FB Twitter

Kirkennan Mews

Kirkennan Mews

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 45 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
4.9


Comfortable cottage on the peaceful Kirkennan Estate. Sleeps 4 & 1. Dogs welcome.

The peace was deafening

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The Mews was very comfortable.The estate was beautiful and Jocks wood a delight.Lovely flora and fauna.The surrounding areas a delight to explore.The walled garden however needs Major TLC.The hosts were pleasant and helpful and had thought of everything for a stress free holiday,with loads of information about the area in the property.The weather during our stay was perfect which was a bonus so all in all a great break in beautiful surroundings.If you get chance to meet Jock,do,as he is so interesting, a living encyclopedia of the estates history and the area.A lovely man who has had such an impressive life.

Mike from Freckleton,preston,lancashire stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 5 nights in June 2019


Not as dog friendly as advertised

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jun 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very nice, if dated cottage with lovely views. We had to walk off the estate to let our dog roam. There was no enclosed area where we could sit without keeping the dog on a lead. While I appreciate there was a lot of interesting wildlife including red squirrels it would have been nice to be able to sit out and have a meal and be able to keep the dog enclosed and not on the lead at all times. Ideal for families

Barbara from St Albans stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in June 2019


Jenny replied 24 days ago
Dear Barbara I am so sorry that you were disappointed that The Mews does not have an enclosed dog space, but if you had read our webpage for The Mews it clearly states ‘There is an outside area in front of the holiday cottage with furniture (not-enclosed)’ and our webpage for bringing dogs to Kirkennan states ‘if you are staying in The Mews you will need to put your dog on a lead when going outside.’ I had assumed that anyone wanting to bring dogs to Kirkennan would look at both the cottage page and our dog policy before booking. However, as a result of your comments I have added link on all our cottage webpages stating ‘If you wish to bring dogs to Kirkennan please read our dog policy before booking’. For the benefit of potential future guests: we welcome dogs to all our 3 holiday cottages. All cottages have outside space and access to our 14 acre woodland (where you can let dogs off the lead if you consider it safe), but if you want an enclosed garden you should look at The Lodge or Woodsedge. We do our utmost to ensure our information is up to date and accurate and would rather do without a booking than have guests who are expecting something other than what we offer. Please help us in our effort to ensure you have a good holiday by taking a few minutes to look at our website www.kirkennan.co.uk before booking to see if we meet your needs. If you have any remaining questions I am more than happy to answer them by email or phone. With best wishes for your future holidays Jenny

beautiful place, lovely cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kirkennan is a gorgeous private estate , the mews was cosy and very comfortable and well equipped.It was lovely to watch various birds and animals out of the window before going out and exploring the grounds and woods. Took our grandchildren and they were thrilled to be able to go exploring on their own in the private grounds and wooded area.will definitely book to stay again .

Angie from Yeadon, Leeds stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in May 2019


Jenny replied 24 days ago
Dear Angie, I am so glad you enjoyed your family holiday. We do hope to see you again at Kirkennan some time. with best wishes, Jenny

A Gem

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to what we consider a gem of a place to stay.
It is a haven if you like peace and tranquillity and walking along endless woodland paths in the vicinity.
The welcome received, together with food and produce from the estate garden enhanced our stay and made our visit even more enjoyable.
There are local pubs and restaurants within a short distance from the estate and even a community village shop in the local village of Palnackie that sells all the day to day essentials.
We'll be back.
Thank you!


David from Esh Winning stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 5 nights in May 2019


Jenny replied 24 days ago
Dear David, I am so glad you enjoyed your second stay at Kirkennan. We look forward to welcoming you back some time. best wishes, Jenny

Wildlife &good hospitality @its best

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0




. Kirkennan Estate is a fantastic location with an abundance of wildlife. Our accommodation was very comfortable &as a bonus dog friendly. The hosts Jenny &Michael were very friendly&we received a welcome pack of fresh produce from the estate.We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.


