FB Twitter

Mingary

Mingary

4.8
out of 5
Ratings from 143 reviews
99% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.6
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Mingary is one of the largest castle bedrooms. It is very spacious with a 6’ x 7’ bed and cosy seating in the bay window. Being situated on the corner of the castle it has views to the west and north; ideally suited to watching sunsets all year round.

It looks out towards the Outer Hebrides, over the fields in front of the castle which are home to the farm’s highland cattle and blackface sheep. Mingary’s en-suite has a long and deep original Victorian bath.

A great place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently spent two nights at Glengorm. An amazing and very beautiful place. We stayed in the castle b&b which was excellent. Very comfortable and a great breakfast. The staff are super friendly and helpful. Nothing bad to say about Glengorm!

Jill from Peebles stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2019


Great location and breakfast

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Stayed 7 nights. Great location and sea and sunset views from bedroom. Bedroom and bathroom both large, bed very comfortable and linens soft. Decoration and repairs to some furniture needed in some areas but didn’t spoil our comfort in the room. Some thoughtful touches eg fresh milk in fridge on landing, big bottle of bath soak for weary walkers, sweets and tasty biscuits, selection of coffee and teas in room, fresh flowers on breakfast table. Good quality and selection at breakfast. All the staff we met at breakfast were welcoming and helpful. The main reason I have only said OK for Customer Service is that the arrangements for our very small wedding ceremony (our most important day there ) could have been better, we and the staff there at the time on the day were left not quite sure about the set up.

Susan from York stayed at Mingary for 7 nights in May 2019


Just. WOW.

Review submitted on Wed, 01 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is truly one of the most special properties we have stayed at! The castle is stunning, the location is stunning, and the people were lovely. Our room had a wonderful view across the fields of sheep/lambs out to the ocean. The room and bathroom were both very large and very comfortable. The downstairs public rooms were also cosy and well-appointed. Breakfast was delicious! The only warning I would give you - if you are not a Scot and are not familiar with single-track roads, make sure you arrive before dark! (also the sunset is killer)

Julianne from Niskayuna stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in April 2019


Le chateau

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Apr 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Le chateau de glengorm superbe.la chambre tres bien.bon petit dejeuner.dommage pas de panier diner. Tobermory est loin. Route sinueuse.et pas de places au restaurant.1h avec 2 enfants a attendre pour finir par mal manger. Dommage. Ca gache un peu l experience.

Kelly from Levens stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in April 2019


Lovely stay at Glengorm

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay at Glengorm Castle. We never tired of looking at the views of the ocean from our bedroom window. We loved the privacy that living on Glengorm Estate provided. The suite was tastefully decorated with old style furnishings. Loved the bath! The wildlife walk we did with Kerry was amazing. Would love to visit again.

Bev from Sydney stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in April 2019


Loved it

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Huge room with a lovely comfy bed and stunning views. The bathroom was bigger than most bedrooms, though the plumbing had a mind of its own, with the vast antique bath much more efficient than the shower. Breakfasts were enormous and delicious with a wide choice. Husband particularly appreciated the range of malt whiskies in the lounge!

Anne from Leyland stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2019


Wonderful stay st Glengorm

Review submitted on Sat, 06 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Glengorm is an experience. It is not like any hotel or B&B I have been to. The castle itself is fabulous perched high above the coastline with magnificent views, some 4 miles from Tobermory on the Glengorm estate. There is nothing else around and you have a sense of isolation. The castle is well heated and the rooms are well decorated and very comfortable. From arrival, after a quick tour, you are left very much alone, rarely seeing any of the few staff. It is in fact quite difficult to get their attention on arrival. There is a sign to ring a very large bell and this requires rigorous ringing to enable it to be heard inside the vast castle. After staying there a few days, we became used to seeing bewildered guests standing st the door with suitcases. It is all part of the laid back charm of the place. If you really need someone, they can be found however and are very considerate. The excellent breakfast used fresh farm and local produce. After that, you have the run of the castle to enjoy, the whisky library with a line up of 20 free whiskies, the billiard room or sitting room. The outdoors is enticing on a good day and guided walks can be organized or you can roam alone. We stayed 3 days are were very sad to leave magical Mull and the excellent Glengorm Castle. We hope to return one day.

Gordon from Graceville stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2019


If you are looking for a castle, this is it.

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Glengorm Castle was wonderful yet much too short! The room was stunning and the entire castle decorated beautifully. The staff was accommodating and always helpful. The surrounding grounds were stunning and after a short walk we were able to see some highland cattle up close. Truly magnificent place and a highlight of our trip!

Caitlyn from Cedar Hills stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in March 2019


Wonderful weekend visit

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay at Glengorm Castle. We were made most welcome and thoroughly enjoyed the spectacular setting, luxurious rooms and delicious breakfast. The castle was so warm and cosy even on a cold a February weekend. Would highly recommend.

L from Peebles stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in February 2019


Simply stunning

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Simply stunning location, wonderful castle with all the things you imagine in a 18th century castle. Massive room with beautiful decor. Made to feel very much at ease, extremely welcoming.

Paul from Crich stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in January 2019


Glengorm is very special. We had a wonderful stay. The setting is spectacular and the people lovely

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm is very special. We had a wonderful stay! The setting is spectacular, the rooms very comfortable, the food delicious and the people lovely. It is truly very special.

Leigh Anne from Victoria stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in November 2018


A Beautiful Time

Review submitted on Wed, 31 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay at Glengorm in the Mingary room was a beautiful time! The room is well appointed inside,with an absolutely beautiful view.out of the windows. We had a good night sleep on a most comfortable bed. The bathroom was spacious with plenty of hot water. Glengorm was built in 1860. This is a well taken care of estate, but those looking for shiny and new, had best stay at a Holiday Inn. The grounds of this estate are breathtaking. Award winning Highland cattle are bred on the grounds.The morning breakfast was delicious. Pam, the manager fixed us up with dinner reservations and a cab to and from town (I sure didn't want to drink at all and drive the road at night).Our stay at Glengorm was a beautiful time.

Wallace from Lake Orion stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in October 2018


Heaven on Earth

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My God this is paradise. Or as close as an earthly version. We arrived at 11.00 and before even entering Glengorm Castle we went on our tour of the estate (or a small part of it) with Kerry the super friendly and super knowledgeable ranger.

We were lucky to see three white tailed eagles (8ft wing span!) up close along with buzzards, kestrels, hen harriers and more. Not to mention seals!

After this we checked in to what feels like a totally unspoiled castle but an extremely comfortable one. The views out to the isle's of Rum and Eigg from the 'Whisky Library' (which is my kind of library!) were stunning. Our 'room' felt more like an apartment and was beautifully comfortable, spacious but somehow cozy which sums up the whole castle.

Get yourself there anyway you can.



Mark from Brighton stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2018


Scottish castle

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed three nights in this gorgeous castle. The whole experience was fantastic and there is nothing negative to say.

Jane from Derby stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in September 2018


Comfortable Castle

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an enchanting time at this lovely old Castle. It was like we lived there ourselves. The room was beautiful and the guest areas were inviting. We walked down to the ocean past the sheep and highland cattle. It was a wonderful stay.

Becky Or Steve from Sonoma stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2018


An amazing stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Aug 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A superb location and a charming hotel. The rooms were generously sized and beautifully decorated. Great breakfasts. The location is outstanding- just stunning.

