FB Twitter

Camellia Cottage

Camellia Cottage

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 52 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.1
Location
4.8
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.5


With a stunning grandstand position presenting you with views across the bay, Camellia Cottage is a traditional, yet modernised cottage in the heart of St Mawes. The front garden is a great place to relax, enjoy the sun and watch the boats on the water. One of our many dog friendly cottages.

Beautiful

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Nov 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful stay in a beautiful cottage .Excellent house keeper
Loved it’s quirky style
Would love to go again




A happy return visit

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Aug 2021
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to Camellia Cottage in August as we have done for the past five years. We enjoyed it as much as ever; it is a comfortable house which isn't 'overdone' and so it's a relaxing stay. The location of the house is superb, the garden is really beautiful and the view is one of the best in the village. The managers are responsive, helpful and friendly. We will most definitely return.



We absolutely loved the cottage especially the views

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We absolutely loved the cottage. As the owner so beautifully put in her notes it has its imperfections but that is part of the charm. The only negative is it could do with a larger boiler as for six people the hot water only really did two showers before waiting for it to reheat but this is a very minor criticism. Beds and pillows were really comfortable we would certainly book again



Camelia cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Good spacious cottage. All you need for stay. Carpets look a bit tired but otherwise good condition. Great view.



Lovely shorty stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely homely cottage, helpful landlords and lovely location. The hill is tough but it was manageable



Happy days in St Mawes

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another lovely week at Camellia Cottage - sunshine and wild weather too. Long, family walks and deep sleeps in the comfortable beds. Happy dogs too.

However, we just feel the equipment and some furnishings need a bit of an upgrade over the winter.

We look forward to returning again next year.




Autumn break with friend & dogs

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Oct 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Return trip to lovely Camellia cottage. Bravo for the new radiators which have made a big difference in the absence of the Aga. Relaxing long w/e in this characterful cottage with lovely front garden. Perfect cottage for family friends who don't want it too prissy and wonderful to be able to take the dogs.



Wonderful early autumn break

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve just had a wonderful 10 days in a well equipped cottage with fantastic views over St Mawes harbour. Unlike many rentals it really did accommodate 6 people easily. The cottage was warm and the terrace was on the sun all day. The area was quiet and relaxing and the cottage was the most comfortable we’ve stayed in.



Great place - good location, nice views

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Positive points
Great location - short walk to everything you need (beach, shops etc)
Garden - the front of house gets the sun all day long. Nice views across the bay
Amenities - wifi/kitchen/tv. Everything you need is present.

Negative points
Doors - very small. If you are tall you will bang your head...allot!
Parking - very tricky to park or drive near to property. The streets in St Mawes are very narrow and steep.




Perfect view

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay with our 2 children (aged 5 and 2). The views from the garden are stunning (worth the steep walk back from town) and we spent our evenings sat in the beautiful garden watching the boats with a glass of wine. The house, especially the kitchen, is really well equipped. The only useful addition would be stair gates as we had to bring our own. Very comfy beds, we all slept really well. We loved St Mawes and will definitely back, hopefully to Camellia Cottage as I can't imagine a lovelier place to stay.



Camellia Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Ideal position in St Mawes with beautiful sea views. Easy access to shops restaurants, and the beaches.



Super family holiday

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Camellia Cottage over the Easter holiday and had a wonderful time. The cottage has far reaching views over the coastline and a very pleasant front garden. It has clearly been a much loved family holiday home for many years and we enjoyed relaxing there with our grown up children and dog. It's well equipped and rather cosy. The hill up to it is steep but the location is peaceful and very pleasant.



Lovely cottage but....

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Mar 2019
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Love the cottage having stayed in it before. Great location and comfortable but did this time felt it was a little tired and in need of refreshing. Some light bulbs hadn’t been replaced and the crockery especially mugs and glasses are rather old and limited. Remains a lovely place to stay but perhaps time to undertake some limited upgrading/decorating.



80th Celebrations

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Feb 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Camelia Cottage to celebrate my Moms 80th. We found everything to be just perfect. The cottage is clean, spacious and very well equipped. We wanted a cottage with a view and it absolutely delivered. The hilll to get up to was extremely steep, which my Dad has to rely on us driving him him a couple of times. But it was worth it to get the view. Sy Mawes holds very special memories for our family..We will definately return. Thank you .