Ann & Frank from Edinburgh stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in May 2019


Jenny replied 24 days ago
Dear Ann, I am so glad you enjoyed Kirkennan and found it to be dog friendly. Many thanks for recommending us to your friends. I hope we will see you at Kirkennan again sometime, best wishes, Jenny

Another fantastic break at the Mews

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here a few times now and really enjoy our holidays there such lovely surroundings a great enclosed Jocks wood and very dog friendly lots of red squirrels and bird life it’s in an ideal location to explore the surrounding areas lovely beaches and a Bri;leant bird reserve all close by we just love it and are there again in October

Alison from Morecambe stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in March 2019


Jenny replied 24 days ago
Dear Alison, It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Kirkennan. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you enjoy your holidays here and find Kirkennan very dog friendly, with best wishes, Jenny

A perfect getaway

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Jan 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely beautiful in every way, lovely cottage, stunning views, fabulous walks and a very warm welcome. We will definitely be back in the near future!

Michelle from Rochdale stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 4 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 24 days ago
Dear Michelle, I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan. We look forward to welcoming you back. with best wishes, Jenny

Another wonderful holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Always a great time had by all when we visit Kirkennan lovely relaxing holiday lots of wildlife and birds great walks and beaches brilliant

Alison from Morecambe stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in October 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Alison, I am glad your holiday lived up to expectations. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again in the Spring, best wishes, Jenny

Fantastic accommodation and location for our october get away

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This will be our third time staying here and it will not be our last hopefully. Accommodation set in beautiful location and many areas to explore around all within 1 hour drive. Host very welcoming and very informative of the local area

John from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 4 nights in October 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear John, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am always impressed by how much exploring you and your family manage to fit in. We look forward to seeing you again sometime, best wishes, jenny

Relax in nature's best.

Review submitted on Thu, 11 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The birds and animals you can see without going out are a treat, the red squirels the most entertaining. Autum colours of the specimen trees were at their best (Oct 1st) Ten mins to the shops, fifteen and you can walk on a beach of clam shells. Walking and cycle routes are great.

Stuart from Ripley stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in October 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Stuart, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I also love the red squirrels and the autumn colours. I hope we will see you back at Kirkennan soon, with best wishes Jenny

Brilliant relaxing retreat. An oasis of peace in wonderful location. Will return and have told other

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best holiday we have had. I would recommend to anyone. The squirrels were truly amazing. The bedding was wonderful. We all enjoyed our relaxing break playing table tennis and walks round Jocks wood were so memorable. We have got some great photos of the red squirrels. Amazing base for places to go. We shall return for a longer break

Wendy from Esh Winning stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Wendy, I am so glad you had such an enjoyable holiday. Thanks for recommending us to others and please do come again soon, best wishes Jenny

Relaxing..

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy cottage in very quiet location, just the place to recharge your batteries.

Everything provided that you would want in the cottage and quiet places to walk with the dogs in safety.
Plenty of wildlife to keep you amused..


Gail from Wellington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Philip, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad you found your holiday at Kirkennan reviving. I hope we will see you at Kirkennan again. with best wishes, Jenny

A n enjoyable stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the peace and tranquility of Kirkennan. A second visit for one of the party so hope to come again.The Mewsis spacious well equipped and comfortable. The estate is well placed for country pursuits and in easy reach of coastal destinations.

Averil from Styrrup stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in July 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Averil, I am so glad you all enjoyed the peace and tranquillity of Kirkennan. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. Please do come again sometime. with best wishes, Jenny

Another great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A haven of tranquility with wonderful wild life. The lodges are clean and comfortable and the hosts lovely people. We have stayed many times and will be back many times, hopefully. Thanks Jenny and Michael

Colette from Wreagreen stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 1 nights in July 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Hi Lynn, I am glad you had yet another great stay. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next visit, best wishes, Jenny

Review of our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious cottage in a lovely location.
Had everything we needed.
Enjoyed seeing the many types of birds and wildlife.
Helpful friendly neighbour as well!