A few more staff on hand to handle queries/offer suggestions would be great, but otherwise a fantastic stay.


Linnea from London stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in August 2018


Splendid isolation on Mull

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For anyone looking for a unique and memorable experience, this is for you! After following a single track road winding its way up to the northern tip of the island, we arrived at a manor house with crenellations and dark wood panelling, sitting on the top of a hill, overlooking the setting sun, and a property containing green fields, a herd of Highland cows, and it's own ring of prehistoric standing stones.
Our greeting was professional but friendly, and the room we were given was very clean and very spacious. Bathroom, in-room coffee were fine. Breakfast good but not overboard. Special touches included a billiard room, and a library, where we had a choice of about 15 single malt Scotch whiskies to chose from, free of charge. Our only negative surprise was that we had not realized that, as the Castle is run as a B&B, we had to drive back to town for our dinner (only about 10 minutes, each way).


Alan from New York stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in July 2018


A perfect stay

Review submitted on Tue, 10 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A perfect stay in a wonderful location. As during our last trips to Scotland we will come back to Glengorm Castle.

Hans Georg from Einhausen stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2018


A dream of a castle

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This out of the way Castle, accessible by way of a 4 mile one lane road, is well worth the drive. First, the island of Mull is reached by ferry and, if you do not make reservations ahead of time (like I failed to do) you may not get to the island at ALL.
Now the Castle. This is the real thing folks. Up above the ocean waters, it offers a magnificent view of the water, nearby islands and bay. The room is very big and beautifully furnished with 17 foot ceilings; the bed is very comfortable and has fine linens. A wonderful library has a great selection of books serves as a nice setting to sample and enjoy COMPLIMENTARY twenty Single Malt Scotch whiskeys. Delicious!
A wonderful made to order breakfast is served in a very large dining room where beautiful artwork is displayed. Speaking of artwork, make sure that you take the time to travel the castle and enjoy other works.
The grounds have many trails for a day hike and the nearby coffee shop has goodies for your hike. Hiking poles are recommended but not necessary.
For dinner, travel 6 miles to Tobermory; Cafe Fish for seafood and Galleon Grill were both superb and reservations are highly recommended.
Enjoy this beautiful Castle and island!


Luis from Nellysford stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in June 2018


A fantastic place to stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 24 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As with my last visit, the time spent was magical. Time at Glengorm is one of the most beautiful and relaxing holidays I have experienced. Thank-you so much and I will return as soon as I can!!

Jan from Ottawa stayed at Mingary for 4 nights in June 2018


Amazing getaway spot

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent our honeymoon there and we couldn't have chosen a better place. From the amazing views to the tranquillity of the surroundings and the beautiful room setup - it was perfect.

Great selection of whiskey as well!


Andreea from London stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2018


A place you'll remember for life

Review submitted on Tue, 12 Jun 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
If you're reading this because you're unsure about whether to stay at Glengorm Castle, then just stop reading and book your trip. The place is like nowhere else, and you'll remember your visit for the rest of your life.

Our room was spacious and comfortable. While there were a couple of lightbulbs burned out (c'mon, Glengorm, that's easy to fix) and the room felt a tiny bit tired, it was a 100+ year old castle, so I had exactly zero expectations for the place to be on par with a Four Seasons 5-star hotel. A stay at Glengorm is not about having a luxurious room, it's about staying IN A CASTLE and having a priceless ocean view across unending, emerald green hills and sitting rooms (with free whisky) that make you feel like you're living an episode of Downton Abbey (as one of the Upstairs residents).


Michael from Centennial stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2018


What an amazing place! The building, the room, the setting, the staff, the food - everything!

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I cannot recommend this place highly enough - it was absolutely stunning - the staff were incredibly friendly and very laid back which led to an incredibly comfortable atmosphere- I am only sorry we didn’t stay longer

Charles from Pittsfield stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in June 2018


Scottish Heaven

Review submitted on Mon, 28 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third time at Glengorm Castle and its always a treat. Beautiful scenery and all the comforts of a luxury country house hotel make staying here a welcome escape from city life. Its peaceful and relaxing, all we heard was birdsong and the bleating of lambs. Breakfasts are a delicious feast and you won't need lunch. Mingory is their best room and has been beautifully appointed (see photos) the views from the double aspect windows are stunning. Plenty of amazing walks. A smart coffee shop and self catering accomodation are also available. Friendly, helpful staff are on hand if needed, it feels like you are staying in a friend's house. Evening meal not provided, but Tobermory is only a short drive away and plenty of good eating places to choose from. Come back afterwards and watch the sunset in one of the two guest sitting rooms with log fires, games and wide selection of whiskys to sample. Highly recommended.

Guest from Nettlebed stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2018


Sejour en famille

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tres bien accueillis par notre hôtesse..ce sejour restera inoubliable...notre 1ere nuit en chateau...vue exceptionnelle..les enfants ont pu se promener parmi les moutons...nous sommes restés le soir manger notre "pique nique" telllement nous n avions pas envie de quitter les lieux...degustation de whisky en prime..bref un sejour merveilleux!!!

Myriam from Dreffeac stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in May 2018


Lovely stay, everything as promised

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay, everything as promised. Great breakfast, beautiful room, comfy bed. Beautiful location and friendly staff

Leanne from Altrincham stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in March 2018


Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Castle is absolutely beautiful, room very comfortable. Lovely staff. Highly recommended place to stay.

Arnold from Glagsow stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in February 2018


Just like a dream

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Such a wonderful place! Unforgettable. If you stay in Glengorm castle, you will have to forget your plan to drive and visit the isle of Mull because you will just want one thing: Enjoy as much as possible the view, the property, your room, the whisky bar! Everything was perfect, Thanks

Eddy from Aberdeen stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in February 2018


Birthday Break

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Feb 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fabulous place to stay, makes you feel like you actually own a castle for a short while. The room was lovely and well appointed with amazing views (when the weather permitted). The breakfasts were great and all the staff were very accommodating and friendly. It was also great to be able to take our two dogs and have them just as at home as we were. The complimentary whiskey is a lovely touch and the communal areas were nice places to sit and socialise. Mull as a whole did not disappoint and we were even treated to one sunny day! We managed several sightings of White-tailed and Golden Eagle and Otter. Head to Loch na Keal for the best chances. Dining out was a wee bit limited in the low season but Mishdish served up some good seafood in Tobermory. Plotting a return visit!

Nigel from Beckermet stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in February 2018


A night in a castle

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Nov 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Dissapointed that the only food on site was breakfast. No TV in bedroom. Other than that great stay.

Steve from Windemere stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in November 2017


Perfect — almost!

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fabulous place and friendly welcome.
The only thing that let it down was basic maintenance.
Couple of lights not working. Should be checked daily as part of room service and no hanging space. What was obviously designed as a wardrobe had at som3 point been altered to take a Tv.
No tv(which we didn’t mind at all) but the hanging space wasn’t reinstated. Either put the tv in or a hanging rail.
Very small things but slightly annoying.
Wonderful touch was the offer of drinks free of charge. Later during our break we stayed at another high end venue and although there were drinks available in a similar fashion they were charged for. Now we expect to pay for drinks but that little extra touch from Glengorm showed the other venue up a little.


