of years since our last stay. The blind in the downstairs bedroom has not been fixed and does not open fully, the TV in the downstairs bedroom does not work apart from the DVD option and there were issues getting the TV in the lounge to come on. The reason I have mentioned this is that this was also the case 2 years ago. I would also say that some of the decor needs updating.
We do love this house and the village of Moelfre and will be returning again next year.




A View to Die For...

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The bungalow is in an excellent location with the coastal path not far away making it most enjoyable walking to and from the village of Moelfre..
The cleanliness was good considering the poor lady having to ask for extra help due to the previous holidaymaker leaving the bungalow in a bit of a mess.
The service from Coastal Holidays was very good as I had to change the registration number of a vehicle and they acknowledged the change.
The beds were very comfortable. The shower upstairs was in an unusual location, on the landing, and talking of stairs they were not good for anyone with walking difficulties and you could not get easily up the stairs carrying luggage.
The location of the cottage was excellent, we walked on the coastal path to Moelfre and the garden was super for children with a view to die for.....




Hafod

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Apr 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fabulous view, ideal garden for dogs, super location. Kitchen could have been cleaner. Bedding a bit shabby.



hafod

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Oct 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
would recommend moelfre to visit.Hafod the cottage we stayed in was in a beautifull location with a fantastic view looking out to sea, and a fabulous enclosed back garden, safe for children and your pet.We felt the property was a bit dated and tired, in fixtures and soft furnishing, we appretiate it is a rental property and not everybody would treat it as their own home, it was a very spacious property but the spiral staircase is not for everyone. On a negative note the cleanliness of the cottage was not to are standards, it did not dampen our holiday and we would recommend this property to friends and would stay again.



Lovely view Hafod

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at Hafod the weather was also very kind to us which makes a difference. The house is in a lovely quiet position. It is like a home from home. Just a couple of things to be aware of, which was on our paperwork but didn't notice it. You have to take your own towels which we did not, no bother we went and purchased some from asda, cheap enough. But thought it would just be a help to have provided them as most places do. Also although you can see the stairs in the pictures they can be a little difficult to negotiate and couldn't take our case up. Also can be a little funny for children to go up ( our grandchildren wanted to see us in a morning). Other than this is it is a nice position being bot far from beaches etc. All in all we would stay there again.



Fabulous family holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Hafod in the last week of July. We knew it was going to be good from the pictures but they really don't do the view justice. We were absolutely delighted when we arrived and realised the fabulous position and views from the house. The children had great time playing in the garden and looking at the tadpoles in the pond. The adults enjoyed sitting outside on the patio when it was warm but were able to continue to enjoy the view from the conservatory when the temperature dropped. Just around the corner from the house is a little pebble beach where we enjoyed collecting shells and skimming stones. The coastal path takes you into Moelfre and all the way to Lligwi if you have the stamina. The walks that you can access from the property are fantastic! We spent time at both Benllech and Lligwi beaches which were both only a few minutes drive away. The Kimnel Arms does great pub food and craft ales and Anne's Pantry is a lovely restaurant both with great views. Din Lligwi is also nearby and we were lucky enough to be there on the weekend they had a reenactment and activities going on. The rooms are spacious and clean which is all we ask for really. We've been to Anglesey several times before as a family with small children and my husband holidayed there every year as a child. We like Moelfre because it's a beautiful little town and excellently positioned. I can't recommend the house highly enough and have had several people ask me for the details after seeing our pictures. We will definitely be returning in the future!



An enjoyable stay in an excellent location.

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hafod. The views are "to die for" and the location is quiet and peaceful. Cleanliness was good, although dead spiders within the fitted wardrobe in the main bedroom were unwelcome! Wardrobe space was also a challenge. We found the double bed slightly uncomfortable. The mattress could have been firmer, and being used to "king size" at home, we found the space in the bed a little restrictive. The bedroom and kitchen units are dated, but perfectly functional. The Internet access was welcome allbeit unexpected, as the web site suggested there was no internet! We would definitely recommend this property and would certainly consider returning.



Coastal Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hafod and hope you found our service helpful when planning the trip! If we can assist with any future holiday plans please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

Needs maintenance

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Nov 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Needs redecorating throughout.
Needs maintenance on outside too (rainpipe at back unconnected for example)
Directions need updating as incorrect (hotel gone or renamed)
Great views.




room for improvement

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Nov 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Potential lovely cottage in a fantastic location, beautiful sea views and access to beach within a few minutes walk just gorgeous.

The matteresses upstairs need changing!! They are awful, thread bare and can feel the old springs, there was no chair in either room upstairs to pop clothes on to after taking clotrhes off for bed.

Heating/hot water control are on the wall, which we put on, would have been nice if heat was on rather than enter a cold house in October.

Better instructions on how to use items needed

Kitchen needs a better deep clean, although appretiate the cleaner has limited time




Coastal Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the feedback, I have forwarded your comments on to the owner of the property. If we can assist with any future holiday plans please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

WOW

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wow, when we walked into the front door it was lovely but when we walked through to the lounge wow what a view amazing you didn't need a television at all. Every night we spent our time in the conservatory looking at the view in the ever changing weather.
All the family loved it there and our dog enjoyed herself too running on the beaches, it wasn't very far away from the village too with a great chippy and a great pub, we didn't want to leave the place and that wonderful view behind.
We will definitely go back - loved it.














Coastal Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hafod and hope you found our service helpful when planning the trip! If we can assist with any future holiday plans please don’t hesitate to get in touch.

A well equipped house offering accommodation for up to 8 with fantastic sea views from the rear.

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was our second visit to Hafod. The major draw is the fantastic view from the rear of the house - lounge, conservatory and one of the downstairs bedrooms. The only minor drawback this time was that some of the conservatory blinds had been damaged/removed which made it very hot when the sun was at it's peak. The house is well equipped (tho' could do with a knife sharpener). The upstairs rooms are not accessible to those with mobility problems but there are two comfortable bedrooms on the ground floor - one double and one with 2 twin beds. There is ample parking and shops nearby in Benllech so all in all, an excellent location.



Coastal Holidays replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for the great feedback, lovely to hear you enjoyed your stay at Hafod and hope you found our service helpful when planning the trip! We have passed your comments on to the owner of the property. If we can assist with any future holiday plans please don’t hesitate to get in touch.