Dorothy from Wheaton Aston stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Dorothy, I am so glad you enjoyed your time at Kirkennan - particularly the birds and other wildlife. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I do hope you will visit Kirkennan again, best wishes, Jenny

Perfect holiday base!

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another great stay at Kirkennan Mews! A clean & well equipped accommodation in a stunning location. So relaxing watching, red squirrels, rabbits, deer & lots of different birds on the front lawn every day. Our dogs loved running free in Jock’s Wood behind the cottage. A fantastic base to explore the wonderful Dumfries & Galloway area including the Solway coast. We would definitely recommend this to anyone & will be back!!

Vivienne from Warrington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Vivienne, I am so glad you find The Mews to be a perfect holiday base in a stunning location. Please do recommend us to anyone you think might enjoy Kirkennan and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan sometime. Best wishes, Jenny

Perfect for pet owners

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brilliant find for a short break with a pup and two teenagers. The Mews is so cosy and the wildlife is outstanding-just outside the front window. The private walks were great and the night sky on a clear night is amazing. Very good mix of seclusion and proximity to Dalbeattie for ample amenities. The fresh eggs on arrival were a lovely touch. We hope to return to this gem of a place.

Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in April 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your short stay at The Mews - in particular the wildlife. We are so lucky to have so much right on our doorstep! Please do come again, and hopefully stay longer. best wishes, Jenny

We had a week at Kirkennan

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed a few times and absolutely love Kirkennan it is set in such beautiful surroundings. Jenny and Micheal are so welcoming and helpful and always bring a gift of home grown produce which is lovely. We have a lovely relaxed break at kirkennan which is what we are after we can enjoy watching the red squirrels frolicking and all the amazing bird life it’s got all we need and more.

Alison from Morecambe stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We love having repeat guests like you who love Kirkennan as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Nice relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Dec 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place for a short break. Comfortable with plenty of room. Dog friendly but you need to take your own throws for the sofas (two large, three seater leather ones plus two chairs so pack plenty!). Dog box of old towels and toys a nice touch as was the veg and eggs for the human guests. Alfie dog loved Jocks Wood and forest on other side of road was good too. Turn off for the drive hard to spot from the road, keep your eyes peeled for Kirkennan on gate post.

Guest from Carlisle stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in November 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your short break at Kirkennan Jody. It sounds like Alfie had a good time.

Fantastic experience once again

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again excellent holiday thanks to the accommodation. Very spacious, clean and everything we needed. Very welcoming and always on hand. Loved it that much last year booked again this year and booked again for next year

John from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 4 nights in October 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
It is always a pleasure to have you and your family to stay John. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

A Hidden Gem

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful part of Scotland! Kirkennan Mews are in a wonderful position, surrounded by beautiful trees and woods. The owners are very friendly, helpful and treat you like one of the family. There was even a welcoming basket of lovely home-grown vegetables. We took our 3 dogs and although there is no garden actually attached to the Mews cottage, there is a huge enclosed wood just 20 metres from the front door where they could all run free and enjoy lots of exciting sniffs. The accommodation is very comfortable if a tad dated but there is everything you could possibly need including complementary tea, coffee etc. There are lots of interesting places to visit and some magnificent drives and coastal walks. We had an excellent holiday and thoroughly recommend Kirkennan.

Cally & Bill from Near Knighton stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 8 nights in September 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for recommending Kirkennan Cally. I am so glad you all had an excellent holiday.

Peaceful Kirkennan

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely relaxing place. Perfect for exploring both in the grounds & nearby. An excellent dog friendly place, ours loved Jock's Wood & the beaches we visited. The Mews was very clean & comfortable & well equipped for self catering. We were greeted by Jenny who was very helpful & bearing fresh, home grown veggies. We saw deer, red squirrels, rabbits & various types of birds from The Mews. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay & hope to return again soon!!