Jeff from Dollar stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2017


Wonderful short stay!

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were only visiting Scotland for a short time and the choice to stay at Glengorm Castle helped make the most of it! The grounds are stunning. Don't just take in the views, get out there and enjoy a stroll or hike! Pictures cannot fully convey the beauty of this place, with the coastal views and rolling fields.
Our accommodations were lovely. Spacious, comfortable and charming. We appreciated the ability to sample some scotch in the evening. In the morning, you will be served a delicious breakfast that will prepare you well for whatever plans you have for the day.
We look for to returning to this remote, tranquil and beautiful place!


Anthony from Stow stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in October 2017


A place in a milion

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hel's favourite room. An annual treat...............................................................

William from Balloch stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in October 2017


In a castle, far away...

Review submitted on Mon, 09 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing stay: big rooms, lovely & confortable common spaces, really nice walks to do around the castle (bring good shoes or boots)! A little bit far from Tobermory and no dinner offered so plan ahead.

Jolaine from Laval stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2017


We loved the facility

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle was one of the best properties we stayed at during our 3 week tour of Scotland. Rooms were good, food was great and property was breathtaking. Only negative was distance from main road, but I suppose due to its setting that should be expected.

Aaron from Santa Barbara stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2017


Superb stay!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Glengorm Castle and had a fantastic stay, beautiful room with stunning views, couldn't fault it.

Alexis from Winscombe stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2017


Fantastic

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so excited to get to Glengorm and it ended up exceeding all expectations and hopes. The caste itself is beautiful and well maintained. The rooms are large and clean, and the views are incredible. We loved our time there and will try to come back.

Guest from Charlotte stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2017


Highly recommend a stay at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm castle is a lovely place to stay with wonderful walking options right out the front door, friendly staff and comfortable accommodations. The cafe on the property is well worth a visit as well!

Anita from Seattle stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in August 2017


Château absolument incroyable

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perdu au bout d'une route cet Hotel à un charme fou
Il donne sur la campagne vallonnée avec la mer en arrière plan.
L'accueil est parfait


Frédéric from 26000 stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in August 2017


Amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 02 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked the Mingary room for one night, quite expensive but very unique. The room was very spacious and bright, amazing views out to the atlantic! Breakfast in the dinning room was first class.

Vivien from Perth stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2017


wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jul 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Excellent location, wonderful walk to the beach, accompagnied by hundreds of sheeps and some rabbits, a place that we will remember

Michael from Flawil stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2017


Remarkable!

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We truly enjoyed our stay at Glengorm Castle and the Mingary room was beautiful! We stayed for 4 nights with our 10-year-old daughter and everything about our stay was perfect. The staff were warm and attentive. The accommodations were amazing and the grounds were stunning. The view from our room was gorgeous too - right out to the ocean. We loved watching the sunset. The game room and library were great as well. We highly recommend Glengorm Castle and hope to return one day.

Jennifer from Davis stayed at Mingary for 4 nights in July 2017


Lots of sheep

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cozy, peaceful and comfortable atmosphere.
Enjoyed the view and scenery from the room and around the area


Noriko from Takarazuka stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2017


Beautiful castle bnb

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful castle tucked away from the world. Lovely spacious room with sunset views. Breakfast fantastic and made to order. Would love to return. Thanks for a great stay!!

Matthew from Hounslow stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in June 2017


Stay at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Jun 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at Glemgorm, love the location and the Castle. Glad they installed a shower in Mingary. Could use a little more variety on the menu. Whisky tasting always a great treat and fire in the fireplaces plus a great way to meet other folks. Staff was wonderful and very helpful.

Lawrence from Huddleston stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in June 2017


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Jun 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A castle in very good condition. All rooms are big and beautiful and the view on the sea is stunning

Braito from Geneva stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2017


Paradise Place

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A Castle close to Heaven and Paradise. We enjoyed our stay very much. A relaxing and very peacful Place

Guest from Berlin stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2017


A special place...

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Castle. Everything about it was top notch, including especially Pam's help when we found ourselves in a pickle!

Peter from Milwaukee stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2017


When the dream life in a castle comes true

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful, large and comfortable room with an amazing view on the sea and fields with a lot of sheeps and there babies. What à good time on the evening to read à Book, to look at the sun set , to play snooker and to taste so many good whiskies...and of course face to the fire. A great moment.

Dominique from St Genis Laval stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in April 2017


A place of exception !

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fourth visit to Mull and always the same pleasure to stay at Glengorm Castle. The exceptional location, the welcome and the quality of the accommodation make this a must in this beautiful region.

Christian from Saint-cyr-sur-loire stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in April 2017


Brilliant stay at Glengorm

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is heaven on earth - the perfect place to rest, recuperate and explore Mull. From start to finish, a perfect break, and we'll definitely be back

Guest from London stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2017


Such a beautiful Castle...

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We returned with family and friends to celebrate our 10 year wedding anniversary, having got married at Glengorm in 2007. Just as beautiful as ever - a wonderful setting, with views out to sea as the sun rose in the morning. The rooms were all of an exceptionally high standard, the public rooms of the castle were warm and inviting, breakfast was delicious - perfectly cooked and such a wide variety of options! The staff were also outstanding - Ollie and Jen went the extra mile the whole time we were there to really look after our every need - nothing was too much trouble - and as a party of 17, we certainly kept them busy. Thank you!

Shirley from stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in February 2017


No better place to relax

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle was one of the greatest travel experiences we have ever had. The scenery, landscapes, and castle are all so majestic and beautiful. However, it's the people that make this place truly magical. They are some of the most kind-hearted, warmest, and welcoming people we have ever met. We are home-sick for our home away from home. We will be back!

Kyle from Raleigh stayed at Mingary for 6 nights in February 2017


Glen gorm

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Dec 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderfull place an oasis of calm a very pleasant and comftable stay with a superb breakfast. Fantastic

Simon from Whittlebury stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in November 2016


Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic room, views and breakfasts. staff were very friendly; and knew where to go on the island to see specific views/beaches. Very relaxing time; evenings sitting by log fire just chilling; will return

Daniel from Bury stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in November 2016


Lovely place in a gorgeous location.

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What could be wrong with a stay in a castle on the edge of the ocean in Scotland? Nothing, it was like a fairy tail. The people who greeted us were great and every detail was handled with professionalism and kindness. Well worth the time and effort to get there.
The road to the castle is a very long, single lane road that is a bit hard to find and should not be attempted for the first time after dark. But once you find the road leaving town it is pretty straight forward.
Great place


Terry from Friendswood stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in November 2016


Luxury, Comfort & Charm

Review submitted on Tue, 08 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We couldn't have enjoyed our stay at Glengorm castle. Between the breathtaking castle and propert, the delicious custom breakfast and scotch library we were in heaven!

Mackenzie from San Francisco stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in November 2016


Absolutely fantastic

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fantastic place. Stunning location, fabulous building, delightful staff, great food, wonderful room, amazing views, incredible walks, exciting drive through herds of highland cows, very welcome bowls of soup at the farm shop warmed the soul after a long walk on the wild side, ending the day with a wee dram by a roaring fire was just magic. Very sad to leave, very keen to return.

