FB Twitter

Kirkennan Lodge

Kirkennan Lodge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 67 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.8


Detached cottage on the peaceful Kirkennan Estate. Sleeps 5 & 2. Dogs welcome.

A world of trees

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A place to return to time and again. People and dog heaven. So much to see and walking opportunities with forests, estuaries and stunning coastlines. Loved Cally gardens and all the characterful small towns.

Guest from Scarborough stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 10 nights in June 2019


Lovely lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second stay at the lodge and we absolutely loved it again. Jenny and Michael are so welcoming and it feels like a home from home. We brought our baby son and two dogs so Jocks wood was great for relaxing off lead walks. The estate is beautiful and really well maintained. I would highly recommend Kirkennan to anyone.

Leigh & David from Stranraer stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 2 nights in June 2019


WONDERFUL COTTAGE

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A truly wonderful cottage in a beautiful area.
The setting is truly beautiful.
Cleanliness is second to none i would recommend this cottage to anyone.


Barry & Caroline from Rugby stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Travel with a dog

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I think it maybe worth mentioning in your advertisement that chicken and guinea roam freely. We didn’t let our dog in the garden unsupervised just in case as the birds came into the Lodge Garden,shame as it was a good size and fully enclosed.

Sue from Hants stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 8 nights in May 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Sue, Indeed we do mention our free range poultry on our website, our social media posts and in our leaflets – but it is always good to re-iterate their presence as we don’t want guests who are not a good match for what Kirkennan offers so thanks for taking the time to point this out. For future prospective guests who are reading this: Kirkennan Lodge can be an ideal holiday location for responsible dog owners and well behaved dogs as evidenced by previous reviews and the fact that 80% of Lodge bookings for the year ahead are repeat guests bringing dogs. As pointed out The Lodge has a large enclosed garden in which the vast majority of guests are able to let their dog roam. We also have a 14 acre riverside woodland, known as Jock’s wood, where guests are welcome to let their dog off the lead if they feel it is suitable. We do however ask guests to keep their dogs on leads in our extensive communal gardens. Our free range chickens rarely leave the walled garden adjacent to The Lodge’s enclosed garden. Between the two is a substantial fence – photos of this can be found on our website or can be sent on request. Our Guinea Fowl range more widely but spend the majority of their time in the walled garden or the arboretum. They are well able to fly. In addition to poultry Kirkennan provides a home for, or is visited by, red squirrels, rabbits, hares, pheasants, badgers, roe deer and otters. We consider all of these great additions to the Estate but we are not in control of their movements. We also have 2 other cottages whose guests may be elderly, infirm, young, people who dislike dogs or indeed other dogs. Given the above Kirkennan may not be a suitable holiday base for anyone with a dog that has a strong prey drive, is hard to control, or whose owners are not prepared to keep it on a lead outwith the Lodge’s private garden and Jock’s wood. If you have any doubts on any of this please do contact me before booking. For more information on bringing dogs to Kirkennan please see our website https://www.kirkennan.co.uk/about/dog-friendly-holidays

Kirkennan Lodge 2 Night Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were looking for dog friendly and child friendly accommodation at the last minute and were extremely lucky to come across The Lodge at Kirkennan.

From the off, Jenny was extremely helpful. We arrived to a warm welcome of fresh eggs and rhubarb (amazing eggs!) We had plans to see the surrounding area but upon arriving and having use of a private enclosed garden we found that we didn’t need to venture far at all. We had the weather on our side so spent a lot of time outdoors but I think even in winter months you’d never get bored, there’s a lovely log burning stove, plenty of books to read, board games etc. We also made use of Jocks Wood which was lovely for a dog walk.

Overall, we had a great time and would definitely recommend!


Joanne from Gateshead stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 2 nights in April 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Joanne, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge. In particular it is good to hear that you and your dogs were able to make good use of its large garden and Jock's wood. I am glad you enjoyed our free range eggs.

Another fantastic week

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our 3rd time staying at The Lodge and it will not be our last. It’s a peaceful location with easy access to local shops, lots of places to visit.

Kate from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Kate, I am so glad you and your dogs enjoyed your third stay at The Lodge. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. best wishes, Jenny

Lovely location great if you have dogs.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cottage was lovely, great setting and ideal for the dogs. Really enjoyed the rhubarb and honey that we were kindly given from the estate. Cottage comfortable, warm and well equipped. Looking forward to booking again for next year.

Alistair from ISLE OF LEWIS stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in March 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Alistair, I am so glad you found The Lodge to be a great setting for your holiday and ideal for your dogs. We look forward to welcoming you back next year, best wishes, Jenny

A fantastic place to holiday with your dog

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge is an ideal place to stay with dogs. The surrounding area has lots of walks and the estate itself has a small woodland where the dogs could be exercised off lead. The lodge is very comfortable and was a cosy place to hunker down when the weather became a bit stormy. We saw a different side to the area and fell in love with the estuary and the haunting calls of the wading birds. Have already recommended Kirkennan to some friends who holiday with their dogs.

