FB Twitter

Cressland

Cressland

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 15 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


VisitEngland 5* Gold 4 bed Grade II* C15th cottage on famous Splash in picturesque Kersey, Suffolk.

A perfect retreat in the Suffolk countryside

Review submitted on Mon, 19 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Kersey is picturesque and Cressland by the Slash sits in an iconic position in the village. With country walks on the doorstep and Hadleigh and Laveneham nearby there is much history and architecture to explore in an area made rich by the wool trade. Cressland is a roomy and extremely well equipped and comfortable property. The owner Louise is very attentive and welcoming. Cressland is highly recommended.



A lovely place to stay in a beautiful Suffolk village

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cressland is a fine period cottage in a prime location in the picturesque village of Kersey. Fittings and furnishings are of a high standard, providing all the facilities one is likely to need, while maintaining the cottage's abundant character. The 4 bedrooms were ideal for our family party of 6. Access to the bedroom and bathroom on the top floor is via a tricky wooden staircase and there are a number of low beams to avoid, so not ideal for anyone with mobility problems (or perhaps after an extended visit to the excellent Bell Inn a mere 50 yards away). Everywhere else in the house is easily accessed.
The weather wasn't brilliant during our stay but there is a pretty enclosed garden in front of the house which would be perfect for relaxing and dining al fresco in warmer, sunnier times.
Due to Covid restrictions we weren't able to meet Louise during our stay but communication by email, text and telephone from the start of the booking process and throughout was excellent. The welcome hamper was outstanding. We had a minor plumbing issue during our stay which was sorted as quickly as possible.
All in all, highly recommended.




Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, Cresslands is a wonderful old cottage, full of atmosphere, beautifully located in a lovely village. Louise is an excellent hostess, incredibly generous with her welcome pack, She is also very easy and straightforward to deal with.

We stayed for 10 days and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves.




Anniversary Holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 25 Sep 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Louise is a great host, very helpful on the phone and email. Unfortunately due to Covid we didn't actually have a face-to-face meeting, but the welcome hamper etc. was just as described.
The house is lovely and quirky and very spacious. We were 6 adults and didn't feel cramped at all, and with 3 bathrooms there weren't any issues with toileting either.
The attic suite, 'Witchfinder General's' room has great views of the church and garden, and the bath is just great. A rather low beam in the bedroom was bumped a few times, but the house is lovely and quiet so sleeping was great. The stairs up to the attic suite are rather steep and uneven, so not great if you have mobility problems.
Private enclosed garden with charcoal BBQ was also great, we used it several times during our stay. The Bell Inn in the village is only a couple of doors away (very handy for staggering back!) and the sisters who run it are very friendly and helpful and the food and drinks are good too.
There's plenty of walks nearby, and it's only a short drive to shops or the sea-side and picturesque villages to explore. There's no shop in the village of Kersey itself, but we did a Tesco delivery to the house for the day we arrived which solved that problem. Also had a curry delivered from nearby village one night to save having a nominated driver.
We would definitely return, a very nice place for a chilled break with friends or family in this really peaceful part of the country.




Unforgettable stay at an absolutely stunning house

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Cressland.
The house is absolutely beautiful, the hosts have really pulled all the stops to provide all the comforts required for our stay, from the large welcome basket full of local delicacies and home made scones through quality cook and table ware to snow white towels, gowns and luxury bedding.
My and my brother's family (group of 7) used the house for our base to explore the stunningly beautiful village of Kersey and the surrounding area. This is a must see and feel experience. It's like living in a parallel world to the current COVID maddness.
We would definitely recommend this property and would happily stay again.




Wonderful base for family holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect week away with the family in this beautiful house full of period character. Host's attention to detail was phenomenal. Our every need catered for. Cressland is the perfect base for visiting this beautiful part of the country though we did spend some time just enjoying being together in the house and its lovely garden. Our two year old grandson very much enjoyed watching the cars going through The Splash!



