FB Twitter

Stables East

Stables East

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 35 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.7
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.8


  • Open plan sitting room/dining area/kitchen
  • Living areas upstairs and bedrooms downstairs
  • Wood burning stove
  • TV with Sky Freeview, DVD, CD or Ipod dock
  • 2 Bedrooms - 1 double & 1 twin (All beds zip and link to double/twin on request)
  • 2 single sofa beds (in sitting room)
  • Bathroom with bath, over bath shower, wc & basin
  • Shared Courtyard garden

Comfortable and kid friendly

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stables East is a comfortable cottage and well equipped. Staff at Melfort Village were helpful. Swimming Pool and Games Rooms were great for kids on wet days.



A fabulous holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great games rooms for rainy days.
Clean and warm pool
Super helpful staff
Highly recommend
Restaurant food was a little disappointing but edible.




splendid value and enjoyment

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a most enjoyable three night stay in a spotless and extremely well equipped cosy cottage. Staff are very helpful and the onsite facilities great. The shop has very reasonable prices. Wi fi excellent.
We shall return




Highly recommended! Would visit again.

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great mini break. Melfort village has lovely grounds, very peaceful and beautiful surroundings. Very pet friendly! Would highly recommend! Cant wait to visit again.



Week in Scotland

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing and very enjoyable stay at Melfort. Lucky with the weather and the scenery was spectacular.



Lovely house, beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spend 4 nights in Melfort Village and it was lovely. Beautiful cottage, spacious, 2 floors. Spacious kitchen and a nice view.



Excellent week and accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hot water pressure in shower very weak. We were surprised that we had to pay an additional amount for the wood and kindling for the fireplace.



Ideal location for a family break

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly staff and excellent facilities for a short family break.

The kids particularly enjoyed the pool.




Delightful cottage near Oban

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stables Cottage at Melfort Village is a delightful place to stay within 30minutes drive of Oban. It is a real bonus to have a pool, sauna, jacuzzi and games area. Perfect for couples and families too.
Definitely recommend for a quiet peaceful rural location.




Stables East

Review submitted on Sat, 05 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quiet location, cosy, easy to heat, very comfortable. 2 bedrooms downstairs share 1 bathroom, no en suite.



Marvellous Melfort

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Melfort Village is very well positioned for exploring the surrounding landscape, there’s lots to do and see. We visited Luing and Easdale Islands nearby, simply wonderful.The Stables East was so comfortable and cosy, a wee home from home. It supplied everything we needed and more. Four of us stayed including our dog, the village staff were so welcoming and helpful. The Shower of Herring, the on site restaurant, offers good quality standard food with excellent exotic additions like the excellent Polish soup we enjoyed one night, made by the wonderful Kat who runs the place with splendid friendliness and efficiency.
We only stayed for a short break but we will definitely return for longer, we would be happy to stay in any of the houses in the village. They are all so pretty and unique. We will definitely plan to stay on a Monday to enjoy the music night in the restaurant, the local musicians were very talented and encouraged us to join in.




Great holiday in wonderful surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent an amazing week in Melfort Village with our son and his wife, plus 2 small children. Weather was mixed but that did not matter as we had the option of the indoor playroom and the swimming pool on the couple of poor days; and lovely walks round the grounds, playing on the swings and kicking a ball in the big field on good days.
The staff really "make" Melfort, as they are so friendly and helpful, with lots of ideas of places to visit and things to do.
The atmosphere in this pretty little "village" is so nice, with all the guests chatting to each other when they meet.
I highly recommend it to all ages.




Summer Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect selection of accomodation it was really clean nice with all facilities. it make our holidays a pleasant give us feel home outside the home



Mrs T Brady

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My Husband and I really enjoyed our stay in Stables East.
Thy house was very comfortable and as the weather was good but a bit unpredictable,
we appreciated the good accommodation.
We have stayed in Melfort village for holidays over many years and have introduced our Family to it.
They also separately from us, come on a regular basis.




My friend and I really enjoyed the stay with you, as usual.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything went very smoothly. the Sunday morning welcome and info. meeting was very well done and the reservations made by the office for a boat trip and guided walk worked without flaw. Great Monday night music session in the bar.
My friend was most impressed by her first visit and plans another later.