Anna from Llanon stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in February 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Anna, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge and found it to be a fantastic place to holiday with your dog. Many thanks for recommending us to your friends. I hope we will be able to welcome you back to Kirkennan sometime. best wishes, Jenny

lovely stay

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Feb 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WE had a lovely week at Kirkennan. Its ideal for pets and small children we had both with us. Great location for travelling local area. Many good walks on the doorstep. Cottage is cosy and comfy. I would return and would recommend it

Lorraine from Manchester stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 8 nights in January 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Lorraine, I am so pleased you had a lovely week at the Lodge and found it ideal for both pets and small children. Please do recommend us to others, with best wishes, Jenny

Lovely short break

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Jan 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a lovely few days at Kirkennan Lodge. Comfortable, warm cottage with everything you could need. Lovely setting and the location is very peaceful - even though it's close to a main road we hardly noticed it. The garden was ideal for the two dogs (labs) as were walks in Jock's Wood and around the estate. We enjoyed watching the wildlife - red squirrels and many different birds. Great place for exploring the area although you could just stay on the estate, it's so relaxing. We will definitely be returning.

Karen from Preston stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in January 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Karen, I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan and found the garden to be ideal for your two dogs. I do hope you will return sometime, with best wishes, Jenny

Lovely peaceful holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Jan 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage to escape the rat race. Lots of dog walking from the door. We were lucky and could use the fields surrounding the Lodge as no livestock during the winter. There is a woodland walk within the estate that you can let dogs off lead to run. Watch out for deers though! Over the road from the estate is Kirkennan Woods. Lovely walks up to a couple of small lochs, although a little muddy in places due to some tree felling going on. It is uphill but nice on the way back. The Lodge is warm and cozy although a little dated but nothing wrong with that. The garden is large and secure for most dogs. This was our 2nd visit and a third has already been booked !

Annette from Merseyside stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 8 nights in January 2019


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Annette, I am pleased you and your dogs enjoyed your second stay at Kirkennan. We look forward to welcoming you back for your 3rd visit. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, with best wishes, Jenny

A nice place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 31 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and warm, spacious enough for 5 adults to be comfortable, plenty of hot water. A very functional kitchen.
Plenty of places around to explore.


Penny from Hartland stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in December 2018


Jenny replied 51 days ago
Dear Penny, I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Kirkennan. I do hope we will see you and your dogs back here sometime. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. best wishes, Jenny

A winter break at Kirkennan Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helpful communication on booking site re property and location. I wanted a safe Enclosed Property and garden for my dogs and
We were made most welcome with a fresh vegetable basket. The lodge is detached and on the edge of a beautiful Scottish estate. The lodge was well equipped and very comfortable and the owner met us and explained the heating and water and information files. Local walks beaches villages and points of interest all available in the lodge.
We enjoyed exploring the estate and it’s woodlands and saw some red squirrels and many different birds and wildlife. The weather wasn’t very kind to us but then it is winter but in spite of this we had some lovely beach walks and drives around the area returning to a cosy warm cottage, hot shower and a roaring fire.
Highly recommended and I would definitely like to visit again.


Kathryn from Congleton stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in November 2018


Jenny replied 226 days ago
Dear Kathy, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan. Many thanks for taking the time to share your experience. You would be very welcome to come again, with best wishes, Jenny

A relaxing, comfortable break

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a very laid back and enjoyable holiday here at the lodge. We loved the grounds of the estate and enjoyed seeing the wildlife. There are so many lovely places to go, even in autumn/winter andeveryone we met was very friendly. The dog was welcomed in all the pubs and cafes we tried which was very helpful. Amazing walks to be had close by and within a short/medium drive. The cottage is a little tired, but for a holiday with the dog that is fine, it was acceptable regarding the cleanliness and verycomfortable. We enjoyed a wood fire every night but be mindful that wood is expensive and the fire uses a lot! The lack of light pollution meant beautiful starry skies. A gorgeous place to relax and unwind.
Just one point to watch out for, the estate is bordered by a tidal river. At low tide there is a lot of slippy, sticky mud on the banks and at high tide can be quite fast flowing. Although the wood is advertised as enclosed and a suitable place to let the dog off the lead, a determined dog, like mine, can and did escape as there are places where the fences are not well maintained. Her recall at home is excellent, but she was over excited by the new smells and trails. There are sometimes sheep in the adjoining fields, there were when we were there. The river and its muddy banks can be dangerous. Please be careful. We were lucky to get our dog back.