Viv from Warrington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in September 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you had a relaxing break at Kirkennan. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Lovely stay...

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really authentic cottage within a lovely grounds. Nice walks within short distances.
Lovely hosts and always happy to help if needed.
Short drive to shops and restaurants.

Would definitely stay again....


Paula from Lancashire stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 4 nights in August 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan. I hope we see you again.

Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent".........................................................................................................................

Guest from Toodyay stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 5 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan

Great cottage on beaurtiful country estate

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable warm and extremely well-equipped cottage on lovely country estate a few miles from Castle Douglas to the North and Dalbeattie to the South. Estate contains a walled garden, many mature trees and flowering shrubbery and a host of wildlife including, red squirrels, grouse, deer and badgers. Dogs are also made very welcome and there is a large off-lead area.

Peter from Coleraine stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 6 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am pleased you found The Mews warm, comfortable and well equipped.

Wonderful base to explore from

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for three nights in the Mews with our dogs and although we were a bit concerned about the lack of garden, the 14 acres of Jocks wood on the doorstep meant it wasn't a problem. The cottage was clean and comfortable and set in stunning grounds, which you can walk around. The fresh eggs and vegetables on arrival were a lovely surprise and Jenny is the perfect host, helpful but not intrusive. Dumfries and Galloway has so much to see and do and so many dog friendly walks and beaches that you are spoilt for choice. We would recommend Kilkennan as the ideal dog friendly base to explore from.

Derek from Chobham stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan and that you found us very dog friendly. We do find dogs tend to love Jock's wood. For the benefit of any potential guests reading this, The Mews does have outside space with furniture but it is not enclosed. If you are looking for an enclosed garden please consider Woodsedge or The Lodge.

Great place to stay, particularly if you have a dog.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Superb setting and location. As soon as we got home we were working on holiday dates to book a return visit. The accommodation was spacious and well equipped. The estate was an absolute delight. We visit a lot of similar types of holiday accommodation and this is definitely up there with the best of them. The surrounding area offers many attractions but you may find the estate so peaceful and attractive you may opt to spend most of your time there.

Laurence from County Durham stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in April 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay - we certainly hope to see you again at Kirkennan.

Family break

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 4th or 5th time we've stayed at kirkennen and we have already booked again for later in the year.
This holiday location is perfect with so many places to visit but if you dont feel like walking too far both
the grounds and adjoining woods are lovely with lots of wild life to see. For the owners Michael and Jenny nothing
seems to be too much trouble and they always make you feel very welcome. We can't wait to go back.


Sue & Graham from Melling stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in April 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to Kirkennan. We look forward to seeing you again later in the year.

Stay in kirkennan mews

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the mews in March. Lovely location quiet and peaceful. A great chilled break with friendly owners and Jock next door. Our dog loved his stay as did we. Definitely would return. Loved the night sky. Thanks for having us.

Geoffrey from Blyth stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in March 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I agree Kirkennan is a lovely location and the night skies are spectacular! I do hope you will return some time.

Five days at Kirkennan

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Booked this news cottage because of location(an hour from our house) dog friendly and value for money. And it didn't disappoint on all of these. Very cozy and comfy and walks around the estate and the area are great. Both Jennifer and Michael were about the grounds and chatted too. All in all a great stay and highly recommended.

Evelyn J from Prestwick stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 5 nights in February 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan and hope that we will see you again sometime.

Review

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation had everything we needed. As mentioned to us at start of our stay the log fire was slightly smokey when first lit but we coped. We appreciated the veg we were given from the garden and used it all in several stir fries.

P from Barrow-In-Furness stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in January 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you found The Mews had all you needed. The fire is only ever smokey on days with absolutely no wind - and since your visit we have been told by another guest that the solution is to hold the door firmly shut with the insulated glove provided for a couple of minutes. Once it is warm it draws well.

