FB Twitter

Valley View

Valley View

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 40 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.9
Location
4.7
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Idyllic 5 Star luxury accessible dog friendly retreat in Herefordshire’s beautiful unspoilt countryside.
Totally wheelchair accessible for assisted or independent wheelchair user .
Suitable for the partially sighted and those with hearing problems.

Free level parking leads to all room on one level.
En-suite accessible wet room with Clos-o-Matt shower toilet, with rise and fall sink, left & right entry toilet and wheelchair accessible shower.
Two large beds which can be zip-linked, a rise and fall dressing table, a profile bed is available on request.
The kitchen has a large rise and fall work top, with sink and hob.

The sitting room has a rise and fall chair , with HD TV and CD player .
Valley View can be linked internally to the ground floor of Bramble's Barn .

There are two accessible patios with superb views over the Garron Valley .

Adjacent to Wye Valley Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and Forest of Dean.
experiences from those in wheelchairs to the energetic able bodied.

An enjoyable stay beautiful and peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Valley View because it is both disabled-friendly and dog-friendly, but found this to be an understatement! Every possible effort has been put into designing and providing a ground-floor cottage for wheelchair users with a high standard of comfort. Our Labrador dog really enjoyed being there, having 12 acres of land to explore. The owners were very helpful indeed. The location is off the beaten track, and thus very quiet, and yet easy to drive to the numerous attractions in the Wye Valley and Forest of Dean and beyond. We really enjoyed this short holiday and would like to return again one day.

David from Aylesbury stayed at Valley View for 6 nights in June 2019


Edward & Marian replied 119 days ago
Dear David, Thank you for your review , it is good to know that you all enjoyed your stay. We hope to have an additional patio ready for your next visit. This should be accessible to those in wheelchairs Many thanks for leaving the cottage in such a pristine state. Regards to you all. Edward & Marian

Great wheelchair access and facilities including washer/dryer toilet 1 bed holiday cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Valley View is a perfect rural 1 bed holiday cottage for a wheelchair user with level access inside and to the patio with a spectacular view. This property has been well designed with quality fixtures and fittings. We actually chose the cottage as it had a Clos-o-mat washer/dryer toilet so my husband could have the same independence on holiday as at home. We loved the large wet room with plenty of space to move your wheelchair around. The adjustable work top with sink and hob, dressing table and basin all made life easier. Edward and Marian made us feel most welcomed and ensured we had everything we needed to enjoy our stay. They even had 'elephant feet' to raise the bed up to make the transfer from wheelchair to bed easier. Little touches like the basket of goodies including the homemade cakes and bread was most welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Look forward to a return visit.

Clare from Eastbourne stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in May 2019


Edward & Marian replied 124 days ago
Dear Clare, Following an injury I became aware of some of the problems facing those with accessibility issues. As a result of this experience, we decided to adapt the cottage to cater for a wide range of needs. So , we are pleased that it was suitable for your husband. Hope your journey home was safe and many thanks for this review, pleased that our efforts are appreciated. Regards from Edward & Marian.

Lovely stay with excellent views.

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Valley View is really well equiped for able bodied and disabled guests. The view across the valley is wonderful. We spent some time using the binoculars provided, watching the birds and wildlife. We amassed 28 different species of bird over 5 days. We have booked again for later this year.

Pete from Chelmsford stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in June 2019


Edward & Marian replied 124 days ago
Hello Pete, So glad to see you again, and hope you bring a dog for your next visit. We appreciated and benefited from your knowledge of wild life , and have taken your advice about mowing areas in the long grass. Thinking about installing a camera to owl watch. We have noticed more fly catchers nesting . Have just planted a Ginko - rescued from a garden in London outside Valley View . Two more being planted this week. So lots of watering to look forward to? Kind regards Edward & Marian

Great family stay

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had all three cottages together for a family gathering. The cottages were fantastic and very well equipped. It is an excellent, convenient location for local attractions. Great service prior to arrival and during our stay. Thank you very much.

Guest from Milton Keynes stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in September 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Farinoz, It was a pleasure to meet your delightful family, and we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. Regards from Edward & Marian

Perfect for the Disabled Person with His/Her Pet/s

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is NOT the first time visiting and won't be the last.