Spring in Melfort Village

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed at Melfort village on a number of occasions we were again extremely satisfied with our Spring break. The staff at the resort were extremely helpful and friendly, as they always have been. The new team in the restaurant provided a friendly pleasant atmosphere in which to have a meal and the food was enjoyable and well presented. We are looking forward to our next visit to Melfort.



Anniversary week away

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love Melfort Village. 3rd time now, usually in February. When we entered the house, it smelled too much of cleaning agents but soon settled down, it could also have done with a deeper clean in the living room, all other rooms lovely. We didn't mention it until checkout, but with hindsight we should have told reception right away as they told us they would have rectified it straight away, which was good. Lovely house with very comfy bed and quality bathroom. All the utensils you could ever need in the kitchen and the log burner in the living room was a nice touch. The on site restaurant was excellent and very fairly priced, open every day except Tuesdays and does takeaway meals. Can't wait to go back.



Stables east

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely well equipped semi detached cottage. Amenities are excellent. Beautiful setting. Recommended. Helpful knowledgeable staff. We will be back.



Friendly resort

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here last year, originally exchanging for one week, but enjoyed it so much we rented another unit for an extra week, so this year we booked another week.
The area is lovely and there are many beautiful places to visit.
The staff are always very friendly and helpful and add to the enjoyment of the holiday.
The cottages are all well furnished and comfortable and have different characters. The cottage was a smaller one than we normally use and our reason for not giving an excellent grade for comfort is purely for personal preferences. At home we are used to sleeping in a 6ft bed and relaxing on larger sofas.




A wonderful place in a lovely area

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best timeshare properties I've been to. Not only was the property excellent, but the helpfulness of the staff added that extra dimension which made the holiday really special.



great holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a great holiday at Melfort. The facilities and staff were excellent. Even when the weather is not great there is still plenty to do.Great value.



A good holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very nice resort. The cottage was very well fitted out, well maintained,
and spotlessly clean. The whole site is well kept, and the staff were all of
them friendly and helpful.o




Old Time Resort

Review submitted on Sat, 02 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is very charming. But the Wi-Fi service is a nightmare. Although the In room Wi-Fi is free, I would rather pay extra fee for good Wi-Fi.

Everything is fine except the Wi-Fi. If the resort does not improve Wi-Fi, then it becomes so out dated.




Didn't want to leave

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful property in stunning surroundings, and extremely well equipped. Don't believe the horror stories about the electricity charges, we found it very reasonable.



Our stay at Melfort Village

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent week at Melfort with all the usual amenities and more. We had thought we might cut short our visit if the weather was poor but it was excellent so we stayed the full time. The only problem was the Wifi but we are told it is being improved. Thank you to all concerned.



Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As usual you get very good service from a well run organisation,a very clean and comfortable well appointed cottage.
All extras such as plastic bags,washing up liquid etc are there for you,which saves remembering them as well.
This was not my favourite cottage as have tried others due to the lack of outside space to have a meal or a coffee,this is because it's an upside down house and the kitchen is upstairs and the grassy area is down on the next level so food would have to be carried around the building and down cement steps or down the stairs and through the bedroom,
Also outside there are only 3 picnic tables for 6 cottages,so not enough and none directly outside our door,so we never managed an outside meal which would have been nice,
Perhaps a small bench near the back door would be possible.
I don't think the house would be any use for someone with disabilities,and we found it a bit small for 4 people,however we had a lovely time as usual and enjoyed the pool a lot.




We had a lovely, lovely time!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was all around one of the most enjoyable, attractive places at which we have ever stayed. Our daughter and granddaughter especially enjoyed being able to take long walks in the countryside. The unit was very attractive and comfortable, although as older people, we would have liked better handrails on the stairs. The staff went out of their way to take care of our needs and the other people staying there were friendly. There was a little problem with the car rental because we were over 70 years old and not permitted to drive the rental; however our daughter was able to drive - but it was a shock at first to find this out. Public transportation would have been very nice. The restaurant was great and we loved the local musical group.