Cosy w/e in St Mawes

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Nov 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Pretty character cottage with gorgeous view. Log fire kept us warm during severe gale & torrential rain. Plenty of hot water & comfy chairs. Always love St Mawes. Would go back to Camellia Cottage.



Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Camellia Cottage is idyllic. Beautifully situated and utterly charming. Immaculately clean and very comfortable - we could find no fault with anything. Would definitely book again.



Perfect!

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A delightful and comfortable cottage set in a quiet yet central location within St Mawes with stunning views over the harbour.

We had the most amazing October weather, with plenty of long walks around the Roseland coastline, then all slept so well in the fabulously comfortable beds and cosy goose down duvets...what a treat!

Even the dogs were well catered for with their own water bowl in the kitchen and secure garden from which they could watch the world go by...they slept well too!

We can’t wait to return.




A Lovely Stay at Camelia Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Camelia Cottage is in a perfect location, lovely views, nice and homely with a rare (in St Mawes holiday cottages) garden which is great for a dog friendly cottage. It needs a little TLC but overall we keep going back as it works perfectly for us and our dogs.



A lovely well-appointed and comfortable cottage in a good location.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely, well-appointed and comfortable cottage in a good location with great views.
We appreciated the well equipped kitchen and all personal touches in this charming home.





Great location with a beautiful view

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Camellia Cottage and would definitely stay there again. It was a really beautiful old building with associated quirks and the most fantastic front garden with a view we enjoyed every morning and evening.

Our only quibble would be the electric aga with no instructions, (same for the fancy coffee machine) and the clothes moths.




Lovely autumn break

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Camellia cottage is in a beautiful location and is comfortable and warm. The bathroom window should have a blind.



Judith wraight replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad you had a lovely break. We are aware that a blind is needed in the bathroom and it will be put up at the end of next week.

homely cottage in great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well appointed comfortable property in great location. Lack of bathroom blind was an inconvenience at night (with 4 women in the party). Some small repairs required, handles loose and a chair with a note on it saying not to be used, was a slight surprise, though not a problem for our group. Surprisingly private front garden had a slightly untidy 'end of season ' look about it, but what a great view: the garden table and chairs were well used to enjoy the sun and the setting.
Kitchen dining area was great. The property helped make our weekend a great one.




Judith Wraight replied more than 1 year ago
So glad you had a great weekend. We are aware of the need for a blind in the bathroom and are in the process of sorting that out. I was unaware of a broken chair and will attend to that as well.I'm glad the sun shone for you!

Cleanliness

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Hi, camellia cottage is lovely and the position stunning. But cleanliness was an issue. The aga was filthy and covered in hairs. It was not pleasant at all. It needs a thorough clean of the top.
Also, I requested a high chair and it was hidden away in the back of a cupboard.
Other than that all was fine,
Thank you,
Annie




Cottage with fantastic view

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent weeks holiday at Camellia Cottage and found the location very good, facilities in the cottage were good along with the standard of cleanliness of all rooms and furniture.
Very close to the town centre and excellent walks in the area.
We would definitely stay at the same cottage again.




Lovely family cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Camellia cottage is located just off the seafront, 1 minute walk (up a steep hill!) from the water. It is the most beautiful, family friendly house with 3 good size rooms, 1 of which has 2 additional pull out beds. It is rustic, if you like pristine and perfect this probably isn't for you, but it is absolutely beautiful with loads of character. The kitchen is enormous and fitted with an aga so it's perfect for the winter. We had 3 cottages between my family and this was the setting for dinner almost every night. Can't wait to go back!



Lovely location

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jun 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Wonderful views and pretty cottage,felt as if the people still lived there as shoes etc in the conservatory.didn't mind that.the cottage had a lovely homely feel to it.had a lovely stay there.one thing missing though a blind in the bathroom we felt very exposed and had to put a towel across the window as builders were at work accross the lane.I t could be a bit warm with the aga in very hot weather and no other cooker except microwave,but a lovely holiday cottage.



My Home from Home

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my 6th visit to Camellia Cottage ...
Lovely, as always - cosy, comforting and peaceful.
I loved cooking with the Aga - it was a real treat and the food tasted extra good !
Perfect for the 2 if us and Rusty the Dog.
What more can I say ?




Cosy cottage in a stunning location.

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay at Camellia Cottage. It is clear that this is a much loved family holiday home and we felt very much at ease. The Aga keeps the lovely country-style kitchen warm and cosy and the views over the harbour from the front windows and garden are just stunning. The house was very clean and in good decorative order. There was plenty of space for us all to spread out and the kitchen was very well-equipped. It was also really useful to have the downstairs shower / wet room for rinsing and drying wetsuits, children and the dog after playing in the sea. The location is very central, a short walk downhill to the harbour and shops, restaurants etc.