Being disabled and in a wheelchair it's hard to find a holiday specifically for a disabled person/s with pets but, this place, I would thoroughly recommend. The whole area is dog welcoming. Not specifically the owners but definitely the dogs heh, heh. Seriously though, try it. It's quiet, friendly, clean and welcoming.

What more could you ask for???


Leo from Nuneaton stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in August 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Leo, Glad you had a good stay, as did Mandy and Billy, who seemed to feel at home as soon as they got out of the car. Hope you had a safe journey back and perhaps see you again soon. Please thank your wife for the spotless sated of the cottage on your departure . Regards from Edward & Marian

Excellent cottage with wonderful views

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our mother who is physically disabled stayed in Valley View while my sister and I stayed in the adjacent cottage, Brambles Barn. Valley View was perfect for her needs - the cottage was all on one level and the type of flooring made moving around with a Zimmer frame as easy as it could be. The doors are all over sized so could take a wheelchair if necessary. The bathroom, off the bedroom, is spacious and very well equipped with plenty of handles, a wet room shower with seat, and a height adjustable wash basin. The kitchen is similarly well equipped with a height adjustable work surface. It was excellent and while it can cater for someone who is physically disabled , it is also perfect for the able bodied. Outstanding views. Edward was charming and couldn't have been more helpful. A lovely, relaxing retreat which we shall return to.

Gillian from Altrincham stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in August 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Gillian, We were fortunate in being able to visit The Star Centre and others, designed with accessibility in mind. The ideas we gleaned from these , together with an imaginative architect, resulted in the design of our cottages. So pleased your mother could take advantage of the cottages. Many thanks for your kind review. Edward & Marian

A fabulous place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a delightfully quiet and peaceful location, and with perfect facilities for my disabled husband. The apartment is beautifully light and spacious, and the very large bathroom provided my husband with his independence.
We felt very much at home.
We were made most welcome, and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts, Ed and Marian.
We loved the home made bread and provisions for breakfast, and even the fresh flowers!
We would love to return to Thatch Close, but unfortunately it's not quite so straight forward from our home in Australia.


Mary-Anne from stayed at Valley View for 2 nights in August 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
It was wonderful to meet the author of one of the books I used. A real bonus resulting for your stay. Your positive attitude was so good to see. A pity you live the other side of the world. Many thanks for your review. Edward & Marian

Exceptional accessibility in a beautiful site

Review submitted on Tue, 15 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned to this cottage because of the M3 accessibility level of the accommodation and it is in a beautiful spot - splendid views and near to many lovely places. The kitchen/ bathroom/ bedroom are very spacious so the wheelchair has no difficulties. Level access throughout. A table the wheelchair user can get their knees under. All the grip rails and facilities in the bathroom you need while still being an attractive space. A moveable work surface with sink and hob so all can reach. Cottage is for 2 but adjacent to 4 person cottage (communicating door). Knowing how good the facilities were removed stress for the return visit. Have yet to find another cottage with such good access and so thoughtfully adapted. Hosts are kind and helpful - and Marion's cake is delicious!

Guest from Liverpool stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in May 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Anne, Glad we are getting it right, we have taken advice and improved some of the furniture. Always a balance between aesthetics and practicability. Thank you for your review. Regard Edward & Marian

Accessible and well thought out accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in Valley View Cottage for 3 nights and found it warm and spacious. It was easily accessible from the car which can be parked close to the door. The owners have tried hard to make it suitable for all disabilities with good wide doors for wheelchair access. There is a good wet room with wash basin with adjustable height which we found very useful. On the down side the wash/clean toilet was not working properly and the problem for us was that the bed and sofa/chair moved on the wooden floor which made transferring from wheelchair very difficult and dangerous. The owner was trying to buy a riser recliner chair secondhand but this did not materialise. This meant that my husband had to sit in his wheelchair all the time which becomes very uncomfortable. Our concerns were unique to us as my husband is very disabled so other people may find this irrelevant to them.

