FB Twitter

Middle Leys Cottage

Middle Leys Cottage

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 8 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.3
Location
4.8
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.4


The dog and family friendly Middle Leys Cottage sleeps up to six in three bedrooms and is ideally located in the heart of Exmoor guaranteeing peaceful breaks away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

Middle Leys cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was clean and comfortable not sure if because of covid 19 there was little in the way for us to clean the property during the week, ie. no hoover provided and only a broken brush and pan for brushing the floors. No plug for using in the kitchen sink and no washing up bowl so that made things a little difficult. Very little in the way of cooking utensils, ie. no carving knives, peeling knives or any cooker tray in which to prepare/cook our Sunday lunch. The neighbours were very welcoming and helpful and leant us their knives for the week.
Cottage is in a wonderful position with lovely views and despite the above little niggles we had a most enjoyable stay.




Lovely stay on Exmoor

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a Lovely location which has plenty of parking. Withypool is a lovely village with a well stocked shop/Post office, tea rooms and pub, less than half a mile away. There is also a river for children to play in.



Middle Leys

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The only draw back was the dishwasher wasn’t working during our stay, although we were advised that someone was expected, but they never arrived.
As I enjoy cooking I found the kitchen equipment was very limited,for example there was no small kitchen knife,scissors,Scales rolling pin.
No plug for kitchen sink which with a lack of dish washer made it awkward.




Perfect hideaway

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Fantastic cottage, set in a stunning location.
A group of us stayed over the new year for 5 nights with children and dogs, we had enough a fantastic time.




Good

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very comfortable and cosy cottage. Great to be able to walk to village for shop, tea rooms and local walks.
It would have been good to have had coat hooks in cottage as we had wet waterproof coats and trousers each day and no where to hang them.




A rural retreat for autumn weather

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was perfect for our walk along the River Barle we were close to the village of Withypool with a good pub,Tea shop and Post Office /store.
The accommodation was clean and country cottage feel with plenty of hot water and central heating which in Autumn is required for a cosy stay.
The farm drive could be repaired so transport was smoother on returning from our walks. We have a great welcome and everything was good including the views over the village.




Middle Leys

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with outstanding views of Exmoor from the garden. Very rural location but central for exploring Exmoor National Park. Very dog and horse friendly - hope to return with equines next time! Made to feel very welcome by Phillipa and Neil.



Harry Roberts, Managing Director replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Middle Leys Cottage. We are glad you had a good time and were able to enjoy the cottage's excellent location within the National Park. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future, and perhaps hosting your horses too.

Lovely stay

Review submitted on Sat, 20 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Middle Leys was a wonderful cottage for us, my in-laws and our two babies to stay. It was peaceful, clean and comfortable, with some luxury touches with the mini toiletries provided and the bottle of wine and box of fudge was greatly appreciated! My in-laws said it looked even better than in the pictures. Withypool is a lovely village and it was a great base to explore the local area, and close to the Devon border too. We did have a slight problem with the cooker, as the oven runs hotter than any we had ever used before! It worked fine, we just had to cook at 30 degrees lower than we normally would and check the food every 20 minutes or so to make sure it wasn’t getting (too) burnt! Just a heads up so you don’t scorch your first meal like we did. The water from the hot taps also comes out at basically boiling temperature so you had to be careful with that too. There were some kitchen essentials provided (tea, coffee, salt and pepper, washing up liquid and a sponge and cloth, and a dish towel) but not things like cooking oil or dishwasher tablets. Also there is a barbecue but you have to purchase your own coals so it’s not really worth it unless you’ll be using it several times during your stay. Overall we had a restful, problem-free stay and would definitely consider staying at Middle Leys again.



Harry Roberts, Managing Director replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely review of Middle Leys Cottage on Exmoor. We are happy to hear you had a good time at the cottage and enjoyed its location. We hope we can welcome you back in the future.