FB Twitter

Kirkennan Woodsedge

Kirkennan Woodsedge

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 72 reviews
97% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.4
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Cottage on one level with 3 bedrooms and wetroom. Sleeps 5. Enclosed garden. Dogs welcome.

Good for the soul

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful surroundings, owners could not have been more helpful. Highly recommend staying here if you need to recharge your batteries. Very peaceful. Will definitely be back.

John from Dukinfield stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in July 2019


Good

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We enjoyed our stay in such a lovely spot. We were a little disappointed with bed which was rather soft and lumpy.
The lounge was very cluttered with bits and pieces which left little room for our own. Arrangements for recycling were poor when you are travelling and from overseas. We would like to heve had warning that water pipe repairs were going to take place with the water being turned off.


Peter from Whitianga stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in June 2019


Jenny replied 18 days ago
Dear Peter, I am glad you enjoyed your stay and found the location lovely. We were told by the water mains contractors that they would not have to turn off the water. We were therefore surprised when it was shut off for a brief period of time. I do apologise for any inconvenience it caused. As the water came on again very quickly and I thought you were out I didn’t bother to mention it to you after the event – in retrospect I see this was a mistake. It really is a pity you did not tell me that you found the bed too soft whilst you were here – beds are very subjective and I suspect you didn’t like the mattress topper which is currently on the double bed. It would have taken me only 5 minutes to remove this. We have long been promised kerbside recycling collection and do hope that the Council will introduce this soon as we agree current arrangements are somewhat inconvenient. With best wishes, Jenny

Many plusses but too many minuses.

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Jul 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good welcome; help with bedding was appreciated as was garden produce, also the freedom of access to all the grounds. Lovely situation with views from the living room, which has very comfortable furniture. The bedrooms are fine; we liked the spacious hall and the easy-to-operate heating system.Though the kitchen is reasonably well-equipped, the design layout is poor: microwave difficult to access due to awkward position; units above sink too low to manipulate crockery & washing - or to fill the kettle. There is limited useful work space. The hatch, from the dining side is too awkward to access behind a chair. We found the bathroom unsatisfactory: squeaky door with no proper handle; impossible to wash in comfort at whb due to protruding cabinet - whose door would not stay open; wet room floor not designed well re water drainage - water flowed all over the floor; curtain too short; no blind/curtain for privacy. Despite all these negative comments, nothing was serious enough for us to complain - we had an enjoyable week.

Sheila from Balerno stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in June 2019


Jenny replied 18 days ago
Dear Sheila, I am glad you enjoyed Woodsedge’s location and found the sitting room very comfortable. We do feel that the freedom to enjoy the Estate grounds is one of the major attractions of staying at Kirkennan so are pleased you were able to make use of this and enjoyed your week. I am also pleased that you rated our customer service highly because we do make an effort, including introducing ourselves to all our customers when they first arrive to ensure they have everything they need and know that they can speak to me or my husband if they have any problems. I am therefore disappointed that you felt unable to express your concerns to us directly, but instead do so now when it is too late for us to help. If you had spoken with myself or my husband when you were here we might have been able to assist. We would also have benefitted from knowing why you had trouble filling the kettle or accessing the microwave. We do take feedback very seriously and are always trying to improve but in this case we are baffled as to why you had a problem as counters and cupboards are at standard heights. Whilst we note your feedback on the wetroom I need to point out that it was designed and built by professionals to be suitable for everyone including wheelchair users. The retractable door handle allows the door to open wider thus making access in a wheelchair easier; this has never before caused a problem for anyone. It is entirely private; the window glass is heavily frosted and, in any case, looks out over your own private garden. with best wishes, Jenny

Woodsedge

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodsedge meets all our needs which is why it’s our 3rd visit. There are not many cottages that are both dog friendly and suitable for disabled guests. Very friendly and welcoming owners. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend A holiday at Kirkennan.

Lynn from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in May 2019


Jenny replied 18 days ago
Dear Lynn, Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is always great to have enthusiastic repeat guests like you. I am so glad that Woodsedge meets your needs. Please do recommend us to others, best wishes, Jenny

Wonderful Woodsedge

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic place to stay with family and animals.I can highly recommend for rest and recuperation.

Julia from Callander stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in April 2019


Jenny replied 18 days ago
Dear Julia, I am so pleased you find Woodsedge restful and relaxing. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for your recommendation, best wishes, Jenny

Lovely place

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodsedge is a lovely place to stay, it over looks a beautiful part of Kirkennan. Jocks wood is just out the door, the dogs loved this.

Kate from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in April 2019


Jenny replied 18 days ago
Dear Kate, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan and that your dogs loved Jock's wood. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, best wishes, Jenny

A fantastic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second year staying in Woodsedge Cottage and we have already booked the cottage for 2020. Having a parent in a wheelchair, this cottage is fantastic for them. There is plenty of room for the wheelchair to move around each and every room. The bathroom has a walk in shower which is brilliant for wheelchair users. There is plenty of places to walk in the woods in the morning and numerous fantastic drives to complete during your stay.

Daren from RUGBY stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in March 2019


Jenny replied 18 days ago
Dear Daren, I am so glad you find that Woodsedge meets the needs of all your family. We look forward to welcoming you back next year. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, with best wishes, Jenny

Wonderful Woodsedge

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time we've been to Kirkennan and we love it! Two friends came with us and they thought the whole estate was amazing. Jennie and Michael are very friendly and welcoming hosts and go out of their way to make you welcome. Our two dogs had an amazing time, the younger one went daft in the woods and the older one, who suffers from arthritis, was actually running through the woods - something we haven't seen for some time! Hope to return in the not too distant future.

Guest from Chester Le Street stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in November 2018


Jenny replied 234 days ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your third stay at Kirkennan as much as previous times. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We also hope you will return soon. best wishes, Jenny

A November break.

