FB Twitter

Chyrond

Chyrond

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
93% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.9


One of Veryan's iconic Round Houses, situated on the Pendower Road which leads to Carne Beach, a beautiful expanse of golden sand at low tide. Chyrond is warm and welcoming, with two double and one twin bedroom and is dog friendly with a fenced run in the garden, perfect to let your dog have a snooze after exploring the beaches.

Beautiful Chyrond but unloved

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jun 2022
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A privilege a stay in the gorgeous village of Veryan and in Chyrond, a little piece of quirky history. This holiday cottage would be absolutely idyllic if it was loved and looked after. We opened the door to an overwhelming smell of dogs, that odour could have been neutralised. The cottage was well equipped but everything tired, plates chipped, mugs chipped, ensuite loo seat broken, dirty cutlery and utensils, hair on stairs. Dirty in all the corners, radiators minging. Such a shame, as all so easy to get right and at a good clean standard, especially in these times! Cottage needs painting inside and out, window sills devoid of paint in places. I found a purse in a drawer which was full of cards and money that was left from a previous guest so I contacted her and posted it to her... why had housekeeping not found that and returned it to the lady? These things should be checked for and dealt with accordingly. So, with these things in mind, I won't be recommending Chyrond.



Lovely roundhouse

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2022
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful old roundhouse situated in the lovely village of Veryan, this property is perfectly located for touring the peaceful Roseland peninsula. The property had all that was needed for a comfortable stay and the lemon drizzle cake on the tea tray when we arrived was a delicious extra touch.
The property was fairly clean and tidy on arrival with a well stocked kitchen.
The property is in need of a little TLC. For example the bath in the master bathroom was a little unstable and the toilet seat was loose.
However the location and the history of the property make it a lovely place to base a holiday of exploration and rest.
Somewhere we’d love to return.




A wonderful place to stay in Cornwall

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Apr 2022
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a magical and beautiful week in the Chyrond!
A quirky, delightful, comfortable little house with so much history. What a wonderful place to enjoy part of Cornwall history.
Every aspect of the property was thought out, and we even worked out how to operate the central heating!
We would love to return in 2023, but realise we were some of the last guests, since the property has recently been sold to new owners!
We hope there may be an opportunity to revisit Veryan and this wonderful location again.
Sheila & Guy




A week in a roundhouse

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Oct 2021
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Veryan’s roundhouses have always intrigued me and the inside didn’t disappoint! Stairs disappeared everywhere. 5 of us stayed at Chyrond, plenty of room for everyone, great situation in village which is close to lovely beaches and gives easy access to the glorious Roseland.



Lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 18 Aug 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful week in this unique round house. Close to beaches and coastal path with a pub and little shop within walking distance. House is well equipped and welcoming.



Charming and quirky holiday base.

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Aug 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely experience to stay in a round house. Clever and thoughtful use of space provided plenty of room for a family of 5. Veryan is well located for Pendower beach (a walk) or Roseland in general. Would recommend



Loved it

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Jun 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an amazing break at this property, my children loved being in a round house (as we all did) and seeing their holiday home on a postcard topped it for them. The home is a great location for visiting the local areas and offers the peaceful surroundings you want at night. We loved visiting cairn beach and found the boat trips to Falmouth and surrounding locations great for days out. We would defiantly visit again, great location, great size and perfect for pooches. We did visit the pub in the village but have to say it wasn’t amazing! The service and Food let the pub down, however a recommendation from the house was a fave for us. Kings Head at Ruan Lanihorne. Brilliant food, cater for coeliacs and the service was FAB.
Thank you




Week stay end of May

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at the property for a week, we had everything we need for our stay and more! The cottage is very well equipped. The beds are comfortable and garden is lovely. The location is ideal just a very short walk to a cosy pub with nice food and shop where you can buy all essentials and some local produce as well! There are several walks from the village you can enjoy either just taking your dogs for a walk or if you wish to walk to the beach or take longer costal walks directly from the cottage. We have loved every bit of it and would definitely stay here again



6 night stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 May 2021
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Heating difficult to understand. Cottage cold. No hot water. Otherwise lovely place to stay, in an ideal spot. Lovely places to visit.




Phil Hamlyn Williams replied more than 1 year ago
So pleased you loved the cottage. Our housekeeper would have been only too happy to show you both the hot water and the heating. The details are in the cottage information, but we do know that it is often easier to talk things through.

A real treat...

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Apr 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying at Chyrond. An idyllic cottage close to the seaside with great facilities. The cottage was kitted out with all we could possibly of needed including books, games, kitchenware etc. and we really wanted for nothing! We loved the bedding so much I am purchasing a new duvet to match the one we used! Thank you Cornwall Cottages and Chryrond - we had a great time.



Perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 22 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved chyrond, great space, great village and great base for getting about. We couldn’t have been any more chilled out. We’re going to book this cottage again for our next trip south. Thanks chyrond we loved our trip.



Lovely & well located

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Oct 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was very good and spacious and the property extremely well equipped.
However the large downstairs bedroom was out of action due to the awful smell of damp. Opening the windows and doors helped but it never went away. We stayed there as two couples in our 60s and using the second upstairs bedroom (accessed by a steep, loft ladder type staircase) was difficult because of bad hips, creaky knees and needing to use the downstairs bathroom multiple times in the night! The room itself was very nice although not much headroom but would have been absolutely fine for younger people. It is a shame about the damp and it really needs sorting out.
Unfortunately although the heating worked very well, there was an issue with hot water, the timer was not working but we just had to remember to put on the immersion heater for a short while each day. The showers are electric so no issue there.
All that said, it is a lovely property in a very nice village and we would be tempted to stay there again.




Great stay in Chyrond

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay in Chyrond. Clean, tidy and everything you need for a great stay in Cornwall. Cottage is in a lovely village just a couple of minutes from a pub and local shop



We loved the cottage and the area

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was lovely and very handy for other areas. There was some issues re water heating and shower which we were made aware of before going. I was very anxious about these but needn’t have been as it was fine for the two of us but could have been an issue with a larger group. On arrival we found the tumble drier was not working and as we had seriously wet clothes after being caught in a heavy shower, we had to put the heating on to dry our clothes, which was fine. I would have thought that the rental company would check everything, and make good before renting out.There was a slight smell of damp on arrival but this can be expected with an older property. We have been renting lots of properties over the years and it was the first not to supply washing up liquid/ dishwasher tablets, or clothes washing liquid. I might have thought it was something to do with COVID-19 however we had just had a week in Dorset and it was supplied. A couple of sun loungers would have been great.
All in all, we did enjoy our stay there and would return.




Phil Hamlyn Williams replied more than 1 year ago
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay and am sorry for the problems. As I said, had the previous guest told me that the tumble dryer had broken, I could have had it replaced for your stay. Thank you for drawing these matters to my attention. We will remedy.