FB Twitter

High Barn: The Spinney

High Barn: The Spinney

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 59 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.9
Condition
5.0
Location
4.8
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


The Spinney, at High Barn offers the height of luxury in a tranquil, secluded setting. The Spinney is a ground floor cottage with two en-suite bedrooms. One of the en-suites is a wet room and is suitable for visitors with somewhat limited mobility.Spacious, modern, totally comfortable, The Spinney is appointed to the highest standard. Visitors love the view from the sitting room over the wildlife pond.A generous complementary Yorkshire Produce hamper showcases the best of the region's foodstuffs.

An excellent stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent cottage, well equipped and comfortable. The Welcome Pack was one of the best I have received.
My only slight criticism is that the bed could have been a little softer for my aging bones, but other that that I really enjoyed my stay.


Rosemary from Oswaldkirk stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in September 2019


Angela replied 5 days ago
We're very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We're sorry you found the mattress a little firm for your taste - it's such a subjective thing, but we do stick to a brand and a firmness rating that seems to please the huge majority of our guests.

Short notice booking, absolutely fantastic service. My grandparents were wowed by the cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you to John, Angela and James for providing such beautiful cottages. We were blown away when we pulled up as they look amazing, and inside the property is modern, clean and a beautiful home from home. The hamper upon arrival was a fantastic touch. My elderly grandparents came with us, grandad has mobility issues and this was well and truly catered for with no issue.
We have already recommended to all family members and would not consider staying anywhere else if in the area again.
Thank you for taking our booking at such short notice.


Lauren from Boston stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 2 nights in August 2019


Angela replied 16 days ago
We were delighted to be able to help you out at short notice and knew your grandfather would manage well in The Spinney, which is set up to cater well for guests with slight mobility problems. We hope you all enjoyed the wedding.

Another successful visit

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our eighth visit to Angela and John’s properties which says it all. It was our first stay in the Spinney which lived up to all our expectations. It is a clean, comfortable cottage with high quality fixtures, fittings and furnishings. The setting is lovely and we particularly enjoyed watching the leverets eating the clover in front of the cottage each morning. The family’s care for the environment is in evidence everywhere. We love this part of the country and our stays at Field House Farm cottages and hope to be back soon.

Jean from Southam stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 10 nights in August 2019


Angela replied 27 days ago
Thank you for your very kind review and also for the photos you sent to us of the hares just outside the cottages.

Short break away with family

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely comfortable place to stay. They really have thought of everything and it was ideal for mum who has restricted mobility. They really couldn’t do enough for us we shall definitely stay there again.

Sandra from Brough stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in July 2019


Angela replied 60 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. We do hope you will stay again.

Impressive

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a wonderful stay at The Spinney, High Barn. We were hugely impressed with the lovely house, high quality fittings and fixtures and the excellent welcome pack. Everyone we met were charming and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our holiday. I've stayed in a number of self catering cottages and this is one of the best.

Gillian from North Berwick stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in July 2019


Angela replied 61 days ago
Thank you for your kind review. It's good to know that you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney and that it was comfortable and relaxing.

Best accomodation we have stayed at

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Probably the best accomodation we have stayed in regarding finish, whats provide, welcome hamper and location. Maybe a bit pricey for just one couple and bit of a mix up with the phone when we arrived. Accesable, no steps ect. Will be considering a future visit.

Guest from Wakefield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in July 2019


Angela replied 63 days ago
Thank you for your good review. We're very glad you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you both and talk about how we converted the buildings etc. If you are considering another visit, low season stays might be your thing.

Lovely cottage in rural location.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit and the cottage didn't disappoint. Lovely rural location yet just minutes from Bridlington one way and Bempton Cliffs the other. The cottage is comfortable and beautifully furnished with the added bonus of 24/7 'Owl cam'. It was lovely to be able to watch mum, dad and baby Barn Owl on the one, cold, wet day of our break, from the comfort of our sofa. Fabulous welcome hamper just adds to the whole experience. First class!

