FB Twitter

Laorin

Laorin

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 141 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.8
Condition
4.8
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Laorin is a mirror image of Mingary, facing to the north and east with views of the Ardnamurchan peninsula and the Sound of Mull. It has a 6’6” x 7’ bed which you literally sink into.

The room has a comfortable seating area and armchairs, perfect for reading and taking in the view. The bathroom is very spacious and has a large oval shaped bath, big enough for two!

A must when visiting Mull

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Glengorm. The castle decor was warm and inviting - absolutely beautiful and the attention to detail was notable. The grounds offered picturesque walks and the staff was very friendly and provided excellent service. A memorable highlight for sure!

Dawn from Ottawa stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2019


On top 10 list

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location is amazing , views are wonderful. So quite and peaceful . Staff friendly helpful and polite . Room comfy and beautifully decorated .

Rachel from Leigh On Sea stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2019


Perfect in every way

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved this location and already determined to return. Very friendly staff and comfort second to none!

Duncan from Nahant stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in June 2019


another perfect stay

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our forth stay at Glengorm Castle, it’s a perfect destination, very comfortable and welcoming, though, this photo of Laotian has been updated and is just lovely, amazing views, good walking, excellent cafe on the estate, it’s just a shame that the cafe doesn’t stay open later and provide evening meals which is my only negative.
We will be back next year, which says everything.


Veronica from Frodsham stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in May 2019


For all people who are looking for relaxing holidays - Glengorm Castle ist the perfect place...

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This year was our 3rd stay at Glengorm castle within 5 years.
We enjoy the special atmosphere of the castle and love the superb view with wonderful sunsets.
Tobermory has very good restaurantes and is not far away (only 10min. by car).
Looking forward to coming back!


Hans-peter from Bad Haering stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2019


Whisky, dolphins and comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 04 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just a lovely, dog friendly place - to call it a B and B would be accurate but .. it’s much more of a hotel,just without the meals. Breakfasts were great .. the location is so magnificent , next to some ancient stones and the sea (we saw a pod of dolphins from the shore) but remote enough to see few others .. lovely tea rooms on the grounds with very decent home made cakes etc. A room with a large selection of whiskies for guests to help themselves to! Lovely big room with huge bathroom and sea views. And very dog friendly! Not the cheapest but so nice, great fun and charming without being too posh. Recommended!

Nicholas from Glasgow stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2019


Beautiful and welcoming

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our stay. Glengorm is the perfect place to stay for a long weekend or special occasion.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in April 2019


Beautiful castle in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Apr 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our stay in this beautiful castle. Great hosts, very good breakfast and absolutely amazing views.

Alexandra from London stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2019


wonderful family stay in glengorn

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 2 nights in glengorn castle. It was wonderful in any point ! location is stunning, interiors are wonderful, people were very nice but also very discreet. We felt as if we were lord and lady for holidays :))
It is so wonderful (and rare) that such a place is family friendly !!
Our kids (8 an 10) were extremely happy to stay in a castle but also to play billiard, play in the beautiful common parts and to walk among sheep and lamb (without disturbing them of course !!) !!
Value for money is excellent !


Marianne from Taissy stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2019


Wonderful place, authentic and spectacular

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle is beautiful, in a location that gives you the impression of being at the end of the world.
Everything is what you would expect it to be in a remote Scottish castle, the room was beautiful, the people extremely kind and the breakfast was the most delicious way to start the day.


Guest from Paris stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in March 2019


Wood fires and beautiful views

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle is a family home; friendly and welcoming. The bedroom we had (Laorin) was large, warm, comfortable and beautiful with views of islands and Ardnamurchan. Breakfasts were excellent, in a lovely dining room. The castle has open fires, interesting pictures, nice old furniture and whisky in the library. There are guided walks on the estate land with ranger Kerry who is very knowledgeable about the wildlife (eagles, otters, whales …) and history (hillforts and standing stones ...) We enjoyed our stay enormously and would certainly come back!

Peter from Oxford stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in February 2019


Stunningly beautiful castle and location

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply wonderful. The castle and rooms are in excellent condition. There is central heating and modern bathroom facilities. Still, there also are open fireplaces in the various sitting room areas. Perfect. For whisky lovers: there is a selection of complimentary whisky available in the library room. Breakfast is very good.
Excellent also the walks organised by the castle's ranger, Kerry. We had two walks with her and both were amazing. We even spotted two pairs of eagles.
Isle of Mull is simply beautiful, and Glengorm Castle a wonderful base to explore the island.


Guest from Basel stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2018


What a special place in a beautiful location. We will be back!

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed a 3 night stay, and were fortunate with good weather. The room was spacious and so comfortable. Audrey greeted us warmly and was so helpful, as were all the staff. It was a treat to use the lounge and library and to sample some of the whiskies by an open fire, chatting to other guests. There was a good choice for breakfast and all very tasty. We walked extensively in the grounds, watching a range of wildlife - otters, eagles, hen harriers, seals. Tobermory is just a short drive away for an evening meal. All in all, a very special few days.

Joanne from Sedbergh stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in October 2018


A must stay

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely rooms and the location is spectacular. I would highly recommend staying, we will definitely be back

Stacey from Lilyf stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in October 2018


Glengorm

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My best holiday experience ever. Breathtaking location, great services, amazing room and fabulous breakfast. Thank you so much!

Claire from Melbourne stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in October 2018


Second Stay!!!!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our second stay as much as our first, and it had been over 15 yrs! This is a lovely place to stay - period. The weather was the only problem, but we enjoyed watching it as we were reading in the Whiskey Library - a wonderful room as well. Stay here. You won’t regret it.

Linda from Austin stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in October 2018


Mull magic

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We previously stayed at Glengorm castle on Mull ten years ago when it worked its magic on us then …. unspoilt shoreline, highland cattle grazing beside the roads, eagles soaring overhead and the chance to spot seals in the coves. The welcome we were given ("Just treat the library like you're at home and if there's anything you need let us know") was the best anyone could hope for and it's just the same today! Breakfasts were delicious then and just as good now; the scenery has changed with more forest having been cleared but that's how things are. There's a café/teashop on site where the lunches are excellent and freshly cooked with local produce wherever possible …… who could ask for more?
Glengorm is a very special place to stay and you can meet some wonderful guests from all around the world which makes for great and interesting conversations over a whisky or two. Will we go back again? Definitely and I hope we'll be there before another ten years has gone by!


Liz from Tarporley stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in September 2018


A comfortable repose in a homey castle a Scottish island.

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Roaming around to hills with the sheep, making our way to the rugged, magnificent coast, Scotch and a cozy rest
each night, an adventure we will cherish forever.


Stephen from Spokane stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in August 2018


Enveloped in Warmth

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is a wonder. Not going to even mention much about the astounding scenery and nature walks. How about the cozy and warm library with whiskeys to sample or the Laorin suite facing the coast and a bathtub you dream of. And then a lovely full breakfast with staff that smiles. The owners, Marjorie and Tom are joys and make you feel welcome. And then there’s Pam - the woman who takes your $ and makes you happy to pay. I think they need to raise their rates but I’m awfully glad I got a reservation and wish to go back someday!

