FB Twitter

Helsett Farmhouse

Helsett Farmhouse

4.3
out of 5
Ratings from 48 reviews
94% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.3
Condition
3.9
Location
4.2
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.4


The rustic and quirky Helsett Farmhouse offers the true farm holiday. Located in magical countryside a few miles south of Boscastle, this working small holding will absorb you into farm life where your worries will slip away. Life slows down here, but your senses will come alive!

Post Lockdown holiday

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Helsett Farmhouse. A true escape from the big smoke of Bristol. The house was clean and spacious with a wonderful big kitchen. The children took over the living room as their play room and we cooked feasts in the kitchen or on the bbq outside. The paved area outside was a wonderful chalk painting gallery by the end of our stay. The only thing missing we thought was a verandah on the sunny evening side so you could be outside even in the rain but we were so lucky with the weather and explored nearby Trebarwith sands, Crackington Beach (wonderful pub: first pint of ale outside since lockdown!) Widemouth beach, Tintagel Castle and St Nectans glen. Lovely walks down into the wood from the house and a huge trampoline up on the hill which the kids adored. Would definitely recommend and perhaps might come again! Thank you so much to our hosts!



Lovely long weekend away

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Mar 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a really nice weekend away with the whole family! A great house for hide and seek with the kids, wonderful garden (February weather meant we couldnt go out to play but in the summer we would've been outside every day), great kitchen, comfy mattresses and surprisingly warmer than we expected! Some lovely places to visit locally too, St Nectans Glen, Boscastle, Go Karting and Bude Leisure Centre pool were some of our day trips.



Winter weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another fantastic get-away weekend with friends. Wet and windy coastal walks complemented by warm cottage, log fires, kitchen suppers from the Aga. We love the character of the house, spacious, warm, comfortable. Thank you Helsett, see you next year!



A lovely big house in a very special landscape.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is large, well appointed and very family orientated. It has lots of character, lovely surroundings, easy parking and access and is well equipped.

The owners are sensitive to need and quick to respond when required.

If you want quiet and peaceful position in a very special valley close to the coast and this is for you.




Off theBeaten track

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved my stay here. Is miles away from anything so if you are looking at getting away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life this place is perfect.
The house is huge so plenty of room if you are in a group, beds and showers great. Thought it might be cold as it is so big but it was always warm.
The only downside for some may be no wifi but was not an issue for me for a week.




Fantastic break away

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely time away. Such a peaceful location and a stunning grand property to stay in.

We’d love to return I the future.




Fantastic Holiday Helsett

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent farmhouse for large families to explore North Cornwall. The house was well equipped, spacious kitchen with Aga, 5 large bedrooms - and very clean. The owners were friendly and helpful.



Summer bteak

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house, more space than you could ever need. All rooms large and the kitchen/breakfast room was wonderful. Always warm with the range on and a great focal point. Huge garden which the kids and dogs loved. Don't take a low sports car though as the access is a farm track, fine for all other vehicles though.



A wonderful sunny week at Helsett

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sarah and Robin are old family friends and I've been coming to Helsett all my life so I am slightly biased but for me it's the perfect place to be. Splendidly isolated in a beautiful setting. The garden is stunning, filled with foxgloves and ferns, and the house is huge, quirky and full of charm and everyone enjoyed learning to cook on the Aga. Highly recommended.



Characterful in lovely surroundings

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jun 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spacious farmhouse set in well looked after gardens easily accommodated our party of ten for the weekend.

Whilst everywhere is a drive away (rather than a walk) this means you're really in the middle of nowhere but with nice views and scenery, together with picnic style tables in the garden big enough for children to run around, explore and play, it's often forgotten that just having a day at the farmhouse (as opposed to be constantly going places / seeing stuff) is just as rewarding.

This is a home ready to be enjoyed, and therefore the odd lazy day just sitting around reading or exploring the house and grounds is entirely warranted.