Lynne from Chesterfield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in June 2019


In the top 10 of self accommodation places I’ve stayed

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage,in a lovely area,very relaxing.It was very well equipped with top quality goods etc.,an added bonus was the web cam Barn Owl box

Anne from Huddersfield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in June 2019


Angela replied 89 days ago
Thank you for your very positive review - we're delighted you enjoyed your stay at High Barn. Baby owl is growing fast - I am just about to post a photo of him/her on out Twitter account @highbarncottage and on Facebook- High Barn Cottages.

Fabulous Retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to a number of the properties owned by the Foster family both in York and in the Bempton area and we have never ever been disappointed. The quality and attention to the finest of detail is second to none. Simply everything is to perfection. Your personal comfort has been given such careful consideration and the family and their lovely staff are such kind and very considerate people. We had ordered an online grocery delivery and when we arrived even all the order had been so kindly placed away in the appropriate cupboards and fridges. One of the most important details for us are the beds, and these, as always, remain so comfy and with such beautiful crisp cotton linen. We cannot recommend any of their places enough. It is absolutely no wonder that they have once again won the top award for holiday accommodation. They totally deserve it. We LOVE going to their properties as we know we shall always get wonderful treatment and definitely come away feeling a million dollars!

Ian from Bicester stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in April 2019


Angela replied 147 days ago
Whatr can we say to a review such as yours, but thank you for such generous comments.

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stopped in The Spinney for two nights and had a lovely stay, the cottage was spotlessly clean and provided everything you needed along with a few added extra touches. The grounds were well kept and it was nice to watch the barn owls. It was also great to see lots of eco friendly options and products being used in the cottage. The cottage was also well placed for exploring the coast.

Laura from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 2 nights in March 2019


Angela replied 173 days ago
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your short break in The Spinney.

Fabulous Winter Break

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Spinney for Christmas 2018 and were more than delighted with the accommodation.
The barn had been decorated for Christmas, lovely welcome hamper and was furnished beautifully.
Comfortable beds, linen and excellent bathrooms.
Fascinated by the owl webcam too.
All in all, we couldn't fault it - thank you!


Amanda and Kevin from Market Harborough stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 6 nights in December 2018


Angela replied 260 days ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your Christmas stay with us.

The Spinney

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation convenient for visits to Bridlington, Filey, Scarboro, Flamboror, Bempton etc.The Barn Owl cam was fascinating

Roger from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in November 2018


Angela replied 307 days ago
It is always very gratifying to receive such lovely comments as yours. Thank you

Wonderful cottage in a perfect location.

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful short break in a perfect location. The cottage was the best we've stayed in and certainly the ONLY cottage with its own 'Barn Owl TV'. Beautifully appointed throughout with lots of thoughtful touches including the lovely food hamper which was especially welcome. A visit to RSPB Bempton, literally just down the road, was wonderful and we hope to return to the cottage early next summer to catch the Puffins, which we missed this time.

Lynne from Chesterfield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in October 2018


Angela replied 331 days ago
Thank you for such a lovely review. We're delighted youenjoyed your first stay and really hope to see you again soon.

Great for Disabled Guests

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I recently visited with my elderly father who has impaired mobility and it was perfect for his needs. The accessible bathroom has a level access shower with grab rail and a stool and large non slip mat are provided. The cottage is spacious, super comfortable and warm. Wildlife spotting was an added bonus. We saw deer on a walk in the fields and were able to watch the beautiful barn owl in its nesting box in the eaves of our barn, both on the webcam and leaving the box at dusk.

Jo from Ruthin stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in September 2018


Angela replied 352 days ago
We're so glad both you and your father enjoyed your stay in The Spinney.

Perfect stay

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again, another outstanding stay at The Spinney. This must be our 10th visit as it's just so fantastic, you just want to keep going back. Excellent quality stay in beautiful surroundings and so much to see and do from your doorstep. Highly recommended, you need to see it for yourself. Thanks to John & Angela for making us so welcome. Hope to see you again soon.

Karen from Stoke on Trent stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 6 nights in September 2018


AngelaIt is always lovely to welcome returners and to know that what we have to offer replied 359 days ago
It is always lovely to welcome returners and to know that what we have to offer suits them perfectly.