Guest from Wirral stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in November 2018


Jenny replied 234 days ago
Dear Sara I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Kirkennan, found The Lodge comfortable and would recommend it to others. It sounds like you enjoyed the local area and found it very dog friendly. I am also pleased that I was working in the woodland when Lottie ran off so I could immediately help you look for her. Fortunately I was able to find her barely 10 minutes after you informed me she had gone missing and telephoned you to let you know. She was on her way back at that time having enjoyed a run in the adjoining field. We do not say that Jock’s wood is ‘suitable’ to let dogs off lead, we state that it is permitted there – in contrast to the Estate’s landscaped gardens where we require them to be kept on lead. It is the owner’s responsibility to assess the suitability for their own dog. Jock’s wood is a wonderful resource and enjoyed by many dogs both on and off the lead. It is a wild area managed for wildlife of 14 acres and (as described and shown by photos on our website) bounded on one side by a tidal river, on one side by a stream then a stock proof fence, and on the third by a stock proof fence. Stock proof fences are exactly that – designed to keep in cows and sheep and they are maintained to this standard. They are not designed to be a barrier to a determined dog. For any guests with dogs like Lottie – lovely, but excitable, large, able to jump, who has never seen sheep before and with uncertain recall under new circumstances – we would strongly advise that they act with appropriate caution. With best wishes Jenny

WONT BE GOING BACK

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Nov 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This was our third stay at this location, each time we have taken seven GSD's (German Shepherds) We always took care to leave the place clean and tidy and took great care to clean up after our dogs, to my knowledge no one has ever complained about the dogs. I called to confirm numbers just before this stay as the booking form said we only had 6 dogs. When I reminded the lady we had 7 I got a very bad reaction on the phone, a reaction that I felt was unprofessional and even a little rude. I reminded the lady that we always took 7 dogs and at the time of booking we had 7 dogs. I was told the rules had changed as complaints about dog owners had been lodged (not against us, as I asked her). I am not sure who would complain as there are no other properties nearby. I was told the limit was now 4 dogs. That’s fair enough but to tell us this only a week before we were due to arrive, especially as it was noted we were taking 6 dogs is hardly reasonable. Then to complain about it to us... is just not right. While we were at the property the lady spoke to my friend and explained the limit was now 5 dogs??? So I am not sure is it 4, or is it 5?? I can’t help but wonder how many guests take 6 or more, not many I suppose. So after spending 3 stays there over as many years, and recommending it to friends, who I know have made bookings, that phone call was all it took to make us feel tolerated not welcome. Disappointing

Ken from Nottingham stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 10 nights in October 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Ken I am glad you have been able to enjoy 3 holidays at The Lodge. I would also like to thank you for recommending The Lodge to others. This is most appreciated. I am sorry that we are unable to take future bookings from you as I know how much you and your dogs have all enjoyed Kirkennan. My husband and I have also enjoyed chatting to members of your group around the Estate who expressed their regret that it would be their last holiday at Kirkennan. As you have chosen to express your frustration about not being able to return in a public forum I feel obliged to put our side of the story. I certainly never intended to appear unwelcoming on the phone and if I gave you that impression I apologise – when you rang I was away from home and it was a very bad connection so I was struggling to work out what you were saying. I was however both concerned and surprised that at the last minute you rang to inform me that you would be adding both an additional person and an additional dog to a group that was already pushing the capacity of The Lodge to the limit with 6 people and 6 dogs – which according to our records is what you brought on your previous two bookings. I explained my worries but agreed to allow it on this one occasion. Whilst we were on the phone I informed you of our new policy for future bookings of maximum 5 dogs as I thought it most likely that you would want to book again and I wanted to avoid the awkwardness of having to refuse you. I appreciate you did make some effort to clean the cottage on leaving – indeed the vacuum was so clogged with dog hairs it took quite a bit of time to unblock. However The Lodge smelt very strongly of dog and took considerably longer than usual to clean. There were so many remaining dog hairs I had to empty the vacuum an additional 4 times. Furthermore a section of the carpet had lifted by a door. I called our carpet fitter to fix this down and he reported that in his opinion the damage had been caused by a dog scratching at the door to get out – the felt underneath the carpet had signs of scratch marks. Due to the damage he was unable to fix it without using tacks which are visible. This was most disappointing as the carpet is only a year old. Fortunately there was a day’s gap between your leaving and the next arrival. With our normal same day changeover it would not have been possible for me to get The Lodge back to an acceptable state in time for the next visitors so it would have impacted on their holiday. I do not believe any of the extra work caused was malicious, but it does confirm our opinion that 7 people and 7 dogs is more than sensible occupancy for the space available. We do not refuse bookings lightly – this is our livelihood and we need guests. We particularly appreciate guests like you who love Kirkennan and recommend us to others. However 5 years of letting experience has shown us that in order to run the cottages efficiently and professionally we do actually have to set some limits – something we have possibly been a bit too flexible about in the past. After much consideration we have decided that in future our normal limit of dogs at The Lodge will be a maximum of 3. In some cases, where human occupancy is not at the maximum, we might stretch this to 5, but this will be our absolute limit. Our experience with your last visit has only confirmed to us that this is the right decision. I wish you well in the future and do hope that you can find somewhere else to holiday that suits you as well as Kirkennan has. With best wishes Jenny

A gem in Dumfries and Galloway

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first vacation to Scotland and we stayed in The Lodge on the Kirkennan Estate. Two adults and 2 dogs and we all enjoyed our stay. The lodge was well equipped and very cosy. I was dying to light the open fire and never saw the need! Comfortable sofas made evening relaxing easy and the bed was so comfortable the relaxing lie ins were the order of the week. Kitchen well equipped. The enclosed garden was enjoyed by the dogs and the stocked bird feeders meant breakfast entertainment watching nuthatches and tits.
The estate grounds and nice to walk through with some huge trees specimens and a red squirrel colony. Jocks wood was an enclosed space to exercise the dogs off lead. Owners provided great support, booking was easy and on hand if required. Shops not too far away, community shop at Palnackie and supermarket at Castle Douglas. Ideally placed to explore the coast and the hills, highly recommended.