Superb... we can't wait to return!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week with friends, staying in both cottages, with our dogs. The cottages were perfect for our needs, which was to enjoy a relaxing week in the Scottish outdoors. Great grounds, close to fields, woods and beaches. Also with the bonus of a supermarket 5 minutes away as we cooked in the evenings together and ate out during the days. Perfect!

Jo from Bishop Auckland stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in December 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your New Year at Kirkennan - it really is a lovely place to get together with friends. I am just sorry we are already booked for the dates when you wanted to return. Hopefully you can come some other time.

Christmas Brea5

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Dec 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our Christmas beak cottage comfortable and warm excellent walks and lots of wildlife inclu6 Red Squirrels

Maurice from Glasgow stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in December 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am pleased you enjoyed your Xmas at Kirkennan. The red squirrels are frequently active around Kirkennan and are such a joy to watch. I do hope to see you again at Kirkennan sometime.

A clean, warm and welcoming cottage in beautiful grounds

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a lovely long weekend here in December to celebrate my birthday and enjoyed our stay very much. The cottage was clean, warm and welcoming and the grounds are simply beautiful.

Our only criticism was the furniture in the living room. The support has gone in the settee so once sat in it, it is quite difficult to get out of and someone before us had broken a spring in one of the chairs and had looped it through the springs in front of it, making the seat a little lacking in support.

However, these were our only problem and very minor, so it won't stop us going back in the future.


Eileen from Cramlington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in December 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay and would love to have you back again some time. I am sorry you had concerns about the furniture in the sitting room; thanks for bringing the broken chair spring to our attention. My husband has now fixed it and the chair is much firmer. We do encourage people to report any issues whilst here so we can try to sort them immediately - one of the advantages of living on site! I have checked the settee and think it is the low soft style that makes it possibly harder to get out of rather than the support having gone - I find it very comfortable, but realise it is a matter of taste; the (now repaired) armchairs are both higher and firmer so easier to get in and out of for those that prefer that. For any potential visitors who are concerned about being able to easily get in and out of arm chairs or sofas please note that we have an electric recliner/riser in Kirkennan Woodsedge for this very reason.

Another great stay at kirkennan

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We always have a great holiday at Kirkennan and keep returning it gas everything we love it is a nice peaceful location lots of wildlife and close to many fantastic walks. We love it there.

Alison from Morecambe stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in November 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
And we love having you here - it is lovely to know our guests appreciate the wildlife and local area as much as we do. Thanks for booking again for next year.

Fantastic week break

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
First impressions on website really good, fantastic customer service before and during stay. Owners both very welcoming. Accommodation was perfect for us 2 adults, 2 children 1 dog so much space and very well equipt. Would love to go back and explore more local area too much in area to see and do

John from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 4 nights in October 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you all enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan and very pleased that you have booked to come back again next year. We look forward to seeing you then.

Lovely weekend getaway with our two small boys and dog

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely three-night stay in the Mews cottage on the beautiful Kirkennan Estate with our two boys and pet dog. The grounds are stunning and the enclosed Jock's Wood provided the perfect morning walk for the dog. We were lucky enough to have one clear night to look at the stars - we could see the Milky Way. The cottage was very cosy and warm, and there is a great selection of games to keep the kids amused. Lovely part of Scotland and I would highly recommend a visit - we plan to come back with extended family and try the Lodge at some point.

Kerry from stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 3 nights in October 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay at The Mews - and also enjoyed the gardens and Jock's wood. We would be very pleased to welcome you back with the extended family.

Lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Comfortable and cosy. Lovely to watch red squirrels and deer while we ate breakfast. Great place to stay with a dog.

Guest from Mold stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in September 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you found The Mews comfortable and cozy. It is lovely to see the red squirrels and deer around - and they do seem to be active at the moment. We hope to see you again sometime.