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and cosy at Woodsedge.
Able to get around easily in wheelchair.
Fabulous grounds and wild life, from coal tits to pheasants and red squirrels to rabbits. Nice to see the sheep visiting across the road. Loved all the trees. We had a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing time. Hopefully returning in Spring as we want to see it in all it's seasons.


Janice from Southport stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in November 2018


Jenny replied 234 days ago
Dear Janice, I am so pleased you found Woodsedge accessible and cosy. Thanks for booking again so quickly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the Spring, best wishes, Jenny

Perfect cottage in perfect surrounding style

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a family with a small child and a dog we absolutely loved the cottage and it’s surroundings. We went for lots of walks around the cottage and further a field. It looked gorgeous at this time of year but would really like to visit again in summer too!

Samantha from Birmingham stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in November 2018


Jenny replied 234 days ago
Dear Sam, I am so glad that Woodsedge met the needs of your family so well. Please do visit again in summer. We think Kirkennan is wonderful at all times of year! best wishes, Jenny

If you’re after a disabled friendly, dog friendly holiday in a beautiful area this is the place.

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found Kirkennan 3 years ago when searching for somewhere we could go on holiday that had good disabled facilities and would also keep a 12 year old happy and accommodate our dogs. It came up trumps then and has become a holiday home from home that we love to return to. Half a dozen visits later Nan’s mobility has deteriorated and we needed wheelchair access throughout and discovered that the doors are plenty wide enough for that to be easy. The dogs still love Jock’s Wood which is right on the doorstep as well as the ‘big woods’ over the road and the beaches a few minutes drive away. Our October visit is becoming a regular fixture as the area is particularly beautiful in its autumn colours but it is lovely at any time. Jenny and Michael are great hosts and the fresh flowers and little basket of food they provide on arrival are a joy. New this year their incredible honey. We look forward to returning again soon.

John from Macclesfield stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in October 2018


Jenny replied 234 days ago
Dear John, It is always a pleasure to welcome your family back to Kirkennan. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you all again soon, best wishes, Jenny

Our stay at Woodsedge cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Both my husband and I plus our 2 large dogs really enjoyed our stay. The dogs enjoyed the freedom in the woods and then on arrival back at the cottage, the fact that they could be shut in the kitchen whilst being fed and watered we thought was a good idea. The setting of the cottage was absolutely superb, the weather was good and it was all round a brilliant holiday.

Lynn from Warrington stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Lynn, I am so glad you had a brilliant holiday on your return visit to Kirkennan. Please do come again. with best wishes, Jenny

Woodsedge

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation, exactly what we were looking for. The owners are extremely helpful and welcoming. Would go back again.

Margaret from Dukinfield stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 252 days ago
Dear Margaret, I am so glad you found that Woodsedge met your needs and you enjoyed your holiday. Please do come back to Kirkennan - you would be very welcome, best wishes, Jenny

Autumn break

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This really is a beautiful spot,nestling in woodland , providing a sense of tranquility.Accomodation is spacious and warm.Kitchen is very well stocked, the WiFi works.Welcome basket,including fresh milk is brilliant.Lots of information about the local area in the cottage.Ideal place for dog lovers, as there is plenty of good walking on the doorstep and locally.Local pub is dog friendly .
This areaan dcottage is my husband’s favourite place to be,so we shall be back.


Alison from Ashton In Makerfield stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in September 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Alison, I am so glad you enjoyed your return visit to Kirkennan. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review - we look forward to your next visit, with best wishes, Jenny

Excellent place to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at Kirkennan Woodsedge and I would definitely like to go back again - perfectly relaxing surroundings full of nature and all it's attractions - yet a short drive from many other attractions and quaint small towns if that's what you like. Jenny and Michael are both very pleasant and very helpful.

Philip from Ellon stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in July 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Philip, I am pleased you find Kirkennan a good place to relax. I hope we will see you at Kirkennan again sometime, best wishes, Jenny

Peace and tranquility at Woodsedge.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodsedge cottage is in a beautiful location. The grounds are well kept which allows you to watch the red squirrels, grouse, & woodpeckers.
Woodsedge cottage has been updated to accommodate the disabled visitor. There are many disabled aids that make life easier.
The holiday we had was different, it was very relaxing and calming. The area is very quiet and there was little to no traffic. Kirkennan Estate is perfect if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of everyday life and enjoy the fantastic views.


Maggie from Cheshire stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in July 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Maggie, I am so glad you had a peaceful and tranquil holiday at Kirkennan. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review, best wishes, Jenny

Short break away

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed for 4 nights in Woodsedge cottage. Chose this accommodation for its wheelchair accessibility, level access, large kitchen space, large bedroom (twin) to transfer onto bed and large shower room. All areas were as described with a shower chair on loan during the stay.
On arrival were provided with fresh eggs and produce from the garden.
Very peaceful location, lovely to sit outside and watch the cows and calves in the field at the front of the property and to watch red squirrels running around the lawn and up the trees. Ventured into the walled garden, work in progress but beautiful all the same, a little rough for a self propelled wheelchair but we managed. I took a stroll in the wood which was also very peaceful, didn't attempt with wheelchair so can't comment on accessibility.
Visited Threave Garden, Rockcliffe, Kippford and Kirkcudbright. All worth a visit.
Hope to visit again as we had a lovely restful break.