Margaret from Nottingham stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in April 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mrs Woodward, Thank you for your comments , we do our best to accommodate a wide of range of accessible needs as is practicable; however realise that we cannot get it right for everyone. We should have made it clearer that the W.C. requires both levers to be pressed , otherwise it results in a water saving 1/2 flush. Also the bed has breaks on it. Carpets make it unsafe for some with mobility issues , so we decided on wooden floors, [ which have the advantage of being more suitable for underfloor heating]. Quality riser/recliner chairs are very expensive , we were not able to source a used one in time for your visit, our apologies for this . Following your visit we have replaced the sofas with more suitable ones. Its honest comments like yours which point us in the right direction and make appropriate changes. Thank you Edward

Excellent- BOTH Disabled and Dog Friendly!

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely views/ area. Fully disabled friendly. Totally dog friendly. Warm and comfortable accommodation. Very friendly and helpful owners. Luxurious home-cooked welcome hamper.
Can't recommend it enough! Will definitely be rebooking!


Angela from stayed at Valley View for 3 nights in March 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Angela and Leo, Many thanks for your review, and pleased you had a good stay . We live in an unspoilt area of the country, and are pleased to share it with our guests , including 4 legged friends. Hope you had an uneventful journey back, and we are looking forward to your return visit. Regards Marian & Edward

Stay at Valley View Cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Mar 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely stay here at the cottage which was ideal for the two of us and our dog. Really nice setting with great views and good location for visiting surrounding areas. The cottage was well equipped, having everything we needed. The welcome basket was great with lots of goodies and we even had a blanket for our dog!
The owners were on holidays so we did not get to meet them but their friend looking after the place was very nice.
A lot of thought has gone in to making the cottage very accessible to wheelchair users including electric height adjustable kitchen sink, cooker hob, worktop, bathroom sink and even the dressing table. The bedroom was very spacious and huge bathroom. The only improvement my wife thought about for her, personally, would have been to replace the smaller sofa with a high rise easy chair in the living area as the sofas were a bit low making transferring onto them a bit difficult. There would then still be enough seating for two people.
If going away as a larger group all three cottages have inter connecting doors which is an advantage.
Luckily we were there before the country had bad snow fall which was a relief as the road to the cottage is very narrow and we would not have wanted to tackle it in bad weather!
We would definitely return here in the future if in the area.


Andrew from Burbage stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in February 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Dee, A shame we were away and missed you; our friend Mary did her best, but was unaware that chair risers were available. We had not planned on being away for so long; snow resulting in flight delays . Your advice regarding an an easy rise chair will be acted upon. We did make it back, with 5 foot high snow drifts in places , so pleased you managed to depart before being snowed in. Being aware this was a possibility, we are well provisioned . The WiFi is due to improve as Super-fast optical cabling is now a short distance from the cottage. Just awaiting Outreach to connect . I agree our roads are narrow, they were designed for an earlier form of transport. Thank you for your useful review , which we will certainly act on. Edward & Marian

3 day break

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accomodation in a scenic location with great faciliities and adaptations for people with different needs

Barry from London stayed at Valley View for 3 nights in February 2018


Edward & Marian Drzymalski replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Lee, We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your review. We hope you had a safe journey home. Regards from Edward & Marian

Family Reunion

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all the cottages for a family reunion - we were particularly happy to find somewhere that would meet the needs of our family which includes a disabled adult. Everyone had a very good break.....plenty of things to do nearby and plenty of good restaurants too.

Emily from London stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in January 2018


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Emily, Many thanks for your review, glad you had a good break. The fire engine awaits the return of your grandson, it need to be played with. Edward & Marian

Excellent disabled accommodation and dog friendly too.

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful peaceful location with lovely views and close to the Forest of Dean.. The owners couldn’t be more helpful. The profiling bed was a big bonus.
This was our third visit and we shall definitely be returning.


Pamela from Lockington stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in October 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Good morning Pam, Many thanks for your review. glad to know we are beginning to get it right. Your two dogs also enjoyed their stay, feeling very much at home around the cottages and the fields. Hope you had a good journey back. Do enjoy the bright weather. Regards Edward & Marian

Weekend retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely bolthole retreat for some R&R, owners were extremely welcoming and accommodating, made sure we (including our pooch!) were well looked after. Close to both Ross and Wye and Monmouth. Beautiful location.