Facilities in the house are good, all mod cons, showers etc excellent the aga in the kitchen is a real centrepiece whilst modern convenience is also catered for (large fridge freezers/microwave /conventional cooker)

Books aplenty and games also keep you busy as does the varied art collection on display.

The owners have also ensured the character of the farmhouse is respectfully intact and therefore, and this together with the overall package made this a good choice for us.




Excellent location for a get together with friends/family

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent venue for my 70th Birthday weekend comprising eight adults and four small children under 9 yrs of age.
Plenty of room both in the house and the large gardens surrounded by fields. Adults could relax completely and children were in their element safely playing around the house and gardens.
Best room in the house for us was the kitchen with the lovely old AGA. So much room, we spent most of the time there including my celebratory meal. Good location for visiting Boscastle and Tintagel and a visit to Boscastle Farm Cafe is a must.
Track leading to house is a little rough but is worth it for the wonderful feeling of getting away from the hustle and bustle of modern life. Owners are very friendly and live nearby in another part of the farm and we were made to feel very much at home as soon as we arrived. We were all reluctant to leave and everyone talked about how we could do it again.




Individual - and a warm kitchen

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Sep 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lots of space, indoors and out. Quirky and interesting old farmhouse, with gothic touches! Failed to make enough use of the sizeable sitting room due to the attractions of the kitchen with its lovely warm Aga.



Lovely stay, but some attention to detail needed.

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all loved our stay at Helsett. The farmhouse itself is stunning but some aspects need work... the carpets in one of the rooms were very dusty and gave the room a smell. Also so little details like stagnant dirty water collecting under leaking sin, lots of the owners persnal belonging in kitchen cupboards etc. Some items quite dangerous for little children. My toddler come running up to me with an old battery in her mouth that she had taken from the kitchen cupboard! I think a deep clear out in needed in order the the kitchen and utility room to be up to standard and safe for families with young children. Other than that it was wonderful! Lovely owners, fresh clean bedding and towels, really comfy beds! A lovely stay on the whole.



Helsett Heaven!

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful house and gardens, full of charm and a great place to stay for large gatherings. The hosts are lovely people.



Didn't want to leave!

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I booked Helsett Farm for a quiet anniversary getaway after seeing it on the Cornwall Cottages website. The description, pictures and reviews promised for it to be the right choice for us and we were not disappointed. In fact, everything exceeded our expectations.

The tranquillity of the location, the charm and space of the farmhouse meant that we found ourselves choosing to spend time 'at home' rather than drive about Cornwall sightseeing.
That said, we did venture out and found that Helsett is a good base for accessing both countryside and 'civilisation' alike.

There are so many features of the property and grounds that made us call the other over to look, it felt like a home to holiday in, rather than a holiday home.
Wildlife in abundance, each window seemed to broadcast a different nature programme, especially the large 'widescreen' kitchen window.
In the kitchen, the large AGA was a delight to bake and cook with. There are all the kitchen items you could need and more besides. It is a substantial room and probably where we spent the majority of our time.
My husband commented (many times) how great the acoustics are in the kitchen and enjoyed being able to sing and play his acoustic guitar and accordion without disturbing neighbours, or me in the living room!
Helsett does lend itself to artist endeavours, whether a music, photography or art. There is a stillness that allows the mind to relax and create.

It would be easy to write at length about all the features of Helsett, but I would not be able to capture the feeling of the place and it could be a 'spoiler' for you should you (and I recommend that you do) book a stay. Whether it's two or ten of you, Helsett is a great choice! There is room in abundance but it still feels cosy. There is a substantial choice of books to read, a modern flatscreen TV (some pictures we saw before booking had an older style one) and FreeSAT. The current internet connection does drop occasionally but was still perfectly adequate for the amount we wanted to use it (route planning, websites for walks, Googling local attractions etc.). There is a good 4G signal (EE) anyway, so we used that when we needed to, which wasn't often as we were enjoying being away from all that type of thing

The owners were very helpful and were easily contactable throughout our stay. It was great to learn about some of the history of the farm and we were made to feel very welcome.