Guest from Blackpool stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in July 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
I am so glad you had a lovely restful break. Please do visit again - you would be most welcome, best wishes, Jenny

A Scottish Week with the Dog

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Having stayed at Kirkennan before ( a different property) with our now 13 year old Collie we decided to return with her at a different time of year, who would’ve thought the weather would be so hot! We all found Woodsedge very comfortable particularly Penny who enjoyed living on one level with 2 exits into the enclosed garden. Jenny and Michael put a great deal of thought into supplying their guests with everything they need including a selection of environmentally friendly detergents etc . The delivery of eggs and vegetables from the garden was very welcome also. We found the long ‘light’ day’s a little challenging at night, personally as a light sleeper, I would’ve appreciated thicker curtains in the bedroom. The properties on the Kirkennan Estate are realistically ‘dog friendly’ unlike other properties we’ve stayed in. We would recommend Kirkennan to anyone that enjoys wildlife and the peace of being outdoors in a rural location. Hoping to return next year in September.

George & Sue from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear George and Sue, I am so glad you all found Woodsedge comfortable and dog friendly. Please do recommend Kirkennan to anyone you know who would enjoy it. I do hope you return next September - I have taken note of the need for thicker curtains and will ensure they have been changed over by then. Thanks for the suggestion, with best wishes, Jenny

Decent stay in Woodsedge

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The owners were very accommodating allowing me to book an extra night and arrive earlier than 3pm. Cottage was clean, comfortable and warm with everything needed for a stay. In my opinion though Woodsedge was a little “tired” and needs updating and there needs to be some attention to detail. My issue was the humming noise from the biomass boiler which is located in a barn to the side of the cottage. It isn’t on continually, and when it is on will go off again after 20-30 minutes. I personably found it quite intrusive and wasn’t able to sit outside when it was on. When it went off .. peace. (my view !!). The encolosed garden is ideal for the dogs. The estate grounds are wonderful, particularly Jocks Wood where dogs can be off lead. I had lots of enjoyment there watching the birds and red squirrels from the hide and sitting on the seat overlooking the River Urr.

My “no” recommend below was really to do with the hum from the boiler.


Colette from Liverpool stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Colette, I am glad you found Woodsedge clean, comfortable and with everything you needed including an ideal enclosed garden for your dogs. I am also glad you were able to get lots of enjoyment from the estate grounds - which we consider to be one of the major attractions of Kirkennan. I am sorry you found the occasional hum from the biomass boiler annoying. No-one has ever mentioned this before and the subsequent guests (having read your comments in the visitors' book) made a point of mentioning that it hadn't disturbed them at all. But thank you for pointing it out - we would prefer that anyone else who is particularly sensitive to such things knows about it before booking so they can make an informed decision as to whether to holiday at Woodsedge. with best wishes, Jenny

2nd Visit

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful location, The cottage had all the requirement needed, a lot of birds, red squirrels, deer, Rabbits and Badgers sighted on our visit.

This was our second visit and would recommend it to anyone.



Sylvia & Ken from Chester stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 14 nights in May 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Sylvia and Ken, It was lovely to have you both back at Kirkennan. Please do recommend us to anyone you think would enjoy the location. I hope we will see you again sometime, best wishes, Jenny

1st time staying at woodsedge

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Its just perfect especially if you have dogs as the garden is completely enclosed. Its also right next to the woods were the dogs can be off lead and free to run around. Its also very well equipped and nothing is ever too much trouble and we cant wait to go back again. Thank you Michael and Jenny

Sue & Graham from Melling stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in June 2018


Jenny replied 304 days ago
Dear Sue and Graham, I am so glad you enjoyed Woodsedge as much as your stays at our other two cottages. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again! With best wishes, Jenny

Gorgeous area

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely spacious accomodation and good facilities.
Mattresses were very old-fashioned and I woke up with body-ache every morning, unfortunately. I was pleased to get back to my memoryfoam at home.
We had to keep the lounge curtains shut to stop the dogs barking at all the people walking past.
Such a shame that the woodland advertised as mobility scooter friendly but the camber was too extreme for a large section.
Fabulous to be able to sit at a picnic table and watch red squirrels without the need for binoculars.
The dogs had a great time.


Ian & Jen from Lydbrook stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in May 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ian and Jen Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am so glad your dogs had a great time and you enjoyed the red squirrels which are frequent visitors to Kirkennan. I do wish you had spoken to us whilst here about the mattress not being the type you like. We care deeply about the comfort of our guests and do ask for them to bring any issues to our attention asap so we can do something about them. I could easily have switched the mattress you didn’t like for another one. We have not had any complaints before about mattresses and people do have different tastes in them but I will check them all out again to see if it is time to replace any. You are quite right that Woodsedge is not suitable for those with multiple dogs that tend to bark a lot, particularly if they wish to spend their time mainly at the premises; it is part of the converted stable block and has two neighbouring cottages. This is why we limit the number of dogs there to 2 or 3 and suggest people with noisy dogs might prefer to book The Lodge. I told you this before you booked. Indeed I initially refused to take your 4 dogs at Woodsedge for this very reason but was persuaded to accept them when you assured me that your dogs didn’t tend to bark and that it had to be Woodsedge as you needed an accessible cottage. On this understanding I made an exception for you as I recognise that it must be hard to find accessible cottages that take so many dogs. We do not advertise the woodland as accessible by mobility scooter; we advertise the main estate gardens as suitable as these have paved roads running through them (and we can lend guests a scooter to enjoy them). The main gardens contain a range of specimens of mature trees and have good displays of snowdrops, daffodils, azaleas & rhododendrons at different times of the year. Most guests have also found the compacted gravel paths in the walled garden ok with a mobility scooter. I am pleased that you were able to get a mobility scooter in some of the woodland and so were able to enjoy it, but this depends on how much rain we have had – at times it is totally impossible. The paths are grass and though my husband mows them to keep the grass short they can be muddy. Furthermore I am sure you will recognise that we do not have the resources to alter the contours of the woodland! This is why we do not advertise the woodland as accessible. We do however provide a webpage of local accessible attractions which includes information about a fully accessible woodland trail in the nearby Dalbeattie woods. With best wishes Jenny

Very enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Found this lovely estate on the internet, booked direct with owners, easily and quick, we were very pleased with the stay, wildlife surrounding the cottage was amazing. The cottage was roomy, tidy, with everything we needed. Welcome tray from Jenny was lovely, we have already past contact details to friends who we know would love to stay at the estate.