Neil Douglas from Scopwick stayed at Mingary for 4 nights in October 2016


Another wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful setting in a wonderful castle. Really lovely big comfortable room/bed.
Only small problem was the shower is rather slow, could do with more power as takes ages to rinse hair.
So lovely to be dog friendly.
Thank you for a lovely stay.



Elaine` from Hulsby stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2016


Great once you get there

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our room, the staff and the property were fantastic. Two drawbacks: lack of food source nearby for dinner and the 4 plus mile single track entrance drive.

Christopher from Montauk stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in September 2016


Great location, top flight service

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location, love the Isle of Mull remoteness. Short drive into Tobermory, neat town. Comfortable library and great hall, both with fireplaces. Complimentary bottles of Scotch in library for tasting, which was interesting. Only breakfast at castle, but coffee shop was good food 11-5pm. Fish Cafe and Galleon Grill (down alley next to the Cooperative-best French onion soup I've had, and steak was large and good) were both great.

Gordon from West Palm Beach stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in September 2016


Fantastic stay

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the complimentary whisky in the lounge. Coffee and Farm Shop also excellent. Would have loved to stay longer.

John from Needham Market stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2016


À beautiful castle in a green bucolic landcape at thé en of thé word by thé se!

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bed to die for! Breakfast area perfect! Bathroom exquisite! And surroundings wright of a story book!

Mireille from Gatineau stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in August 2016


An experience not to be missed

Review submitted on Wed, 21 Sep 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My wife and I spent two nights at the Glengorm Castle in mid September as part of our holiday in Scotland. The facility is a unique and very impressive structure situated in a very secluded part of the Isle of Mull. We had read reviews indicating that it was hard to find and that the road from Tobermory was not good but we found the road to be an acceptable single track road and our GPS took us directly to the Castle.

Upon arrival we received a warm and welcoming greeting and our room was clean and comfortable with a large modern bathroom with and old style soaker bathtub. The staff make it a point to respect your privacy and are not as actively present as in smaller B&B's.

We stayed in the Mingary Room which has a fantastic view over the lush green fields with sheep and cattle grazing (I would recommend this room to anyone booking). Beyond the far reaching fields was open water and views of various distant islands. Despite the damp and windy conditions during our stay we did take the opportunity to walk the fields and enjoy the scenery close up. There appears to be endless adventures for walkers and nature lovers right before you.

The breakfasts were served in the main dining room which is furnished with tables some of which are over 100 years old and very nice. The lounge area offers comfortable seating and a fantastic variety of whiskeys free for guests sampling enjoyment.


Ranald from Ottawa stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2016


excellent

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very generous owner wth very nice idea about evenings with talking in the library,fantastic location,very simpathetic and fine breakfast,big rooms with coffee and tea making facilities,perfect place,everything very friendly,scottish and a feeling of care in every detail

Gianmario from 8057 Zürich stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in September 2016


Wonderful place to be away from it all

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A warm welcome and a wonderful castle and room with a view. Good place to start long and short walks in a beautiful landscape. Because they do not serve dinner it should be good if they offer a place where you can prepare and eat your own meal.

Kendrick from Amsterdam stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in August 2016


A wonderful stay

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stay a few days at Glenmorn is living in your own castle: At home. The Castle you always dreamed to have but neither can you afford or have the courage to jump the steps.
The Landlord welcome, makes you feel comfortable as if you had come 10 times before and then let you enjoy the place is if it was yours. Yours of your ancestors.

The pictures of the comfortable and spacious rooms hardly suggest the quality and the charm of the place.

The location and the view is outstanding. Even though we were there by fog, rain and wind.
The jewel of the place remains the Whisky Library with its fire place and outstanding collection of Whisky's. Worth the voyage to the end of the world.
Where you will be just fine until the end of life.


Fabrice from Ville D'avray stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in August 2016


Glengorm review

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Views from our room were amazing. Charming lodging. Breakfasts were convenient and tasty. We loved having the convenience of the coffee house. Food was delicious.

Julie from Purcellville stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in August 2016


Splendid castle staycation, highlight of Mull.

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the exceptional experience of staying in a victorian castle that offered the unquestionable tranquility of the island's scenery and highland wildlife.
The complimentary "Whisky library experience" was the epitome taste of the Scottish hospitality.
Loved the sunset views at Mingary as well as the breakfast! It's no wonder why some families would return for their fifth staycation!
It is one of my personal favourite and highlight of my trip to Isle of Mull.


Guest from Singapore stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in August 2016


Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely location. The decor - and touches like cut flowers from the gardens - make it feel like you are staying at someone else's home but they make you feel like it's your home too. Help yourself to whisky or make a fire.
Spacious and exquisitely decorated rooms with panoramic views. Good breakfasts with homemade jams and marmalades. There's no lunch or dinner service and it's a bit of a drive into town so you'll need to get a taxi if you want a drink too - but local service seemed reliable.
Most of the credit belongs to Steve who was fantastic throughout.


John from Lewes stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in July 2016


A beautiful castle experience

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed two nights at Glengorm Castle. The castle and the especially its whole surrounding are spectacular. This stay was the top of the cream of our trip to Scotland. The owners/staff where so friendly. They also have a great selection of Whiskeys and provide a faboulos Breakfast. We highly recommend it! Go for a walk outside and you will discover a lot of animals. We will come back.

Narda from Zwingen stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in July 2016


Heaven on earth again

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This castle is our absolute favorite place to stay in Scotland! Make sure to book a room with a view of the fields, highland cattle, blackface sheep and ocean! After several days of Scottish sightseeing, this is the perfect place to come & relax! The views are awesome, and the rooms are spacious and luxuriously decorated. 5 star! We arrived during rain and so enjoyed sitting in the main room by the fire that was already roaring. Take a walk thru the highland cattle fields to the on-site ancient standing stones and on to the ocean. Breakfast in the large castle dining room makes you feel like the lord or lady of the castle! The Mingary room is our favorite-large and beautifully newly decorated, now with a shower and bath. Tobermory, 4 miles away is the nearest town. However there's a coffee shop on the estate for lunch or tea. Can't wait to go back to Glengorm a third time!

Carolyn from Chino Hills stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2016


xxx

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a great experience for us to stay in this historic and wonderful castle, and it was a dream that comes true.
The staff (Steve) was very friendly and the breakfast was delicate.


Elke from Eitorf stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in June 2016


Wonderful!

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Einfach perfekt! Wir durften 5 Tage und Nächte in dieser wundervollen Unterkunft verbringen. Es war von der Lage, der Lokation und dem Service ein einmaliges Erlebnis. Danke für die schöne Zeit. Wir werden wiederkommen!

Reiner from Berlin stayed at Mingary for 5 nights in June 2016


Wonderful

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle was wonderful.l The view amazing. Staff very pleasant. The only slight downside was that no evening meal was available on site and the drive into Tobermory was a little awkward down the single track road. The lovely Bistro was only open until 5pm.

Guest from Sutton Coldfield West Midlands stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2016


perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Jun 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
all was perfect, location, Customer service+++, comfort
all was perfect, location, Customer service+++, comfort
all was perfect, location, Customer service+++, comfort


Guest from Claix stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in June 2016


A thoroughly enjoyable stay at Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mingary is a large room with a double aspect over the Sound of Mull and the countryside to the west. The en-suite bathroom is also very large. Both rooms afford a high level of comfort and cleanliness and are well equipped. The breakfast was excellent and I would certainly recommend the full Scottish!