Quirky in Cornwall

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A quirky and enjoyable place to stay, approach road a bit "hairy",especially after dark in driving rain, not ideal for a low slung car! We enjoyed the Aga experience and loved the farmhouse kitchen.



Helsett farmhouse.

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Aug 2017
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
2.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Lovely farmhouse but access via the long unmade track difficult without a 4x4. One shower leaked thru kitchen ceiling, reported it but owners not too worried but this could be potentially dangerous.
Loved the gardens and the relaxed atmosphere. Kitchen welcoming and cosy. Dog friendly too.




Big but wonky!

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Aug 2017
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The farmhouse is big but the floors are very uneven. In one bedroom the floor was so tilted that their feet were higher than their heads when they slept! Think the pictures online are a bit misleading- it's a bit more run down. The cot isn't the one in the picture and there wasn't a mattress so we had to make one using the sofa cushions and blankets to try and even it out. The floor was so wonky that baby kept rolling into the mesh side of his cot so we had to try and prop the cot up using sheets and blankets. If you're not travelling with young children and not bothered about the uneven floors then this is a nice place and the price is good. Nice big garden. The road leading up to the house is very rocky and uneven so go slow!



An incredible place to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jul 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a short girls break away after all our A level exams. 9 of us set off, not expecting what we found...an amazing place to stay! The house was phenomenally beautiful with a large garden and beautiful outside area it was exactly what we needed. The bedrooms were very large and it was all wonderfully set up ready for us to come in. Sarah came to meet us on arrival and told her to ring if there were any problems, however we didn't have any!



A unique place, makes for a fun and interesting holiday!

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The farmhouse, was very unique and characterful, from emotional art and classic board games, it really made an impression. It was great for a group of friends not searching for luxury, but instead searching for comfort, homely and quirky. It was a perfect position to visit the surrounding areas including waterfalls, trails and castles, and provided plenty of space for us all to spread around and have our space. It was great that they provided fire wood for the first night ( would be helpful if you could pre buy extra wood from them). Overall there was so many amenities, and we were not expecting to be provided with washing up liquid, sponges etc. and it would be great if this could be noted on the booking page and also a sign on the gate. The road to access is very challenging for low vehicles so be careful, and additionally there are some 20% inclines around, so also plan your routes accordingly.



Fabulous, spacious house in peaceful surroundings near the coast

Review submitted on Sun, 28 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a week at this lovely house and really enjoyed the space and peace. We entertained family and friends in the relaxed and well equipped home from home. We especially enjoyed the warm kitchen with plenty of table space by the aga and the dogs were thrilled with the direct access to the courtyard and garden. The bedrooms are delightfully quirky with comfy beds and eclectic art, the bathrooms large, with plenty of hot water and both with showers and baths.
Our hosts Robin and Sarah were friendly, kind and discreet - but on hand if we needed anything. All in all we loved the atmosphere of this amazing place and hope to be back another year.




Charming house, charming host

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great balance of rustic and mod cons. Large house with access to farm for kids. Great location for walks and drives to coast.



Holiday for 10 of us

Review submitted on Sun, 19 Feb 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
10 of us stayed and loved every minute including the 3 dogs! Sadly the dairy/ice cream part of the farm is no longer in operation but it was still the perfect week and a great location.



Helsett at Half Term

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Once again we had a great holiday in the farmhouse. We seemed to live in the kitchen or the garden as the weather was so good. It is a perfect house for a large family group (we were pleased the outside toilet had been fixed!)



80

Review submitted on Fri, 13 May 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
beautiful old property. Very well stocked kitchen utensils etc. Beds very comfy and lovely white sheets and towels. Only down was settees were not very comfy. Otherwise everything good and a very enjoyable holiday for all.



A lovely stay

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed it very much. Especially walking around the farm And icecream was delicious! ..............................................................................................



Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was very old with ancient looks inside. Seems like it's carrying history, which made our stay very interesting but we had all the modern comforts we needed. We enjoyed a lot. We will definitely recommend friends to go there.