Fantastic Surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Mews was warm cosy and well equipped. The views from the windows was wonderful and so was watching the wildlife. Our dog loved "Jocks Wood" and the forest across the road.The nearby beaches at Sandyhills and Rockcliffe were clean and not very busy. Dalbeatie and Castle Douglas are good for shopping. We love this area of Scotland and hope to go back soon.

Marjorie from Oldham stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in September 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you found The Mews warm, cosy and well equipped. I have to agree this is a wonderful area of Scotland - and not particularly well known, which is why the beaches are never very busy even when accessible directly from the road as with Sandyhills and Rockcliffe. Jock's wood is always a hit with our dog visitors.

A short stay in paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I think the title of this review says it all. A beautiful cottage in beautiful surroundings in a beautiful corner of Scotland. Each day we got up and said " Another day in paradise". Our 2 huskies loved the enclosed wood, as they could run around as much as they needed and wanted. Worth noting that the fence between the wood and sheep field is only approx 4 feet. Luckily my dogs were having to much fun to think about jumping it and bothering the sheep.

Barry from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in August 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I have to agree that Kirkennan is a wonderful place - we consider ourselves very lucky to be living here and do enjoy sharing it with others who love it as much as we do.

Ab Fab!

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Kirkennan Mews and it was just as good as the first. There is excellent dog walking in the woods at the side of the cottage which both our dogs enjoyed especially as they were allowed off lead. We cannot fault this cottage, it's lovely and cosy, but yet easily big enough for a family of 4 with a couple of dogs. The area is fantastic for either walking, cycling or just relaxing.
The owners are on-site if you need them, but they are not intrusive. They provide everything you need, unlike some places we have been to. We would recommend this 100% to anyone, dog owners or not


Dawn from stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in May 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your second stay at Kirkennan and do look forward to welcoming you back.

Our stay at Kirkennan mews/estate

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday lovely location cottage very homely and comfortable. Lots of great walks surrounding area. Had a fantastic holiday and have booked to return

Alison from Morecambe stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in March 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday. We look forward to welcoming you next time.

What a find!

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Mews is the most delightful property. The hosts made us very welcome, greeting us with eggs, tomatoes and fresh beans. The property is lovely and warm (unlike some we have stayed in),and the rooms are a lovely size. We stayed with our two dogs and there was plenty of room. We were lucky, the weather was kind, but if not, the cottage has many books, games and DVD's for amusement.
We were absolutely delighted to see red squirrels playing outside the front door within 30 minutes of arrival, and the woods are ideal for walking the dogs in the morning. There we saw red deer and a tawny owl. It is lovely and peaceful, and an ideal base for exploring that area of Scotland. I would recommend this property without hesitation, once I have booked again for next year!


Dawn from stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in September 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan and found it delightful and warm and a good place to explore from. The central heating was put in last year so it is good to hear it is performing well - it runs from a district heating system biomass boiler. It sounds like you really enjoyed the wildlife - the red squirrels are very active at the moment as they get ready for winter and are a real delight to see. We look forward to welcoming you back next year.

Fantastic stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely brilliant time. Thank you so much. Stunning place, perfect location and really friendly people. Perfect place. Couldn't fault it. x

Kerry from Tyne & Wear stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 1 nights in August 2015


Jenny Chapman replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday so much. I agree this is a lovely location. Please do come again sometime.

Definitely like to return!

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Aug 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a lovely place to stay, the grounds are amazing and it was a delight to watch the red squirrels. Our accommodation was very comfortable and spacious and we particularly liked the range of books, jigsaws and games on offer for those rainy days as well as the table tennis in the walled garden. The location is great for visiting the surrounding area, there were more places to visit than the time available so we would definitely like to return one day.

Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Mews for 7 nights in July 2015


Jenny Chapman replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your holiday. I also love watching the red squirrels, who are very active currently. Please do return sometime.