Minor niggles.

The bed is extremely comfortable but the duvet was heavy and actually too warm for the time of year. The bed also lacked a valance which detracted from the look of the room.

The temperature of the shower was difficult to adjust ( on the first morning the shower had to be abandoned in favour of a bath because of the scalding temperature). After breakfast, the housekeeper set a reasonable temperature and no further problems were encountered.

The rooms would benefit from a few minor additions, for example a jug to aid refilling the kettle and coffee maker.

Overall, we had a wonderful stay blessed with very fine weather. We particularly liked the informality at the castle and the free whisky (I sampled two each evening and it definitely enhanced my experience). We enjoyed three lovely walks on the estate; to the Bathing Pool, to Flat Rock and to the hide at Loch Mingary (an excellent morning spent here). The Cafe is also very handy and serves excellent lunches.



Keith from Bednall stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in June 2016


70th Birthday Present

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very helpful Staff---------- gentleman and his Indonesian wife + younger girl from Manchester

Excellent breakfast particularly smoked haddock expertly cooked !!

Nice lemon marmalade

The Complimentary Whisky was a nice touch and certainly not abused

The Game Hide was a great venue to observe wildlife

Some Castle info as to where best wildlife viewing would be helpful---------------


Brent from Berwick Upon Tweed stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in June 2016


A beautiful experience in a lovely old castle

Review submitted on Mon, 09 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic stay in a large nicely decorated room, with views over a field of sheep with lambs to the sea.. Lovely library with complementary drinks to relax in. Excellent breakfast in another beautifully decorated room. Very relaxing after some hectic city hopping.

Thomas from Heathcote stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2016


Glengorm.. Wow Wow Wow

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm is an Amazing & Special place.
I stayed in the Mingary it's a large room with a big comfy bed & amazing views!
Staff are friendly & very helpful!





Elaine from Walsall stayed at Mingary for 7 nights in April 2016


Great charming place

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really loved the location the castle. Especially the library and dining room so full of charm.
And the view from our bedroom was just splendid !
It was what we expected.


Guest from Paris stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in April 2016


A special place that exceeds expectations

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Too bad the response form doesn't allow a higher mark than "excellent" to describe our stay. The castle is a once in a lifetime experience, which we plan to repeat often! Highly recommend this extraordinary experience to anyone who loves natural beauty and excellent accommodations paired to create a dream vacation.

A. Angela from Chevy Chase stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in April 2016


Living one day in a castle

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Glengorm Castle is located in a very special place. When approaching on the single track road, you discover it from far away and it looks like a castle from a tale.
Arrived we were greated very kindfully and guided to our Mingary room. This room responded to all our expectations. It had e wonderful view to the sea an the surroundings of the castle. The bed was huge, compared to those we had before and after on our journey.
As it was cold outside it was comfortably heated, both, the large bathroom and our room.
The breakfast in the wonderful diningroom was perfekt.
The bibliothek had the same breathtaking view than our room and an offer of 18 whiskys to taste.
The only negative point was, that we had to return to Tobermory for dinner. The coffeshop was closed when we arrived at 17 and we had no picnic for the evening meal. As the road was very special for us, we are not used to drive on the left side and on single track roads, it was e little bit hard. Some sandwiches would have helped to prevent this disagreable situation.
Spending one day and one night in this place was a wonderful experience and worth to do it. Maybe 2 nights would have been a better choice, so to have more time to take a walk down to the shore.


Monique from Imbringen stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in March 2016


Simply wonderful

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was as magical an experience as you could ever find. An outstandingly beautiful castle in a magical setting. Rooms far better than expected, bathroom completely luxurious. Very friendly people and the best smoked haddock breakfast I have ever tasted. Downside is having to find dinner 5 miles or so away but it is a small price to pay. The whisky library was a revelation- complimentary malts in a cosy drawing room with log fire. An experience I would very highly recommend.

Tracy from Chiseldon stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in March 2016


Mingary room

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The room was very comfortable and spacious with fantastic views. The facilities were good too with tea and coffee, toiletries and good quality towels provided. It had been recently decorated though and for the first night there was a strong smell of paint. Despite having been told that the shower was new I didn't think it was and the water temperature couldn't be controlled. It was far too hot and I had to rinse my hair in the basin as I couldn't bear the heat of the water in the shower.
The rest of the castle was lovely and the atmosphere was very relaxed, it was like being in our own home. The staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. The food was excellent. Overall I would thoroughly recommend it.


M H from Salisbury stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2016


Idyllic spot on Mull

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
THE place to stay if visiting the Isle of Mull.The Castle is in a great setting with scenic walks from the front door,great views from every room,warm personal hospitality and full Scottish breakfasts to start the day and fine whisky in the library at the close of play.What could be better.

Anthony from Egleton stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2016


The best place ever seen !

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Mar 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0

A fairy tale, the beauty of places, both inside and outside, make this a unique place for a dream vacation.
Everything is done to make you feel in his own castle, the honesty bar to the amazing breakfast buffet, passing through the most beautiful parts of the castle that we reserved ....


Druart from Brussels stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2016


A castle, nothing else to say

Review submitted on Thu, 18 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love the place and the person in charge of the hotel.
Glengorm is a dream, i will always remember my stay there. The night in the library reading, drinking good Whisky, and playing games.


Lionel from Noisy Le Sec stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in February 2016


Glengorm Castle is a gem!

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted with Glengorm Castle B&B and its amazing estate grounds in Oct. 2015. An extra treat is that it has its own ancient Standing Stones on the estate, just a short walk from the castle. Our "Mingary" room and en suite bathroom were very large, charmingly furnished and comfortable, with wonderful views. Service and breakfast was superb. And the Library with its many bottles of prime single malt whisky available for complimentary tasting was a thoughtful extra mile of hospitality! (We were new to Whiskey and appreciate that we got our Scottish Whiskey 101 introduction at Glengorm.)
We would love to come back in Summer and stay several days to truly enjoy this amazing experience. Kudos to the family owners who have done a superb job of sharing their vision.


Marnie from Occidental stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in October 2015


wonderful hideaway

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
we arrived in the teeth of storm Abigail, and spent a wonderful night in cosy luxury in front of a roaring fire in the library all evening, then went to the most comfortable bed with the wind whistling around the turrets of the castle whilst being warm inside...lovely. And woke up to the most wonderful views.... fantastic stay, what a find this place is.

Callum from Newcastle stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in November 2015


A Hidden Gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
My husband and I enjoyed a wonderful two days exploring the Glengorm Estate and coastline in beautiful autumn weather. The views from our Mingary Room were breathtaking from sunrise to sunset and star-gazing after dark (no light pollution here) was an unexpected bonus! Our room was spacious, warm and very comfortable and we felt very much at home in the relaxed atmosphere of the lounge, library and dining room of this grand scottish castle. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful both at the Castle and at the Glengorm Estate Restaurant, Shop and Gallery. Looking for an escape from city life - Glengorm ticks all the boxes!

Guest from Glenfarg stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2015


Mmmmmmmm

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just brilliant............................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................