Fern from Magalia stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in September 2018


Stay in a real castle!

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a wonderful experience.
Sleeping in a real castle, with nice bedrooms, nice place to leave!!


A from Catania stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in August 2018


Excellent stay

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were well looked after, rooms fabulous. We were well looked after, rooms fabulous. We were well looked after, rooms fabulous.

Edward from Malmesbury stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2018


Would stay again

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for minimalist modern-this is not it. Instead, this place fits like an old suit - comfortable with character and charm.
The views are amazing.


Ron from Rectortown stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2018


The best place we have ever stayed

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Glengorm castle for our 25th Wedding anniversary 5 years ago, so when we were looking for somewhere to stay for our 30th we couldn't think of anywhere we would rather stay.

Everything about Glengorm is perfect the staff couldn't be better they treat you more like friends than paying guests.
And watching the sun go down from our room or the library with a glass of complimentary whisky just couldn't be better.

We cannot think of anywhere in the world we would rather stay especially as we had fantastic weather as well.

Can't wait to go back.

David and Joanne Findlay from Kent


David from Headcorn stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in July 2018


Third time staying in this room, that says it all

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The room is beautiful and huge as is the bathroom and the view out of all the windows would take your breath away. Staff is great.

Stephen from Landing stayed at Laorin for 7 nights in June 2018


Glengorm

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location...stunning, castle...stunning, views...stunning. Weather...well not as bad as forecast however this being Scotland you have to take it as found.

Iain from stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2018


Lovely stay in Glengorm

Review submitted on Thu, 31 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a delightful couple of days here on our honeymoon. The place is magnificent, and having the library to relax in in the evening was particularly nice.

Breakfast is superb - especially if you arrive in time to get the table in the window with the magnificent views.

The only niggle was that we'd hoped to track down the ranger for some advice on a day's walking, but nobody seemed to quite know where she was. It wasn't a problem at all as we got directions from someone else working the castle, but if you're keen to get her help it might be worth letting Glengorm know in advance.


Mark from Cambridge stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2018


Fabulous accommodation!

Review submitted on Sun, 27 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Welcoming, relaxing and beautiful. We choose Glengorm Castle to celebrate our wedding anniversary and were not disappointed. Simply wonderful.

Guest from Whiting Bay stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in May 2018


A wonderful and special experience in every way

Review submitted on Thu, 24 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay here was a unique experience and exceeded our expectations in every way. It was just so special.

Dennis from Chew Stoke, Bristol stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in May 2018


Woohoo I slept in a castle!

Review submitted on Fri, 04 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I had researched castle accommodation in Scotland and Glengorm made the shortlist. It ended up being the best location to fit into our itinerary and I was not disappeared as the castle appeared in the distance as we approached (on a terribly potholed road). We were shown the downstairs rooms that we had access to first - the breakfast room, the main hall room, the library (where we could help ourselves to a variety of single malt whiskies) and the sitting room. We were then taken upstairs via a polished wooden staircase to our room, Laorin. It was a massive room with a huge bed as well as a sofa, armchair and a variety of old wooden furniture. There was a large window with views to the north over pastures out to sea as well as an eastern facing window. The wardrobe was actually the inside of one of the castle turrets. The bathroom was as large as a normal bedroom with a large bath as well as a rain shower. Everything was old and little threadbare but this added the type of character one would expect to find in a castle. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here.

Joanne from Holland Park stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2018


Un hôtel magnifique sur une île de rêve

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle est un hôtel magnifique et le personnel très avenant et sympathique.
Le confort des chambres de première classe et l'endroit est magnifique.
Nous avons aprécié la gentillesse et l'accueil et nous y reviendrona très certainement.


Philippe from Courroux stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2018


Wonderful Castle in a beautiful and quiet Location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay in glengorm Castle for 3 Nights. It‘s a bed and breakfast with lovely furniture and a beautiful landscape sorrounding it. You feel like a princess while staying in glengorm. It‘s a quiet place and perfect for couples. The breakfast is good too!

Amelie from Cologne stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in February 2018


Cocooning de deux nuits début décembre

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nous sommes enchantés par notre séjour.que nous avons d'ailleurs prolongé d ' une nuit.
La localisation du château est magnifique,et nous avons pu profiter de ballades dans la lande jusqu' au cercle de pierres levées au milieu des vaches et des moutons.
La route pour y arriver est étroite,nous étions heureux d 'avoir fait le choix d une petite voiture!
Le coffee shop qui permet une petite restauration avec de bons produits est fermé hors saison,cela ne nous a pas dérangé,nos avons diné au port et aussi dans notre chambre.
Le fait d être en hiver ajoute encore à cette impression d être hors du temps.
Le confort ,la beauté des pièces, des objets,en font un lieu privilégié que nous recommandons chaudement.
Nous avons apprécié la chaleur ,la disponibilité,la simplicité,et la discrétion de l accueil qui nous ont permis de nous sentir libres et comme chez nous dans "notre château."
Délicieux petits déjeuners face à la mer avec une attention permanente
Je ne veux pas tout raconter pour laisser de jolies surprises...
Un grand merci à nos hôtes pour ce qui est notre plus beau souvenir de ce road trip de 5jours en Écosse.


Miche from Angoulême stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in December 2017


Peace, tranquility and relaxation with a bit of whisky thrown in

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a quiet and restful place to relax then this is the place for you. Do not expect full hotel services as this is a castle and someone’s home after all. The only thing you generally have to decide during your stay is what time to come down for breakfast. This in itself is a hard decision. Do you drink endless coffee and savour the food whilst watching eagles from your chair or do you get out as soon as it gets light to explore the island and it’s fantastic views? These questions are not easily answered. On an evening the dilemmas do not stop. Do you try the Glenmorrangie or the Tobermory or the Abergele. Or all 3. I had a lot of time on my hands so counted the bottles. 25 if you need to know. This is the most relaxing place on Earth.

Nicholas from Beverley stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2017


Excellent mini-break at Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
3 day mini-break back on Mull, stayed at Glengorm for the first time - hidden gem!
Marvellous building, location and views, with lovely breakfasts and the complimentary wee dram most appreciated!
Just a shame no dinner offered, nearest options being back in Tobermory.


Gary from Bury stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2017


Superbe expérience

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent séjour au château de Glengorm. Le cadre est superbe, le personnel est d'une grande gentillesse, et la chambre de très bonne qualité.

Guest from Malakoff stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2017


Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is what memories are made of! Stunning location, wonderful accommodation, very friendly and helpful staff. A very special time in our lives and what an incredible place to celebrate this.

Guest from Rochford stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in October 2017


Beautiful Views but Overpriced for Quality

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Castle was nestled away in a beautiful location with stunning views and good walking trails. Breakfasts were wonderful!! It is a bit remote down a single track road so having something for supper would be extremely valuable. Room was decent, shower drain was clogged (even though they attempted to fix it a couple of times), TV was difficult to use, and WiFi was almost non-existent in rooms. Overall, a good stay in an exceptional location but a bit overpriced for the amenities and quality.