John from Cambridge stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in October 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear John, I am so glad you enjoyed your first visit to Scotland and found the Lodge well equipped and cozy. It sounds like you had a good combination of relaxation and exploring the local area. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, best wishes Jenny

A peaceful getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Many thanks for a lovely stay in the lodge. It was such a peaceful place, lots of places to sit and relax. Lovely views and lots of wildlife. A relaxing break, just what was needed.

Helen from Sunderland stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Helen, I am so glad you had a lovely and relaxing stay at The Lodge. I do hope we will see you again at Kirkennan, with best wishes Jenny

Wonderful relaxing spacious and practical eful

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A total relaxing holiday with beautiful grounds to walk my dogs in.error writhing was perfect. The accommodation was excellent and the area so beautiful and tranquil.

Gaynor from Merseyside stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Gaynor, I am so glad you found your holiday at Kirkennan to be relaxing and the grounds beautiful. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, best wishes, Jenny

the lodge

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
very comfortable cottage, in a very good location, good area for wildlife, will go back sometime in the future

Tony from NOTTINGHAM stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Tony, I am so glad you found The Lodge to be comfortable with lots of wildlife in the local area. You will be most welcome back, best wishes, Jenny

Beautiful location/great holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in The lodge and everything was ready for our arrival. Jennifer very kindly came and gave us some lovely home grown vegetables and honey which was very welcoming. The grounds are so beautiful and great for dog walks right on the doorstep. No complaints at all, other than I wish we had booked longer. Highly recommended. We will definitely be back.

Nicola from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in September 2018


Fantastic!!!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location which brought peace and comfort to the soul. A lovely warm welcome from our host. Kitchen was extremely well equipped with all mod cons. Regretted having to return to the city.

Mary from Dublin 13 stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 14 nights in August 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Mary, I am so glad you enjoyed your 2 weeks at Kirkennan and found your holiday reviving. We hope to welcome you back to Kirkennan sometime. with best wishes, Jenny

Kirennan lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely place to stay with beautiful surroundings and wildlife . Lots of beautiful places to walk and big Sandy beaches where the dogs could run and children

Lynne from Maldon stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in July 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Hi Lynne, I am so pleased you enjoyed your holiday at The Lodge. I have to agree that the surroundings are beautiful - it is what attracted us to the area - and the wildlife is always a delight. I do hope we will see you again at Kirkennan, with best wishes, Jenny

Brilliant location, brilliant holiday!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second booking in the Lodge at Kirkennan Estate. We were made very welcome, with homegrown produce and flowers! The Lodge is very comfortable and well equipped - lots of space for the four of us and our dogs. The garden is well maintained and was fantastic for bbqs, relaxing and for the dogs to play in. We had amazing weather and enjoyed exploring the nearby area. Having the woods to walk in with the dogs was fantastic! There's lots to do, and we still had time left to relax at the cottage. All in all a wonderful place and a lovely relaxing holiday - I'm sure we'll be back!

Gillian from Bonnybridge stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Gillian, I am so happy you enjoyed your second stay at The Lodge and found it comfortable and well equipped. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan sometime. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, best wishes Jenny

Lovely relaxing time

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time with our dogs:fantastic grounds with plenty of space for them to run freely in the woods. (Make sure you take your tick treatments to this region). The house was very comfortable and had everything we needed for a thoroughly relaxing holiday. Thank you for your hospitality and the fresh eggs and vegetables when we arrived.

Helen from Settle stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Helen, I am so glad you had a lovely and relaxing time at Kirkennan Lodge. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I hope we see you again at Kirkennan. with best wishes Jenny

Lovely secluded cottage in a decent area of Dumfries.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family stayed here for a week. Me, my wife, her parents, our daughter and 2 dogs. The cottage is roomy and well presented. Beds are comfortable also. Tv with free view and WiFi are nice additions. The WiFi isnt the fastest or best connection at times but did the job. The kitchen had oven toaster microwave dishwasher kettle and fridge freezer so we required nothing extra.

The rooms had enough storage space for clothes etc and the bathroom had a very powerful shower and a bath so accommodated all. The flooring in the front room and dining area is wood so bear in mind for the dogs, ours were fine with this.

The garden was freshly cut and very large, our dogs were able to roam free as the garden was enclosed and safe. The location of the cottage meant you saw or heard nothing except from the main road nearby. Perfect for a quiet getaway. There’s bird feeders located outside the dining room window and we saw woodpeckers etc throughout the week.

You have access to the walled garden which is nice to walk around but the ping pong table requires repair so we were unable to use.

The local store in palnackie is a 2 minute drive away and provides a small selection of cupboard fridge and freezer items. A 10 minute drive to castle Douglas gets you access to a big Tesco if needed.