A Gem of a place

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit it the last 15 months which says it all. With having limited mobility it is difficult finding good 5* accommodation. The Spinney and Cake House ticks all the boxes. A good Yorkshire welcome by the owners and the fabulous welcome hamper. Don’t all rush, we need to get in for next year !!

Carole and Leonard from Rotherham stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in August 2018


Angela replied 359 days ago
I'm so glad both The Cake House and The Spinney suit your needs Leonard. We do hope to see you ion the future.

A wonderful short break in an area we had not really explored before!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful barn conversion. Immaculately clean and well-equipped with very comfy beds! Resident barn owl was a delight. Sad to leave and would definitely stay again.

John from Stone stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in August 2018


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in The Spinney and have 'discovered' East Yorkshire. We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Relaxation at its best

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation. Part rustic part modern. All you need for relaxing few days. Nice hamper especially the bread. Owl watch nice addition. Quiet location but not far from civilisation if you wish.

Pete from Rugeley stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in August 2018


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Just delighted that your short break offered you a relaxing and happy stay.

Five star accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
High Barn is very comfortable, has excellent facilities and the welcome hamper is first class. This is our second stay in another part of the barn, all equally impressive.

John from Faversham, Kent stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in August 2018


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're very glad you to have welcome you a second time to High Barn and delighted your stay in a different cottage was just as pleasing.

A beautiful sanctuary to recharge your batteries

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was faultless and felt very much like a well loved home and not a holiday let. The owner John and his son James met us to show us round the house and help us with our luggage etc as my husband is disabled. They couldn’t have been kinder and immediately we felt relaxed. The property around the house was so peaceful and beautiful and obviously much thought and care had gone into the design of the wild garden. All in all a very beautiful place to stay and unwind.

Patricia from Dunbar stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in July 2018


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So glad the cottage worked well for you and your husband

A perfect short break in peace and tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I travelled with my elderly mother for a midweek break in July, at the height of the heatwave. On arriving hot and tired we were immediately put at ease. The arrival instructions had been very clear, we were met on arrival, and were soon settling into the Spinney. The cottage is warm and cheerful, packed with everything you could possibly want in a home from home, and immaculately clean. The bedrooms are large and comfortable, each with ensuite, the kitchen has absolutely everything, and the comfortable lounge/diner is a great place to relax. The ensuite 'wet room' would have been perfect for a disabled guest because there is nothing to climb into or step over, and no doors or shower curtains.The guest information is comprehensive and thoughtful. Obviously the wood stove wasn't needed but I can see what a lovely snug place it would be in the winter. The welcome hamper is a lovely touch and much appreciated. The location is beautiful, surrounded by fields in a secure setting, and the green aspects and sustainability are fascinating. The Spinney even has a pond right outside the patio doors. There is no end of places to visit. Bempton RSPB and Sewerby are just a few minutes away in the car, with Bridlington and Flamborough 10-15 minutes. Filey and Scarborough are just down the road. All in all, a really relaxing and enjoyable stay and I'd most definitely return.

Andrew from York stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in July 2018


Angela replied 359 days ago
Do accept my apologies for not replying sooner. I'm so glad you and your mother enjoyed your stay in The Spinney . Hopefully, you will return to High Barn at some future date.

Beautiful, comfortable Barn conversion offering all the comforts of home.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney was absolutely what we were looking for as I had my 87yr old mum and a young man 56 with severe learning and physical disabilities to care for. The wet room was ideal and was well stocked and thought out to meet most needs.
The Barn is in a fairly quiet position away from the farm so no bad smells and only the occasional car going by. I am a light sleeper and was never woken by external noise, only my Mothers snoring.
The Barn is also very close to pub restaurants, co op local stores and a highly acclaimed fish and chip shop. It is easy to travel to many local beauty spots by car, bus and foot.
I was pleasantly surprised by thoughtful extras that were available that we didn't need to provide such as all cleaning detergents, bathroom well stocked with loo paper and nice toiletries. Little notebook and pen that came in useful on side table in lounge.
A large TV in every room that lets you have a secret view into the nest box of a mating pair of barn owls as well as free tv and some smart tv apps Iplayer. There is also a small pond outside the lounge doors with ducks just by the patio. It is also very private.
The owners and staff were really friendly and very helpful when required.
I would genuinely recommend this holiday venue. It is a 5 star stunning property and we had a great time there. Thank you to the Fieldhouse team.