Julia from Solihull stayed at Valley View for 2 nights in October 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Glad you and your lovely dog enjoyed your stay. We agree, the view from the patio area is just wonderful. Thanks for your review.

Lovely cottage with wonderful views

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Valley View is a lovely cottage for two: comfortable, spotlessly clean and well-equipped plus it has amazing views. It also makes a really good base for exploring the area and there are plenty of accessible things to do.
The cottage comprises a sitting room, kitchen-diner, bedroom and ensuite bathroom, all of which have plenty of space to get around easily in a wheelchair and the access is really easy, just a slight ramp to get you over the threshold with hardly a bump. The table is high enough that you can sit at it in a wheelchair.
There are various high-tech features such as the kitchen worktop with hob and sink will rise and lower at the touch of a button as will the bathroom wash basin and the dressing table. Despite this, the overall feel is of a cosy cottage and the decor is charming.
The spacious bathroom has a shower seat, lots of grabrails and even a wash-dry loo.
I was really impressed that the website included a list of everything that was included as so often you are not sure quite what to bring. In the event, one or two of these were actually missing but it was just a case of mentioning it to Ed, one of the owners and they were provided straightaway. Ed and Marion are obviously really keen that people enjoy their visit and will lend equipment such as a shower wheelchair or toilet seat raiser (which some places charge for) and they even have a talking microwave and other kitchen equipment for the visually impaired. In fact, when Ed asked if there was anything that would improve the place and I mentioned that the sofa was a bit low, he promptly fetched some feet to go underneath it which raised it up - perfect! The household equipment generally is very good quality - although I’m not sure any two of the glasses matched each other! - however, we have been in some cottages where the kitchen equipment is a bit worn. Here everything was in really good condition and there was all you could need for meal preparation.
The cottage complies with very high levels of accessibility on the National Accessibility Scheme and has been inspected by the Fire Brigade. It has various safety features such as an emergency pull cord in the bathroom and emergency lighting in case of power failure. There are further details and a full accessibility statement on the cottage website.
The emergency lights do unfortunately mean that there is some light at night which might disturb some people and the patio could do with some TLC but otherwise the cottage is fabulous and even includes a generous welcome basket including breakfast ingredients, a bottle of wine, home-made cake and marmalade. The cottage can be linked to the ones next door for larger groups. You could hear some noise from through the wall, but not too bad.
There are plenty of accessible things to do in the area, such Yat Rock with its fabulous views, Hampton Court Castle which has the most amazing walled garden which was fully accessible and Queenswood Country Park and Arboretum with very attractive woodland and the paths lead to a viewing point with amazing views over the countryside. Also, The Prospect park in Ross-on-Wye, accessible through the attractive churchyard of St Maris church. You can also park down near the river and there is a riverside path which is easily accessible and very attractive.
This is a gorgeous part of the country and Valley View is a great place to stay with plenty of accessible places to visit within easy reach.


Alison from York stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Tim & Alison, Many thanks for your comprehensive review, review. We admit the glasses can become mixed with those form other cottages, and we have a digger booked in to do work on the patio, in mid September. We live in an unspoilt area and are pleased to share it with others. We hope you had a safe journey home. Regards Edward & Marian

Spacious cottage for disabled access

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely cottage that worked very well for our non-ambulant daughter and assistant. Good turning space and the wet room worked well. Beautifully and sympathetically designed for those that would normally shy away from staying in disabled friendly accommodation too. Very welcoming and accommodating hosts. Would definitely recommend and will be even better when the plans for the outside area are in place.

Katrina from Bromley stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Katrina, Many thanks for your review, we were very fortunate in Mike, architect. Mike and I visited the Star Centre and I visited exhibitions and other places , involved with the less able. Our Tourist Board inspector , The RNIB, The RNID and others were all consulted and offered valuable advice. This produced a plan to cover the widest range of disabilities and yet make it a homely and welcoming as was possible. We enjoyed your visit and send you and your delightful family our best wishes. Edward & Marian

A short stay in a comfortable, well-adapted cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Aug 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This cottage has been thoughtfully adapted for disabled people. Wheelchair access is excellent. Cottage is very well-equipped with quality fittings and homely touches. Edward and Marian are friendly and helpful hosts. I stayed there for 2 nights with my 90-year old mother who is unable to walk and has not stayed away from home for a number of years. (We were guests at a family wedding in nearby Symonds Yat). We were very pleased with the cottage and would recommend it to anyone wanting to stay in the area.