Lovely family break

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helsett Farmhouse is perfect for a getaway in the middle of nowhere with extended family and friends. Close enough to the wonderful Cornish coastline, it's a perfect base for day trips and also spacious enough for rainy days inside. We had a great time - thanks!



General review

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sarah and Robin the owners have been really nice. They have accomodated all our requets. They gave us free ice cream and kids where very happy. def going back. Thanks David



Helsett Farm, Boscastle

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Dec 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Helsett farm is a very rural farmhouse, not posh but very homely. we loved it. not for those that want modern! we felt so at ease there. It was so warm, beds were old but very comfortable. The sheets were imaculate, lovely soft white towels for everyone. The kitchen was very well equipped, I even managed to cook a roast for 10, on a fabulous Aga.



A house in the country.

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Sep 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you are looking for a big old family home with bags of character Helsett farm is the perfect spot. I worry about going on holiday with a gaggle of children and pack of dogs, but this is the place to go. The gardens are plenty big enough for a good run around as is the actual house. The aga is a bonus, we found ourselves sat around it on a daily basis. The owners are delightful and the house is Great value for money. No, it's not pristine, but that's not what we were looking for. It makes up for that with space and character. We loved it!



Fantastic Holiday.

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Helsett Farmhouse is a fabulous place to stay. The house is spacious, plenty of room so you never feel on top of each other. The gardens are great for exploring, safe for children and dogs alike. The owners dogs do come to visit, so if you're not keen on dogs, be aware!
The aga is a very welcome addition. For cooking and for warming up on a wet day! All bedrooms are comfortable and well presented, although décor a little dated? Our only negative comment would be about the lounge, the sofas are definitely past their best and the television is far too small, and dated, for such a large room.




Country charm, no mod cons, in a tranquil setting

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My family, including myself, husband daughter and 2 dogs, my parents and my brother and sister in law and their 2 children spent a week at Helsett Farm together. The house itself is old and full of rustic charm. We loved the kitchen with the big aga and actually managed to cook things on there quite successfully! The house is old and in need of some work. The rooms were comfortable although a bit dusty. The 2 bathrooms were enough for our family and we had no problems with hot water, however it would have ben nice if there were locks on the door as inquisitive toddlers don't always knock! The garden was huge and perfect for my 2 dogs, but not enclosed which meant my dogs could escape and the whippets who live on the farm were coming in and leaving lovely little presents for us in the garden! All in all, you get what you pay for here. The house is lovely but if you want mod cons (wifi, a television less than 10 years old) this is not the place for you!



Great spacious house, interesting but not for everyone as it is very old and individual!

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jul 2015
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We had a good time at Helsett farm. Lots of space, particularly the large kitchen that our big group could all be in comfortably.

In one room the light made the room smell terrible so we just avoided using it, bit of a pain but not the end of the world as there were lamps.

The house is very old and a little creepy for the kids at first, but if you are used to old farmhouse's it's no problem and once you get used to it, you can appreciate the quirkiness of the place!

Lovely big gardens perfect for children to explore!




Rustic farmhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 06 May 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely farmhouse which is very rustic but masses of room for children to explore and play. Great farm to wonder around and children loved seeing the robot milking the cows. Driveway is not as bad as reviews have said if taken slowly and carefully. Recommend for any large family gathering.



A Health and Safety Nightmare

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
2.8
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
Arrived in the dark - entrance to the property thick mud - no lighting down steps to get to back door - not easy carrying cases. Water from shower came through ceiling rose in kitchen first morning- not fixed despite promise (10 people one shower!)
House very damp - Mould around our bedroom window.
Wrought iron gate (6ft x4ft), very heavy, fell off its fixings when our five-year old grandson touched it - luckily it fell away from him otherwise he could have been seriously hurt or worse.
No instructions regarding what to do with waste - no bins provided.
Dishwasher in need of some TLC
Seriously, Health and Safety would have a fit if they carried out an inspection.
Plus side very spacious