Lynne from Nottingham stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in June 2018


An ideal holiday get away

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this accommodation for myself and my 89 year old Mum, the accommodation was like a five star hotel and was excellent for someone with some mobility difficulties. it was a most relaxing place to stay.

Debbie from Darlington stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in March 2018


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted your stay in The Spinney proved to be an ideal choice. thank you for your lovely comments.

A Happy New Year

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Jan 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay in a clean cottage with everything you need to enjoy your stay. An easy booking process and the small issue that arose during our visit was sorted quickly and effectively. Booked our next visit whilst we were there which says it all.

Chris from Huddersfield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in December 2017


Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you had a good time in The Spinney over New Year and so glad you have booked to come again.

2nd visit this year

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Booked a repeat visit to coincide with our anniversary and not disappointed, everything spot on as usual,will certainly come again next year

Terry from Wetherby stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in September 2017


Angela. replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you enjoyed your 2nd visit and we do hope to see you again

Excellent stay at The Spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have recently returned from a stay at The Spinney. We had a lovely time. We found the cottage to be excellent accommodation, very quiet location, cleanliness and furnishings to a very high standard. The cottage was open on arrival and after letting the owner know we had arrived, she came long within minutes to welcome us, which we felt was a lovely gesture. She was able to give us lots of useful info about the cottage and some places to visit. There is loads of information in the folders with ideas of how to fill your days. Although the location was quiet, we had to drive everywhere. It was just a bit too far to walk to the nearest hotel/pub in the evening for a meal, or to the nearest newsagent in the morning. It may be ok for younger people, but we felt we needed to take the car. Our only minor negative remark, but otherwise excellent accommodation. Thank you.

Mary from Callander stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in September 2017


A very pleasant stay at the Spinney

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have had a very relaxing and quiet stay at the Spinney. The accomodation is very good equipped. The owners are very kind and helpful.

Guest from D-41462 Neuss stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in September 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're always delighted to welcome guests from the continent and so pleased you enjoyed your stay.

Great place

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
great place to stay easy to get to places of interest .very comfortably place to be in friendly people altogether a great holiday.

Michael from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in September 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney

Lovely well equipped property and very helpful owners

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We needed a property with good access for my mobility impaired mother. This cottage was ideal, all on one level and with good fittings in the bathrooms. The owner was very helpful, provided raised toilet seat and shower stool, and set up the beds so that my mother had easy access to the wet room. The finish of the property was to a very high standard throughout. The owner also gave us lots of help and advice prior to the booking. Also, the welcome pack (food, wine) was the best we have ever seen!

We thoroughly recommend this property and will be back.


Neil from Durham stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in August 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
So glad your stay was a success.

Fab-u-lous

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One word three syllables, fab-u-lous. Peaceful location, equipped and furnished to a very high standard with lovely bed linen. Welcome hamper and fresh flowers were a nice touch and much appreciated. Just one, perhaps negative, comment about the bathroom mirrors which were difficult to see yourself in, even when lit. More a problem for men who may want to shave I think and certainly not something that would put me off returning. Highly recommend High Barns and hope to return in the not too distant future.

Anne from Deal stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 6 nights in August 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're just delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us in The Spinney. We do hope to see you again.

Amazing stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Me and my partner had a fabulous stay at The Spinney, total relaxation from start to finish. The place is amazing spotless and so peaceful. The location is also fab. We loved every second and can't wait to book to visit again!! Thank you so much for the welcome hamper, a lovely touch.

Rachel from Nottingham stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 2 nights in July 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Than uou for your lovely review. We do hope you stay with us again.

Quiet, lovely property

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property was well lied out and equipped, in an ideal area for exploring the coast and inland. Lovely welcome hamper on arrival. With a secluded patio area overlooking the pond on site. Only downside was there was equipment noise from the other side of the wall in main bedroom, during the night. But overall very nice property.