Guest from Langley stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in September 2017


The highlight of our Highland experience

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent over two weeks on a counterclockwise driving and bicycling tour of the Highlands. We stayed mostly in traditional country inns, some quite elegant. Glengorm stood out, however, for its combination of homey comfort, spectacular views, extensive grounds to explore, generously proportioned rooms and welcoming, gracious, unfussy staff. We loved the art, the dogs, the whisky, the piano concerts (provided by another guest), the walks, the animals and the everchanging weather. We truly felt at home here; it was the capstone to a wonderful trip.

Robin from Kailua Kona stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in August 2017


Magical, Elegant & Comfortable Stay

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle was one of my favorite places to stay in Scotland. Our rooms were huge, beds were comfy, 7,000 acres of sheep and Highland Cows (Hairy Coos) were ours to explore. The property is on the sea so the views are fantastic. The complimentary selection of single malt scotches was an extra bonus.

Martha from Conroe stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2017


Magical stay!

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Romantic place, outstanding location, lots of hikes and rest by the meadows and ocean. Still dreaming of it!

Guest from Lyon stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2017


Perfection

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you must be in Mull on holidays in bad weather this is the place to be. Lovely comfy sofas, three different reception rooms, all with glowing fires, lots of books to read. And when the sun shone through, the views were superb. Our bedroom was so comfortable. Spacious, bright, warm. Again fabulous views.
Everyone who worked there was great, particularly Pam. Only a small complaint. Tea at breakfast disappointing -- I am a crusader for real tea with tea leaves, the only way to get real flavour.
It was our second trip and we wouldn't hesitate to comeback again.


S from Grange over Sands stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in July 2017


Romantic Castle Stay payback for husbands two sports packages Isle of Man and Goodwood

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm was everything I hoped it would be and more! Simon, Jen and Olivia were wonderful hosts. Breakfast was perfectly cooked and we met some lovely people staying also. Tobermory was a delight to visit and good food at a local restaurant. We drove around the Isle of Mull even though it rained it was a great experience: wild Scotland! I walked to see the standing stones on Glengorm's property the next morning through the sheep and cow paddocks overlooking the sea! It was absolutely stunning! Actually saw a deer on a rise for a second till he saw me, a magic moment! Our room overlooked the water and was gorgeous. Recommend two nights as one wasn't enough of this beautiful place!

Robyn from Geelong stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2017


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was excellent. We would stay there again. View and surroundings are fantastic.
It is avery nice castle.


Guest from Rangsdorf stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2017


Fabulous

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm is such a special place. We booked it for a special family celebration however it far exceeded our expectations. :Luxury combined with comfort and relaxation. Simply amazing location with attentive staff members at hand should they be needed. We couldn't have asked for more.

Lynn from Stockport stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in June 2017


A fantastic short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We came for 1 night to spend our wedding anniversary. Due to the short duration of our stay, renting a vehicle seemed unnecessary (not to mention cumbersome). This meant we had to rely on multiple taxi trips (to the castle itself to check in, to dinner in Tobermory, back to the castle after dinner, then to the bus stop in Tobermory the following morning). I'm not sure if the owners have ever considered offering a shuttle service into the harbor area of Tobermory a few times a day, but that certainly would have helped us.
Aside from the taxi expense, the only other negative was the lack of blackout curtains in the room. With the sun rising at 4:45 AM, the room is flooded with light very early, and stays light until well past 10 PM.
All in all, we had a wonderful stay. The location is magnificent, the island is a true gem, and the staff were all very courteous and respectful.


Christie from Fredericksburg stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in May 2017


Special place to relax/escape for a couple of days

Review submitted on Mon, 22 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very relaxed and informal atmosphere were you can immediately relax and feel at home, with fantastic views of the headlands seascapes etc. once we arrived we were happy to stay put for our full stay. We will be back...sometime. John & Heather Simpson

John from Carrickmacross stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in May 2017


A very special experience in the best possible conditions. A rendez vous of exception ! I recommand!

Review submitted on Thu, 18 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent in every aspects. The whisky library is a great source of knowledge. People very nice and friendly. It is like being lost somewhere in paradise.

Corinne from Vingnoux stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in May 2017


Excellent location for relaxing - very quiet and a superb view....

Review submitted on Sun, 14 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was our second trip to Glengorm Castle and we again stayed in Laorin.
We love the Isle of Mull and the outstanding view from the castle - especially from this room!
The room is really nice - the only complaint we had, was the light in the bathroom (some bulbs didn´t work).
Fortunately we had perfect weather (it was sunny all the time) and the days closed with a wonderful sunset every day.
Great location - would recommend it to everyone who looks for privacy and those who want to relieve from stress.


Hans-peter from Bad Haering stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in April 2017


A place of exception !

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth visit to Mull and always the same pleasure to stay at Glengorm Castle. The exceptional location, the welcome and the quality of the accommodation make this a must in this beautiful region.

Christian from Saint-cyr-sur-loire stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2017


Again

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It's our fourth time at Glengorm and each time we feel at home and each time there is something new to enjoy. Staff is perfect , the castle is always exceeding our expectations. We will be back again and again..

Federico from Bologna stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2017


Ocean facing room

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
See my other review for the Glengorm review.
This is for this room which has wide ocean views.
We were too exhausted from our walks with Kerry their nature guide to sit and enjoy the view, but we hope to return to enjoy it.

The soap provided that is from the Tobermory Soap Company are so good, we bought a bunch in Tobermory.
(The reason hotels should do this!)

The bath was wonderfully big. We wish our home had one and the shower!


Matthew from Thornborough stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2017


A Delight

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm is in a unique location with nothing but the Atlantic Ocean between the hotel and Canada, the Hebridean Islands are special in the way their landscape is formed and unlike anywhere else on the planet, their beauty lies in their starkness, windswept and wild and Glengorm has it all in spades.

The Castle itself is beautiful inside , welcoming and cosy as are the staff.

Breakfast was a real Scottish treat of porridge, kippers, local sausage & bacon with homemade jams.All in all a delight and we are so glad we had the opportunity to stay.Thank you.


Grace from Makati stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2017


Most wonderful place

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing castle nothing was too much trouble greeted by the owner breakfast served by his wife felt like home 100/10

Adrian from Bolton stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in March 2017


Character property

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Glengorm Castle it was a very special place a unique experience.
The breakfast, staff,the views from the window were memorable.
If we visit Mull again the castle will be top of my list to come back to.
Lots of lovely walks on the estate including the bathing pools and the standing stones. There is also the chance to see wildlife on the estate. We also took the opportunity to taste the malts thank you for a lovely stay


Julie from Christchurch stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in February 2017


Fantastic

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing. The room, the castle, the location, the staff, the food, the whiskey! I cannot fault one single thing about the stay, only rave about all of the positives. We would come back again and again, and probably will!!

Shirley from stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in February 2017


Our 'happy place'

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having visited the Glengorm Estate on many occasions to explore the spectacular scenery, this was the first time we had actually stayed in the castle itself. We were in no way disappointed.
We were made to feel very welcome and particularly enjoyed the informality - being able to enjoy the open fire and sip our wine in very relaxed (and stunning) surroundings as the wind and rain added to the drama!
Our trip was sadly too short to be able to enjoy using the castle as a base on this occasion, but we will certainly be back at some stage in the not too distant future.


