FB Twitter

The Coach House

The Coach House

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 24 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.4
Location
5.0
Value
4.2
Customer
Service
4.6


The original Carriage and Coach House, dating from 1760, makes a perfect Cotswold holiday house, sleeping up to eleven people. The main entrance opens into the spacious 30 foot living room perfect for family gatherings.

Family celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked all five properties for a family celebration. Everything was perfect and everyone st Upper Court could not have been more helpful. Thank you

Peter from stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in October 2019


Wedding Upper Court June 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Diana and Bill were a delight throughout our wedding planning. They were always available to run through our wedding details and we met with them regularly in their beautiful house in the run up to our big day. They accommodated our request for our own caterer and wedding coordinator and it felt like nothing was too much to ask. The cottages were clean and suitable for our large party and the location was perfect. All our guests commented on what a stunning venue Upper Court is, and those who slept on site all enjoyed their stay. It is, however, a shame that they only deal with one marquee supplier as we found the marquee company difficult to deal with and overpriced.

Rowa from stayed at The Coach House for 2 nights in June 2019


An amazing weekend!!

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was my sisters hen party and this was the most perfect setting.
The houses were beautiful and the grounds and surrounding area are amazing.
Thank you so much for being so welcoming - we had the best time!


Ashley from Northampton stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in July 2019


Golden Wedding celebration

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
An excellent venue for our family get-together of 21 people incorporating Courtyard Cottage & Stable cottage. Kitchen a little small.

Robin from Northampton stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in May 2019


picturesque location with lovely pub

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Dec 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
lovely village with great pub. The crown has a lot of ambience friendly staff good food and beers
The coach house has a spacious layout plenty of room to play board games .An outdoor games room where we enjoyed table tennis
good size oven in which we cooked a very large turkey.plenty of crockery and large refectory table
we needed the log burner lit most of the time as the high ceilinged lounge was draughty a bit cold with rug rolled up as we had a dog
A memorable xmas happy stay with church bells ringing and owls hooting a real get away


Catherine from Staines stayed at The Coach House for 4 nights in December 2018


Birthday gathering

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Nov 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The location was perfect it was my 60th birthday and my family came together for the weekend celebration
There are plenty of things for the children to do
The accommodation was wonderful
It made it a special birthday
I would highly recommend


Alison from Bolton stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in November 2018


A wonderful weekend away in the country

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A big group of us were treated to a fantastic weekend away in the countryside. The grounds are breathtaking, and the area surrounding the cottages were perfect for long walks. The Crown Inn provided a fantastic Sunday Roast and the cottages themselves were comfortable and peaceful. The only downside would be communication in the lead up to our check-in could have been slightly better handled. Overall, a fabulous setting for our school reunion and we all agreed we would certainly recommend Upper Court to our friends and family.

Max from stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in November 2018


Great property, would recommend

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hired 3 of the cottages with friends - they are great properties in a beautiful location.
Grounds of the house are amazing - on a lake with swans.
Pub near by.
I hope we will return next year.
We had an issue with a power cut, and the owners did everything they could to rectify.


Nova from stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in October 2018


Wedding weekend

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Both families have just stayed at Upper Court for my son's and daughter in law's wedding. The Coach House and cottages were all lovely. The kitchen at the The Coach House was very well equipped and even has salt and pepper! The beds were very comfortable. The bathrooms had nice toiletries and plenty of good quality toilet paper. Bill and Diana Herford, the owners of upper court were charming and very helpful. It was a magical setting for a wedding.

from stayed at The Coach House for 2 nights in September 2018


Family holiday venue in the Cotswolds

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A wonderful location for a party and for a family holiday in a beautiful Cotswolds village. Located near to the scenic and historic Bredon Hill, there are many footpaths and bridleways to explore. The house is roomy and well equipped and has a good pub with delicious food very nearby.

Guest from Catsfield, Battle stayed at The Coach House for 7 nights in July 2018


A weekend in Kemerton

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Utterly fabulous break - location was beautiful and totally peaceful. We felt immediately welcomed and the hosts were friendly and relaxed. It was so nice to go to such a lovely place for my Hen Do - indeed, many other places won’t take such groups but finally a place that trusted we would enjoy and respect our environment just as other guests. Local pub was fab and the beds were extraordinarily comfortable - best sleep away in a long time. Thank you so much for all your help in the run up and whilst there - I would love to go again with a smaller group. Perfect weekend getaway

Emily from Rugby stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in April 2018


Stag/birthday party

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Feb 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottages have an excellent location in the village, the grounds are fantastic and the rooms were great. Everything is provided for and you can just turn up and enjoy your stay. They answered any questions we had and were very laid back about our stay. We would strongly recommend upper court for any type of group, if it's a family holiday or a birthday party. We would all come back again.

George from Great Barford stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in February 2018


Lovely venue for a celebratory weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the Coach House for a long weekend to celebrate my fiancé’s 30th birthday. The house is fantastic for a large group with well sized bedrooms, lots of bathrooms, a kitchen that caters for a large party and an excellent sized lounge with dining for over 20 people. The grounds are stunning as is the local village and it is a great spot to base yourself to go out and see the Cotswolds. Highly recommended

Greg from Camberley stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in November 2017


Wedding stay

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great venue for our wedding weekend with brilliant entertaining spaces and lovely decor. Rooms were really comfortable too.