Sarah replied more than 1 year ago
I'm really sorry about the shower, as you know we did look at it while you were there and as we couldn't fix it ourselves we offered to contact the plumber but you declined saying you could manage with the 2 baths and the one shower. We were not aware there was anything wrong with the dishwasher, the previous guests were using it without a problem. I wish you had told me we could have fixed it for you. The instructions for the bins and the recycling are in the welcome leaflet with the other information. Old Cornish houses do get damp places in the winter particularly. All the water from the fields drains down the drive in wet weather hence the wet bit by the gate. I'm very sorry the outside light was not on when you arrived, my mistake and that we did not hear you arrive so did not get to see you straight away. We try to make sure our guests have a very happy time, I'm really sorry we failed in this instance.

wonderul old farmhouse

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Nov 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
fabulous stay in a huge farmhouse, super friendly owners couldn't do enough to help, great for big family gatherings, had a fab time! the ice cream made on the farm is delicious, the children loved seeing the cows and walking near the farm and down to st. juliots church. would definately recommend this house, lovely and warm with big aga, great bathrooms, wood burning stove, lots of books and jigsaws and huge boot room which is great when you get back from long walks or beach trips. will definately return!



Family holiday..... Gorgeous setting

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The house is gorgeous.... Rough around the edges but it makes up for that with space. The only problem was I rang the booking company to ensure it would be suitable for my 90 year old grandad and they said yes.... Saying there was wheelchair access! This was not the case!! But the owners put down some pallets to create a ramp as soon as we told them. It was a great base. Perfect for large groups getting together. We had a wonderful holiday. The property is great but not so great for my cruising unstable toddler, due to slate floors. But would be great for older children. All in all a great holiday and great value for money.



Enjoyable stay

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable stay and would consider coming back. Compared to other properties for 10 people it was good value. Location was handy as only 5 minutes from A39 but still in the middle of the countryside. The track to the property was not ideal and may be a problem for cars low off the ground. Facilities were basic but adequate.



Beautiful house, a bit tired and not suitable for young children

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Aug 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The house is beautiful and retains many original features, quirky and old fashioned in a good way - felt like we were in a Jane Austen novel!
There is bags of space both inside and out, great for older kids to explore, but found that the garden was unsuitable for our 19 month old due to steps and an open drainage trench which was quite dangerous.
We also found the sitting room and one of the bedrooms to be damp, which didn't do my 6 year old nephews asthma any good.
The bedding and towels provided were pristine and the beds were very comfy too.
The track from the road to the farmhouse is bad, we have a ford c -max and grounded it several times, scary when you meet a tractor on there!
All in all great holiday, farmhouse good if you want something authentic but be prepare for tired furniture, cobwebs, spiders, sloping, creaky and uneven floors. If you are ok with this you will be rewarded with a very quite and tranquil setting with bags of space.




A lovely quaint farmhouse, friendly and welcoming owners, we had a fantastic break, thankyou

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Aug 2014
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a fantastic holiday, the kitchen was more than big enough for the 10 of us let, alone the actual farmhouse. The owners were very friendly and the kids loved watching the horses, cows and 'robot'.
The farmhouse had everything we required and the ice-cream and yogurts on arrival was an added bonus, thank you.
Just to watch for the entrance road to the property, go slow as we had a few under car scrapes but, no damage was done.




Helsett Farmhouse

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Jun 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
2.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We did not expect much because the price was relatively low, but there were several Points which could have been fixed easily but obviously have been neglected.
- The access path to the house in in a terrible condition. People with expensive new cars should definitely NOT use it. Several times we touched the uneven ground with our car.
- The doors of the 2 bathrooms could not be locked. One door could only be locked by strong men, the other one not at all.
- The socalled "intermittent" Wifi did not exist during our whole week of stay.
- We had to fix the television by climbing up a ladder and cutting off a rosebush which had caused a blockage between the satelite dish and the antenna.