We found the beaches ok, most are a 10 minute drive or more away but all are dog friendly. We didn’t think they were the greatest and preferred to spend our time outside of the cottage as there’s seating and a table there the cottage was the best part of our holiday

Jenny was a fabulous host. We were greeted with fresh eggs and greens from the walled garden and Jenny took time out to advise us of our surroundings although the booklets in the cottage were very thorough.

Overall the cottage was amazing and the area good. If we’re in the Dumfries region in the future we will stay there again.


Paul from Howden Le Wear stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Paul, I am so glad you found The Lodge amazing and sorry we can't accommodate you with the dates you want for next year - do come some other time! best wishes Jenny ps - The table tennis table just needs a slight adjustment as it was moved to cut the lawn. I'm sorry you didn't think you could use it. If you had let me know you wanted to I could have sorted it very quickly for you.

A lovely holida

Review submitted on Tue, 29 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
One of the best holidays we have had, the Lodge was very comfortable, location was lovely, lots to visit on the doorstep, the garden was great for the dogs, we will certainly be visisiting again, thank you Jenny

Linda from Gainsborough stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 11 nights in May 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Linda, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next visit to Kirkennan, With best wishes Jenny

Best holiday our dogs have ever had

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Could not fault our stay! Everything was absolutely spot on! You would never think a dog had been in the lodge it was so clean. The lodge was very comfortable and well equipped. The estate and the surrounding area is fantastic and Jenny was very welcoming! Loved it! 10/10

Leigh & David from Stranraer stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in May 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi David, I am so glad you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. I hope we see you at Kirkennan again some time with best wishes Jenny

Ideal location in a lovely cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
For those who enjoy wildlife, peace and quiet, beautiful scenery and a wonderful variety of lovey places to visit, really central to reach many of them. Best of all wet or sunny to come back at the end of the day to relax in this lovely comfortable accommodation. Watch the birds whilst eating your breakfast, and listen to the owls at night.

Guest from Derby stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 16 nights in April 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you found The Lodge comfortable and had a nice time. We look forward to welcoming you again, best wishes Jenny

Week break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a fantastic relaxing break in beautiful surroundings and lovely lodge with everything that you could possibly need. Been several times as never get tired of it. Will be booming again for definite.

Jacqui from Ilkeston stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in April 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Jacqui, I am glad you enjoyed your break at Kirkennan again. We look forward to your return later in the year, best wishes Jenny

Easter holiday at kirkennan

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location . Very comfortable lodge - warm and cosy . Only issue was the rain ! Enjoyed the deer and the birds

Guest from Belfast stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi, Sorry about the rain but it is really outside my control! I am glad you enjoyed the deer and birds, best wishes Jenny

A lovely place

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the second time we have stayed at The Lodge, and we will be back again. Lovely area, peaceful and brilliant garden. Lots of places to go to in easy reach of The Lodge.

Kate from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Kate, I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge again. We look forward to seeing you at Kirkennan again.

Wonderful Holiday!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting of this Lodge is amazing. Beautiful grounds, large garden and woodland walks minutes away.
We saw wildlife that we had not seen before( nutthaches and red squirrels) and to our amazement wild black rabbits, we didn’t even know they existed.These were all in the estate.
Our personal favourite was ‘Fergus’the pheasant who looked through the dining room window to be fed and returned every day.
My husband even managed to hand feed him.
The lodge was very comfortable and spacious and the owners were friendly and accessible without intruding.
We took our 3 dogs and the location was perfect.
In conclusion would we recommend and return?
We booked to return in November whilst still there.
Need I say more!
Highly recommended


Kim from Claypole, Newark stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 9 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am very pleased you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year - I expect Fergus does too!

Kirkennan Lodge

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Set within the grounds of Kirkennan House surrounded by woods. Very high standard of accommodation and very comfortable. Excellent facilities and very dog friendly. Garden secure, neat and tidy. Excellent recommendations for local dog friendly local eateries from Jennifer. Excellent for bird watchers or hikers especially for viewing Red Kites at the feeding station.

Stephen from MANCHESTER stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 3 nights in February 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I agree that this is a great area for bird lovers and those who want to walk. We hope to see you at Kirkennan again sometime

Perfect retreat away from home

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Kirkennan and our first at The Lodge, having stayed at Woodsedge previously. We arrived and had a warm welcome from Jenny complete with a basket of fresh veg. The Lodge is spacious and cosy, with ample room for the 3 adults and 4 German Shepherds and 1 Australian Shepherd in our party, and a garden to match where they could run around (just be careful as there are deer around).
The rooms were clean and tidy. The beds comfy with thick warm duvets, just what we needed for the winter nights in Scotland.
Kirkennan is situated in superb grounds (though a bit boggy this time of year), and in a great area for walking the dogs with woodland and beach walks nearly on the doorstep. The Lodge is less than an hours drive to Glen Trool, probably the best walking in the area.
As is with the Scottish weather the dogs returned each day wet and muddy so the hosepipe was very welcome.
The only downside is there was no dryer for drying all the dog towels.
We look forward to returning again.


Ian from Bolton stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in January 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you and your dogs enjoyed your stay. It is a great area for walking - we are always discovering new routes as well as going back to old favourites.

