FB Twitter

Woodpecker at Lea Hill

Woodpecker at Lea Hill

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 6 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.3
Location
4.7
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.5


The one bedroom Woodpecker at Lea Hill Cottages in Membury on the Devon and Dorset boarder is the perfect holiday home for couples looking to explore this stunning area. The cottage is within easy reach of the Jurassic Coast and is happy to welcome dogs.

Nice little cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Oct 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a few nights in October and had a very enjoyable time. It’s a nice little place tucked well away in the countryside and the hosts were very pleasant and accommodating. Would highly recommend this place for a couple wishing to explore the east/ south Devon area.



Nice cottage, lovely setting

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
This is a very compact little cottage nestling in a beautiful setting in the Devon countryside. We spent a lovely week here exploring the locality, including lots of bracing walks. The cottage itself is very small but well equipped and reasonably well furnished, although some of it is a bit dated and tired. We had a very nice time and I think the cottage is good value, but there are a couple of issues which I think would improve the customer experience.
Firstly, the heating is a mistake. Basically it is underfloor heating attached to the ceilings. every schoolboy knows that heat rises, so a heater attached to the ceiling isn't going to heat the room, and it doesn't. This means that alternative heating is also needed which, since there is an additional charge for electricity (!?) adds significantly to the cost.
Secondly, we were 'welcomed' with a personal introduction to the cottage. However this consisted mainly of a list of instructions about what was expected of us as visitors to the cottage, what we should and should not do. There are also numerous little notices on the same topic around the cottage. Frankly, this didn't feel very welcoming. In fact it felt a little as though we were a bit of an inconvenience and potentially an actual nuisance.
As I said, I think these are issues which could be relatively easily revisited, but they didn't overshadow our visit, which was a very relaxing and enjoyable week.




Susan (owner Lea Hill) replied 170 days ago
We are grateful to the guests for taking the trouble to write a review. We are sorry to hear that they felt unwelcome, especially as, when we asked about their comfort in the cottage during their stay, they did not indicate anything negative. If they had, we could have cleared up any confusion and explained again that information about the infra- red heating (which heats objects below the ceiling panels) and the heating controls are easily seen in the cottage. Kind regards and thanks Susan

great stay at woodpecker cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
lovely cottage, lovely countryside, great location, and lovely owners, they were very helpful. Very good place for the dogs with an on site field to run in.



Quiet Dog Friendly Break

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were delighted to find Woodpecker Cottage. It is hard to find a small place to stay that allows 3 dogs. Most that do are much larger and bit too expensive for just two people needing one bedroom. It had everything we were looking for - rural, enclosed garden and plenty of walks while not being too far from a shop. The doggy file in the cottage was so helpful and allowed us to plan some days out. We have already recommended to a friend.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very traditional cottage, pretty, tiny but cosy and very well equipped, almost in the middle of nowhere. Very relaxing place to stay if you are happy to drive for 10 mins through twisty narrow lanes.




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Lynn, thanks for your good review and we are delighted that you had a good time and look forward to seeing you again soon. Regards Harry

Heavenly peaceful!

Review submitted on Sat, 25 May 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely week’s stay in Woodpecker, beautifully located cottage in Membury, waking up to bird song and lambs bleating!
Will be looking up returning later in the Summer!




Harry Roberts - My Favourite Cottages replied more than 1 year ago
Hi Shahista, Thank you for writing a lovely review about Woodpecker Cottage and delighted that you had a good time. Please remember to look at www.leahillcottages.co.uk next time you are planning a holiday. Cheers Harry