FB Twitter

The Hut

The Hut

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 28 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.6


The Hut, positioned on the outskirts of Carne Village with spectacular views over Carne and Pendower beaches is a magical location for a family holiday in the middle of the picturesque Roseland peninsula.

Stunning location!

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Apr 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place in a beautiful location. Set in own grounds which were wonderful and very relaxing. Easy to walk to the costal path which is steep in places but well worth a walk in either direction.
The hut had been re-decorated and looked better than the photos online which don’t do it justice. Very well equipped and comfortable - would definitely recommend if you want peace and relaxation in a remote location.




Great location on a quiet coast

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Aug 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We felt very comfortable in "The Hut" from the beginning. It is very quiet and the view over the bay of Carne is breathtaking. We made beautiful walks on the coastal path in both directions. As a starting point for "The Roseland" the cottage is very good. Shopping in Verian's pretty village shop is a commendable experience; as well as a visit to the mill (Cafe west of Verian).
"The Hut" is very well furnished and the kitchen is modern equipped. We will gladly come back.




Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place to stay, stunning views. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the hut, would definitely go again



A very comfortable and peaceful place

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Jun 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable and peaceful place to stay. The large and lovely garden adds to the feeling of space, quiet and privacy. Arriving at the Hut, you feel immediately relaxed and unhurried, very welcome when on a summer holiday with a pet. There are wonderful views and it is easy to get down to the beach or go walking on the coastal path. The Hut is well-equipped and all the basics were supplied although another toilet roll and long-handled tongs for the barbecue would have been welcome. We also could not get the heated towel rail in the bathroom to work. As it rained for much of the week, this was irritating but not a major problem. Overall, a lovely place and one to which we would like to return. Thank you!



Total relaxation

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Jul 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we were totally relaxed. The Hut is a hidden gem. Surrounded by lovely gardens & a magnificent view to the sea.
The new kitchen & house had everything we needed. If you are looking for a total getaway & cut yourself off from the world place, then go to the Hut.
We had fantastic weather so didn't go far, but if you are a nervous driver the single track road to the hut may be an issue when you meet another vehicle.
You can, in theory walk to the beach as it isn't far, but not suitable if you struggle with steep hills & uneven ground.
Good weather always helps, but we had a fantastic stay.




Fabulous secluded location with amazing view

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
All good...............................................................................................................



fantastic place

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hut is quite well eqipped, but, most importantly, it's situated in the most beautiful garden - with a great view of the sea from the front garden - and even from the kitchen window!
Also, this garden is safe for dogs, so they can come and go in and out of the house as they please. Our dogs loved that.
It's quite isolated, so not the place for you if you want a pub round the corner, but if you are looking for peace and quiet, this is pretty perfect.




Amazing, tranquil, relaxing....perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing time was had by my wife and I...and Dilys the dog! So perfect, beautiful and tranquil we have booked again for the same time next year! Cannot wait!



Excellent

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Hut is the most wonderful place to stay , a real bolt hole . Being right on the footpath , leading to the coast path and beautiful Carne beach, it's perfect for children and dogs .
I have stayed many times on the Roseland and this is by far the best location .
The central heating was excellent , as it was so easy to control as and when needed The hot water was strangely a little erratic but not a problem . Veranda and porch were a real bonus Leaving muddy boots outside to dry etc.
The garden was lovely even in November I can imagine it would be magnificent in the Spring and Summer However the fencing would not prevent a small dog from going walkabouts as there are lots of places they could get out .




Brilliant escape for the whole family

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second stay and we would come back again and again. All you need is there. Shame it’s always booked.



Love The Hut

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location and although some of the furnishings were dated it was clean and comfortable. I would ditch the coloured fitted sheets for white and put a double duvet and cover on the double bed rather than two singles which was odd. We used the wood burner and there was a good wood store so this was a bonus. We would happily recommend The Hut especially if you have dogs. There were nice walks on the doorstep and the gardens are quite lovely. Overall a really good place to stay and we hope to return one day. However, it is fairly isolated which we loved so don't expect to be able to walk to a local shop, arrange a delivery instead to keep you going. Finally the people looking after the property were great and responded to our call very quickly when we required more bed linen. Loved 'The Hut'.