Elaine from Haverigg stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in May 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Elaine, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan. Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review and for passing on our contact details - it really helps us! with best wishes Jenny

Fab place

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and Eddie and the dogs had a wonderful weeks stay at woodsedge. It was more than we could have expected. The location the cottage and the welcome. Did not want to leave, will return.

Becca from Coaley stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in April 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Becca, I am so glad you had a wonderful stay at Woodsedge. We do look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan sometime. with best wishes Jenny

Home from Home

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent lodge for comfort and access. A lovely roomy accommodation. Great location for visiting local towns and attraction with the beaches not so far away. We all had a great time and would and already have recommended it for a holiday. We hope to be back soon. Jenny was so helpful and welcoming which made this even more of a delight. The estate is a lovely to walk around. Although we didn't manage the wood as the weather wasn't at it's best.

Jeanne from Wishaw stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in April 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jeanne, I am so glad you found that Woodsedge met your needs and was well located for what you wanted to do on holiday. I am so glad you have booked again and look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan next year. Thanks for recommending us to others - it really helps! with best wishes Jenny

Comfortable Cottage at Kirkennan

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our fourth visit to Woodsedge and we enjoyed it as much as before. The cottage is extremely well organised for all ages and for dogs, I love the enclosed garden! Great location in a beautiful estate, a joy to see the red squirrels bounding past the door! We will be back!

Julia from Callander stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Julia, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review. It is always lovely to welcome you back to Kirkennan - we like having guests who enjoy Kirkennan as much as we do! with best wishes Jenny

An Amazing Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We picked this cottage due to the wheelchair access we required, and I have to say the cottage was simply perfect. I can highly recommend this cottage as a place to stay in to explore Scotland whether anyone is a wheel chair user or not. The rooms are very clean and tidy and the walk in wet room is wonderful. After being out all day to come back and light a fire and relax in the warmth of the flames was a real treat. We were only back home a couple of days before we decided that we would book the same cottage for next year. This has now already been done.

Daren from RUGBY stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Daren, I am so glad that Woodsedge met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to Kirkennan next year, with best wishes Jenny

A home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the estate cottages three times now, we stayed in the Mews the first time. That was lovely with large comfortable rooms. However as we have 2 huskies that holiday with us, we have since stayed at Woodsedge, as it has a small garden. It is a lovely cottage with spacious comfortable rooms and beds, the kitchen is fully equipped and the heating is fantastic, produced by the log eater as I call it, which is in a barn next to the cottage. The dogs enjoy everything about the area, especially Jocks Wood, as we do, the grounds are a joy to walk around, with numerous birds, red squirrels, black rabbits and deer, which we have often seen in the wood. Staying at Woodsedge is like home from home, Jenny and Michael feel like friends, putting flowers in the cottage and bringing us gifts of eggs from their hens and produce from the enclosed garden, even a voucher for £4 to spend in the community shop in Palnackie.

Patricia from Stoke-on-trent stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you all enjoy being at Kirkennan. I hope we will see you again soon. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

Quiet, peaceful, away from everything.

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A superb location for a restful break. Ideal for doing nothing but also a good location for a base to explore from. Great for dogs. Can't fault it really.

Laurence from Chester-le-street stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in March 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you had a restful break at Kirkennan. Thanks for taking the time to leave a review

A great place to relax

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth visit to Kirkennan was only for a few days but we all relaxed immediately and had a great time. The disabled facilities are excellent which was a great help.

John from Macclesfield stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in February 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. I am glad you find the disabled facilities at Woodsedge helpful. I hope we will see you all again sometime soon.

Fantastic location for a fantastic break!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been to Kirkennan now 3 times, its a lovely place to stay, Jenny and Michael really look after you, have already booked to return for the 4th time!. Would highly recommend.

Nicola from Grimsby stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in January 2018


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Our stay

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a great 5 days chilling out in your lovely cottage.
On arrival fresh eggs and apples provided-much appreciated.
Jocks Wood ideal for our very bouncy Bramble.
We will definitely be back-many thanks.


Pam & Billy from Tayport stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in October 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. We would love to welcome you back to Kirkennan

Red Squirrel

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage is fantastic with all mod cons. Great enclosed garden. Jenny welcomed us with a tray of produce. The icing on the cake seeing a wild red squirrel.


Amanda from Awsworth stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in October 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a review Amanda. I am so glad you found Woodsedge met your needs. We are so lucky to have so many red squirrels around - I love them!

Lovely cottage in Scottish borders

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I stayed for 5 nights at Kirkennan estate with our 3 border collies. We found the cottage warm,cosy and comfortable and well equipped. The enclosed garden was ideal for our dogs and we were able to run them in the field opposite the cottage as there was no stock in it. This was ideal as I was worried about the danger of the tidal river that runs along the edge of Jocks Wood. The estate is beautiful and we were lucky enough to see a couple of red squirrels. It is a lovely area with some very interesting places to visit a short drive away. We would certainly like to return for a slightly longer stay and would be happy to book again at Kirkennan.

Pam from Shrewsbury stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in October 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay Pam. The fields are stock free from 1st Dec till end Feb and guests are welcome to use them for dogs during that period. We would be very happy to welcome you back to Kirkennan for longer.

MRS HEATHER LAMBELL

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
WHAT A LOVELY PEACEFUL SETTING AND SO COSY WITH EVERYTHING I NEEDED FOR A STAY WITH DISABLED FACILITIES AND SUCH FRIENDLY AND HELPUL OWNERS.

