FB Twitter

Lower Mill at Wheel Farm (2)

Lower Mill at Wheel Farm (2)

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 14 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.5
Location
4.6
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.8


Lower Mill is a cosy one bedroom cottage sleeping up to two and located at Wheel Farm near Combe Martin. The cottage is ideal for couples and is happy to welcome dogs. Guests can benefit from excellent onsite leisure facilities or explore the local area with North Devon's premier beaches within easy reach.

Brilliant

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Jul 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Our stay was so quiet and relaxing in such a comfortable home. The apartment had so much space and everything had been thought of to make it a really lovely stay. We will definitely come back.




Review of Wheel Farm Holiday Cottages

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful place, tranquil and relaxing. Due to COVID rules, swimming pool was done by a booking system per cottage, this was a great idea, we loved having the pool to ourselves for 50 minutes.



A happy holiday!!

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We SO enjoyed our stay here!! The cottage is in a super location and is furnished with everything you might need. A tranquil and beautiful spot. All COVID safe. Nice pool an advantage too. Thank you!!



May stay at lower Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 23 May 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to find this property as a last minute get away ! We had a lovely restful week in this beautiful location. The hosts were really helpful. I especially enjoyed my pool sessions, with covid restrictions you have the pool to yourself and availability was very good ! The cottage was lovely and warm compared to our home
What would have made it 5 stars overall ?
Improved sound insulation between up and downstairs - we could hear every footstep and door opening and hope equally we didn’t disturb ! However, we’re early birds and this may not be an issue for others
Improved mattress - not uncomfortable but worn
Kitchen storage is very limited but there is a generous cupboard near bedroom . Cooker instructions would be helpful .
Dog walking - it’s great to have immediate options for a short walk/toilet. Otherwise we had to get in car and drive 10-15 minutes to park up for a decent walk, we recommend Heddon valley ( turn left out of drive) . Sat nav confusing ! The road to Hunters inn ( our favourite walk to a little bay) is not for the faint hearted but the views are soporific. Some Coast walks with dogs are not so easy in season and parking can be a pain and costly ( eg Combe Martin) . Not many paths have parking nearby except on moor paths/coast.
Fish and chips in Combe Martin is good ! ( black and white - pay parking opposite, ok for quick pop in )
Watersmeet is worth the trip and the village of lynton is charming. Broom hill sculpture garden is also worth a visit , cheaper at door than eventbrite. The Reservoir is also very nice, you can park free. There is so much to see !
Access to a decent supermarket - we saw Tesco’s delivering . There is a community shop inBerrynarbour , nice little village .
Finally, we were assured there was a smart TV- it’s just a basic one but there are dvds to borrow - as we were at the cottage quite a bit this was more important and a bit of a disappointment
Reception - problematic at times but not unusual in rural setting Note,there is a £4 charge for laundry each time

This is such a beautiful area to visit and would wholeheartedly recommend it ! For young families it will be a delight !Very relaxing , thank you !




very good

Review submitted on Sat, 22 May 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very welcoming owners, good sized accommodation, and the pool just made the holiday as the weather was pretty poor.



Devon Spring Break

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Apr 2021
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Overall a delightful spring break - the cottage was comfortable, well equipped and, if your looking for tranquility, in a delightful but slightly remote location (you do need to have a car to explore Devon and to get to a shop, pub or restaurant). The pool was a huge bonus but a bit on the chilly side, likewise having mobility issues for me the steepish gravel drive way was challenging. Richard and Alli were super hosts. Would hope to return sometime.



A wonderful location for a relaxing break.

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at lower mill, wheel farm which is a lovely setting and very peaceful. Richard and Alli were attentive hosts and made us feel very welcome. We were lucky enough to get away just before the second lockdown and even had the use of the pool which was amazing.

A stunning location that was great for us to explore north Devon from and a very well thought out place to stay. We thought it was the best place we have stayed in terms of room and facilities, feeling very cosy when coming back from a days exploring. We would definitely recommend staying here it was very clean and comfortable with all you need available.

I’m sure we will be back in the not too distant future!




Wheel Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Given the wet and windy weather and the limitations imposed by Covid, Wheel Farm provided a great autumn break. Tennis court is not functional because the surface hasn’t been maintained but the swimming pool was a good resource and owners were extremely helpful.



Cosy cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Had a lovely week at Lower Mill cottage. Richard and Alli have gone to great lengths to ensure the cottages and whole site are COVID secure so it felt a safe place to be. Grounds very well kept and attractive, plenty of space. Lovely to watch the birds feeding from the window. Swimming pool clean and well kept with a booking system for exclusive use. Shame sauna not available but understandable in the circumstances. Our cottage was warm and cosy. Didn’t need to use the log burner but everything provided if we had to. Only slight down side for us was the noise of people in the accommodation above. Not particularly noisy but could hear them moving about particularly at night time - old building - creaky floors! Felt the cottage would benefit from an extractor fan for cooking as kitchen/dining/sitting room combined. Also a couple more pans, larger bowls, measuring jug would have been useful helpful. All in all a great place to stay. Thanks Richard & Alli



jills 60th birthday family get together

Review submitted on Sun, 26 Jul 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we had a lovely week with our family. the children loved exploring the grounds. barbecues were handy for family get togethers. the adults enjoyed playing tennis. location made it easy to get to beaches and walks. clean and comfortable accomodation. thank you to richard and alli for being so welcoming.



Hi we found our stay wonderful cannot fault the cottages ! Staff pleasant and was more than willing

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi we found our stay wonderful cannot fault the cottages !
Staff pleasant and was more than willing to help out !
If we were ever in the area again we would surely return !
Thank you !




Lovely place

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely place nice and clean. Pool and sauna were lovely. Friendly hosts. Will definitely like to visit again.



Great find

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Mar 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay. A complex of converted farm buildings in lovely surroundings. In total sleeps around 50 in various configurations. We were there in March awful weather but warm and cosy. Not a criticism but be aware: kitchen fully equipt but no store goods e.g. salt, pepper, oil, clingfilm etc. If you think you'll need it bring it.



Harry Roberts replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Margaret, thank you very much for your lovely review, so glad you had a good time despite the weather. Sorry about the lack of salt,pepper etc but with so many cottages it's impossible to provide everything. We look forward to seeing you at Wheel Farm again and if you need to book again please remember to visit www.wheelfarmcottages.co.uk or www.myfavouritecottages.co.uk. Best Regards Harry

Spring break

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Mar 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Although the weather was challenging we were warm and comfortable in lower mill.
Everything we needed was provided.
We had the pool to ourselves on the occasions we used it.
Owners friendly and making sure we were comfortable and asking if we needed anything else.
Altogether a good week.