William from Balloch stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in September 2015


Return Visit

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I returned for a visit to Mull in late September, this time with friends, to again spend three nights at the magnificent Glengorm Castle. We booked the Mingary suite for the first time. Sitting on the sofa by our window each morning with coffee, it was simply enchanting to watch the sheep and Highland Cattle grazing, enjoy the sunrise throwing light on the hillsides and distant islands, while sailboats glided by. We enjoyed the beautiful expansive room so much, it was hard to leave each morning, even though we had planned many exciting adventures around Mull. We highly recommend a walk down to the sea from the Castle, the short drive to the Ulva ferry to catch a boat tour out to Staffa, driving around the western coast of Mull, visiting Duart Castle, a scotch tasting after touring Tobermory Distillery, and of course dinner at Cafe Fish. Although Glengorm was fully booked, we often felt as if we were the only ones staying at the castle. We especially enjoyed having wine or complementary scotch in the library in the late evenings by the glow of the fire in the fireplace. The breakfast and service was 5 star quality, and we also enjoyed delicious soup and the best shortbread cookies we have ever tasted at the nearby cafe on the grounds of Glengorm. Marjorie and Tom, the owners who live in the castle, and their entire staff were very friendly and welcoming, and treated us as if we were special guests visiting their home. While we have stayed in many wonderful accommodations in the Scottish Highlands before, we still rank Glengorm Castle as our #1 favorite!

Rob & Sandy Minor
Belvidere, Illinois USA


Robert from Belvidere stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in September 2015


very very special location

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very friendly and familar reception and instruction for using the room, the library and dining room. excellent breakfast and a luxury bedroom. thanks for a very comfortable stay in your familiy home.

Frank from Widen stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2015


great place

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The castle is only about 10 miles from the town of Tobermori, which has plenty of restaurants and activities. The castle is beautiful, the breakfasts were great , and the hosts were very friendly and accommodating.

Daniel from Albuquerque stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2015


Wonderful stay...

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was just a perfect escape for the family and would loved to have stayed longer - thank you! Beautiful gardens, house, facilities and views. Enjoyed the shop and gallery too.

Guest from stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in August 2015


the welcome is poor and any information about the country

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2015
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We decided to come to Glenmore for the castel and the posibility of visits done by the owners.
We arrived the day where was closed and we can't use this posibility
We don't have any contact with the owners. It's not an hotel but a guesthouse.
The place is very nice and the view unforgettable.
But it's not enough and the price is high for just the room


Guest from Asnieres stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in July 2015


Awesome stay in a castle.

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our stay. Beautiful castle in a great location. If you are looking for peace and quiet, this is the place for you. The staff is always available but very hands off. If you are looking to be waited on hand and foot, this might not be the place for you.

Guest from Christiansburg stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2015


Absolutely lovely!

Review submitted on Thu, 30 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Waking up in the morning and looking out the windows at the spectacular view over the grounds down to the water was special. The bedroom was beautiful and the bathroom was larger than some of the bedrooms in our house. Wish we had booked a longer stay that would allow to spend more time exploring the grounds.

Jacklyn from Stony Point stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in July 2015


Magical

Review submitted on Tue, 21 Jul 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place! We loved every minute of it...only wished that we had booked two nights instead of only one. The room was impeccable and the bathroom spacious. Loved the common library, it's view and the complementary whiskeys on offer. The grounds and landscape were, in my daughter's words, "simply magical".

C from Glencoe stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2015


The best place I've ever stayed

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location is beautiful, the rooms gorgeous and spacious, the service impeccable. The facility is a nineteenth-century Gothic revival mansion that looks like a castle perched on a headland overlooking a north bay on the island of Mull. The grounds include lovely gardens, trails to rocky beaches and neolithic sites, a cafe with excellent food, and the services of a nature guide if requested. The place is wonderful. The only downside is the 4-mile drive on single-track road to get to the place from the town of Tobermory. But worth the effort!

Guest from Alexandria stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in June 2015


Dreams are made of this

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have travelled doing my photography as the author of the book 365photographydays. I just wish this had been in my last book. I couldn't fault anything and haven't had a stay like this in ages.I wish all my accommandation was like this.
Form the view of seen the castle for the first time, to the view from the bedroom window. breakfast was a wow , what do i have !!! and the countryside amazing.
I can' come tot wait to have another dream stay ,next tine I stay on Isle of Mull - home of the eagles

thank you
Phil Gould


Guest from stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2015


3 night stay with a difference

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jun 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Only stayed three nights but would have loved to stay longer. Accommodation was first class. Certainly will be back again. Walking on the estate is also a must as is a visit to the coffee shop afterwards.

Guest from Cardiff stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in June 2015


Relaxing with style

Review submitted on Sat, 30 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you look for a stylish and relaxes place to spend some days then Glengorm Castle is the right answer. Perfect service, and pleasant staff. I spent 4 nights in the Mingary room which from my Point of view is the best room in the Castle. From the two windows You overlook the south- and west sea, if the weather is fine you even spot Coll, Muck and Skye.

Negative points? Nothing besides the big wholes in the small road to the Castle...


Guest from Cotterd stayed at Mingary for 4 nights in May 2015


De-acceleration

Review submitted on Wed, 27 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Coming down and relaxing here is very easy. A very comfortable peaceful
experience. The log fire and fine spirits in the glass will enhance the good
feelings even more.


Guest from Riehen stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2015


historic magic

Review submitted on Tue, 26 May 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle is what every traveller to Scotland dreams about.
We have sailed by the Castle many, many times and at long last have stayed and
experienced a true Scottish castle. Though instead of the cold and damp greeting you of the19 century
we received a great welcome, beautifully warm throughout, the bedrooms and bathrooms
had their luxury touches and an excellent Scottish breakfast to start one off for the day.


Guest from Kilconquhar stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in May 2015


VISIT TO GLENGORM CASTLE - MAY 2015

Review submitted on Mon, 18 May 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A beautiful place for relaxation. This room was an excellent size with plenty of room for a settee at the window, and had an entrance hall and separate large bathroom with separate shower cublcle and bath. Breakfast was very good with a great choice We had American visitors with us and they stayed in this room and they loved its double aspect views. The whisky tasting in the Lounge was a big hit and led to our visitors taking home the 'Bowmore' brand. It was just as you would expect a castle to be (brought up-to-date with empathy). One hiccup in room servicing did not spoil our visit and would never deter me from a repeat visit. It was satisfactorily dealt with by the Receptionist. A lovely visit.

Guest from Lochwinnoch stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2015


Review

Review submitted on Fri, 15 May 2015
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great stay all in all but night driving from dinner anywhere was not good along that tiny roadFter drinking! Taxi quite expensive .
The bathroom looked tired with a rusty bath drain and cracked paint . There needs to be instructions on how to work the shower. It was either boiling hot or dribbling out .


Judy from Niagara On The Lake stayed at Mingary for 4 nights in April 2015


Great location with stunning wiews.

Review submitted on Sun, 10 May 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was particularly impressive to stay in a real castle. The location vas wondewrful (on a green hill with a wide wiew to meadows till the see). Room was very large and good furnished. Great wiew also fom there. Excellent breakfast.
Nice walking excursions possible from that location in a quite area with no other houses visible.
Worth a stay, even if the price is a little high.