Ian from Ipswich stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in June 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're pleased you enjoyed your stay. We wish you had informed us about the noise you experienced and we would have investigated immediately.

weekend celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place to stay. Pity it could not have been for longer. I will be booking for longer next time. Everything was excellent plus being able to watch the barn owl on her nest live very exiting for the children. You have thought if everything to make our stay the best. See you again soon. Have already recommended to friends. Thank you.

Elaine from Bradford stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 2 nights in March 2017


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you all enjoyed your stay at High Barn.

An excellent Christmas break

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent Christmas at the Spinney with elderly parents. The accommodation was perfect and the attention from John and Angela was just right. Lovely walks along the prom at Bridlington in the crisp winter sunshine and plenty of great places in easy reach for longer and more challenging exploration. The quality of the fixtures and fittings in the Spinney is excellent and the family history and story of the barn conversion is a lovely unique touch. We hope to be back in another season to do some proper walking.


Deborah from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in December 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We very much hope to meet you again in the future.

Cosy and comfortable

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderfully comfortable, cosy, well-equipped cottage in lovely surroundings. We chose it because it was accessible - small issue with the shower being an overhead fixed one and maybe a few more grabrails would come in handy, but otherwise it was perfect and we really liked the way the place is so eco-friendly. Really pleasant owners and very generous welcome pack. Fabulous!

Alison from York stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in November 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay at The Spinney. We are investigating a 2nd head on the shower to make it more user friendly.

The Spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Oct 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in a lovely setting. Everything we wanted in the cottage and all in great order. We had a lovely stay at The Spinney and the Owl Web Cam was wonderful (far better than TV!) A great thing to do just wish we could still see those beautiful owls.

Brian from Penrith stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in October 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. We're delighted you enjoyed your stay and very pleased you were able to watch the Barn Owls.

Exceptional quality

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's extremely difficult to find good quality holiday accommodation for those with limited mobility but this cottage is by far the best we have stayed in. My mother had no problem getting around and there is good wheelchair access. The quality of the furnishings, fixtures and fittings is exceptional. The welcome pack provided was extremely good with some wonderful produce. We would love to stay again next year.

Lindsey from Scunthorpe stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in September 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you and your mother enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the cottage to be mobility friendly, which is what we intended it to be when we designed the layout.

Perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney was everything it said it was and more...and we loved it. The secluded outdoor area overlooking the dew pond was an added bonus. It was delightful to watch the owls and their fledglings on the tv.
Thank you.


Guest from Burbage stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in September 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
No greater compliment than to be awarded 'perfect'!

Excellent accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very good weekend at the spinney. Facilities first class my arthritic knees would appreciate a higher seat but thar was only a minor issue in an otherwise excellent experience

David from Sheffield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in September 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased you found The Spinney to be 1st class accommodation. We happily provide a high-backed firm armchair if requested, either before or on arrival.

A comfortable stay in a beautiful setting

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent barn conversion offering all the home comforts you could require. Very well equipped and really comfortable with excellent facilities. Peaceful rural setting yet close to all amenities.

Robert from Huddersfield stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in September 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted The spinney lived u p to your expectations.

Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really enjoyed this lovely cottage and John and Julia could not be of more help. Being able to keep an eye on the Barn Owls was so good and I was completely fascinated.

Doreen from Musselburgh stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 14 nights in July 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
John and I are delighted you found The Spinney to your liking. The baby owls on the web-cam are certainly worth watching.

Perfection

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having stayed three times at another property owned by the owners of The Spinney it was no surprise how perfect the cottage and place were. We highly recommend this idyllic lovely place. The owners are delightful and cannot do enough for you. They have been amazing to us. There are wonderful touches too - fabulous crisp white linen on very comfy beds, a lovely hamper filled with delicious food and drink, and a webcam which enthralled us as we had the privilege to see inside the life of two beautiful barn owls. Perfection indeed.