Gordon from Newtown stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in November 2016


Our recent stay

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Regular presence of the owner was missed. He was calm and informative. How about having evening meals everyone we spoke to agreed as some did not like driving at night on the narrow roads.

Guest from Newcastle Upon Tyne stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2016


A wonderfull castle

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this is a castle which belongs at our dreams!
When you arrive it's a beautiful castle alone with a very wild landscape.
You wish stay a long time


Guest from Saint Maur Des Fossés stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in October 2016


a dream coming true!

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm castle is the most amazing place. It is cosy, in a gorgeous location, homely, beautiful inside and outside, welcoming, warm and so completely idyllic. I couldn't have wished for a better place to go to with my family. It is a very special place, looked after by very special people! the best place I ever stayed in!

Enora from Stoke Newington stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in October 2016


Stylish, generous and relaxed

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great location, very quiet place, big and stylish rooms, good breakfast, friendly staff, perfect place to relax

Astrid from Cham stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in October 2016


Wonderful stay in superb location

Review submitted on Tue, 18 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a wonderful but all too short a stay at Glengorm Castle. The Laorin room was very comfortable and had a huge luxury ensuite bathroom. The views from the bedroom were enchanting...fantastic sunsets over the sea and the sight of Highland cattle grazing on the hillsides. A magical place to stay.

C H E from High Easter stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in October 2016


Amazing property with emerald fields & dramatic cliffswith cows and sheep rolling down into the sea.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved staying here and wish we could have been there longer. We enjoyed a long walk on the property to the sea. The property is gorgeous with amazing views. The Inn is homey and friendly. The rooms are spacious and comfortable.

Nancy from Nederland Co stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in September 2016


Castle retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 30 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful retreat to reside in history while traversing natural beauty of the Hebrides in tranquility.

Edward from Nairn Centre stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in September 2016


beautiful location and a very private atmosphere

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle is located lonely and surrounded by green meadows with highland cows and sheeps. Beautiful sea views from the breakfast room and also from room Laorin. Rich breakfast buffet with fresh juices and fruits.
The guests can taste whiskey in the library.


Regina from Koeln stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in August 2016


The perfect place to relax.

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The perfect place to stay, the castle is beautiful, the view is breathtaking. It might be far from all civilisation, but it is worth driving there. Everything is made so you feel at home. The rooms are spacious, and comfy. We enjoyed tasting some whiskies in the evening and being able to light the fire in the chimney. Exactly what you will do at home. The service is very good and discreet.
The kids enjoyed seeing the rabbits running around in the garden.
We were 6 people staying there, 3 different generations (adolescents, parents and grand parents). We all felt in love with the place. We will definitely come back!


Frederic from St Germain Sur Rhone stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in August 2016


Stunning Property and Location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My GF and I were touring Scotland for 10 days and stayed at Glengorm for 3 nights. We chose the Glengorm because we wanted to explore the Isle of Mull, and Glengorm had a room that fit our schedule. We had some high expectations after looking at the website.

Getting to Glengorm from the Craignure ferry was about an hour and fifteen minutes with the last 40 minutes or so on single-lane roads - not to be taken lightly and a bit of an adjustment for me. During our initial drive up to the castle, we were greeted by the local cattle and couldn't get around them. Thankfully, a driver of a truck behind us shooed the cattle away and cleared up the traffic jam. It was an interesting journey and added to the experience at Glengorm.

When we arrived at the property, we were blown away by the panoramic views of the ocean, gently rolling hills dotted with cattle and sheep, and the mountains from neighboring islands. It just got better from there. We loved the character of the castle -- more like a country estate actually. It is an old building with some quirks, but we found it to be very charming. The reading room with the whiskeys had a great view of the ocean and the sunsets. Full breakfasts in the morning had similar views and were scrumptious with ingredients that were locally sourced. We even bought several jars of the marmalade with Tobermory whisky.

The piece de resistence, however, was the Laorin room. It was spectacular. It was huge. It had the same sweeping vistas as the common rooms downstairs but at a higher floor and with privacy. We enjoyed relaxing in the evening with the windows open and watching the sun go down.

The bathroom was equally stunning with a very large soaking tub and a separate shower area. We took advantage of the tub to unwind.

We did find a few minor quibbles. The bathroom needed some shelves in the shower for the shampoo, soap, etc., and the bed was too lumpy and soft for us. Despite those minor details, we would be very happy to stay at Glengorm again if given the opportunity.


Dominic from Caldwell stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in August 2016


A perfect stay in splendid location in front of sea, treatment as family guests

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The venue is splendid, a nice castle with warm atmosphere, idyllic environment, sea and sunshine in front of your window.
Wide room, with elegant furniture, gentle and professional staff. You feel like a guest of the castle owner


Vera from Varese stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2016


Amazing accommodations and friendly staff who make you feel at home

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time at the Glengorm Castle. They went out of their way to make us feel at home and were very accommodating. We decided to stay in for the evening and asked well in advance of our arrival for a "picnic basket" of meats and cheeses for us to enjoy on property so we could enjoy our stay. They didn't disappoint and put together a lovely assortment of nibbles for us. I would definitely consider returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to a friend.

Regina from Inver Grove Heights stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2016


"The place we love to come back to again and again"

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed here five times, and we will certainly be back many more times. This is a great place to stay. The Laorin room gives you great view over the mores against the Atlantic Ocean.

Roy Hume from OSLO stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2016


A little disappointing

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very warm welcome on a beautiful property in a very scenic quiet place where there is only the sounds of sheep and birds. The room is great BUT needs maintenance to ask for this price. Little things like holes and torn sides of bedsheets, a tub and tooth brush glass not properly cleaned, toilet paper holder that flip over and door and doors that don't close and bang shut....and major things like the mattress, oh the mattress, (like posted many times before) that lets you sink in to the other side of the planet that we propped up with towels and a spare bed mattress underneath...all things not to be expected when this is supposed to be the most expensive highlight of your stay. And your wedding anniversary. We took a free whisky at the library and tried to wash our sorrows away. But the disappointment remained. The financial officer did have a very patient ear for our complaint which did wash the pain away and she took notes so I can only hope that things will get the touch up this beautiful room deserves to make this a not less than perfect stay for wanna-be kings and queens.

Anne from Al Ain stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2016


Superb place

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One of the best stays we ever had anywhere in the world.
Magnificent place we re surely coming back!
The room was tastefully done. Views were stunning. Only the bathroom door needs a bit of oiling.
Room was warm, very important that there was no feeling of damp, whiskey library was very beautiful, breakfast excellent, estate was great to walk around with beautiful path to the sea.


Athanasios from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in August 2016


Amazing place, go there

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in Laorin room for two nights and Admore for one. Amazing place and only negative was the bed in Laorin which was saggy and collapsed. We should have made a romantic nest on the floor with the bed linen to grab a better sleep. Other than the bed, loved it. If you can, stay for more than one night to fully enjoy the place.

