FB Twitter

Tarradale Cottage

Tarradale Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 31 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
5.0
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Tarradale Cottage, Portree is just a five minute walk from the town centre and enjoys seaviews. There is a bright lounge leading through to the kitchen / diner. The master double bedroom has an ensuite and there is a family bathroom. Upstairs there is a twin and a double bedroom. Both have a shower ensuite and superb views looking over the bay. The Annex can only be rented out with a booking for the main building. It has a double bedroom with seating area, TV and a shower ensuite.

A real home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place with excellent views. A very comfortable, welcoming cottage with everything you need for a great holiday.



Good but tired.

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our stay at Tarradale Cottage was warm and comfortable.
On arrival the sun was shining on the Loch at the bottom of the garden - idyllic.
The cottage was well equipped and the beds extremely comfortable.
One or two things would have made me give a higher score: our visitors had to vacuum their bedroom carpet as it looked as though there were animal hairs on it and they had to clean a dirty toilet. The items in the kitchen cupboards were muddled and some needed washing. Some areas looked well used and tired.




Top Choice

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Outstanding cottage. Great bedrooms with scenic views and all en-suite. Large kitchen with dining table and everything needed to prepare meals . Comfortable lounge. Excellent location on the loch side and within walking distance to the town. Couldn’t have chosen better .



Superb Location, excellent holiday home

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
You can't have anything more, this cottage has got everything that you can have in Isle of Skye. Perfect place with family, kids even most suitable if you are having elderley people with you.



Expectations achieved by all.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We normally come to Skye about every 4 years as my wife's mother was a daughter of a MacInnes from Skye and a MaCleod from Harris.
The group this year included my wife's sister, our daughter and husband and their two children, 4&8 yrs.
The feedback from the group, during and after, could not have pleased me more.
All expectations were achieved, even by me.
A very memorable holiday.
The cottage was a major contributing factor, both location and condition.
Please thank all those involved.




Wonderful Family Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our favorite location on our trip in Scotland and it was such a perfect spot for our family. We happened to luck out and had amazing weather while we were there which I am sure helped, but the house itself was such a great place to stay and was so perfect for our whole group. The only complaint was that we couldn't stay longer! Thank you so much!



We felt like home

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Before arriving received all information needed. Also by phone.
Cottage- well equipped (to the smallest item). Well maintained. Pleasant, spacious yet cozy rooms.
Bottom line- mostly recommended.

To owner-recommend to empty the garbage containers (outside) before arrival.




Great location

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely house set in a beautiful location with access to Portree shops and restaurants 10 minutes walk away. Would recommend.



Excellent place to stay, Excellent location, Book it!

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at the Tarradale cottage was the highlight of our vacation in Scotland. The location was close to town center, plenty of space for parking and the view was fantastic. If we visit Scotland and Portree again, we would first look to staying here versus anywhere else.



tarrdale cottage portree

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Overall good facilities, kitchen very well appointed. One thing that would have been helpful would have been more large towels provided (just 2 large towels, one for each of us). An extra couple would have been very welcomed.



IHCottages replied 192 days ago
Thank you so much for your feedback, it's greatly appreciated! We are sorry to learn that only one towel was provided per person. At Tarradale the standard is to leave two bath towels per person. We understand that the usual housekeeper was away for your changeover and this slipped through. Please accept our sincere apologies that this was missed on this occasion.

Fantastic place!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We absolutely loved Tarradale Cottage. The house was gorgeous, had every amenity you could think of, and the location cannot be beat. The owners have spared no expense in this beautiful house right on the water. And the welcome basket was totally unexpected and greatly appreciated!



A Central Base that minimises daily travel to the other stunning locations

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We travelled as a group of 5 (3M/2F) from a camera club to do a week of photography. The property is in a super location rignt by the lochside and you can see 'The Lump' of Portree town centre. With all rooms (3 in house and 1 in Annex) en-sute as well as a communal bathroom it was great coming back at the end of an exhilirating Skye winters day not having to queue for showers!
The accommodation is superb and being in the centre of the Island it minimises the travel distances you have to travel each day to visit the other incredible Skye locations. It is no wonder that something like 25 professional photographers choose to live on Skye!
We could not fault the facilities offered and the kitchen area is a great place to sit around and have a meal. Lounge area is a cosy spot too. If you want a bit of solitude all the bedrooms have TV's with seating.(we never watched 1 programme all week though!!)
Pretty much a perfect base with only 1 minor suggestion that 2 doubles and 2 twin rooms might suit those travelling in groups without their partners.
Give it 5 *****




Half term stay in Portree

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely house in a fantastic location. We loved enjoying our breakfast and watching seals swim past in the morning. A magical Island and a magical house made it a great holiday for our family.