Perfect in every way!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge on the Kirkennan estate was the perfect place for us to stay, and we immediately felt at home there. The cottage itself is well equipped, with all the facilities we needed and a warm and welcoming feel to it. The garden is spacious and secure, so ideal for our dogs. It was great to be able to walk around the beautiful estate, and let the dogs run in Jocks Wood every morning before breakfast.
The area is a hidden gem, with so many beautiful walks on the coast and in the forests. We walked a different area every day within a short drive of the property. There are castles, gardens and monuments to visit in the area, although we were there out of season. The nearby village has a little shop and friendly pub, and Castle Douglas has a high street full of interesting, independent shops and cafes.
The cottage owners gave us a warm welcome with produce from their garden, which was much appreciated.
The Lodge suited our needs perfectly and we had a wonderful holiday there.


Jan from Barwell stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 6 nights in January 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan. I have to agree that Dumfries & Galloway is a hidden gem - there is so much to see and do!

Relaxing and cosy

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jan 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage with a warm and cosy feeling. Had everything you needed for a home away from home. Well equipped kitchen. Fabulous for dog holidays with great local walks though boggy at this time of year.

Michael & Catherine from South Leverton, Retford stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in January 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your time at the Lodge. I hope we will see you at Kirkennan again sometime.

Lovely place for humans and dogs.

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jan 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is in a lovely position. We received a warm welcome from Jenny with a variety of unusual home grown vegetables. We took 5 dogs and they loved the garden. The surrounding fields which were part of the estate were ideal for them to run in and have fun. Jocks wood on the estate was great for them too. The lodge itself was really big. We didn't even venture upstairs to the 2 additional bedrooms. It was really warm and cosy especially after a day out walking in the frosty weather. The kitchen was well equipped. There is a huge area of woodland over the road so we actually found that we didn't need to venture out every day to walk. However on the occasions we did found some lovely places within close proximity. Beaches lochs and woodland it's a lovely part of the world. Was so good we came home and immediately rebooked for next year.

Annette from Merseyside stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 8 nights in January 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at The Lodge Annette - we look forward to seeing you again next year!

Short break

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay for a short break away. Quiet and peaceful location to get away from busy life. Highly recommend. Jacqui and Steven

Jacqui from Ilkeston stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 3 nights in December 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
It is lovely to have regular customers like you Jacqui and Steven. We look forward to your next stay at Kirkennan. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Winter break with the Airedales

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Dec 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the Lodge, on arrival *WOW* great cottage and fab garden for 3 Airedales who had great fun playing tag in the huge enclosed garden. Lovely walks on estate - though the Estate forest has deer and rabbits and very close to a tidal river , so off lead you need to ensure you have a well trained *recall* dog - but our 3 still enjoyed the adventure whilst on lead. Local town Dalbeattie has sufficient shops to engage with. Excellent central heating system in Lodge to keep cosy and a small real fire in living room which enhances the cosy feel. The Lodge is at the entrance to the estate thereby close to the main road but with the odd exception you would not be aware that you were so close. On this break - 2 adults and 3 x dogs - we will visit again.

Duncan from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in December 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you and the dogs all enjoyed your stay Duncan and pleased you would like to come again.

staying in the lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed at kirkennan many times and we're always made to feel very welcome. I'm sure we'll be back there again next year. Its such a great place.

Sue & Graham from Melling stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 3 nights in November 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
It is always nice to see you Susie. We love our regular guests!

A lovely week in a beautiful setting!

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a great week staying in Kirkennan Lodge. The house itself is lovely, warm and inviting within a walled/fenced garden with views looking out onto surrounding fields/woodlands. We were very fortunate to have plenty of sunshine during our stay and spent a lot of time out walking our dogs in ‘Jock’s Wood’, a great woodland facility within the estate where dogs can run offlead. The Lodge is a lovely holiday home in a beautiful area and one I’m sure we will be revisiting in the future. Thank you Jenny for looking after us so well.

Katie from Clydebank stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in November 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you had a lovely time at Kirkennan Katie. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan.

Fabulous late autumn break.

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was very happy with the cottage, comfy, clean and cosy.
Very spacious and well equipped kitchen.
Our dogs didn't want to come home!!


Sam from Sheffield stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in November 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Sam. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and found The Lodge warm and comfy. Do come again!

Beautiful place

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a lovely time at The Lodge, lovely garden for the dogs, peace and quiet away from it all. Lots of places locally to walk and visit.

Kate from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 14 nights in August 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you had a lovely time and agree there are so many places to visit locally - I am still finding new ones.

Lovely....again

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit to Kirkennan but our first time in the Lodge. The accommodation was lovely, Jenny was really helpful sorting out a glitch with the wi-fi (essential with 2 teenagers in the house) and we even got an invite to a party at the big house. The area is beautiful and adults, kids and dogs all had a great time.

John from Macclesfield stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your return to Kirkennan. We do hope to see you again soon.

Escape

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful place to escape the rat race. The lodge is fantastic & the estate is sunning. The whole area it is situated in is so beautiful. It is peace away from the hustle & bustle. The whole family loved it. Made even better because it is so dog friendly. We want to live there forever. I recommend it to all my dog loving friends.