Lindseyjayne from Coventry stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 14 nights in September 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Thanks for taking the time to leave a reply Heather. I am so glad you found that Woodsedge met your needs and was cosy and peaceful. We hope to welcome you all back to Kirkennan sometime.

Very pet and disability friendly...

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Aug 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for touring. Woodsedge was good for people with disabilitys. The Adjustable bed and toilet seat was helpful.
It was a great shame the riser reclining Chair was not working.
A very secure garden for dogs. The welcoming pack from Jenny and Michael was much appreciated.


Amy from Exeter stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in August 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan and found it a good location for exploring the local area. I am also very pleased that you found Woodsedge to be disability friendly - we do our best to ensure that all guests are comfortable and are glad that Woodsedge met your needs. Re the riser reclining armchair: We do ask guests to let us know when something has broken so we can take immediate action to ensure that your stay is comfortable; if you had done this we could have got it fixed. The riser recliner was working when I cleaned it just before your arrival and we didn’t find out it had broken until after you had left – a Saturday when the repairer does not work. As a result not only did you have to manage without it, which I regret, but so did the subsequent guests for the first couple of days of their stay. The chair is now working again – the wires in the hand control had been pulled loose.

Dog-friendly, family hideaway in beautiful setting

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
2 adults, 2 teenagers and 2 dogs spent a very happy week at Kirkennan in July 2017. We loved the spacious, well equipped cottage with its enclosed garden (we stayed at Woodsedge). The grounds are amazing - fantastic walled garden for sitting in watching the sun go down, huge woodland area where dogs can run free and a wildlife hide / cabin over looking the river for bird & otter spotting. This place is idyllic and the owners are friendly and relaxed - we were welcomed with eggs from their chickens and veg from their garden - the 'tree spinach' was a first for us and we loved it! Thank you Kirkennan, we hope to come back soon.

Helen from Southsea stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in July 2017


Kirkennan Woodsedge

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another excellent week at Woodsedge. Great facilities for our party which includes someone with limited mobility & a dog!
Fantastic location with walks & wildlife on the estate. Plenty of other places to visit within easy reach.
Welcoming hosts.


Lynn C. from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in June 2017


Nature at its best

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is the second time we have stayed at Woodsedge and it will not be the last. Nature and wildlife in abundance and the peace, it's just wonderful. Michael and Jenny made us very welcome. Jenny brought us fresh free range eggs and freshly picked vegetables. Nice touch. It's a place where I feel truely at one with nature. Eileen - Manchester.

Eileen from Stockport stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in May 2017


woodsedge cottage Kirkennan estate

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely comfortable cottage in superb position with friendly obliging hosts. The cottage is set in beautiful grounds with a lovely view and is both disabled and pet friendly. We look forward to staying there again with our two dogs.

Lynn from Warrington stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am pleased you found Woodsedge to be comfortable and look forward to welcoming you again sometime.

Wheelchair friendly

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage is very wheelchair user friendly with level floors, spacious shower room and wide doorways. The adjustable bed and riser recliner chair are an added bonus. The grounds are also wheelchair friendly with a mobility scooter available if required. Dog friendly garden with plenty of dog walks available in the grounds. Very warm welcome from owner who arrived with a basket of produce from the walled garden for us.
I would definitely recommend this cottage and grounds for those with limited mobility. The area has stunning scenery and plenty of wildlife to see.
Will definately be returning.


Avril from Hayling Island stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in May 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you found the cottage wheelchair user friendly and do hope you will return to Kirkennan sometime.

We loved it our dog didn't!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were booked for 10-14 april 2017 to stay in woodsedge cottage. We chose this one as our son is disabled and elderly parents were joining us. We also had our 2 dogs with us.

We thought the cottage was lovely, had everything needed, nicely equipped for those with mobility problems.

We liked the grounds it was set in, they were really nice and jocks wood where you could let your dogs off lead was brilliant.

Due to one of our dogs really stressing and being unable to settle we unfortunately made the decision to leave early.


Margaret from Knaresborough stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in April 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so sorry you had to leave early, but glad your parents were able to enjoy the whole stay. It is the first time we have had a dog that couldn't settle - normally they don't want to leave!

Comfortable Cottage at Kirkennan

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a fantastic cottage, perfect for families with dogs. We love it and will return next year!!!

Julia from Callander stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in April 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so pleased you love Kirkennan as much as we do and look forward to seeing you again next year.

Another great stay

Review submitted on Thu, 23 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love this place. Great hosts, great grounds and homely accommodation. We call this is our dogs holiday as they really enjoy it here, especially jocks wood. Thanks again to Jenny and Michael.


Lynn from Preston stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in February 2017


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
It is great to have regular visitors like you who love Kirkennan as much as we do. We look forward to seeing you again.

Superb... a wonderful relaxing week. We can't wait to return!

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful week with friends, staying in both cottages, with our dogs. The cottages were perfect for our needs, which was to enjoy a relaxing week in the Scottish outdoors. Great grounds, close to fields, woods and beaches. Also with the bonus of a supermarket 5 minutes away as we cooked in the evenings together and ate out during the days. Perfect!

Jo from Bishop Auckland stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in December 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you and your friends enjoyed your time at Kirkennan. I hope you can return some time.

Xmas holiday 2016

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Was greeted by Jenny with a basket of fruit. Lots of info in the cottage about where to go etc. The cottage itself was very cosy and warm with an open fire. Good secure rear garden for the dogs. Lovely walks around the estate and in Jocks Wood.

Deena from Northants stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in December 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am pleased you found Woodsedge cosy and warm over Xmas and that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to welcome you back to Kirkennan some time.