Beautiful views

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage is perfectly positioned on the shore of loch but within walking distance to local amenities. Beautiful views. Beds very comfortable and kitchen excellent with great range of utensils. Cleaning adequate but dust and rubbish under furniture from several months ago! Showers poor pressure and variable temperature. Annex is a bit dark and corridor leading to annex has several roof leaks which drip on your head as you leave the room! Slipped on wooden corridor floor and floor itself in poor condition.



Genau DAS angetroffen was wir gesucht und uns erhofft hatten...

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir haben als Gruppe von 3 Ehepaaren wundervolle Tage in Tarradale Cottage verbracht. Das Haus ist urgemütlich, sehr geschmackvoll eingerichtet und hat eine unbeschreiblich ruhige und schöne Lage mit einem wunderbaren Blick auf die Bucht.
So konnten wir von dort aus herrliche Unternehmungen, Wanderungen und Ausflüge starten.

Im Haus sind viele Bücher, Spiele, Unterlagen zur Isle of Skye, Gewürze, Tee, Kaffee, Honig, etc. gewesen und viele nützliche Hinweise, was sehr angenehm und freundlich war.

Gut erholt und mit einem weinenden Auge sind wir inzwischen wieder zuhause angekommen.
Vielen Dank!




Cottage with a view!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location. It was a warm inviting place for a family of eight. So convenient to town within walking distance and a great base for travelling around Skye. We enjoyed our time here immensely.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 14 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay with great views. Five minute walk into Portree. Cottage is beautiful and has everything you need. Nice touch to have tea/coffee and wine as a welcome. Would highly recommend Tarradale.



Lovely Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a superb week in Tarradale Cottage. It's a short walk from the centre of Portree and a short drive from the truly spectacular Trotternish Ridge. Although if the weather is nice you'll find it difficult to leave the house as it's the perfect place to spend a sunny day.



Great location in Portree with fantastic tidal views and 4 great bedrooms and 5 bathrooms!

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location and house layout. Everyone had access to a bathroom from their bedroom and there was even a common bathroom. Views from all bedrooms except the annex, however, the annex was very private was wonderful. Well supplied kitchen, great management, owners who care, and wonderful housekeeper added up to a holiday to remember for all. We plan to return to Tarradale Cottage After the rain saw 4 waterfalls from the windows and enjoyed sunsets, sunrises and tidal changes for 14 days!



Wonderful holiday let.

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic lochside location of this very well appointed and comfortable self catering accommodation - could ask for nothing more. Met all the needs of our family of three generations being six adults and two children. We used the annex which has been modified following early reviews about ventilation and is also highly recommended if you need that extra space.



Tarradale Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful cottage in stunning location. We were four adults so there was plenty of room for us all to have our own space. This is a very well appointed quiet cottage close to the shore but just about 10mins walk from the centre of Portree - Ideal!!
Could have done with a couple more wineglasses but apart from that had everything we needed.
This was the second time most of the party had stayed in Tarradale and it's probably where we would chose if visiting again. Thank you.




Beauty and comfort in Portree

Review submitted on Sat, 12 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tarradale Cottage is a lovely property on the water at the edge of Portree, a ten minute walk to town center and about a twenty minute walk from the Scorrybreac Circuit walk. The cottage was comfortable and cozy, even in the wind and the rain. The kitchen allowed for nicely cooked dinners and breakfasts, the video was nice, as was the WiFi, and the upstairs queen bed was very comfortable. The shower worked well with lots of hot water. The views from all the big windows were like a kinetic art gallery, with the sun and shadows lighting the beautiful scenery from dawn til dark. Location was great - walking to town and Scorrybreac, also to the Aros Center for a forest walk. About a five minute drive to the big Coop, and a walk to the one in town, which had a wonderful selection of groceries. Sligachan with the Cuillen peaks was a fifteen minute drive,and the ferry terminal to Raasay was a twenty minute drive. So much to see within such a short distance. We never made it up to Storr, so there are reasons to return!