Fiona from Rossendale stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan. Many thanks for recommending us to others.

Fantastic place for people and dogs!

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had three dogs and three generations of people staying at the Lodge and we had a wonderful time. We were welcomed with a bowl of fresh produce and the house was lovely. The Estate is a beautiful place to wander round. We had fun with the table tennis in the walled garden and Jock's Wood was a fantastic place for the dogs to run round. The house was very comfortable and well equipped and we enjoyed the views from the large garden, especially as the weather was kind to us. The area is amazing, with loads to do for all ages and tastes.

Gillian from Bonnybridge stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in July 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you all enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan. I hope we will see you here again sometime

Characterful Lodge in beautiful surroundings with an abundance of wildlife

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kirkennan Lodge is a picture-postcard estate lodge, built of sandstone blocks, stone-mullioned windows and comfortably appointed inside. On arrival I had a chat with Michael, the co-owner, who was mowing the lawns. Apparently he and Jenny moved here about four years ago from rural Shropshire, so it's a small world after all. We explored our accommodation and agreed our billets without any arguments, the boys choosing the upstairs Lad's Pad, my daughter the comfy double and the downstairs twin for me. The Tesco groceries arrived on time, so we had tea and cake at the picnic table, then Jenny introduced herself and offered some fresh garden produce, which we artistically introduced into our evening menu of Frittata, followed by rhubarb crumble.
We walked off our dinner with a stroll around the estate and a circuit of Jock's Wood, taking in the delightful elbow of the River Urr, then it was back to the lodge to chill out and appreciate the gloaming.
By the end of the second day, we had seen a stoat, a red deer, a red squirrel, a couple of Red Kite and after a walk near Kirkpatrick Durham, a veritable cloud of Chimney Sweeper day-flying moths.
There is a handy Community Shop in Palnackie, which is about 12 minutes walk, albeit along a main road, and located next door The Willow Tree cafe. There is a pub in the village, The Glen Isle hotel, serving food and drinks, however for the real ale enthusiasts, I would recommend The Laurie Arms hotel in Bridge of Urr or The Sulwath Brewery in Castle Douglas.


Hugh from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and managed to see so much wildlife in a short while.

Kirkennan Lodge review - June 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay in the well presented and very comfortable lodge. Reasonably well located for touring around the Dumfries and Galloway area. An added bonus was access to the grounds of the estate with a variety of wildlife including a glimpse of a deer.

M from Stevenage stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan and found the Lodge to be very comfortable.

Week away

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second visit to date this yr and still as lovely and relaxing. So peaceful and ideal location to get away from hustle and bustle of everyday life. Will definitely be booking again

Jacqueline from Derbyshire stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 5 nights in June 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you continue to enjoy visiting Kirkennan. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Wonderful place for relaxing holidays

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is located nicely to make it an excellent starting point for trips to explore this beautiful area. We had a very nice and warm welcome which made us feel at home immediately. I'm sure this was not our last time

Sylvia from Berlin stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am pleased you enjoyed your visit to this beautiful part of Scotland. Please do come again.

My home for a few years as a young child

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
After 90 years it was wonderful to be back and remember a very happy childhood in area. Also see I g my first school at p a lnackie
A lovely time


Margaret from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your return to Kirkennan and pleased we were able to make the arrangement for you to visit Palnackie school.

Magical location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful location in a lovely cottage. Information in cottage was really helpful . Many thanks to Jennifer and Michael for allowing us to stay in your lovely cottage

Barry & Caroline from Rugby stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 6 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday. I have to agree that Kirkennan is a pretty magical location.

A week in the Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It took us a while to get used to the layout of the Lodge, but once we did it was great. Plenty of room and space. The power shower was great. The large enclosed garden was fantastic for our dog as we could leave the doors open and know he was safe.

Frank from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in April 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you found The Lodge a great place for a holiday!

Week away

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This location was absolutely fantastic for a quiet getaway. Plenty of space but in cottage and grounds for our dogs and it was secure for them also. Plenty to see within a short distance as well and owners have suggestions of where to go and what was around. Would highly recommend it you want a really relaxing week with no hustle and bustle .

Jacqui from Smalley stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 6 nights in March 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your time at Kirkennan - and great to see that you have already booked to come again. We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

Really good value roomy Lodge in excellent surroundings.

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Kirkennan Lodge for a week and found it very comfortable, there were just the two of us and one dog so obviously we had loads of room, it can sleep up to seven but there's only one bathroom so that could be a problem. Kitchen is fully equipped and all appliances are modern and fully functional. Separate dinning room again set up for seven. Lounge with log fire ( really nice) TV dvd player radio, comfy seating. Loads of books, toys, games etc. We only used 1 bed which was very comfy. The garden is huge and fenced, there are acres of woodland within the estate which are all free to wander in and just over the road is a forest which stretches for miles. Lovely quiet peaceful surroundings teeming with wildlife. Plenty of activities nearby, lovely beaches a short drive away. Great place for dogs.
Would we go back? YES.


John from Ilkley stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in March 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I do hope we will see you at Kirkennan again some time.