Elizabeth from Burry Port stayed at Valley View for 2 nights in August 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Liz and John, We are pleased you enjoyed your stay, it is not easy to make a cottage suitable for every one; however your mother enjoyed her stay and we will continue to do our best to make the accommodation as inclusive as is practicable.. My sister-in-law, Pam was pleased to be able to converse with such a good French speaker. Thank you for your review. Edward & Marian

Another great stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had such a good break at Valley View in May that we decided to go again in July! (Nothing to do with the fact that I 'accidentally stole' the binoculars first time round.)
Despite the weather being a little cooler and damper, we had another lovely break! Even the weather couldn't spoil the view.
The welcome pack of Marion's home made bread etc - all of which was tailored prior to our visit to suit our tastes.The wine was a thoughtful touch - thank you Ed!
Valley View is very comfortable and has all the adaptations we needed, so my husband, who has mobility problems, could be even more independent than he is at home.
The area has plenty of attractions and this time we went to Cardiff to spend the dampest day - less than an hour away.
We have already recommended Valley View to several folk we know. Brilliant value for money - everything is to the highest standard (even the new kitchen/recycling bin).
Thanks again for another great stay!


Ian from Kettering stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in July 2017


Edward replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Ian and Monika, Thanks for your wonderful review, this is an unexplored area, described as ' the place time forgot'. Very little evidence of the modern world. So plenty to do inside and outside, castles, cathedrals, churches, rive and forest activities...... A pleasure to share it all with you, Regards Edward. PS thanks for the binoculars.

Accessable holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best place for accessible holiday and Ed could not do enough for you. Very enjoyable. Recommend it for anyone who has access issues.

Guest from Bury St. Edmunds stayed at Valley View for 6 nights in July 2017


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr. Jackson, Thank you for your review, we do our best to cater for the widest range of accessibility , and we are pleased that you and others enjoy the peace and quiet of our rural location. We hope you had a safe journey home? Regards from Edward & Marian.

Wheelchair accessible and dog friendly- a rare find!

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very welcoming and comfortable. Lovely and helpful hosts.
Very wheelchair accessible and dog friendly.
Close to the forest of Dean, so beautiful countryside and good for walking, dogs and good pub food.
This was our second stay and shall certainly be back again.


Pamela from Lockington stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in June 2017


Great place!!

Review submitted on Tue, 30 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time (and not only because of the great weather). The cottage is secluded but in easy reach of plenty to do - whether you are very fit or somewhat immobile. The friendly welcome we received, along with wine and other goodies, made us feel at home straight away.
Valley View has just that - great views over the valley, which we enjoyed from the patio every evening. Inside it was well equipped for anyone with or without mobility issues and very comfortable. They even provided binoculars - which we took home by mistake!! Sorry! They will be returned.
Great value for money, too! All in all a place we'd like to keep secret, so that we can be sure of booking again :-)


Ian from Kettering stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in May 2017


First class holiday cottages

Review submitted on Tue, 16 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Thatch Close Cottages - Valley View and Brambles Barn - for the excellent facilities for the disabled in Valley View, but what we found was they were superb cottages for anyone. They are very comfortable, beautifully designed and furnished and exceptionally well equipped. The welcome basket included beautiful home-made cake, bread and jam. Beds linen towels etc are all high quality. The view from the cottages is splendid. We visited Symonds Yat, Ross on Wye, The Kymin, Monmouth -all nearby - lots to do. The hosts are very helpful and friendly. We hope to return.

Anne from Liverpool stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in May 2017


Wonderful place for everyone whether needing accessibility features or not - thanks Edward & Marian

Review submitted on Mon, 17 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful dog friendly accommodation that also caters perfectly for people with disabilities. Love it

James from Dudley stayed at Valley View for 2 nights in April 2017


Absolutely amazing

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a well adapted property, and so well thought out. It was very refreshing to find somewhere that is so well adapted and with such great amenities. The customer service was second to none and we truly wouldn't hesitate to not only recommend but also return to this place again. I can't rate this place highly enough.