Beautiful spot

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a beautiful place tot be. Everything was allright, warm welcome, stunning view from the big backyard, guiet, ful privacy We were there for 14 days and after the first week we became a linen chance, so nice? The house was clean..
No complaints and we can recommend this house, Henk and Astrid, the Netherlands




Cornwall at its best

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We enjoyed our stay at this quirky house. Whilst it was extremely comfortable there were a few things that we felt needed some attention; I.e carpets were quite dirty and needed cleaning and the bathroom smelt very damp. Having said this the Hut was very well equipped and apart from not having a dishwasher which was not a problem to us at all as washing up was a pleasure with the view from the kitchen window. Due to the inclement Cornish weather we feel a tumble dryer would be a most welcome addition. The main attraction was the stunning gardens and location which was very relaxing.



Shangri La in the Roseland

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have been taking our annual holiday in Cornwall cottages for more than 30 years and The Hut is by far the best we have stayed at. Some would say rather basic looking and quirky on the outside. Don't be fooled! This is a very well appointed and maintained property a real home from home, you will want for nothing !
The gardens are mature and expansive, and well tended with lots of little glades among the trees (Loved the Scots Pines being a Scot )
The sea views are spectacular (only obscured slightly by one tree in the neighbouring property)
The Roseland is a fairly quiet part of Cornwall, however you are never more than a half hour drive from a town or larger village. There is a multitude of interesting places to visit. The St Mawes - Falmouth trip on the ferry makes a great day out. Mellinsey Mill is a must for tea and cakes!!
We arrived on Saturday in a heavy sea mist, then were blessed with 2 weeks of brilliant sunshine and left on Saturday in a sea mist !! Highly recommend this property !!! We will book again in the future!




Generally Very Good

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The Hut is a very well maintained property where the website photographs do full justice to the accommodation. There are superb views across Gerrans Bay from the property, and outside seating from which to enjoy the views. Unfortunately, the prevailing west wind blows directly into the property which sits on an exposed headland and prevents one from enjoying the view for more than a few minutes before getting frostbite! Internally, The Hut is well equipped and comfortable with all fixtures and fittings in very good state of repair. The only slight grumble would be the absence of a dishwasher and tumble dryer. Likewise, some ongoing nearby building works caused minor disruption with builders' vehicles occasionally blocking access to the Hut and a local footpath to the beach, while the builders' litter was an unwelcome blot on an otherwise beautiful location. It should also be noted that the local access roads are narrow and that some roads shown on the map are little more than cart tracks!



Beautiful!

Review submitted on Mon, 08 May 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a most amazing time at the Hut. The location was excellent, very quiet area and not overlooked at all. Lovely well looked after garden, which surround the house. A beautiful view from the house and even better from the bottom of the garden. A short walk down a steep field and across another flat one to Carne beach which was very quiet (in May) and dog friendly. our dogs loved it, as did they the long coastal walks from the doorstep. The nearest pub is just over a mile away in Veryan. You can walk across the fields and country lanes. Good food and atmosphere.
We loved it so much we are going to book it up again. I would recommend to anyone who likes the outdoors and walking.




the hut, carne bay

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Apr 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at The Hut. It was clean, tidy, with efficient heaters which were useful in the evenings. The beds were comfortable and bed linen and towels were good quality.
Just a couple of things to note, the directions were slightly misleading but luckily we knew the area and roughly where we were going. Also, the bin in the kitchen was very small, not ideal for a family of 6. There were no extra bin bags available so couldn't change it. There were no instructions about whether to put the rubbish out for the dustman, and the dustbin provided was already full from the previous occupants. Rather smelly too. Only a minor detail I know, but something to be addressed. We plan to book again for another week next year, and look forward to returning. We would recommend this property for a quiet relaxing break.