FANTASTIC our best dog friendly holiday yet

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just hit the jackpot with https://www.kirkennan.co.uk/ The accomodation was quite large with a very well equipped kitchen and large enclosed garden. We also had for our use a very large enclosed woodland, ideal if a pooch has a dodgy recall, a circular walk was around a mile and a half. It was a deal cheaper that we were used to for previous holidays. The owners were very friendly and allowed us to take 6 German Shepherds. The beaches were amazing and there were dozens of off lead walks right on our doorstep. Dogs and humans alike had an amazing time and we booked for next year before we left. Would heartily recommend this place.

Ken from Nottingham stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in November 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and are very glad you have booked to come back - we look forward to welcoming you to Kirkennan next time.

Our stay at Kirkennan November 2016

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had a great time at the lodge. This is the 3rd time we have visited and will be hopefully returning again next year.
The owners have made this a real home from home and make you feel very welcome.


Sue & Graham from Melling stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in November 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
We certainly hope you will come again next year. It is great to have regular visitors like yourselves.

Great place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had our stay there oct 2016 the grounds & gardens were great lots of space walks around the estate plus lots of colour this time of year take a camera.would recommend going out on a clear nights the stars are great.

DAVID from Bolton stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay - it was certainly a spectacular October this year with amazing autumn colour. The dark skies are very good at all times of year - only you don't have to stay up so late to see them in autumn and winter!

Beautiful Dumfies and Galloway

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge looked ideal for my wife and I to share the accommodation with our son and his family who live in Kilmarnock. It didn't work out quite as planned, and our family were only with us for a weekend. But that gave us the opportunity to investigate the area. We had enjoyed several holidays in the Dalbeattie area many years ago, and fell in love with the Solway coast then. It hasn't suffered changes with time as so many places, and we really enjoyed our stay there. The Lodge was ideally located and comfortably appointed. We enjoyed watching the birds on the feeders in the garden, and were particularly pleased to see a nuthatch, as well as other birds. Our stay at Kirkennan certainly whet our appetite for another foray into Dumfries and Galloway, and we look forward to our next visit.

Ernest from Minehead stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in April 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday in Dumfries & Galloway and found the Lodge well located and comfortable. I have to agree the Solway Coast is rather a special place! We hope to welcome you back to Kirkennan sometime.

Our best holiday in a long time

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we get together as a family every year and rent a cottage, this has to be the best yet... we all agreed on how relaxing and comfy the cottage and surroundings were. it was 10 out of ten from all 6 of us for this location, and service. the information provided was great and all the locals were frendly and helpful. we will be booking another week on the estate

Dorothy from Glasgow stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in March 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you all enjoyed your family get together. We will be delighted to welcome you back to Kirkennan sometime.

Great place for getting away from it all.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a relaxing break, and close to plenty of local attractions. The lodge is really well equipped and very comfortable. Stunning location. Highly recommended.

Emma from Huddersfield stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in February 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for the recommendation. I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday. Please do come again.

Return visit

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Feb 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my second visit within a very short time. I love this place and it has become a real home from home. Jenny and Micheal are lovely hosts and so approachable. I will certainly recommend it to my friends and family.

Sally from Somerset stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 13 nights in January 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. As you have now moved to Dumfries & Galloway I know you wont be returning to us - but please do recommend us to friends and family.

I would recommend this to friends and family

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jan 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have thoroughly enjoyed staying at Kirkennan Lodge and wish I could stay longer. The location is so peaceful and, I am so thrilled to see red squirrels. The oak wood was a definite favourite with my dog. I could let him loose and not worry about what he got up to.

Sally from Somerset stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 6 nights in January 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Lodge. We are thrilled that you have booked to come again so soon - repeat bookings always seem like the best recommendation! I agree that Jock's wood is a great place for dogs.

Amazing break

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge was superb, in a great location, lovely gardens and surrounding area. Michael and Jenny so pleasant and helpful.
Will be returning summer/ Autumn 2016



Linda from Glasgow stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in October 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your break. We look forward to welcoming you back in 2016.

peaceful

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very peaceful and excellent as a base. cottage was spotless and very comfortable.ideal for pets.michael and jenny were ideal hosts and always available to sort out any problems.

K from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan and that you found the Lodge comfortable. We hope to see you here again sometime.

Warm and welcoming

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
You always get a very warm and friendly welcome. The lodge has everything you need, plenty of space both inside and out. Grounds are beautiful and have lovely walks through gardens and wood.
Very comfortable beds. Opens fire is lovely to lit on at night when the weather starts to turn cold. Owners are very helpful and always willing to assist you. Will be returning next year to Kirkennan.


Susan from Newcastle upon Tyne stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Jenny Chapman replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan in 2016.

Privet Secure Ideal For Pets Accomodation

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kirkennan lodge is a securely walled, private and ideally located holiday cottage. Within easy distance (10 mins) of pet friendly short woodland works and numerous small pebble shell beaches. The lodge is well kitted out, clean and spacious with large enclosed garden. Been twice, no doubt there will be a third visit.

Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Lodge for 7 nights in May 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do come again.