Jamie from Airdrie stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in January 2017


Wonderful adapted cottage suitable for both able bodied and disabled guests

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Myself and my wife who is disabled stayed in the cottage for a week, Marion and Edward, the owners, just could not do enough to make us feel welcome. There was a basket of essentials and delicious home made cakes and bread. The cottage itself was lovely and cosy with everything you could wish for. We had a lovely restful holiday and shall be returning. For animal lovers amongst us, dogs are welcome, we would have taken our little dog but unfortunately he is a bad traveller.

John from Accrington stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in October 2016


Relaxing and pleasant stay

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is very refreshing to see that you have taken your own money and go above and beyond to make your customers feel at ease. We felt more than welcome, and every need we had was met by the accommodation you provided. I am the sort of person who doesn't hold my tongue when something is wrong, and i didn't encounter any difficulty or problems during my stay. I felt totally relaxed and I will definitely arrange to stay at your cottage again in the future and recommend you to other wheelchair users.

I used to be a manager of a shop and feel like I can recognise exemplary customer service when I see it. Thanks to Edward and Marion we felt really very welcome and in safe hands


Guest from Fallowfield stayed at Valley View for 3 nights in August 2016


Valley View

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay. The cottage was charming, clean and comfortable. Facilities were excellent. The view was beautiful. Our hosts were very friendly. We look forward to staying again.

Jeanette from Bridgend stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in August 2016


Beautiful, peaceful holiday in High End adapted cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really accessible cottage in beautiful surroundings. Lovely views across to Wales, Helpful hosts, Only negative, steep drive. ok in power wheelchair but not self propelled with out help.

Jennifer from Forest Gate stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in July 2016


Mid week break

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Jul 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
On arrival the owners greeted us with a welcome basket, which was more than expected, including tasty homemade bread and cakes, and explained how all of the facilities within the disable adapted cottage worked. It is important for me with being a wheelchair user that the accommodation is suitable for me, which this was to a high specification.
The location is very peaceful, so ideal to get away from it all. The view from this cottage is a view of the valley, like its name.


Leslie from Altrincham stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in July 2016


Valley View

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A short break with wheelchair using husband. Accessible accommodation is difficult to find and not always as good as it says in the description. This was every bit as good as the description. Perfect for us but designed in such a way that the accessible equipment wasn't obtrusive, so it would also be just fine for visitors with no access needs.
Excellent welcome basket, and helpful hosts.
Fantastic views.


Sarah from Ashby De La Zouch stayed at Valley View for 3 nights in July 2016


Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Edward couldn't be more helpful in selecting the correct accommodation and making sure everything was satisfactory. Great disabled accommodation . Nothing bad to say will be visiting again .

Sarah from Billericay, stayed at Valley View for 5 nights in July 2016


holiday at Ross on wye

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Jun 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very nice place peaceful quiet but a bit out in the sticks. Not a great deal to do nearby for a person in a wheelchair, especially if they can't get out of the chair to walk. plenty of places to eat in the towns with restaurants takeaways or pubs.

Jane from Cambridge stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in June 2016


Valley View Llangrove

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was excellent with fantastic views over valley. All equipment was to high syandard. Perhaps a couple ot outside chairs might be added? It was handy for A40 but involved travel down narrow lanes to reach final dstination.

Derek from Grindleford, Hope Valley stayed at Valley View for 7 nights in May 2016


