FB Twitter

Gesto Cottage

Gesto Cottage

3.8
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
75% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
3.8
Comfort
3.9
Condition
3.4
Location
4.9
Value
3.4
Customer
Service
3.8


Gesto Cottage, Stein is on the Waternish Peninsula and has the Stein Inn and Lochbay Seafood Restaurant within walking distance. With a double and a twin bedroom, it is a perfect holiday home for families looking to explore the Isle of Skye.

Stein

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
merveilleux séjour dans ce petit cottage parfait pour se ressourcer excellente confort et l'avantage de se retrouver proche de la nature



St Kilda trip

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
An ideal place to explore North Skye or take the Go to St Kilda boat trip, as I did. It is only yards from the jetty, an important consideration since you leave at 6.50. It is also 120 paces from the Michelin starred lochbay restaurant although, sadly I did not visit. The cottage is good for a short stay although the lack of wi if might annoy some people such as teenagers, the mobile phone reception is also very ropey in that part of the world.



What an amazing place

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Gesto Cottage is set in an amazing setting, the village of Stein is set in one of the most beautiful settings I have ever seen.

The cottage is lovely and well kitted out, if the lack of WiFi truly annoys you, this is not your place to chill out.

My only concern with the cottage would be the bathroom and beginnings of damp above the bathroom window.

Overall though, a truly amazing place to stay in an amazing setting.




General summary

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have come back here Year after year, location is excellent. Would recommend to all. Ideal if you like to be in a quiet spot



OK but not brilliant.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This property does not look like the pictures on the website. It is very run down on the outside and in need of attention. The picnic bench is now round the back but there is no seat at the front. The porch on the back is very damp and all the tourist information brochures need replacing as they have stuck together with the damp. The porch is also quite dirty making us wonder what we would find inside the main door. The shed which houses the washing machine and tumble dryer was also very dirty - we would not choose to use the machines in here. The property itself was clean and well equipped although it smelt rather musty and damp on arrival. If you cannot sleep in 'light' conditions, this would be one to avoid as the curtains were very thin - we had to hang a blanket up the window to sleep. Despite all of this the location was lovely, with great restaurants only a few minutes walk away.
This property could be lovely with a big dose of TLC!




Gesto

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
I guess it is a small cottage - however the furniture and interior is very dated ( still the same as 15 years ago when we rented the cottage the first time even carpet still the same ) The double bed is an impossibility to sleep in if you are taller then 1.65m . No sleep for a 1.92m person. Never had such a bad week of sleep in my life .
Still same bed as 15 years ago .Think the mattress is even the same as 15 years ago.
The shower inside bath really really difficult to use for a tall person . Bathroom mouldy. Bath tap doesn't work .
Kitchen supplies ok - however supply of some basics would be nice . Salt , pepper , paprika etc.
Tap in kitchen needs a a fix .
Internet would be a good idea in particular if you want to to do revision work for your A levels ......
As we won't have to depend on renting during school holidays anymore I think I would not rent again. Sorry .
Rather rent Captains house or Henderson House.








Enjoyed our third stay in Gesto, the last time we stayed there was 6 years ago and would go back.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 May 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As I have already stated our last stay at Gesto was 6 years ago and the cottage now has new owners, who have owned the cottage for 4 years and have not changed much in and around the cottage.
Sad to say it is starting to look like it is needing work done to it to make its appearance from the outside and the inside more acceptable for the people who come to stay. The porch and upstairs windows look like they need work done to them. The brochures that are lying in the porch have been there some time and have been affected by dampness.
The door to the small lounge/bedroom will not close as it is to large and the hot tap in the downstairs toilet is loose, also, it would be easy for a child to lock themselves into both the toilet and bathroom and an the only way an adult would be able to free them would be to force the door open, new locks are required.
To finish, the photo on the web site of the outside of the cottage and garden give a false impression, the cottage now needs the walls repainted and there is no bench and the picnic table has been moved to the other side of the cottage.
It is in such a lovely location and has near to it what I like for a nice relaxing stay.




Great cottage in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sun, 14 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Gesto Cottage with our 4 yr old and found it perfect for our needs. Very spacious and well equipped with great views from the bedrooms. It is literally a stones throw from a lovely pub and the shoreline is an interesting place to explore. Although located in quite a remote area of Skye, it is relatively easy to get to the main sights although you have to be prepared to spend time driving. The lack of internet and phone signal was also a bonus - a great opportunity to escape for a few days!