Great location & gorgeous garden

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Second stay at Camellia & love the cosy quirkiness and the location (just a few minutes from the harbour). It is tired in places and some of the basics were missing, but the warmth, views and garden more than make up for it.



Judith Wraight replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Georgina, I'm glad that you visited Camellia Cottage for a second time. We have done a full redecoration over the winter and have an ongoing maintenance plan and hope to see you again. Best wishes Judith

Cosy Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely cottage, well equipped, great sized rooms and nicely located. The Cottage is on a hill which leads down to the village which command beautiful views of the sea. We were lucky with the weather but this Cottage would be equally comfortable in colder weather as it has log burning stoves.



Judith Wraight replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay....you had perfect weather!

Great location felt very at home

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Perfect for the time we were in St Mawes .
I did try and extend my stay but found this to be quite complicated and the lady was not very helpful. As I do not live in the UK I am not familiar with various UK websites and I did not realise I could not go directly to CC .
However other people I telephoned over other things at CC were very helpful and the lady who manages the property was lovely ..




CornwallsCottages.co.uk replied more than 1 year ago
Many thanks for leaving a great review. We're sorry you had trouble with the agency you booked through, we always recommend booking directly with ourselves where possible. Hope to welcome you back to Cornwall soon.

Camellia Cottage - November 2016

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Nov 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There were six of us staying at Camellia Cottage last weekend for a friend's sporting weekend.

The house is in a fantastic location with stunning views, lovely garden and the kitchen / dining room layout is brilliant and it was such a treat to have a cosy AGA, plus the beds are extremely comfortable.

As we were down in St Mawes for a sporting weekend we actually spent very little time in the cottage itself, all we wanted to use it for was a bath / shower and to sleep, however there was a major problem with hot water and, despite reading all the house instructions, turning the immersion on and turning up the AGA, we simply could not get this to work and so no-one could have a hot bath / shower and it was a cold November weekend. This was a great shame and put rather a dampner on the stay. We did not call the emergency number as we were only there for 24 hours in total.

A couple of other points to question are:
a) condition of a number aspects of the house - things were just a little tired throughout the house and could do with attention; the front door handle fell off a couple of times and needed to be screwed on, also the banister came away from the wall.

b) on arrival (5pm Friday 18th Nov) we went to go and retrieve the key from the key box in the shed, only to find that there was a man hiding in there. He looked surprised to see us and we were fairly horrified to see him. He said he was merely sheltering from the rain. Thankfully I was with a couple of guys, but if I had been on my own I would have been very scared.




Judith Wraight replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your comments. After a busy year January has been spent repainting and deep cleaning the cottage. New front locks have been put in place and new sitting room carpet and we are fixing the hot water issues. I'm glad you enjoyed the cottage and its location.

Long weekend in October

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband, myself and Ruby (our spaniel) really enjoyed our stay at Camellia Cottage and we will definitely be returning to St Mawes next year.



A amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Camellia cottage is exactly like that what the pictures show. It is a absolute comfortable and cute cottage which makes you fell "at home". The garden is small but wonderful with a stunning view over the bay.
Thank you so much, we really appreciated our stay.




Lovely location, super views, great for dogs but ...

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Oct 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Lovely and extremely convenient location, super views, great for dogs but having stayed at Camelia Cottage three times now it is in desperate need of some TLC. Cleaning, painting, plastering, replacement of some furniture. I'm not saying I wouldn't re-book as overall it is lovely BUT it definitely needs some issues addressed which have been raised with the owners.



Judithwraight replied more than 1 year ago
That's so lovely that you have been to stay at Camellia Cottage now 3 times. It has been a very busy year and I am very sorry that you found it rather tired on your last visit. I would just like to reassure you that we have had the decorators in during January and replaced some carpet and generally spruced things up so I hope that if you come again you will find it back to it's normal standard.

Perfect Autumn Escape

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have tried to review several times - but the site is very poor...

I have had another super week at Camellia Cottage. Please see my previous reviews - as everything is as good as ever...

I was disappointed that the complemeicream tea and pint of milk was not included this time - especially as the Co-op was closed for refurbishment

I hope to be back n 2017 !