Valley with a view

Review submitted on Thu, 21 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed with our three cocker spaniels from 7th April to 11th April 2016. The cottage accommodated my husband (who has an above knee amputation and uses a wheelchair) very well with various adaptions available. It was very light and airy with loads of space to turn the wheelchair around, and for our dogs not to feel cramped.
The view from the cottage was stunning, rolling fields of grass as far as the eye can see. We were able to park right outside the front door, which has a small metal ramp to aid access over the threshold. A welcome basket with goodies was provided on arrival, and the next morning Edward (the owner) brought us some freshly baked bread and a bottle of red wine. Later in the day we also had some cake brought to us, which was lovely and also freshly baked.
This is a good base for exploring the surrounding area. We found Cannop Cycle centre, where you can hire pushbike/mountain bikes etc, which was only approx 20 mins away and perfect for long walks with the dogs. There's a cafe' as well serving breakfast, lunch and afternoon snacks.The scenery around this county is breathtaking, valleys and hills, streams and rivers, lovely old houses.
Another strong point of this cottage was the proximity of 'Woods of Whitchurch' and 'The Potting Shed' in Whitchurch (they're only a few hundred yards apart on the same road). 'Woods' is a wonderful bakery/corner shop with a fantastic assortment of every day items and cakes and ready made meals (cooked from scratch on the premises) and 'The Potting Shed' serves breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner. The food is great, very tasty, at reasonable prices. It's such an asset for Thatch Close cottages to have these facilities nearby (max. 5 mins by car) so the local businesses can be supported instead of having to rely on larger chains.
The cottages are situated in a very quiet and peaceful area. Although it rained for some of the time we were there, it was mostly in the evenings and overnight. I can't wait to return when the weather is better and take advantage of the outside seating area looking out over the valley. It's really safe for dogs to run around as well as it's far from the (not so busy) road. The owners have a dog themselves.
The cottage was immaculate when we arrived. Edward showed us how everything worked, and there are instruction leaflets available as well. Well done Edward and Marion!



Virpi from Totternhoe stayed at Valley View for 3 nights in April 2016


Quiet midweek Xmas break.

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely stunning!!

The owners Edward and Marian have made every effort to make this accommodation as accessible as possible.
My wife is confined to a wheel chair but we had no accessibility issues at all .
Great details include a rising cooking hob, sink, and dressing table.
The bathroom is very well presented with toilet/bidet, wet room and grab rails.
The llangrove area itself is not really suitable for lone wheelchair users , but once at the property we had no problems.
On arrival we received a basket of everyday essentials i.e. Milk tea coffee and home made bread, fantastic welcome.
From experience I know it is difficult to find accommodation of this calibre for people with disabilities like my wife.


Alan from Burton On Trent stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in December 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Alan, So glad you enjoyed your stay. We were fortunate in our choice of architect and tradesmen, they rose to the challenge of converting a 17C barn into something useful. Please with your new booking, it gives us faith in the product. Best wishes to you both; Regards Edward & Marian

Lovely cottages - well equipped - idylic location - a rare gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These cottages are in a truly lovely spot. Very peaceful location with sweeping views across the valley. The cottages are spotlessly clean, beautifully decorated and well equipped. My husband is disabled and the equipment provided is the best - no short cuts - how wonderful to find somewhere that has everything we need - and more! The owners, Marion and Edward were exceptionally helpful from first contact and throughout, not least as we had to make amendments to due to ill-health. Will definitely be booking another holiday for the spring!

Jane from Christchurch stayed at Valley View for 3 nights in October 2016


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Jane, we are looking forward to your necxt viait inthe Spring, lets hope it will be a little dryer? Regards Edward & Marian

Perfect accommodation for those with mobility issues

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Valley View is a single storey barn converted to the highest standard. It caters particularly for those with mobility issues. It was perfect for my 92 year old mother with a wonderfully large bathroom and endless gadgets designed to make life easier, such as touch on lamps and units with adjustable height surfaces for wheelchair users. Thoroughly recommend .

Pauline from Banbury stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in October 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Pauline, Not easy to gauge what folk will need; however we seem to be getting there Hope you are all well and best wishes to all Edward & Marian

pleasant and quiet pastoral location which suited us but may not be for those seeking more to do

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Nov 2015
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Whilst accepting that the cottage is primarily for those with disabilities there are some facilities that are not good for able bodied people Lighting for instance.

The heating system is not easily set and workable


Guest from Solihull stayed at Valley View for 4 nights in August 2015


Edward & Marian replied more than 1 year ago
Dear Mr Bridgwater, The cottages were converted with the fully able and less able in mind; however we do take note of your comments and will do what we can to improve the facilities. Do have a good New Year