Sue from Chermside stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in July 2016


Mull vom Feinsten

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wir haben eine Nacht auf Mull verbracht. Die Unterkunft ist vom Feinsten, das Frühstück super und im Kaminzimmer kann man aus einer recht großen Whiskyauswahl kostenlos probieren. Wir können es nur weiterempfehlen.

For those of you who don't understand German: it's great, we highly recommend it!


Ralf from Wandlitz stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2016


Best place I ever stayed in, I need to come back and already recommended it to a lot of my friends

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Felt directly welcome entering the cozy hall with an open fire burning.
The service gave us a very nice introduction in the facilities and the
best was the library with great views of the sunset over the ocean.
Definitely a place to calm down and relax.
Since we booked the B&B we also were able to enjoy the great breakfast:
Everything was really tasty, also the orange juice was freshly pressed.
The environment was exactly what you would expect enjoying a meal in a castle.
Everything has this discreet elegance w/o making you uncomfortable wearing
normal clothes. Just a perfect place to be!


Anja from Moenchengladbach stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2016


Paradise on Mull

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle is truly a bit of paradise. Set on a beautiful estate overlooking the sea, we were met by warm and friendly staff and made to feel like Glengorm was our home. While the castle and estate are quite striking in their beauty, the staff of Glengorm truly allow you to relax and enjoy the hotel in a very homey and comfortable manner. We enjoyed three lovely days of hiking along breathtaking trails through fields of highland cattle and sheep and climbing along the rock faces of the volcanic shoreline, while watching dolphins and seals play in the sheltered coves and bays. I've traveled extensively throughout my life and I rank Glengorm at the very top of my favorite places to stay. I very much look forward to many return journeys.

William from Orlando stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in June 2016


Wonderful!

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The old saying goes, "You get what you pay for." Sometimes true, sometimes not. In this case, TRUE! If you are planning a visit to Mull and can afford the additional expense for a few nights at Glengorm Castle, by all means do so! We stayed in the manor house B&B. The accommodations were clean, spacious, comfortable, luxurious. The breakfast was excellent, the best we had during a month long tour of Scotland, featuring homemade marmalade and sausage from Glengorm beef and locally sourced eggs, fish, etc. (try the smoked haddock with poached eggs!). The staff were friendly and helpful. The atmosphere was welcoming and casual (our 6 year old felt at home and able to enjoy himself there--they have a soccer goal set out on the green behind the house where we enjoyed a family football match). And the complimentary whisky by the fireplace in the library was nice, too. BUT, the biggest reason the extra expense is worth it---is the location. On the north coast of Mull, Glengorm is situated amidst the most spectacular scenery we enjoyed in Scotland. The grounds of Glengorm has it all: mountain, fores, pasture (with plenty of sheep and "coos" to go with them) sloping down the coastline, the gardens and cafe by the manor house, plus an ancient circle with standing stones. If you like to hike, Glengorm has much to offer. We took two hikes by different routes over moderately challenging paths through the pastures and over the hills down to the coast--about a 45 min walk each way. Very glad we stayed at Glengorm!!

Darrin from Lima stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in July 2016


Scottish Treat

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our treat on our recent Scottish tour, we wouldn't normally pay this amount unless we were staying in a five star luxury hotel.
Firstly the drive from Tobermoray, a beautiful painted town over looking the quaint harbour, was very scenic. The approach to Glengorm was impressive and pretty, with flowering shrubs lining the driveway. Glengorm Castle stands proud in its gorgeous grounds, situated overlooking the headland of Mull with stunning views over the sea.
We were greeted in the main sitting room and then shown around the dining room and library (with an amazing array of aged single malt Whiskeys from various well known distilleries and then to be told that these were complimentary,was a surprise to say the least!).
Our room, Laorin, was huge. The view spectacular from vast windows on two walls with a huge soft bed, which provided the best nights sleep we've had in ages. The ensuite was impressively huge also with both rainfall shower and bath, with another window filled by fabulous views.
We spent the afternoon walking in the vast grounds, saw Glengorms standing stones and continued down to the rugged shore, where we sat to enjoy the perfect tranquility and enjoyed the amazing weather which I am sure we were lucky to have throughout our tour.
In the morning we were greeted by Olivia and Scott in the dining room. A delightful and adorable young couple who cared for us during our stay, they gave us an interesting insight into Glengorms history as well as serving a delicious breakfast.
If you are looking for 5star pampering, room service, restaurants etc, this is not the place for you. If you want understated elegance, space, relaxation, views and don't mind travelling a couple of miles for dinner, then I would recommend Glengorm in a heartbeat. We loved it.
Overall a very peaceful and relaxing stay with stunning views, total peace and relaxation and complimentary malt whiskey!!


Paul from Spalding stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2016


A beautiful place.

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This must be one of if not the best B&Bs on Mull, we could not fault it.
The room is really spacious, very clean and the bed very comfortable.
The breakfast menu was varied , plentiful and tasty.
The views to die for.
Finally the staff were very attentive and generally great. Thank you to them.


Robert from Seaford stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in June 2016


Best modern castle stay so far

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We chose Glengorm Castle because of the description of it being a true manor house with modern amenities. Our experience was true to our expectations. The breakfasts were excellent and well staffed. The room was wonderfully appointed. The bath was fantastic! We were always well received and accommodated even on the tour of the market garden.
The walks we took around the property were always enjoyable. Even the walks off path across the pasteurs proved so nice since the cattle and sheep were easy to be around. Seeing the standing stones up close was amazing as was the bathing pools and original fort ruins. It did take some effort to interpret the map of the grounds but we managed fairly well.
The only thing that could have been improved was the access to their wifi system. It was not available in the room and was only available in the downstairs sitting area which limited our ability to do answer emails necessary for work at home.
Glengorm is such a wonderful venue for a true Scottish manor house stay. We would return for a repeat vacation on our next trip to the Scottish highlands.


Mary from Blountville stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in June 2016


A unique location

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jun 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location is outstanding. Our only criticism is that the absence of any facilities for dining in the evening persuades us we would probably not visit again

Harvey from Tunbridge Wells stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2016


Great short break in Castle

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Made to feel at home in fantastic castle with spectacular views all around. Good welcome, nice room and very good breakfast. Study area with Whisky "tasting" an excellent idea. Very good food also at Stables café.

Kevin from Heathfield stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in May 2016


Laid back luxury

Review submitted on Tue, 17 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a beautiful place to stay. The castle and property are both incredibly beautiful. We were made to feel like it was our home. Very relaxed. The furnishings are all very nice, but not too precious to make us feel like we had to be overly formal. We built fires in the library at night and had delicious breakfasts in the morning. A short 15 minute cab ride to Tobermory for dinner. Everything, including the caretaker and his wife was just lovely.

Megan from Talent stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in May 2016


Top!

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, beautiful castle, got a wonderful room, super friendly sympathetic host, excellent breakfast in the dining hall with spectacular view: top!

Filippa from Feldmeilen stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in May 2016


A class by itself

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I really can't say enthusiastically enough how much I loved my stay. Maybe this can sum it up...