A comfortable stay in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Woodsedge is a comfortable cottage in the estate grounds so consequently, very peaceful. It has a very efficient heating system and is well equipped (shower unit rather inefficient but everything else worked well). Only five minutes drive from Dalbeattie and served by an excellent road system connecting the whole of Dumfries and Galloway. Although we stayed in November, we had excellent weather and visited many places in the vicinity. Will definitely return as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Kirkennan.

Lionel & Sue from Skipton stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in November 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am pleased to hear that your stay was comfortable and have to agree Kirkennan is beautiful (it is why we moved here!). It is good to hear that you intend to return sometime, you will be very welcome. The shower unit should not be inefficient as it is only 2 years old - it may be that the settings needed adjustment. If you (or any other guest reading this) has any problems such as this during future stays please mention it to us while you are here as we may well be able to fix any issue immediately - one of the advantages of living on site is that we are almost always available and are more than happy to do our best to sort out any concerns, or indeed just answer any questions or give suggestions on things to see or do.

Kirkinnen - Our Kind Of Place

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The experience at Woodsedge was the best (special needs cottage) we have had in a long time. My husband felt safe and comfortable, as did I. He was able to see all the wildlife from outside the cottage and the beautiful trees in all their splendour. My friend and I enjoyed our walks through Jock's wood and saw wildlife in abundance. The area around Palnackie has many great places to explore, plus excellent eating houses. The owners Michael and Jenny are absolutely lovely people and very welcoming and helpful. For us this place ticked all the right boxes and we are already planning another visit. Ten out of ten.

Eileen from Stockport stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in October 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad that Kirkennan worked out well for you - we do try to ensure Woodsedge is as comfortable as possible for guests with special needs and are always happy to hear any suggestions on how we can improve this. The autumn colour has been particularly spectacular this year and I am glad you were able to enjoy it. It is great to hear that you are planning to come again.

Great holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our holiday once again lovely area lovely people booked again for November. Our dog Tara loves it too on Jocks wood.

Jean from Morecambe stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in September 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
It is lovely to have repeat visitors like you - it tells us we must be doing something right! And Jock's wood is always a hit with the dogs, and owners too of course as even with so much to explore in the local area nothing beats having somewhere right on site for morning and evening walks.

Excellent Holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage in a beautiful area. Welcoming but not intrusive owners. Our party included a disabled person whose needs were met with the cottage & equipment provided. The cottage is also truly dog friendly not just 'dogs allowed ' as some holiday accommodation can be. We would definitely recommend the cottage & hope to return in the future.

Lynn C. from Accrington stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in September 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday and that your needs were met. We do try to make Woodsedge as accessible as possible (as well as truly dog friendly) and always welcome any suggestions on how we can improve this. We hope to welcome you back to Kirkennan sometime.

Accessible and relaxing

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to discover both the accessible cottage, Woodsedge, as part of the Kirkennan estate, and the helpful attitude of the owners, Jenny and Michael.
The electric bed, wet room, recliner, and mobility scooter all helped improve my brother's holiday experience.
We all came away relaxed, refreshed and full of positive memories. We'll be back!


Guest from Middlesborough stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in July 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you all had a relaxing and refreshing holiday and would love to welcome you back to Kirkennan sometime.

A very relaxing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed our week at Woodsedge and especially good for those with limited mobility. The provision of the mobility scooter was a fanastic bonus and certainly added to the experience. It was very quiet, peaceful and relaxing - just what we needed. The grounds were a delight and so many areas to explore. Location was fantastic with all you could need on your doorstep with a wide variety of wonderful countryside within easy reach. Thank you

Guest from Perth stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in May 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you had a relaxing week and were able to make full use of Kirkennan's beautiful grounds with the use of the mobility scooter. I hope we will see you here again sometime!

Comfortable cottage in lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 10 May 2016
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Woodsedge cottage is ideal if you like to take your dog on holiday with you. It has a private enclosed back garden and a wood to exercise your dog off lead just a few yards from the cottage. It also has good facilities for anyone who is disabled - wheel in wet room, electric bed, riser recliner chair, shower chair, raised toilet seat etc. The furnishings and decor are quite dated and basic but it is warm and comfortable. The kitchen is very well equipped and a welcome supply of fresh eggs, milk, tea and coffee are provided. Jenny and Michael are very friendly and will go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay. The cottage is in a beautiful area with lots to see and visit nearby.

David from Cambridge stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in April 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
You are a very tough marker! This is the lowest score we have ever had, yet your actual review is quite positive and you say you would recommend Woodsedge to others. Furthermore I know both you and your dog enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan. We agree there is a lot to see and visit nearby. Last year, before opening Woodsedge, we completely refurbished the kitchen, installed the wet room and carpeted two of the bedrooms and the hallway, The cottage was recently reviewed and classed as 3 star accommodation by Visit Scotland, but we have a plan of continual upgrade as and when we can. While you were with us we provided you with the adjustable chair in the sitting room and the week after you left, Michael painted the outside of the cottage, including the windows sills, and replaced two interior doors in the sitting room and kitchen. Our next major priority is to refresh the decor in the sitting room.

Excellent all round, friendly welcome, beautiful situation . Cottage facilites very good -

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three excellent days, enjoyable facilities and situation. Facilities for disabled people very useful and helpful .Excellent for dog walking. Surrounding area interesting and accessible.

Bernard from Droon stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in March 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you found Woodsedge to meet your needs for accessibility and dogs. I agree the area we live in is wonderful with so much to explore.

Perfect combination for disabled dog owners

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Jenny and Michael couldn't have been more helpful and friendly from advice where to walk the dog on the estate to the loan of the mobility scooter. A brilliant place to stay for those with a combination of mobility issues and wanting dog friendly accommodation.