Pleasant stay at Stables East

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found the stay at Melfort Village very pleasurable. The accommodation was clean and comfortable plus the staff were friendly and helpful. The restaurant food was very acceptable, just a pity that more people did not take advantage of it. The welcome meeting was very informative but we felt that a printed sheet listing the local highlights would have been very helpful. The music night was very enjoyable, but again not that well supported. Overall a very good holiday and we hope to return to Melfort in the not too distant future.



Good but in need of some TLC and updating

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jun 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a lovely break and the site facilities and equipment were excellent. However the accommodation itself was a little rundown. The bathroom was very moldy as were the inside of the windows. The paint was peeling a bit, and there were old clothes in the wardrobe! A refresh, with better bedroom furniture (such as decent drawers) would make a huge difference and match up to the cost of the property.



Lovely stay at Melfort village

Review submitted on Mon, 05 May 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely time at the resort. Particularly good for the dog - a very useful enclosed area to exercise him. We were very lucky with the weather. As the resort is so dog friendly it is a pity the restaurant doesn't have an area where you can eat with the dog if the weather is bad. Staff very friendly and helpful.



Lovely cottage but needs some TLC

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful cottage but not getting a bit shabby with a missing picture, scuffed walls and parts that haven't been painted. Furniture in living room getting a bit shabby too.

Kitchen and dining area great and overall a superb little cottage.




Spring Break

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Mar 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at Loch Melfort Resort. I could not use my own week there but thanks to DAE I got the week that suited me very quickly.

Stables East was a delightful cottage and perfect for 2 people. It was a 2 bedroom cottage and I think 1 bathroom ,had there been 4 of us ,would have been a disadvantage.

It was warm and cosy and everything we needed was to be found in the well furnished cottage.

The staff were very helpful and well informed about the locality. The Shower of Herring restaurant on site was excellent.

Looking forward to my next holiday in Argyllshire.

Eleanor.




Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Mar 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been timesharing for over 30 years and found the standard of our accommodation at Melfort Village was second to none which we have experienced in the UK. The site facilities and maintenance matched the high quality of the unit.
An ideal base for exploring this tranquil and scenic corner of Scotland with ready access to a multitude of scenic hill walks.




Stables East

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jan 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful relaxing stay at Melford Village. Stables East is well equipped to a very high standard and is one of the best units I have ever stayed in, the bed was so good that even my husband, who has a back injury, had a good nights sleep. Although the weather was awful when we stayed (mid December), the unit was so cosy with a woodburning stove that it didn't spoil our stay. The staff were marvellous, extremely helpful and are genuinely keen to make your stay a happy one. All in all we would highly recommend it.



Beautiful location, comfortable accommodation, perfect relaxing holiday!

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Driving into Melfort Village you are met with a picturesque view of cottages in beautiful green surroundings! Our cottage was warm and inviting and furnished with comfortable settees (a nice change from the usual uncomfortable seating in most RCI accommodation) and a bed more comfortable than mine. There was freeview TV, a log burning stove to complement the storage heaters and the convection heaters - electricity is charged and we found it to be very fairly priced. The kitchen was lovely with everything I could possibly need.
The reception is in a beautiful little gift shop where the staff are friendly and helpful. The whole village is dog friendly and happily the dog owners are very responsible so don't be put off if you're not a doggy person.
The pool complex is outstanding, a beautiful pool in a wooden chalet, the staff were extremely helpful, checking the sauna and testing the jacuzzi before we used it. There is a large games room where I had my first lesson of snooker, fortunately there were no other guests waiting, it took awhile... There was a coffee and shortbread welcome meeting which was very informative, we made use of the local knowledge and found some wonderful places. There is fresh seafood served on the pier in Oban, just in front of the Ferry Terminal, that is fabulous! I ate scallops larger than I'd ever seen whilst my husband ate freshly cooked mussels, standing in the open air between the showers that dominated the week but were just part and parcel of the beautiful green countryside. Also, regarding food, we tried the The Cuilfail Hotel in Kilmelford one evening and had a lovely meal in the bar beside a warm fire with friendly locals, and the most amazing Seafood Platter in The Chartroom Bistro at the Loch Melfort Hotel. We would certainly recommend Melfort Village as a gold crown resort.