On the third day Mull had a freak blizzard the likes of which lifetime islanders had never seen. Conditions were white out, the road impassable as illustrated by cars abandoned and off the road. But Glengorm is the kind of place where having nowhere to go is just fine. I spent the day in front of warm fireplaces, in my spacious, luxurious room and enjoying the company of the other guests and the extensive complimentary whiskey collection in the beautiful library that overlooks the vast grounds and North Atlantic coast.

The beautiful days were fantastic as well, but the ultimate test of an accommodation is how you feel about it after being trapped there for a day! A great place to just lay your hat ... or be stranded! Already planning next years' stay.


Stephen from Landing stayed at Laorin for 6 nights in April 2016


Just perfect!!

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I was a bit worried that staying at the castle would be a bit formal and pretentious. It was in fact, completely relaxed and the staff almost made it feel like your own home. It was by far the best guest house experience I have ever had and will undoubtedly be coming back.

Oliver from Aberdeen stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2016


an unforgettable place to stay, a really magic place

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
with a good weather , and contrasted colors, it's a fairy tale to wake up in those large room with luxury comfort, panoramic sightseeing on the cape and the island (Coll & Tiree), sheeps and rabbits everywhere on the grass. I recommand this magic place for a good scottish breakfast too. We'll go back here!

Didier from Marseille stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2016


Unexpected delight

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very friendly and comfortable stay. Location absolutely stunning. Coffee shop and Farm shop enables scenic walking without having to get back in car to go down to lovely Town.

Lyn from Ivybridge stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in March 2016


Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Mar 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 2 nights in Laorin. Huge comfy bed, very spacious, decent coffee machine, lovely bathroom & stunning views. Really felt like a special treat. Highly recommended.

Louise from stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in March 2016


Another amazing stay

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 3rd time we have stayed at Glengorm Castle. It is in an amazing spot on the Isle of Mull. We always have such a relaxing time. Breakfast amazing as usual.

Mike from Nr Clitheroe stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in January 2016


Perfect location, wonderful ambience.

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Jan 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've stayed in a wide range of places in a number of countries, and this was, quite simply, the best experience we've ever had. The underlying philosophy of a friendly welcome, coupled with leaving guests to enjoy their stay as they wish, without the sense of anyone hovering: this works brilliantly. Obviously, the setting is magnificent, but it wouldn't be half the fun without the quality of all the rest. Wonderful attention to detail at every level. Wonderful guided walk. Perfect.

Stephen from York stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in January 2016


Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle and grounds are in a beautiful location completely away from everything. There is the most stunning views and pleasant walks within the grounds of the castle.
The owners of the castle make you feel more than welcome and leave one to ones own devises. With log fires in the lounge and Library with its views and complimentary whisky it is an ideal place to be.
The breakfast is served when you want it with no time constraints and is lovely.
It was impossible to fault any part of our stay, we would highly recommend it.


David from Stockport stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2015


A fine three nights

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Very enjoyable stay. Excellent welcome and introduction. Lovely bedroom and comfortable hall and library. We enjoyed sampling the whiskies very much.
Breakfast was a bit mixed. We felt the range of items was rather routine and perhaps less interesting than might be expected given the overall standard of accommodation and prices. The croissants one morning were pretty hard and indigestible, but staff were clearly trying to make us comfortable and satisfied. The setting was lovely with fine views to set up the day ahead.


Derek from Cockermouth stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in October 2015


Magic!

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a magic time at Glengorm and Laorin, what a room what a view! At breakfast our last morning we had a bird of prey hanging still in the sun some 25 m outside the window... Truly the best vacation ever!

Robert from Norrköping stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in October 2015


Castle stay on Isle if Mull

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Oct 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The location was to die for. The castle itself wasn't as well maintained as we'd hoped, although it did have a very 'homely' feel about it. The Laorin room had everything we needed, it just needs a bit of TLC (get rid of the cobwebs around the curtain pelmets). The bed was terrible, I think it was an original mattress from the 1800's. The breakfasts were great, my husband raved about Marjorie's omelette. The staff were lovely, very efficient and friendly.

Kylie from Geraldton stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in October 2015


A Wonderful Experience

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Glengorm and we plan on returning. There's nothing quite like it and I'm so glad we found out about it. It is well worth the trip out to Mull to stay in this beautiful manor house in a stunning location. Our kids are already talking about going back.

Allison from Somerset stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in September 2015


Very very special location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very friendly and familar reception and instruction for using the room, the library and dining room. excellent breakfast and a luxury bedroom. thanks for a very comfortable stay in your familiy home.

Frank from Widen stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in September 2015


Wonderful stay

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful property and wonderful staff
The property is unique an amazing building and wonderful grounds. Fun trails to walk.
Management very friendly and informative


Guest from Windermere stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in September 2015


Glengorm in September

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very relaxed and welcoming. Beautiful room and absolutely stunning location. The very best fresh fruit salad ever tasted! Also delicious lunch from the castle shop. A very special place to stay

from stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in September 2015


Perfect end to honeymoon

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Glengorm for one night. It was the end of our honeymoon and it couldn't have better. The castle is beautiful and the room was absolutely amazing.

Michael from Wilmington stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in September 2015


An Anniversary Treat

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle and the Laorin room was our treat to ourselves for our 45th wedding anniversary; and the location and the elegant and spacious accommodation did not let us down. Breakfast was great and the staff pleasant. A good three days!

John R from Guilford stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in August 2015


Anxious to return

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were only able to stay one night and we hated to leave. It was fairly expensive but we have paid more for just ordinary rooms. The entire castle is furnished with beautiful antiques. The views are magnificent. We spent hours walking around the grounds, to the ocean and the standing stones. Sheep and beautiful hairy cows all over the place. The only thing that will make a longer stay inconvenient is the 15-20 minute ride into town on tiny (but paved!) roads for dinner every night; the only meal served is breakfast.

Jane from Cambridge stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2015


Stunning location, stunning views, stunning breakfast.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have picked a better place to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. What a lovely place to stay. Can't wait to go back. With amazing views and a delicious breakfast it really is a great place to visit particularly if you enjoy a good walk.

Jamie from Harrold stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2015


Splendid Location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle was even better than expected. This was our first trip to Scotland and although we enjoyed Edinburgh, Glasgow and Loch Lomond as well, Glemgorm outshone everything else..

Dirk from Minden stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in August 2015


Great location

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Aug 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Terrific location, views, ambience, food, and service. Be sure to take one of the guided tours. A lot of fun and very informative. Our only concern was the weak WiFi signal, even in the public areas.

Guest from Sherman Oaks stayed at Laorin for 4 nights in August 2015


An incredible place

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Glengorm Castle was absolutely wonderful. The staff was great, the room was luxurious, and I can't say enough about the location and views. This place was a Scottish paradise.

Drew from Sidney stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2015


wonderful stay

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We could not have asked for a better two nights. Our room was lovely and the service was excellant. What a beautiful location and hotel/castle. Wish we could come back again and again.


Guest from Stony Point stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in July 2015


A wonderful time with an old world feel

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is a bit of a drive on single track roads outside of Tobermorry, but well worth the effort. Lunch in the café was excellent and we truly enjoyed our stay in this Baronial style home.