Camellia Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Feb 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Basically a brilliant house. If it ever came on the market we would consider buying it. Just a couple of problems: Need more tumblers and mugs. No instructions for washing machine.



Sunny St Mawes

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is my third visit to Camelia cottage - so that should be enough to recommend it alone .....!!

I will add, however, that for me and my dog - it is perfect .... comfortable, clean and stylish.

I hope to be back at Camellia Cottage in 2016 !!




Our second stay at the lovely Camelia Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Camelia cottage serves our purposes very well. It is really well located - very close to everything in St Mawes, has lovely views, is a really good size and has everything you need. It is also great for our two Golden Retrievers - they love it there as do we.
My only negative this time is that having visited 12 months ago, Camelia has taken a bit of a battering over this last year. With a rental cottage I guess that is to be expected as not everyone will take as much care of other people's properties (I like to think that we do). I think some re-painting and repairs to some walls, carpet replacement or cleaning in some areas is required to keep it at that higher level.




A very pretty seaside cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Camellia Cottage isn't for the minimalist, or for those who like everything matching and smart. But its charm is immense, from the beautiful sun filled cottage-garden stuffed with rambling roses, agapanthus, hollyhocks and herbs, to the warm and practical kitchen, with its Aga, lots of pretty pottery and everything a keen cook would want to have the use of. The pretty bedrooms are extremely comfortable; the front two have deep window seats to curl up into and gaze at the view of the river and harbour and then beyond to the lovely headland towards St Anthony. It's easy to spend the whole day doing this but in St Mawes, even for an extended holiday, pretty much everything can be done by foot or boat and the lack of parking isn't a problem. We loved this house and much look forward to returning to it.



Spring in St Mawes

Review submitted on Thu, 14 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second visit to Camelia Cottage in St Mawes.
I came back here because the cottage is excellent - very cosy, welcoming and clean. The furnishings and decor are lovely - so it is a real treat to spend a week here.
It is great to find such a lovely place where dogs are allowed to stay - and is perfect because the large kitchen / dining room has wooden floors. My dog, Rusty, had a wonderful time !

The front garden is a delight, filled with beautiful flowers and shrubs and the view towards the water is a lovely bonus.

The bed and covers are extremely comfortable and it is very quiet - no noise from the adjoining properties at all.

It is close to the harbour and restaurants - and it is a very friendly community. There is lots of choice for eating out - and a handy small supermarket for self-catering.

The only thing I must mention is the steep climb back up to the cottage from the waterfront and car park. This did not bother me at all and helped me to get 'fitter' - but it may be awkward for someone less able - although I must stress that the lane is very quiet - so allows time for someone to be dropped off by car if necessary.

Rusty and I had a thoroughly wonderful time exploring the area - with loads of great things to do and walks / ferry trips to take - and Camelia Cottage was the perfect base for us !!




A great place to stay :)

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely stay at Camellia Cottage. Great Rooms, beautiful open plan kitchen with AGA and lovely sea views.

Only one thing we all noticed was that there was no blind in the bathroom. (the bottom part was frosted, however the top part was clear!). We all took turns to stand in the shower to see if we would be seen and unfortunately there was no way we could use the shower being so exposed. There were lots of windows from surrounding houses and a neighbour up on his ladder! However, we sellotaped newspaper to the window. I would recommend bringing selotape and newspaper! Before day 2 of using newspaper to cover the window we showered in the dark!

We understand that you were not overlooked downstairs at all and that curtains could spoil the lovely sea views, however not having any curtains anywhere downstairs when it was dark felt a little uncomfortable for us all. Simple discrete blinds would have been nice for the evenings where you would not feel you don't know who could be looking in.

Other than the blinds issue we could not fault the house, it was lovely :)





A welcome break

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Camellia Cottage provided us with a delightful break on the Cornish coast. St Mawes is a lovely little place that has lots to offer. A good shop and plenty of places to have food. A couple of pubs and restaurants and a great little chip shop.

The Camellia Cottage provides a wonderful view of the bay when looking out from the bedrooms, front room or dinning room area. A great spacious kitchen and wonderful Arga to cook on and open fires to warm your self by in the evening. We took our dog who is quite old now and she couldn't use the stairs to get up to the bedrooms after a long day walking, exploring Cornwall's coves and beeches, but was quite happy to stay down in front of the fire.

I would highly recommend anyone to stay here and would like to think we will again too.




