FB Twitter

Casa Caterina

Casa Caterina

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 16 reviews
81% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.2
Condition
4.3
Location
4.9
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.6


Aria condizionata
Dintorni incantevoli
Internet
Sat TV
Terrazza Balcone
Vista sul mare
Valley View
Lavatrice
Lenzuola e asciugamani
Cucina
Microonde
Lavastoviglie
Riscaldamento invernale
Musica di sottofondo
Culla disponibile

Great location - needs some TLC

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location of the apartment is fantastic and it is a beautiful unit. However, prior reviews are still very accurate. For the money, the mattresses definitely need to be upgraded. They are beyond just firm, but can feel springs which are really uncomfortable for more than 1 or 2 nights. Hot water is quite limited and the air conditioning is a struggle with the electric often crapping out and needing to be reset. And yes, the lock on the door needs replacing, almost got locked out on several occasion. For the amount charged, the cleaning fee should just be rolled in - it is incredibly high and not reflected in the cleanliness of the unit. The team both at My Rental and on-site were excellent though some of the fundamental issues of the apartment itself should be improved for the investment.



Short family break in Sorrento

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jun 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This was an excellently located apartment in Sorrento and a fabulous size for a family that like to have some space.
It had recently been repainted and the furnishings were clean.
The staff that welcomed us there and then we dealt with were all friendly and helpful.
The positives also included: plenty of towels and toilet roll.
I did have some niggles about the apartment:-
I have travelled extensively and never been charged extra when staying in a "luxury" apartment or villa for the use of electricity or for a clean. The cleaning charge in particular I thought was excessive.
We were a family of four and had stated the ages of our children - however, in the third bedroom, the bed had not been made up with sheets etc. The beds were extremely hard - even the children found them too hard and uncomfortable. The quality of the crockery was poor and there were insufficient mugs and wine glasses. There were no scissors.




Our stay in July 18

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed 5 nights in the property. It was spacious and modern. Property is well located in Sorrento - walking distance to Main Street and beach. It has a small terrace which was nice for afternoon drinks.

It had a well equipped kitchen which we used for breakfast and one or two dinners.

A few details of the property could be improved - there were no remotes for the tv making it difficult to watch. The aircon in the living room did not work property so it gets hot. The kitchen has no blinds and is like a glazed sun room so it gets very, very hot. The white furtniture is a constant worry - we had to tell the kids to be careful all the time. We had no access to bins for rubbish so we had trash bags we stacked and left on the balcony. There was a lot of ants in the building so nothing could be left out and you could see them not only in the lounge and kitchen but also bedrooms.

The additional costs were electricity and cleaning. This was the only property we stayed in during a 4 week vacation where these items were payable in addition. I think it would have been better to just include them upfront in the rental.

Overall, the stay was ok. But for the money, could be improved.





Wonderful stay in Sorrento

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful stay in Sorrento. The apartment was able to comfortably accommodate my entire family. Very friendly and helpful support when we arrived and when we had any questions. Definitely recommend this place to other families traveling to this part of Italy



Wonderful location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Aug 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Apartment is superbly located and fully air conditioned. The furniture and apartment in general is looking a little tired, needs to be freshened up a bit. A useful assistance to tourist would be to have a welcome folder that contains:-, pen, paper, local map highlighting useful spots. A list of useful telephone numbers and/or address for:- medical, dentist, hospital, train station, bus depot, supermarket, bus shuttle to airport, taxi, church. Instructions on how to use washing machine, dryer and disposal of rubbish.



Great flat, perfect location

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The flat was perfectly located on a cute street close the shops, buses and train station. The flat was as nice if not nicer than in the photos, with great views from the kitchen and kitchen balcony. Roberto was also super helpful, recommending restaurants and booking a boat day trip for us. Would definitely recommend!



Sorrento delight

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was pretty much as described in the VRBO literature. It is very spacious with a great view of the Gulf of Naples. Naples gleams in the distance at night. It is 200 meters from the train station, which is great, considering that most of this city is rather steep. No taxis needed. There were a few minor mechanical issues which the lady who gave us our exit interview seemed keen on fixing. I'd highly recommend this property.



Two generation stay

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great location, suggested by the agent (Guido) rather than the one I'd picked. I found that this was a reputable company and all the charges were fully detailed upfront. The owner's representative on site, Roberto, was very helpful and both his and Guido's English was excellent. Overall an excellent experience.



Light, airy and spacious accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very central location, ideal for Sorrento town. The accommodation was spacious, though the 3rd bedroom was a little small with no wardrobes but plenty of space in the other 2. It could have been a problem with just one bathroom (without a lock on the door) but we were all family members and it seemed to work OK. There's was plenty of light in all the rooms with a sea view from the sitting room. Altogether a lovely place that I would be happy to recommend.



Fabulous!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Casa Caterina was terrific! The location is absolutely perfect just steps away from the centre of town. The view of the bay of Naples was beautiful. The apartment was very spacious, very clean and perfect for our family of 5. Roberto was a great host and even went out of his way to courier an item I had left behind back to my home in Canada....Highly recommend! Thank you!



Italian style with a view

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Located just minutes from the heart of Sorrento and with a view over the Bay of Naples (and even a glimpse of Vesuvius), Casa Caterina is an ideal base from which to explore this beautiful and historic town, as well as Herculaneum, Pompeii and the Amalfi Coast. It is a fifteen minute walk to the port and the ferries to the Isle of Capri. The apartment is spacious, bright and airy, well equipped and the beds are comfortable. The smallest bedroom is only suitable for one person and there is only one bathroom.