Peaceful and luxurious

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A charming and peaceful house,in a tranquil village. Louise's attention to detail was wonderful. Bath robes, toiletries, and a welcome hamper with high quality local produce, all made our holiday feel special. Everything in the house was well thought out, and of an excellent standard. Lovely furnishings, silky smooth bed linen and a kitchen with every utensil you can imagine. The garden was so pretty, and a lovely place to eat or relax. Thank you.



Gorgeous

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Dec 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a brilliant weekend in this beautiful house, every care had been taken to ensure our stay was comfortable including welcome hamper dressing gowns and slippers! The beds were really comfortable we all loved the fresh clean white bed linen warm duvets and plenty of towels. The sofas were comfy and the kitchen well equipped. All of this in such a pretty setting.
Thoroughly recommended.




Wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Gorgeous house, really comfortable bedding and towels, a high-end experience. Thank you for the welcome basket too it was delicious. Will be back!



wonderful birthday week

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful cottage, just had everything we needed and more. Enjoyed my birthday champagne and great hamper of goodies. Lovely village, lots to do in area.
Amazingly comfortable beds. Family didn't want to leave,hope we can come again.




A beautiful period property in a lovely Suffolk setting

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely period property with fresh flowers in the rooms, crisp white linen, wonderful welcome basket packed with goodies, fresh cake and wine. Would highly recommend



Wonderful old cottage with bags of character - a great privilege to experience a piece of history!

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our host Louise was very helpful and friendly, explaining how everything worked and where everything was when we arrived. The welcome hamper was certainly top if not best in class and full of local goodies with a choice of cake and wine. We selected a Victoria sponge which was delicious. The cottage was comprehensively equipped - especially the kitchen which had every utensil, plate, cup, glass, pot, pan, kettle, coffee makers, food storage boxes etc etc. We very much appreciated all the high quality bed linen and fluffy, thick towels.Then we come to the cottage itself. Each room was full of character and age. The quirkiness and angles of the various wooden beams, sloping floors and ancient window frames were just wonderful. You could get a real sense of history and how our forefathers constructed the building. And then to Kersey - what a ridiculously pretty, ancient and quiet village. A must for any history buff into the Tudor period! You could not get more chocolate box than this place. And with a great and no less ancient pub less than one hundred yards up the road with traditional pub grub, good guest ales and very friendly staff - what was there not to like! We loved it - and if future visitors don't, then we would feel very sorry for them!



Cressland, Kersey a wonderful place

Review submitted on Sat, 18 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A stunning house with tons of character in a beautiful village, close to a 14th century pub. On arrival, the first thing that struck us was the cleanliness of the place. There were ample utensils supplied, the bed linen was of top class quality, as were the robes supplied by the owner, Louise. In fact she had given every attention to detail including a wonderful greeting hamper which included a selection of tea and coffee, bacon, eggs, bread, milk, a beautiful home made chocolate cake, to name but a few items. Other nice gestures included a bottle of wine, and flowers in every room. Overall, a really nice place to stay in a perfect location to enable us to explore other interesting places in Suffolk. Louise was extremely pleasant with which to deal, and we are indebted to her for ensuring that our 2 week stay at Cressland was a really enjoyable experience, one that we would like to repeat at some stage.






A beautiful cottage in an a delightful Suffolk village

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cressland is an exquisite house where every possible consideration has been given to the comfort of its guests. The house and garden are havens of tranquility and the village of Kersey exemplifies what is best about the English countryside. Louise's attention to detail made our holiday really special; Cressland exceeded our already high expectations in every way.



Beautiful house, made extra special by the finishing touches

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We've had three family holidays at Cressland now - it suits our annual gathering of three generations very well. The house has everything we need: comfortable sitting room with plenty of space, well-equipped kitchen, characterful bedrooms upstairs. One rather chilly visit we used both the open fire and wood burner and the house felt very cosy. In better weather we have had most of our meals outside in the lovely garden. It's the finishing touches that make Cressland special: fresh flowers around the house, crisp white bed linen, thick towels and bath robes. The welcome basket is generous and filled with lots of local produce - Louise's cake is always a highlight!