Guest from Parabiago stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in May 2015


A unique B&B with shades of Downton Abby

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Apr 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A truly magical place, great bed & breakfast. The extreme seclusion on Mull's northeast coasts and natural beauty of her surroundings, makes for a most serene experience. The "Northern Lights" were most spectacular as the danced above the castle, something I've been waiting to see all my life. The owners Tom and Marjorie Nelson were pleasant hosts. I highly recommend Glengrom Castle, an adventure you'll never forget.

Guest from Holbrook stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in March 2015


Felt like a modern day princess!

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wow, what an experience! My friend and I were looking to stay the night in a castle as part of our "Scotland Bucketlist", and Glengorm did not disappoint! Gorgeous on the inside and out, with luxurious furnishings that exude comfort and elegance. Our bedroom and bathroom were enormous, with amazing views of the hills and coast of Mull. Downstairs, the living room, library, dining room made a castle feel like a home, with cozy reading areas and a roaring fire. Breakfast was delicious, and everything including the jams was made fresh from local produce by the owners! All in all, a truly magical experience and we wish we could have stayed longer!

Guest from Buford stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in March 2015


Joe and Kat at Glengorm

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Incredible stay! We only stayed for 3 days but loved the whole time. A majestic, cozy castle with helpful and polite staff, in an amazing location, and with beautiful furnishings. The perfect getaway.

Joe from London stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in February 2015


Perfect stay

Review submitted on Thu, 27 Nov 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Third time in Glengorm. It is an excellent place to stay and walk. You go 150 years back in time, when drinking whisky in the library. Easy reach from the mainland.

Guest from Bergen stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in November 2014


A little piece of heaven

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked Glengorm Castle for a few days of relaxation, peace and quiet and that's exactly what I got. It was absolutely wonderful to stay in such beautiful surroundings and in such a grand but homely place. It was magical to sit by the open fire reading a book and drinking a glass of wine. Marjorie and Tom are lovely, friendly people and made me feel very welcome. I can't recommend this B&B (it's so much more than just a B&B!) highly enough and I'm looking forward to my return trip already!

Guest from Glasgow stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in November 2014


The Mountain family stay

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sometimes it is impossible to completely describe an amazing experience in a few words, but Glengorm castle has it all.

A windy single track road from Tobermory, past a heard is shaggy highland cattle, rattling over cattle grids, then distant views of a pointy castle breaking the horizon. Down a tree lined entrance to the grandest B&B in the world ! Enter a living room of huge soft sofas around a big fireplace, huge hallway of wonderful artwork, then up a grand old wooden starway to a bedroom heaven with big window views across to the Ardnamuchan peninsula.

Comfort surrounds you ! The biggest, deepest, oldest bath awaits you - a huge comfy bed - a peaceful slumber and at a time that suits you, a tasty, locally sourced breakfast served by the hostess brings in a day of long walks to the sea, past standing stones and rocky torrs - lobster boats and ferries on the horizon. To cap off a day exploring - a range of complementary malts in the comfy reading room downstairs will help you complete a day or two in dreamland.

The hosts just have an amazing, friendly way of making you feel at home in their home.

Our two wee girls thought they became princesses for a day - they where ! I was even a King !

Mingary room has it all - comfort and wee touches that will bring you back and force you to tell your friends.

On the other hand, we might just keep it secret !


Guest from Cupar stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2014


Heaven in Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband, 11yo and I stayed at Glengorm on Mull for two nights, but would have preferred two months. Views to die for, staff who were like family, and breakfasts that alone were worth the drive. Can't wait to return.

Sarah from Caulfield South stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2014


Great hardware, modest software

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Oct 2014
3.2
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The spot of the castle and the castle itself are outstanding, our room was big sith great views, also the library with numerous complimentaty single malts and the breakfast room we enjoyed very much. However many details (quality of service, room couldn't be locked, the way to welcome guests,...) were more youth hostel like and did not jusiify the price.

Joerg from Rüschlikon stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2014


Amazing castle

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Amazing castle with amazing views!! Lovely room with great view! Owners very nice. Could have been a little more attention to service at breakfast....

Fiona from Norwich stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2014


Fabulous stay

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Sep 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just had a fabulous time in an amazing location, helped of course by beautiful weather. We were very lucky. The upkeep of the castle must be a huge responsibility but the Nelsons do a great job.

Guest from Whitby stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2014


Good place but not really a hotel

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Sep 2014
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Room great, views great, breakfast great. Not really a hotel though. More of a higher class B&B. On arrival, there was no one to greet us so we weren't really sure how things worked here. After a few minutes, Tom wandered in and showed us to our room. Nice guy. He explained how things went and left us to our own devices. And that's the point - if questions had arisen during our stay, there was no one to answer them, unless we could find one of the owners. This didn't really affect the quality of our stay though. We had a great time. The crowning glory of this place though is being able to sit in the library and enjoy COMPLIMENTARY WHISKY! That's right - free whisky and a good selection too. Overall, we really enjoyed staying here, although we thought the room was a wee bit overpriced. Would we stay here again? Yes - very much so. But it's definitely a B&B.

Guest from Kilmarnock stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2014


Our favourite Place

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We first came across Glengorm back in 2001 when we were looking for a low key castle in Scotland to hold our wedding. Glengorm did not cater for weddings at that stage but put us in touch with a local vicar and kindly offered us the use of the library to hold the service it was just what we wanted for ourselves, kids and parents and we fell in love with the place once we stayed there. Glengorm has been our favourite place on all our internet passwords ever since. We decided to return last week to check it out again and it was even more beautiful that we remembered. We spent the evening in our room looking out at the fantastic sunset and then woke up to the most amazing blue skys and sea, it really is quite breath taking. The cafe and gallery is a great addition to Glengorm. The macaroni cheese was just what we needed after a long walk around the grounds. The only thing that puzzled me is that i have spoken to many people who have been to Tobermory and never actually discovered Glengorm, they dont know what they were missing. We hope to return again one day,and hopefully our kids will take their kids but in the mean time it will remain - our favourite place.

Guest from Abingdon stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in August 2014


It definately has the wow factor!

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful, picturesque and peaceful place to stay, really friendly owner and all staff. Nothing is too much trouble fantastic views from our room. Great atmosphere sitting in the library in the evening with the fire lit and of course my husband appreciated the added bonus of trying the whisky on offer! Good variety on breakfast menu loved trying the different teas. Lovely walks in surrounding countryside excellent stocked coffee shop close by on the estate.

Guest from Newark stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in August 2014


Fantastic viwes

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Aug 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely location in a warm and friendly home. Probably could do with a face lift and some cosmetic updating. Looking slightly worn, but that didn't take away from the beauty of the surrounds. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Staff were
lovely and helpful.


Guest from Halifax stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in August 2014


Fantastic location and excellent service

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm Castle has panoramic views that would be difficult to equal. The castle has great character and the rooms are very comfortable. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Breakfast is a great experience, for the quality (and quantity!) of the food and the views from the dining room. In the lounge there is a large selection of malt whiskies that you are invited to sample. The castle is a 19th century structure, so you shouldn't expect the latest technology or trendy furnishings, but this is all part of the character and the experience of staying there.

The Coffee Shop is highly recommended, not just for the quality of the food but also because it offers a range of walks around the beautiful Glengorm estate. Exploring the estate is well worth the effort, with its standing stones, ruined crofters' village, hill fort, nature pod and many other attractions.