Georgina from Knebworth stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in October 2017


Wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 04 Oct 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We decided to return to Upper Court after 20 years for another large family reunion. We enjoyed it 20 years ago and enjoyed it even more last weekend ! The accommodation was excellent, the location stunning and the welcome very warm. This time we were 3 generations and even the very young ones had a whale of a time. What's more, the weather was superb so thank you for a wonderful weekend !

Guest from Pentraeth stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in September 2017


An Excellent Family Gathering Location

Review submitted on Thu, 17 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time at Upper Court. It was an excellent place for our large family gathering - we had 14 adults and 8 children of varying ages, so we booked The Stables, the Courtyard Cottage and the Coach House . There was no problem fitting us all in and sorting out who was sleeping where and being able to borrow cots and high chairs saved having to bring them. The children thoroughly enjoyed themselves making the most of the pool, the play area and the boating on the lake. The bonus for the adults was the large lounge/dining area where the whole party could eat and in the evening we were all able to relax together as baby alarms worked between the properties.
Some of our party were unlucky to pick up a tummy bug and the owners were most helpful and accommodating over this.
Thanks for a wonderful weekend - we are looking to repeat it again another year.


Claire from Eastleigh stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in August 2017


Idyllic weekend get away

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a fabulous location and comfortable accommodation- so much to do too! We had a great Hen here but would come back with the whole family - kids would love it! Thoroughly recommend!

Jessica from Poulton-le-fylde stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in May 2017


Elaine replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We look forward to seeing you at Upper Court again soon.

Daughters Hen Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
There were 13 of us staying in the Coach House and the Stables for my daughters Hen weekend. We spent most of our time in the Coach House as there was plenty of room for all of us to eat drink and be merry.

The grounds and facilities were fantastic, although the pool was not very inviting and needed cleaning out.

We enjoyed the grounds and boating lake in the sunshine, it was as if we have the place to ourselves.

We ate in your pub, The Crown, twice which was really good and enjoyed the local walks and survived the climb up Bredon Hill to the Tower and back down to the lovely pub in Conderton. The views were stunning. All in all a very enjoyable weekend help by our stay at the Coach House and Stables


Linda from Barrow-upon-soar stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in May 2017


We stayed in all the holiday cottages at Upper Court over New Years eve and we had a lovely stay.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Jan 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed in all the holiday cottages at Upper Court over New Years eve and we had a lovely, comfortable stay. The properties are close to the village and nearby some nice walks. The Crown Inn pub is 5 minutes walk down the road and we had an excellent roast dinner there.

Some of the cottages have interesting bedroom configurations with 3 person and 4 person rooms and it was tricky to sort our group out but we got there in the end. There is a bed upstairs in the Dovecote that would only suit parents and children really, not 3 adults.

Thank you for a lovely stay.


Sophie from Stoke Newington stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in December 2016


Beautiful Place, with perfect amenities, and a very pretty village!

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I would recommend this to everyone, I arrange for a number of my friends, with their children to stay for the weekend for my 40th Birthday party and it exceeded my expectations. Beautiful house, with everything we could need and want. I prearranged for the pub to deliver food for us on the Saturday night so I didn't need to cook. Brilliant Brilliant Brilliant. I want to come back in the summer.

Gemma from Tonbridge stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in November 2016


Birthday Surprise

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Nov 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
10 of us stayed in The Coach House which was well furnished and equipped. The bedrooms were clean and beds very comfortable. The lounge was large enough to cater for 26 sitting down to a three course meal provided by Bensons of Broadway, which was excellent.

Christine from stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in November 2016


daughter's wedding

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we stayed friday to monday in the large cottage at uppercourt, and found it to be very spacious and beautifully furnished our rooms were spotlessly clean and had everything that we needed. the grounds were very picturesque and were ideal for our party.
the food at the wedding reception was excellent, the only thing was we could have done with was a bit more lighting where they served the hog roast.
we travelled to broadway on the sunday, which was only a short distance and had a lovely meal at the swan restaurant.

we would definitely stay here again.

sharon and paul rooney


Kirsty from stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in September 2016


Lovely spot to get away from it all

Review submitted on Thu, 19 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Really lovely cottages in a beautiful setting. Extensive grounds to explore with good facilities for children (playground, sports equipment etc). The cottage itself was a little tired but in an authentic countryside kind of way. Great if you have a very large party as you can book multiple cottages and make use of the two extensive dining tables (although I think it would be better to remove one and leave more space). We booked two cottages together for a group of 9 adults and 5 kids, and we all thoroughly enjoyed it. Lots to see and do in the local area but we mainly just stayed put and enjoyed the grounds!

Katherine from St Albans stayed at The Coach House for 3 nights in May 2016


Brilliant

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a family reunion and booked the properties at Uppercourt,it was exactly right,whole place is fantastic, beautiful surroundings and Bill and Diana are lovely helpful people. Thank you

Melanie from stayed at The Coach House for 14 nights in April 2016