Ian from Nr Bicester stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in July 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're delighted you enjoyed your stay in The Spinney as much as your stays in our York apartments. We think High Barn is a special place - tranquil, private and extremely comfortable. We agree the Barn Owls on the webcam are fascinating to watch.

An excellent facility for those with restricted mobility, conveniently located to explore E.Yorks.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney is an accessible ground floor cottage in an attractive complex near Yorkshire's East Coast. It is very comfortable and well equipped in a quiet rural location.
The Spinney also has a very pleasant outlook over a small pond inhabited during our stay by a pair of Mallards.
We enjoyed a great holiday in beautiful part of the world.


Andrew from Nottingham stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in July 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your kind review. As you say, The Spinney is an excellent choice for someone with slightly restricted mobility.

A wonderful stay in an exceptional property with owls. We loved it.

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Thank you John and Angela for producing such an exceptional holiday property. It was just what we needed. Carol loves wildlife especially owls and to have the privilege of watching the barn owl caring for her eggs and her mate bringing food for her was a massive treat. I fleetingly saw a hare. It must be 30 years since I saw the last one. Very exciting! The dew pool right outside our door was great. Constant flashes of blue and one early morning having a male mallard for company whilst I had my morning tea made me very happy.
The Spinney is extremely comfortable and everything of top quality. We have no hesitation in recommending this property at any time of year in view of the novel heating system. Thanks again.
Ken and Carol Walton


Kenneth from Shipley stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 6 nights in June 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your super review. We think the wildlife is a huge bonus for holiday-makers. As you say, most people rarely see hare, barn owls, deer in close proximity and we have all these and far more to view from the comfort of superb accommodation. We hope very much to welcome you again.

A home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb accommodation, with excellent facilities, features and equipment. Tastefully furnished and decorated my wife and I felt it was truly a home from home. The webcam of Betty the Barn Owl was a real bonus! We will be back!

John and Janet from Great Missenden stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in June 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Delighted that you both so enjoyed your stay in The Spinney. Our barn owl is still sitting pretty on her 3 eggs, so we have high hopes of a clutch of babies in the near future.

Home from Home

Review submitted on Wed, 18 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Mother (aged nearly 89) and I had a week staying at The Spinney and although it was dry the NE breezes meant we used the accommodation more during the day so it needed to be quiet, comfortable and convenient for short drives out in the afternoon.
It is the best accommodation we have ever stayed in. The facilities and the furnishings made it a joy to come back to. The conversion, layout with the attention to detail of the design made it very easy for someone of my Mum's age to get around and she had no fears in using the wet room which had underfloor heating and sufficient grab rails for her safety.
I can HIGHLY RECOMMEND this cottage to any couple or to two couples as the accommodation is sufficiently generous not to feel on top of one another - it is the sort of place I would love to own myself.


Cathy from Lockerbie stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 6 nights in May 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad your holiday with your mother in The Spinney was a success. We were sorry to miss you on Sunday morning - I think we arrived just minutes after you had left.

Bowled over from North Yorkshire

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met on arrival and walked through the property to ensure that we knew where everything was and that we were happy with all the facilities. We spent a wonderful weekend In The Spinney. High Barn is certainly somewhere that we shall return to again, hopefully soon.

Susan from Ripon stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 2 nights in April 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for posting such a positive review. We do hope you'll be able to stay with us again.

A terrific short break in a beautiful cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife, two kids and I stayed here for a short break at the end of March. We were delighted with the accommodation which is a gorgeous two bedroom barn conversion with wood burner and large living area, which has a high standard of fittings and fixtures throughout. There is a double bed en suite and a twin en suite and there is underfloor heating throughout. The barn was very cosy and it is in a great location to explore the East Yorkshire coast. The owners were very helpful too and offered to show our five year old daughter the new born lambs. There was also a basket of goodies / essentials on arrival, which was a nice touch. All in all, a fabulous stay, helped by he good weather.

James from Harrogate stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 2 nights in March 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your short break was enjoyed by you and your family. Thank-you for your very positive review.

spinney easter

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay in the spinney and our 7th stay at high barns. Needless to say we love it here. Everything you need is catered for, John, Angela and team are always extremely helpful if any problems, of which there have been few. I`m sure if they could organise the perfect weather for your stay they would do that too.













































Helen from Crich Matlock stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in March 2016


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your very kind review. It's always lovely to have visitors return and we look forward to having you stay with us in the future.