A wonderful location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tarradale Cottage is a beautiful home in a wonderful location. We had a very comfortable stay, and the proximity of Portree centre made it easy to shop/eat out.



Great family rental

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a fantastic house for our home base as we explored Skye for a week. Property management was very responsive, friendly and helpful. The property itself was in excellent condition, well equipped, with an attention to details that these sometimes weary travelers appreciated! As a group of 7 it wasn’t easy finding the right place, but this was a perfect fit. 3 bedrooms in the main house for us and our 3 kids, and an annex bedroom with ensuite and sitting area that was a quiet getaway for my parents. We hope to return!



Excellent Property

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This property is well appointed and is in a great location. The service provided by Islands and Highlands Properties was first class.



Fabulous find in the Highlands.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tarradale cottage a luxurious place to stay for a big family.Our three boys loved it and we felt chilled and relaxed.
Portree was a five minute walk away and you could walk along the shore of the sea loch when the tide was out.
The cottage is very private with views over the Loch and mountains,from all the main rooms of the house.
Now we have found this cottage this will be our home away from home on the Isle of Skye.




Lovely house in a beautiful setting.

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have all really enjoyed our stay at Tarradale Cottage. The house has well proportional rooms and all bedrooms have their own ensuite plus there was as a separate family bathroom. Having all the rooms with ensuite was a big bonus and made mornings a doddle as no one was waiting their turn for the bathroom. The lounge and kitchen areas were well appointed with plenty of seating for all, and stunning views from every window.
We also used the annex that is at the back of the house. This comprised of a large bedroom and lounge area with sofa plus large ensuite. It’s only light is artificial as it has no natural light at the moment, all though I believe that a window and glass door are going to added to the room in the near future. My daughter and her boyfriend didn’t have any issues with this thou and enjoyed having their own space.
The cottage is also positioned right on the shoreline with beautiful views with a decking area and garden. Plenty of parking is available to the front of the property. It’s also just a short walk into Portree where shops, pubs and restaurants can be found.




Fabulous Location

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't give this property 10/10 as the owners still need to do a little renovation work, however the property is warm, spacious, extremely comfortable and gardens and location are fabulous, it was ideal for us as each bedroom has own onsuite and a separate family bathroom,, ideally situated for walking into town and also some nice walks from the cottage up and arround the Aros Centre,



Stay at this house!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic setting - quiet and reasonably secluded, and the shining loch in the mornings was just wonderful. Beautiful view. The house has everything one needs, including an ice cream scoop! The owners have left it as a home, and so it felt. Very comfortable. We had teenagers with us and they loved it too. It's a beautiful house, inside and out. Comfy beds.

The annexe is perfect for a teenager - it has no window, but that didn't matter to him.

The rental company was very helpful and informative.

To sum up...recommended.




Lovely apart from Annex

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Whilst we enjoyed the house and its location, we had also booked the annex which we knew did not have a view of the shore. What we were not told was that it had no windows at all. We found the room to be airless and claustrophobic. We did point this out to the managers and requested a key to the back door so we could at least get some fresh air. They responded very quickly to provide this. Overall I would not hesitate to recommend the house to others, but I could not recommend the annex at all, which is a shame as if the back door was made of glass it would solve this problem. I just can't understand why the room was designed not to have daylight and feel strongly that we were misled by the fact that this was never made clear.



Islands and Highlands Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, We are very sorry that The Annex did not meet expectations. The owners have been carrying out improvements to the house over the past year and they are in the process of arranging works to the Annex which include a glass door and or window to the front. They are hoping this will be able to be completed later this year. We are sorry this didn't happen in time for your visit but thank you for your feedback. Thank You, Islands and Highlands Cottages.

it is defenitely worth taking it

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I searched for some places to have a 3 day trip in portree while booking and airbnb have nothing left. when I was about to give up, I found this place in google map and made a phone call to the office. they are nice and helpful. It is nice,just side at the sea, with a great view. It can hold up to 7-8 people.
recommand.