Review of The Hut

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hut was a lovely place to stay, so peaceful & quiet & in such a beautiful location. It had everything that you could need for a comfortable stay & we had a lovely week. It was an ideal place to take the dogs with lots of lovely walks & a gorgeous nearby beach. The local area has lots of pubs & places to eat for some delicious meals out! We have already recommended the property to our neighbours who have a dog & love Cornwall as much as us.



Absolutely stunning location and superb accommodation, dolphins included

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We arrived at The Hut not knowing what to expect. We were not disappointed. The view from the property was superb, especially the view to Portscatho which was idyllic in the setting sun. The accommodation met all our needs and was more than spacious enough to accommodate six people, two of which were boisterous under 6s. The property was well appointed with more than enough equipment for our week long stay. The caretakers left us a lovely bottle of wine and biscuits to set our holiday off to a good start. The weather was superb during our stay over the Christmas break. We enjoyed lovely walks down to the beach and across to Nare Head where we found the old decoy bunker and sheep that obviously did not have a fear of heights and seemed to be stuck to the cliff sides like glue. Our dog had a new lease of life on the beach, acting more like a puppy than the 13 year old that he is. Spent time visiting old haunts such as Falmouth, my grandparents home town, via the St Mawes Ferry, a lovely way to see Falmouth and St Mawes from a different angle and the numerous ships in the docks. On our last evening we were treated to more than a dozen dolphins swimming the in the bay below, spectacular. We will certainly look forward to another visit in the future.



The Hut, Veryan

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Hut provides the most gorgeous place from which to enjoy the Roseland Peninsula. A superb house.



100%

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location. Quirky bungalow would not suit everyone but we loved it.
Beautifully appointed property.




A beautiful place to stay, peaceful and tranquil with beautiful views and a warm and cosy interior.

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all found The Hut a beautiful place to stay, the garden is delightful but the fencing may need looking at as one of my dogs kept escaping into the neighbouring field.

The views are exceptional, especially when the sun is shining.

The Hut itself has everything you need for a home from home. We did spend a long time though trying to play the video player only to discover that it didn't work and there was a built in one on the television (maybe the broken one needs to be thrown away to avoid confusion)




A slice of heaven!

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a quieter part of Cornwall, this is it! Great family accommodation. Well equipped kitchen, with fabulous view of the sea, so washing up was a joy. Lovely lounge, comfy settee's & cosy fire for the damp days. All the beds were comfortable. Absolutely loved the position, peace & quiet only hearing the sea, and a seat in the garden to enjoy the coast line whatever the weather. Just a 12-15 min walk to the large beach, always plenty of space. Coastal path on the doorstep to enjoy the breath taking scenery. Large garden also to enjoy. What's not to like!
We loved everything about it and would definitely stay again.




Fatstic, a gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
What a tranquil, beautiful spot location. Sited above the bay with the sea view from the window and the glorious garden surrounding the property this is truly a peaceful place. If you are seeking a quiet corner, tranquillity, peace but with the ability to leave and be close to the many sites of Cornwall this is perfect. We and our three teenage boys had a fantastic time and the only complaint from three very demanding teenagers was the tv screen was too small! Seriously, this is a beautiful place and a lovely place to spend some quality time with the family.



Excellent cottage with wounderful view and 1st class facilties.

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have holidayed in Carne for the last 3 years and love the view out over Gerrans Bay. We have previously stayed at another cottage close by but The Hut beats that in terms of spaciousness, facilities and a better shower! A warm welcome was much appreciated and we have thoroughly enjoyed our stay. I would love to see the garden at The Hut in spring - must be beautiful with all the magnolias and rhododendrons. One small suggestion - there is a hawthorn bush partly blocking the view down to the garden to the sea, especially from the kitchen window - time to prune/ remove it?



Review of the hut

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location right by the sea though the single country lanes were quite scary! Beautifully furnished and clean. Just needed to have slightly better weather to fully appreciate the extensive garden.



Easter break in Cornwall

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in The Hut. A fantastic location, with a sheltered garden and a view from the kitchen sink to make us want to wash up !



Fabulous location.

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A gorgeous little wooden house with an amazing garden and view.
Really cosy, even in Winter, with everything you could need.
A beautiful garden, and only a few yards from the south coast path.