a step back in time

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jun 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent venue for a family reunion week .The farmhouse was large and rambling ,uneven stripped floorboards ,2 large bathrooms..big enough to escape from the party if you wanted.Furnished throughout with beautiful old furniture we decided that the house had been modernised throughout its history ...and had happily stopped in the 1970's! Saying that...it was warm- the kitchen Aga powering out the heat..and the bathrooms up to date with good showers and new bathroom ware.
Sarah and Eila were excellent hosts and we enjoyed being able to roam the farm,watch the robotic milking machine ! We also enjoyed the complimentary scrumptious ice cream and other dairy products that the cows produced..obviously we bought more!
Somebody had written in the guest book that it felt like it was a Enid Blyton type experience...we agree ...but without the tongue sandwiches!!!!(Lashings of wine though:)
A couple of points to note:
The track to the farm had to be taken very slowly with huge potholes
The mattresses on the beds were comfy and snuggly but not for those who need firm support
We had a lovely week ..and we were happy the WiFi wasn't working as the children in the party discovered croquet and really enjoyed themselves ! ( The WiFi was fixed on the day we left )
Recommended for a get away from it all stay..and carry on the 'WiFi is broken' story........




Lovely old farmhouse

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This old building with its uneven floors and squeaky floorboards was a lovely quiet and relaxing place to stay. The Aga was a real bonus and we loved the homemade ice cream too.



Huge querky farmhouse

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Apr 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Generous accommodation for group of ten. Shabby chic at its best. Some amazing furniture and pictures

Massive warm kitchen. Whole group could eat in here or use the Georgian dinning room!

Five generous sized bedrooms with comfortable mattresses.

Two king sized bath rooms, however with five couples would be good to have downstairs WC/ shower.

V. large but cozy lounge.

Good base for area.

Info folder with POI, footpaths,pubs/places to eat,beaches, Dr, shops etc would be useful.




A real rugged North Cornwall Farmhouse, not to be missed

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Mar 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky, showing clear signs of being lived in and utterly captivating. If you want remote, peace, quiet and to divest yourself of all the pressures of modern day life; then this is your chance.

Stone floors, wooden floors and not one of them level. Old furniture, no WiFi to speak of, breath taking views and a working farm on your doorstep, all make this place ideal.

I had a great 50th birthday with 10 of us staying in the house and further guest arriving for a party on the actual day. Plenty of room and seating and everyone blown away by the ambience and homeliness of Helsett. We will be renting again and highly recommend it for anyone who wants character and individuality in a property you can truly escape to.




Overall just lovely !!

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jan 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing cottage and a excellent price! We booked this cottage with friends for New Years 2013/4 back in May 2013 (Friday to Friday) with 10 of us in total. It was just a joy! The rooms were so large and spacious! The cottage was a bit off the beaten track, but we all took plenty of food and drink, and if we ran out of milk we just got it from the farm next door, along with our ice cream and clotted cream, just lovely.
The house has so much history and character, the rooms were just lovely (something you would imagine out of the book Little Women) and the kitchen was huge, you could probably get 20 people around the table easily. The beds were so comfortable (one of the best beds I've ever slept in), the mattresses were from Harrods so what can you say?! It says the cottage only sleeps 10 but you could easily sleep another 2 or even 4.
I would love to see this house in the summer time with the roses growing up the front and side of the house, just beautiful.
Only one thing - you have to take a car! But just be careful of the narrow lanes, especially one lane which has bricks going down the centre of the track, so you need to drive very very slowly in case you hit or damage your exhaust pipe, or suspension (it's only for 2-3mins). We would love to go back again sometime! Thank you to the owners who made us feel very welcome, hope to see them again next time!




Oct 2013

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Nov 2013
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in both Ostlers and the Farmhouse. Both are very different. Ostlers is modern with great open plan living. White walls and plenty of wood.........stunning. The farmhouse is full of character and is enormous, we all loved the house. The owners were very helpful and even took in our shopping. Waitrose seems to be the only company that delivers to the property. We all left feeling relaxed and well rested.