Janet from Birmingham stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 4 nights in March 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for the recommendation. We hope you will return to Kirkennan sometime.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Woodsedge from the warm and comfortable rooms, roaring log fire and well equipped kitchen to the beautiful grounds. Jocks woodlands was a delight and we had many walks through frosty mornings and saw roe deer by the stream. A joy for wildlife with red squirrels, birds on the feeder to owls calling at night. The wet room was lovely and warm and made coming in muddy and cold less of a chore. The area is fantastic for walking and an old favourite of mine so it was lovely to come back. Jenny and Michael were very friendly and helpful hosts and we loved their plans for the estate. We will be back :-)

Joanne from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in January 2016


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan Woodsedge. I agree Jock's wood can be lovely, even in January. We would love to see you back again. A note on value for money - it is cheaper to book directly with us via our website www.kirkennancottages.co.uk . You made your booking through a listing agency that makes its profit by both taking a % from what we charge and by adding a booking fee. Whilst listing with such agencies is useful in ensuring people know about us, it does mean that you pay a bit more and we earn somewhat less. As the booking fee doesn't vary depending on the time of year, it can be a significant proportion of the total cost for low season bookings.

Perfect!!

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Apart from the weather everything was spot on!! Clean, warm, comfortable with everything you could ever need provided. Lovely meal at the pub at Palnackie too which is less than a mile away from Kirkennan.
Hope to return soon


Elizabeth from Cumbria stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 2 nights in December 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan Woodsedge. We would be very glad to welcome you back sometime.

Lovely stay at Woodsedge Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Oct 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Woodedge Cottage. The location and grounds are idyllic and the cottage was spacious,clean and cosy. We could not have wished for a better place to stay and would most certainly recommend for a peaceful relaxing stay in the country. Thank you for the excellent service. We do hope that Michael makes a full recovery from his nasty accident. Hope to stay again sometime.

Stephen from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in October 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay at Kirkennan. We would be very glad to see you again and please do recommend us to your friends and family. Thanks for your best wishes for Michael - he is recovering well.

Kirkennan Woodsedge

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a superb location, very peaceful and ideal for dogs particularly Jocks Wood. The owners Jenny and Michael were very welcoming. The cottage is very comfortable and well laid out and very well equipped. Lots to do in the surrounding area, lovely beaches, good walks and mountain biking at 7 Stands. Overall highly recommended

Brian & Kathleen from Halifax stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in September 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan Woodsedge - it is always a pleasure when guests immediately book again as you have. We look forwards to welcoming you again next year.

Quiet, Comfortable and Well Equipped

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Woodsedge is a really comfortable and well equipped cottage, all on one floor with level access from outside. Our eldest son has mobility problems and both the access, the space inside and the excellent wet room facilities made his (and our) stay very stress free and peaceful. In addition Tim took advantage of the mobility scooter, and had an excellent week in which he was able to decide whether he would like one of his own - this was a tremendous opportunity for him, and an unexpected bonus.

The setting is lovely and users of the accommodation are encouraged to make full use of the grounds and the walks available both on and adjacent to the Estate. Jenny and Michael are splendid hosts who work hard to make sure their guests are well looked after. Dumfries and Galloway is a beautiful part of the world, and Woodsedge is an ideal base.

We would thoroughly recommend the cottage to anyone looking for a comfortable and peaceful holiday.


Disabled Holidays Directory from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in September 2015


Jenny Chapman replied more than 1 year ago
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found the mobility scooter useful. Please do come again sometime.

Peaceful and comfortable cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed our stay at Kirkennan. Owners very welcoming. The grounds are beautiful to explore with interesting wild life to watch and use of mobility scooter was a big plus.

Denise from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in August 2015


Jenny Chapman replied more than 1 year ago
I am very glad you enjoyed your stay and do agree with you about Kirkennan grounds. They are beautiful at all times of the year. Please do come again sometime.

Palnackie and beyond.....

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Can recommend the area for short visits for wheelchair users. The cottage is excellent for the disabled.The local restaurant in Palnackie, the 'Willow Tree' is first class and suitable for wheelchair users.
Struck by how friendly and helpful people are here.
Greave gardens also excellent.


Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 5 nights in July 2015


Jenny Chapman replied more than 1 year ago
I am very glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan. Thanks also for the tip about the Willow Tree - our website has a list of wheelchair accessible attractions, but we have yet to add to it wheelchair accessible restaurants and will start to do that.

short stay

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely peaceful location, ideal cottage for dogs with secure back garden. Owners very helpful. The only comment against this property is it is dated and could do with freshening up with a lick of paint otherwise we had alovely stay.

Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in July 2015


Kirkennan Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and do hope you will come again. Woodsedge is indeed ideal for dogs. We do have an ongoing programme of repairs and renewals for all 3 properties. Much of Woodsedge was redecorated in late 2014 with a completely new wetroom/shower room and kitchen and new carpets in two bedrooms and the hallway and new curtains throughout. However we do recognise that further work could be done to freshen up the sitting room – this is high on our agenda.

Woodside cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful cottage adapted for those with mobility difficulties. Excellent location and welcoming hosts. The grounds proved a good place for an evening stroll pushing a wheelchair away from traffic, and an opportunity to see all the wildlife. The enclosed garden was a boon for our active dog who also loved the walks round the wood.

Guest from Dukinfield stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in May 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. I also enjoy walking round the grounds in the evening.

Most enjoyable break

Review submitted on Sat, 09 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very happy with every aspect of the location and accommodation. The grounds were a welcome surprise with many specialist trees which delighted us. We are very familiar with the area of Galloway and hope to visit the footage again at a different season to enjoy the grounds.

Guest from Styrrup stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 7 nights in April 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you were happy with Woodsedge. The trees were what first attracted us to Kirkennan so I share your delight with them. Please do come again.