Guest from Christiansburg stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2015


A very nice splurge

Review submitted on Fri, 31 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay at Glengorm Castle very much. Since we had been on the Isle of Mull before, we knew what we were "in for" as far as getting to the Castle on single-track roads. The effort is certainly worth it. The castle is a lovely place to imagine oneself a guest of the "Laird of the Manor" for a couple days. Our only regret is that we didn't have more time to explore the nature activities, but we did take in a hike to Dun Ara and the Standing Stones (in pretty rainy and windy weather, but that's hard to avoid.) One thing we particularly enjoyed was the whisky in the library. The bathroom in Laorin was exceptionally nice (although it would be nice to have a shelf in the shower to put shampoo etc. on.) All in all, we give Glengorm a big thumbs up.

Guest from Bath stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in July 2015


Absolut excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were there for only one night. It's a nice place to stay for a longer time. The location is excellent and the view is great. We'd like to come back for another time.

Guest from Hirschthal stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2015


Enchanting

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our room was spacious and comfortable. I loved and hated not having a key (a safe would be nice if no key). Breakfast was good one day (when owner was present) but not the next. Spectacular view! Overall, I would recommend Glengorm and I would stay again. The grounds were breathtaking and the nature walk with Stephanie was fantastic.

Guest from St. Louis stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in June 2015


Duke for one night

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very impressive and a fantastic landscape!
Huge rooms and a 2m bed.
The whsiky bar is included. A tasting in the libery, lovely!
A bit more maintainence would be appreciated. Take a scruedriver with you ;-)


Guest from Warth stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2015


Beautiful Location

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jul 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My cousin and I stayed in the Laorin Room at the Glengorm Castle B and B in June of 2015, and had a truly marvelous visit. We appreciated the beautiful nature of the property, and the generous size of both the bedroom and bathroom. There is not wifi that reaches the bedroom, but it worked well in the common areas. We also enjoyed tasting a few new whiskies from the complementary selection in the library. Strolling around the grounds and relaxing with the view from the castle were both highlights of our trip to Scotland, and we both hope to return someday.

Guest from Urbana stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2015


Castle Comfort!

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The trip to Glengorm Castle was well worth the "tense" drive. Upon driving up and seeing the castle, expectations were high. The greeting was very welcoming and the other staff were very friendly and accommodating. Breakfast, served by Marjorie was one of the highlights. She was pleasant and cooked the breakfast herself. We needed assistance with changing our ferry booking and she handled that without any reservation, gladly in fact. The room was amazing, comfortable and the best view of our entire trip. We LOVED this place!! Ann from Vero

Guest from Vero Beach stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in June 2015


A Memory Forever

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Driving across the Isle of Mull toward the castle was exciting and beautiful. But the first sight of the property will be forever imprinted in my memory. Friendly staff, comfortable and spacious room and an amazing setting overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. Could not be better!

Guest from Scottsdale stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in May 2015


One night Honeymoon stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow this place is incredible! We stayed one night as part of our honeymoon in May 2015 and it was truly a unique place. We were warmly welcomed and shown to our room which has fantastic views of the setting sun over the Atlantic Ocean. We enjoyed a stunning walk on the Glengorm estate before settling into the Library to watch the sun set. Here we had access to a range of games and free access to their complimentary Whisky library. The following morning we had a great breakfast and were on our way. This was truly the outstanding accommodation of our honeymoon.

Guest from Derby stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in May 2015


Incredible!

Review submitted on Wed, 13 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very unique experience. The drive in along a narrow country road is just the beginning, as you make a turn, the view hits you, from the rolling hills an fields, to the water and the castle standing on a rise, it is breathtaking.
The bedroom suie, the whisky room and the breakfast all made for a memorable stay.
Our nature walk with Steph was a real treat, her knowledge and passion are impressive and completed a wonderful visit.


Guest from Spring Park stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2015


castle stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
the castle is magical and worth every minute of our 8 hour drive...phew!!!

the views and peaceful nature are worth the trip alone. it was my wife's dream( bucket list job i think!!)

you are left alone as if its your own castle which is brilliant but the welcome and breakfasts meet all expectations.

but the main highlight is to be greeted every day and night by 2 wonderful small dogs who make a bigger fuss of you than the humans.. magic.


Guest from Boston stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2015


A perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect room, perfect location, perfect feelings... Glengorm is where my heart is. I will be back soon. Very very good breakfast, kind people, a very special place.

Arianna from Bologna stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in February 2015


Wonderful Escape

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Dec 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great get away. Our Family (my wife & I, plus daughter and son-in-law) had the entire castle to ourselves one night and morning, so we were able to take over the library and really settle in. The Scotch tasting was outstanding and the breakfast was great.

The grounds and shoreline were wonderful (although our footwear was not quite adequate, we needed better hiking shoes)

Tobermory was a quaint harbourtown and the shopkeepers were very friendly, We visited the jeweler, bakery and co-op, as well as a couple of the pubs.


Guest from Littleton stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in December 2014


Remarkable!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying at Glengorm Castle is a bucket list event. The property is truly amazing with great walks and vistas. You can finish it all of with a wee dram of Whisky in the library too!

Paul from Sandy Springs stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in November 2014


Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed in a wonderful big room in the castle with great views over the fields and on to the sea.
Has a nice feel about the place being a family home and farm.
Good value when you compare it to some of the castle type 'hotels' on offer in the UK.


Guest from Scarborough stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in October 2014


Wonderful and Unforgettable get away vacation

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed in Laorin room for 3 nights, Oct 6 - 9, 2014. It was the BEST. We loved the view from the room and the privacy. The room is very roomy and the private bathroom is very big and comfortable. Breakfasts were excellent with a breath taking view. Both Heather and Marjorie were very attentive and friendly. We would love to return again some day.
NP, New Jersey


Guest from Marlton stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in October 2014


Tranquil and picturesque

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Oct 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It doesn't get much better than a stay at Glengorm Caste. Gorgeous scenery from your bedroom window and sitting room. It made our trip to Scotland. Only wish it could have been longer.

Guest from Hove stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in October 2014


our review

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A fabulous location with stunning views. Friendly owners and very good breakfasts.
The only snag was the bed mattress which sagged and there was no shaver socket.


Guest from Launceston stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in September 2014


Must have

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
scotland travellers should all stay here...even if it is just for one night, ist fabulous , great Settings, very nice People/Services, as I say...a MUST HAVE !

Guest from Mainz stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in September 2014


General Comments

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay.

The Malt library was a fantastic way to catch up with other guests over a wee malt. (Suggest you put names on room doors - as I had trouble finding ours after a library session!)

Staff were particularly friendly when serving breakfast.


Guest from Fullarton stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in August 2014


A beautiful place

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful place, a very Nice ISLE, the Castle Is localised just front an amazing scenery, Atlantic ocean. I would like appréciated if people gave me some informations about walk around the Castle.

Guest from Saint Julien les martigues stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in July 2014


Great Scottish castle in maginificent property

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great castle in a wonderful property with direct access to the ocean, a very nice coffee shop selling organic products from the property, nice highland cattle on the property, and access to nature specialists for advice on walks, etc.

This is a perfect place to enjoy life in a Scottish castle, and experience the Scottish outdoor, both terrestrial and marine.