The Spinney

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I just love this place. It's extremely tranquil and peaceful. I've now stayed here twice and will definiately be going back. I would highly recommend it.

Sue from Reading stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in October 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you for your lovely review. We were so pleased to have you return to The Spinney and look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Our Wonderful Stay at The Spinney

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Spinney is a faultless place to stay, not just for its proximity to Yorkshire's coastal nature reserves, or for its first class, contemporary interior and trail blazing building design, or even for its efficient, flexible and friendly owners, but more so for its wildlife promoting ethos which is embedded in every aspect of its being. A model for the future tourist industry.

Guest from Biggar stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in September 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We thank-you for your generous review. We aimed to make High Barn energy efficient and wild-life friendly, alongside the comfort and quality chosen for the interiors. We're so glad you appreciated our on-going efforts

4-11th September stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very much enjoyed our week stay here in comfortable and restful surroundings. It was particularly well appointed for my mother who has mobility problems and was located well for enjoying the local coast and the Wolds/Moors further afield.

Julian from Godalming stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in September 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Julian for your very kind review. We are glad The Spinney suited well the needs of your mother in particular

Our new favourite cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After many stays at Field House Farm Cottages , this was our first time here. Lovely quiet position , fabulous cleanliness, quality and luxury with own patio. The welcome Yorkshire hamper was lovely and most welcome. We had a lovely time with so many places to visit. Angela and John are very welcoming and go out of their way to accommodate your needs. We hope to continue to visit for many years to come.

Darryl & Leanne from Hatfield Peverel, Chelmsford stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 10 nights in August 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
Thank-you Darryl for your lovely comments. We are so glad you enjoyed The Spinney for this last visit. It always pleases us greatly to have returners, such as yourselves.

Amazing cottage, great location, friendly owners - complete package!

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous long weekend at this amazing cottage! It is beautiful, comfortable, warm and charming! The owl camera was a great hit with our kids! The location was great and easy to get to coast. Very quiet and peaceful! The owner, Angela, was very friendly and gave us some lovely suggestions for places to eat. She also left a beautiful welcome pack for us! It was the complete package! I will definitely recommend this cottage to my friends!

Fernanda from Littlehampton stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in August 2015


Angela replied more than 1 year ago
We're so pleased your time spent in The Spinney lived up to your expectations. I hope you enjoyed a memorable birthday weekend.

Our stay at the Spinney

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first thoughts were wow, we really felt at home at the spinney. The little touches were lovely, things like the hamper on arrival, cleaning products etc. The space itself was brilliant for our disabled daughter who could get round the spinney with no problem. The spinney was very clean and comfortable. Looking forward in going back in the future.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 4 nights in July 2015


Wish we were still there....

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of a small cluster of lovely cottages, away from it all but with the option of visiting nearby villages, beaches and other attractions. A lot of thought has been given to the detail which made our stay a relaxing and very comfortable one.

Guest from Basingstoke stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in July 2015


Wish we were still there....

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of a small cluster of lovely cottages, away from it all but with the option of visiting nearby villages, beaches and other attractions. A lot of thought has been given to the detail which made our stay a relaxing and very comfortable one.

Guest from Basingstoke stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 3 nights in July 2015


The Spinney

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jun 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable and well equipped cottage situated in an area of outstanding beauty and interest surrounded by open fields creating a calm and peaceful holiday venue.

Guest from Pouton Le Fylde stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in June 2015


Sue from Reading

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time in The Spinney. The cottage was absolutely superb, very clean and well equipped. The camera in the owl box was just the icing on the cake for my mum. She was constantly asking me to check to see if the little owl was still there. The cottage is in a lovely location, very quiet but easily accessible for Bridlington, Flamborough, Filey, etc. Over all a superb cottage and we will definitely be going back.

Sue from Reading


Guest from Reading stayed at High Barn: The Spinney for 7 nights in May 2015