Camellia Cottage - a lovely place to stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Camellia Cottage is a lovely cottage, it has everything you could want to enjoy your stay. The cottage is cosy with lovely fires, wood burning stove, Aga, beautiful large kitchen which is very well equipped, designed to a high standard, it felt like a family home to be in. We all enjoyed our stay here very much, and loved the cottage. We'd gladly return!



Lovely cottage, good location.

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Nov 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, (very) warm and cosy. Well equipped. Spacious and very clean.
Good location. Lovely views, and garden for children to play.
Would recommend




A lovely stay at Camelia Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Camelia Cottage was just perfect. We have two Golden Retrievers so need to think about them and this cottage was perfect for both them and us in terms of layout, space, flooring and the small front garden. The cottage is extremely comfortable, very clean and in a super location with views out to the harbour from every front room of the house. It was extremely well equipped - I don't think there was a single thing we thought we might need that wasn't accounted for.

The only thing missing was a local information pack but as we had been to St Mawes before we knew what we were doing and where to go.

If we visited St Mawes again we would definitely stay at Camelia Cottage.




A Wonderful Week in St Mawes

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spend a delightful week at Camelia cottage with our Labrador Rusty. The cottage was simply gorgeous, and we could not have wished for a better place to spend our time in Cornwall.
The interior style of the old fisherman's cottage was perfect - homely and welcoming. The kitchen area was great with all you could need - and an Aga which was fun to try out !!

There were old floorboards in the living room area (which had a great view out over the river), and this was perfect for the dog and his bed. He soon felt at home. The upstairs rooms were comfortable and spacious with glorious views over the estuary.

We had to park the car in the public car park near the waterfront, which involved a little planning re loading, unloading, and carrying things out for day trips - as we were up a very steep hill with a narrow lane in front of the house - but it didn't bother us as it was part of the charm ( and kept us fit !!)

I would not hesitate to return again - and in fact would love to buy the property if I was rich enough !!

Thank you for a super cottage in a fantastic location !!




A wonderful stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Its our second stay at Camellia cottage and it still never fails in pleasing us. The comfort, and idyllic location gives us a splendid,and relaxing break. The short walk to the harbour is a real bonus. The owners have a real gift in furnishing a cottage. The kitchen is just beautiful, and comes with an electric Aga! The bedrooms are so comfortable, and have a sea view.You wont want to get up, as the duvets are luxuriously soft! There are beautiful paintings hung around the house, and open fires for cosy evenings in.I can't imagine staying anywhere else now, and am already planning our next stay at this very special place!



Camelia Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house was extremely well equipped in the kitchen which you often don't find with holiday cottages. We like to cook a lot so this was a real plus. We have used Agas before but it would have been good to find some ready-to-hand instructions - we did though find a manual after a hunt through the drawers.

Although we found the beds very comfortable, the duvets were extremely hot for the summer (13.5 tog). The weather wasn't even that hot so when the nights are warm it must be pretty uncomfortable. Lovely in the winter though.

The Aga also made the kitchen incredibly hot first thing in the morning as we closed the windows at night.

We were a bit surprised not to find any house instructions and so for e.g., we weren't sure when the dustbins got emptied until we rang Synergy. The dustbin hadn't been emptied from the week before either.

Other than that though we had a fantastic week and loved the cottage.





Phil from Warrington

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to relax and enjoy the scenery. Great views across the harbour. Pub close by. All mod cons. Great rsponse from housekeeper when we had a problem with the key.Wasn't sure how to use the cooker but salads kept us going



Fantastic views, quiet, with foodie kitchen - and all very Farrow & Ball

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Jul 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were incredibly lucky to get this at short notice - fantastic spot, private and quiet and 2 mins from the waterfront. Sitting in bed watching the boats on the sea, drinking Nespresso coffee (provided) - and eating fresh bread from the cafe on the harbour. Blissful.

It looks like a small-ish cottage from the front but is a bit of a tardis - with an excellent sized kitchen (all well stocked) and through to a dining room with a sofa (in addition to the living room). So good for entertaining in winter - not just a summer place.

Safe for the dog with the front door open. All clean and tidy and neat (except some previous guest hung up a couple of mugs without cleaning them first - could happen anywhere I guess and you can't check every cup and saucer). I'd definitely go back if they had availability. St Mawes was its usual serene self - beautiful in the sun and so very English.




Really lovely cottage!

Review submitted on Wed, 21 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage has wonderful views and very comfortable bedrooms. The kitchen was excellent with aga. You had everything you needed, front garden with table and chairs, very relaxing. Would love to stay there again if available!