Any minor problems we did have were resolved quickly and courteously by the staff who were friendly and helpful from start to finish. The kitchen had everything we needed and there is a supermarket close by as are the railway and bus stations for excurions. There are many fine restuarants and cafes in Sorrento but it would hard to beat Il Convivio on the same street as the apartment and just a few minutes away where you will receive the warmest of welcomes from Agnelo and Frederica whose father is the chef. The food was wonderful and the service exceptional.

Casa Caterina provides the perfect place to rest tired feet and relax with a glass of Prosecco at the end of a busy day's sightseeing.




Loved our stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The condo has lots of space and is a hidden gem. It doesn't look like much from the street, but its a beautiful home on the inside. The courtyard garden overlooks the Marina Picolo and the views were a big hit for the kids and great for pictures. We stayed as a family of 5 (3 adults, 2 kids) and it was a great location for both walking into the central part of the city and close to transportation (only a couple of blocks to the bus/train station). Highly recommend!



Casa Caterina - Great location, place needs more work

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Casa Caterina apartment is was very convenient to the city center of Sorrento. Apartment building is secure behind a locked gate. The unit has tremendous potential but needs some updating. The unit was spacious and clean. Management very responsive to our needs as we brought things up. Written instructions could be provided on use of things in the unit: A/C, washer, access to backyard, lifting the sun shades, where to put full garbage, which buzzer button to push to get into the unit. Management provided some instructions as we asked questions. Unit is on second floor and no lift/elevator provided which was a minor inconvenience. Arriving you notice there is no front door handle which made opening/closing and locking door difficult. Air conditioning worked great which was important as it was 36 degrees Celsius or 97 degrees Fahrenheit. No air conditioning in the one bathroom. Recommend a second set of keys as our group broke up when we went into town and one group could not gain access to the unit.

Two bedrooms were spacious and the single was narrow but functional. Beds were very firm if you like that. Closets had no hangers but management quickly provided these. No ironing board but management provided. A safe should be provided to store valuables. Recommend bedroom locks. Doors were odd as you can see through the frosted window panes.

Bathroom had issues that were corrected while we were there. Shower drain was stopped up on day we arrived and lights were burned out in bathroom, no garbage can. About mid-way through some small ants were noticed on counter. This may be common in the area though. Also found lots of these (a trail) in living room and kitchen towards end of stay. For a unit that can sleep 5 the hot water heater only allowed two people to shower before getting cold. Recommend larger water heater. Washer provided but no dryer so we had to hang dry clothes and towels on outside railing. Had to look up instructions on how to use washer on the internet. No soaps and no shampoo provided. Hair dryer worked well. Window lock needs repair.Recommend bathroom lock. Door was odd as you can see through the frosted window panes. Recommend covering these. My wife recommends foot stool in shower to allow for women to shave easily and for a place to put soap besides the floor. Provide a better curtain/window covering.

View from backyard is tremendous, overlooking the ocean and Marina Piccola but is only accessible by requesting access through next door property which is where the management team was located (Villa Silvana) and only until 7pm. Trees obstruct views of the ocean and should be trimmed back. Can't see the ocean from the balcony through the trees. This is a real asset to the apartment and has so much more potential. Patio furniture was good.

Kitchen was cute and functional. Had no coffee pot but management quickly bought this and it worked great. No spatula or wooden spoons to cook things in a pan. Recommend putting in a microwave oven and toaster to reheat / cook things. Garbage bags had to be requested. Garbage can needs to be larger. Afternoon heat on this side of unit was very hot. Recommend some type of shades/curtains. Recommend ice cube trays in freezer and dish towels. No dishwasher which was a minor inconvenience as we ate out most times. No garbage disposal.

Living room / dining room were very spacious. Roll down shutters in living room need to be oiled/repaired as a couple were difficult / impossible to open. TV does not have service. Couch and chairs in living room old and fabric torn.





Très bon séjour dans ce bel appartement

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
L'appartement est superbe, propre, lumineux et très confortable.Il est bien situé avec la vue sur la mer.Nous avons passé un excellent séjour entre amies.



Perfect home base for a holiday in Italy

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Casa Caterina was the perfect home base for my family's recent holiday to Italy. The location is excellent for day trips to Pompeii, the Amalfi Coast and Capri. Booking online was easy and efficient. My emails were answered promptly and the owners went out of their way to be helpful - booking us transportation from the airport and even giving us a wake up call to attend an Easter processional that took place in Sorrento at 3 AM. The flat is very well located in Sorrento - a quick walk to local and regional buses and trains, as well as the main town square, shopping, loads of restaurants and the marinas. Makes for a holiday easily done without a car hire. The flat is very spacious, updated and clean. Three good sized bedrooms with lots of storage and a good sized bathroom with a shower. The sofas in the livingroom have seen better days, but otherwise all the decor is simple, clean and updated. Beds and linens were comfortable. The kitchen has everything you need to cook in - even a pannini -maker! The small deck offers views of a pretty garden filled with orange and lemon trees and the sea and Mt. Vesuvius in the distance. The manager of the property lives in the building and was very accessible, friendly and helpful. My kids said to mention that the wi-fi was great. If you are lucky to be in Sorrento during the week before Easter, several processions pass right past the front of the building - a real treat! This flat was a great value for money given the location, size, quality and service. Highly recommend a stay at Casa Caterina!!



Lovely stay in Sorrento

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I spent 5 days at Casa Caterina in Sorrento, Italy and enjoyed every minute of it. Casa Caterina is perfectly located within 5 minutes walking of the center of town. Its bright and comfortably decorated with a lovely garden view and partial view of the water. The apartment is mostly well appointed.. it could use a coffee maker however whatever we needed, our host Caterina was most helpful and kind. We would not only recommend staying at Casa Caterina but also inquire about their cooking classes next door at Villa Silvana!!!!