Guest from Crowthorne stayed at Mingary for 7 nights in August 2014


Stunning scenery

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A quick trip to Mull, just overnight, but we will now return for a longer stay. Beautiful house and lovely staff. The smell of the wood fires/chimneys was great and really welcoming. Comfy beds and wonderful views from the room. Would have been nice to have access to the turret from the room which could be used to sit and read a book whilst the children were asleep but still being able to keep an eye on them. Fantastic breakfast that set us up for the day. Great roads on Mull, much much better than we were expecting. Great walks.
Only negative was the carriage of sound from doors closing around the castle when we were trying to sleep, and was then woken by this too. Maybe rubber draught excluders on doors and closers would help with this?


Guest from Hampton in Arden stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2014


Great experience

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a great experience, as usual (3rd time at Glengorm)

Everything was fine, except one... Wifi
Wifi wasn't working at all (no guest was able to connect) and data mobile connection was very bad, please install a good access point in the main hall.

I'll soon be back to check that :-)

Best

Phil


Guest from Lonay stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2014


Glengorm Castle is paradise.

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a wonderful, unique place & we highly recommend it. Spend as much time as you can here and be sure to explore the property, which is vast and gorgeous. Sunsets, farm and sea views are amazing! Standing stones were an added bonus and a must-see. Great Scottish breakfast! We stayed in the Mingary room which was huge and beautiful, had a breathtaking view, and even a turret! Owners and staff are warm, friendly and extremely helpful. You will love it!

Guest from Halifax stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2014


Amazing place, total calm!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Jul 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I have been to many places but the silence, calm and amazing views at Glengorm Castle beats most other places. Everything was great!
Everyone should have this place on their "bucket list". If I come back I will be sure to book more than 2 nights.


Guest from Älta stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in July 2014


Western Isles of Scotland

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Glengorm is in a stunning location, great views, and is a grand building. The Mingary room is beautifully spacious with a really large ensuite bathroom. Only criticism I have of the room is that it looks like they've put odd bits a pieces of old furniture
in there because they have nowhere else to store them - needs a bit of interior decorating.
Breakfasts were very good; the Glengorm Coffee Shop is a great addition to the property.

Note: Colin is from Mt Torrens, not Brighton


Guest from Brighton stayed at Mingary for 5 nights in July 2014


Stunning views

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved our one night stay at glengorm castle. Lovely spacious room and adjoining bathroom. The views were spectacular. Hotel staff friendly and informal and a great breakfast provided. We chose this place to stay as it was dog friendly and our labradoodle enjoyed the walks around the castle and being able to stay with us in our room. We would return.

Paula from St. Andrews stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in July 2014


Short stay at Glengorm

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Jul 2014
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect for a complete break away from reality - truly the 'end of the road' - only downside was the mix max of distressed furniture which must be impossible to keep dust free - but a remarkable establishment nevertheless and enjoyed immensely.

Guest from Renfrew stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in July 2014


A short holiday in Mull - A wonderful location. Family-run B&B without much hospitality.

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Jun 2014
2.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
2.0
There seemed no-one available to show us around this large country house. Very untidy and looking as if guests were not expected, however we learned afterwards that the rooms were all occupied.
The breakfast was superb and the walks on the estate stunning.


Guest from Nr Eyemouth stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in June 2014


Fantastic break.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 May 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutely fantastic stay - receiving an upgrade was the icing on the cake. Excellent cooked breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed the walks around the estate. 1 night not enough! The staff and environment were faultless. Only small problems were the shower which stopped working for a bit, and the bath where the plug did not fit so water drained out. We did mention this to a member of staff who was apologetic and went away to look in to it immediately.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in May 2014


Absolutely the best

Review submitted on Sun, 25 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a very special stay on our journey. The location, though remote, is stunningly beautiful. The accommodations are quite nicely appointed and very comfortable. The hosts made us very welcome, we felt like friends instead of paying guests. I would definitely stay here again if given the opportunity.

Guest from Halifax stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in May 2014


Fantastic location and stay.

Review submitted on Mon, 05 May 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were there two years ago, finding excellent hospitality, discretion and homeliness that we decided to come all the way from Italy to get married at Glengorm.

Guest from MILANO stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in April 2014


April 2014

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Apr 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An extremely memorable couple of nights. We were met by the lovely Pam on arrival who had upgraded us to the above room. No keys to the room which was so relaxing and you felt so safe. What a fantastic room, enormous bed, huge bathroom, all the facilities you needed , the TV nicely hidden in the wardrobe and such fantastic views.
Breakfast was at a civilised time of between 8-10am and such a tasty meal with fantastic choices.
Now the castle you could use like your own home, pop a log on the fire if you wished and help yourself to complimentary Whiskey in the library, about 20 to choose from, whilst picking up a book, playing a game of cards or watching the amazing view.
A truly family run home, we couldn't have felt more at home, we will certainly return.


Guest from Bath stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in April 2014


Wedding Guests

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Mar 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the castle for a friend's wedding. What a spectacular venue. Our room was extremely comfortable, the staff were brilliant and the whisky in the library was an added bonus. Absolutely no hesitation in recommending the whole experience.

Guest from London stayed at Mingary for 4 nights in February 2014


Late Nov Early Dec stay

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Dec 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved the Mingary Room at Glengorm Castle. The room was phenomenal, the breakfasts delicious and the views were spectacular, both day and the stars at night. Will always treasure our stay.

Guest from Cave Creek stayed at Mingary for 3 nights in November 2013


Small wedding

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Nov 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful. Views, huge room an bathroom, worth the money, staff where outstanding and couldn't do enough for you, lovely grounds and plenty of ground to cover for walks etc would recommend it to anyone

G from Turiff stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2013


A beautiful fairytale place to stay.

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Glengorm is situated in a fantastic position on a cliff looking out towards the sea. It is a stunning setting for a fairytale castle. The castle itself is beautiful. It is clean and comfortable and the staff are very helpful and welcoming.

Chris from Manchester stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2013


Fantastic location and facilities

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Oct 2013
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would recommend this location to anyone that considered a stay here, the location, ambience, views and peace and quite (if that's what you like) as well as a first class breakfast are all 5 star, open log fires, well appointed lounges and dining room, make this an unforgettable location to stay at.

Guest from Huldenberg stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in October 2013


Glengorm Castle

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Oct 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at the Castle. The staff and service was terrific. The scenery at Glengorm Castle was absolutely superb. Food was great and hospitality was terrific. Would recommend this holiday destination to everyone. A+++. Thank-you.

Guest from stayed at Mingary for 2 nights in September 2013


Queen for a day!

Review submitted on Mon, 30 Sep 2013
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As our big splurge night for our vacation we wanted everything to be perfect and we were not disappointed. Pam and Tom were very welcoming and professional. The castle is breathtaking and immaculate. Breakfast was lovely. The library had a diverse selection of whiskeys to sample. The grounds are beautiful and very well cared for. It is apparent that it is truly a labor of love to provide the B&B services and they have not cut corners. Dinner from the coffee shop was scrumptious. Highly recommend taking advantage of a guided nature walk with Steph, the resident naturalist. She is very knowledgeable and fun and it's the best way to truly appreciate the history, flora and fauna of the estate.

Gail from Clarksville stayed at Mingary for 1 nights in September 2013