Beautiful surroundings and very helpful hosts.

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I am reviewing this as accommodation advertised as suitable for wheelchair user.

The doors were all wide enough, though the small threshold at the front door has to be negotiated. The door into the small enclosed garden had a step, but the garden could be accessed through a gate. The shower room was fine, and the provision of a raised toilet seat was welcome. The electric bed was not lifting at the bottom, but the head was raising and the rise and fall was working. This is being repaired. None of the easy chairs in the living room were suitable for anyone having difficulty in getting up until the hosts kindly provided a basket chair. A riser/recliner chair would have been very welcome. Many of these points will be relevant to older guests who are still ambulant but have some mobility problems.

That said, the surroundings are beautiful with roads round the estate suitable for wheelchairs and Jock's wood is great for exercising dogs and watching for wildlife (though not for people with mobility problems). I saw deer, heron, red squirrel and a buzzard.

The Community Shop at Palnackie is tiny but has an amazing variety of stock. Well worth supporting. For supermarket shopping, Castle Douglas has a large Tesco, and there are smaller supermarkets in Dalmally. Day trips out to the coast and inland provide a good variety within a reasonable distance.

The hosts were outstanding in their support and help. Thank you Jenny and Michael.


Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in April 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am very glad you enjoyed your holiday and we appreciate your advice about suitable chairs. The basket chair will remain in Woodsedge so it will be available for all future guests and I will look out for an affordable riser/recliner chair as clearly this would be ideal.

Spot ON!

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. Huge cottage, comfortable, friendly people, beautiful locality, what more can I say! Oh , I have to say more or this review site won't accept it. Maybe this is enough.

Guest from Kelso stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in April 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your holiday at Kirkennan. Do come again!

Woodesdge welcomes all.

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at this lovely cottage which overlooks farmland on the Kirkennan Estate. The cottage is spacious, well maintained, welcoming and warm - it has an excellent central heating system. The log fire in the lounge enhances the homely feel of this room which contains comfortable furniture, books, maps, magazines and a wealth of information on Woodesge, Kirkennan Estate and things to do in the area. The kitchen and bathroom contain quality fittings and appliances. The bedrooms are nicely furnished we had a great nights sleep in the comfortable beds. Light floods in through the many windows in the cottage and when it is dark outside, quality lighting is provided inside.

Due to Rheumatoid Arthritis I have some mobility issues. I was delighted to see that the owners Jenny and Michael have ensured the less mobile are catered for here. The front door is level entry to a spacious wheelchair friendly hallway. All the accommodation is ground floor and level- without interior steps. Ramps are provided to use for the small step from the cottage into the enclosed private rear garden.. There are a variety of chairs to suit different mobility levels - some with arms, some without, with varying heights. The bathroom has grab rails and a fully accessible wet room. There is an adjustamatic bed. It was good to know that should I need it a mobility scooter was available for use around the Kirkennan Estate which has paved pathway/roads.

The enclosed rear gardens with garden furniture provided provides a private place to sit and a safe area for children to play.

The cottage is in a peaceful location, Stepping outside the cottage on a morning was a joy - the only sounds we could hear was the sound of birdsong and such a variety too!

We enjoyed walks around the estate, through Jocks Wood and visiting the walled gardens. We were thrilled to see a red squirrel!. Out and about in the area we visited the beautiful coastline, and the lovely town of Castle Douglas.

We were pleased to see that guests can bring their dog to Woodsedge and dogs can be let off the lead in Jocks Wood.

Jenny and Michael provided really superb customer service. We were provided with information before our visit. There was plenty of information provided in the cottage for us to read at our leisure. Jenny and Michael were available if we needed any help, we were made very welcome. The extra finishing touches such as essentials being provided - tea, coffee, washing up liquid dishcloths, dishwasher and washing powder were much appreciated.

At Woodsedge Jenny and Michael have created a cottage and a welcoming atmosphere suitable for everyone- children, adults- young and not so young, the less mobile, dogs, We had a lovely time here and would not hesitate in returning, as well as recommending the cottage to others.









Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 2 nights in March 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to give such a comprehensive and thoughtful review.

Woodsedge

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very good stay at Woodsedge; excellent location for dogs. The owners went out of their way to see that we had everything we needed. All the little extras were there i.e. local information, tea, coffee, sugar, condiments, cleaning materials, books and games. We hope to return and will certainly recommend.

Guest from stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in February 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Please do return.

An ideal cottage in a great area

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our three night stay in Woodsedge was very comfortable. The layout, space and fittings were all excellent especially the open fire. The surrounding grounds are great for flora and fauna while the region is brilliant for a wide variety of outdoor pursuits e.g. we walked, cycled and bird watched. We'd highly recommend it for an active and relaxing break.

Guest from Neilston stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in February 2015


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you were comfortable and enjoyed your stay

An ideal cottage in a great area

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Feb 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our three night stay in Woodsedge was very comfortable. The layout, space and fittings were all excellent especially the open fire. The surrounding grounds are great for flora and fauna while the region is brilliant for a wide variety of outdoor pursuits e.g. we walked, cycled and bird watched. We'd highly recommend it for an active and relaxing break.

Guest from Neilston stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 3 nights in February 2015


Christmas 2014 at Woodsedge

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Jan 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely Christmas break at Woodsedge with our family and our pet border collie. The cottage was well equipped and comfortable, the grounds and woods were perfect for walking. The cottage is well situated and is within easy reach of many local beauty spots. The owners were helpful in terms of providing information and were around should we need assistance.

Guest from Sowerby Bridge stayed at Kirkennan Woodsedge for 6 nights in December 2014


Jenny replied more than 1 year ago
I am glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found Woodsedge well equipped and comfortable