Guest from Gometz-la-ville stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in August 2014


A place you love to come back to

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We love this place and have come back here many times. There's no more relaxing place to stay and the owners and the people working at Glengorm are all doing everything to give you a great time. Breakfast is a history of it's own... Enjoy your stay at Glengorm.

Guest from Oslo stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in July 2014


Romantic Getaway

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Glengorm for a night as part of our honeymoon. The location is slightly inconvenient, however, that was also part of its appeal since it was located near the cliff. Upon arriving at the B & B, we were greeted in the lounge by a friendly staff member, who escorted us to our room. The room itself was spacious and clean. However, what sets Glengorm apart from other castles in Scotland is the fact that views are spectacular. The Laorin room has large windows that allows you to watch the sunset from bed. Additionally, there are large windows in the sitting room that gives the same breath taking view. Glengorm was very welcoming castle. The sitting room was a cozy space that allowed you to mingle with other guests and drink some scotch while looking out the window. Breakfast was also delicious and had a large selection to choose from. Overall, our stay at Glengorm was great and I would certainly come here again if I have the chance!

Guest from Philadelphia stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in June 2014


beds are too soft

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The castle itself is beautiful however the bed was too soft and so were the pillows causing poor nights sleep. The castle needs TLC. Pillows are torn and so is bedding etc. Our bathroom was very modern. The breakfast was very good and the dining room is lovely. The castle dogs were very cute. If they could fix the beds and do some much needed updates they would have repeat guests.

Guest from Doha stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in July 2014


A Scottish Experience

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle was excellent. We enjoyed the location and facilities. The staff and owners were friendly and unobtrusive. We will remember most the fantastic scenery, great breakfasts, walks to the Duns and Crofters village and great Scotch selection.
Bed was worn and sagged for our liking and the WiFi was usually slow or unusable and only in the common areas.


Guest from Kambah stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in June 2014


BEAUTY AND SPLENDOR

Review submitted on Sun, 25 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent three wonderful nights at "the castle". The owners were welcoming and made us feel very comfortable in their home. The location is one of the best we'd had despite the drive to get there. It's well worth it. Located on 5000 acres you have the view of the Atlantic, sheep and cattle grazing, and flowers blooming. A sip of complimentary scotch in the library in the evening and looking out on the beautiful view of the grounds and the North Atlantic made it a stay to remember. We are all hoping we can return one day.

Guest from Davidson stayed at Laorin for 3 nights in May 2014


Bavarian 30th Wedding Aniversary

Review submitted on Tue, 13 May 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Having spent many enjoyable days over a couple of decades at Glengorm Castle, I introduce my Bavarian friends two years ago. They made an instant decision to celebrate their 30th Wedding Anniversary at the Castle.
Having booked the 5 main rooms, every aspect was to The Estates normal high standard, apart from the room allocation during our staggered arrival. For some reason the allocation of rooms did not match the agreed paid for allocation. The mistake was sorted.
Yet again, a wonderful experience!


Guest from Glasgow stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in May 2014


What a beautiful place to stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 01 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can't praise this place highly enough. Glengorm is in a stunning location. We were given a very warm welcome and were very relaxed during our stay. Our room had beautiful views. We booked a four hour walk with Stephanie which was an amazing and very enjoyable way of exploring the very varied wildlife in the grounds. We can't thank Tom and his family enough for providing this wonderful holiday experience. Can't wait to return.

Guest from Kendal stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in April 2014


Light and spacious

Review submitted on Wed, 23 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
'Wonderfully light, spacious bedroom and bathroom, with breathtaking views and kept spotlessly clean. The two live-in spaniels are a big bonus. If you can't relax here, you're probably a lost cause.'
Carol, Brian and Lucy (10)


Guest from Liverpool stayed at Laorin for 7 nights in April 2014


Beautiful and Relaxing stay

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm castle was everything we could have wanted and more! It is set about 5 miles oast the town of Tobermory overlooking the sea. On the drive we saw the adorable highland cows amd lots of sheep! Upon arrival we were greeted promotly and shown our room as well as the library ( with complimentary whisky), the sitting room and dining room. We were told to explore and let them know if we needed anything. We felt very comfortable and at home.

Our room was beautiful, large and complete with a comfortable bed and linens, a HUGE bathroom with a separate shower and deep tub. Robes, hairdryer and local specialty soaps were included.

The room had gorgeous views of the sea and property, tea and coffee service set out as well as candies, which was a nice touch.

We were asked what time we eould like breakfast and we took it in the large dining room also with beautiful views. There was a large selection of cereals, fruit, yogurt etc while we waited for the hot food cooked to order.

My only regret is that we didnt stay more than one night. This was the highlight of our week long trip to Scotland.


Jessica from Brighton stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in April 2014


Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We got married at Glengorm on 22 February 2014 and everything was totally brilliant. Our guests stayed in all the other rooms and most of the cottages. Fantastic staff and brilliant location.

Gill from London stayed at Laorin for 5 nights in February 2014


Laorin

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Nov 2013
4.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice stay in a wonderful location. Unfortunately no dinner at the castle available, but a nice breakfast in the morning. To enjoy a wee dram from the castle whisky collection was a nice surprise.

Guest from Zurich stayed at Laorin for 1 nights in October 2013


Autumnal treat

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As a late treat for my husband's 60th birthday we booked 2 nights at Gelngorm Castle. It was very much a last minute decision and we actually made the booking on line whilst at the Calmac terminal in Oban, waiting for our ferry to Mull.
We had booked the Ardmore room, but on arrival we received a free upgrade to the Laorin.
Absolutely spectacular views across the Sound of Mull and out to sea. Gigantic bed,so comfy, and lovely bathroom with the deepest bath I have ever seen.
On arrival, we were greeted by Pam, who introduced us to Tom Nelson, the owner of the castle who is very personable and obviously proud of his home. The really delightful thing about the castle is that it is,above all else, so obviously a much loved family home .
We were shown around the public rooms ,including the Library in which there is a selection of Whisky for you to sample for free.. We spent a lovely hour or so having a couple of glasses of the magical stuff,reading and soaking in the atmosphere of the room.
Retired to our room for a relaxing evening and in the morning enjoyed a feast of a breakfast in the dining room.which as well as having delicious food has equally delicious views.My husband is a self confessed short,squat,Scot and had the traditional fry up which had, without doubt,the finest black pudding he said he had ever tasted.
Every member of staff we came into contact with were attentive,pleasant and really nice people who had a genuine interest in their guests.
There are loads of lovely walks around the castle grounds and we went out towards the cliffs, and around towards the Flat Rock.
Had one hairy moment when we came across a large Highland Cattle bull directly on our path. He looked at us and then almost nodded his consent as he let us pass by.
The 2 nights we spent at the castle were superb and something we will treasure, we hope to return in the near future,I would go back tomorrow.
It is not cheap but, particularly with our free upgrade, we could not give it anything less than 5 stars.


Guest from Whitby stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in October 2013


Anniversary at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The best place in Scotland to spend a relaxing weekend or a bit longer. Everything was perfect, and we definitely will be back. Thank you for hosting us.

Guest from stayed at Laorin for 2 nights in September 2013