FB Twitter

Front Row Cottage

Front Row Cottage

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 19 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.5
Comfort
4.5
Condition
4.5
Location
5.0
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.7


Romantically furnished & accessorised with dozens of deft touches, this large 2 bedroom, 2 bathroom holiday cottage with sea views and a wood burning stove makes a great hideaway for a couple or two. Also a great family base for exploring the area. Wi-fi and Marina parking permit included.

Fabulous stay in front row cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Front Row cottage is in a fabulous location in the lovely fishing town of Brixham. The cottage is very well appointed,styish and comfortable. The views are amazing from all rooms on the front aspect. The added bonus of parking is also great. I wouldn't worry about the car park been a 5-10 minute walk away as there is no local street parking. Takes the stress away of finding a space. We had a great week in Brixham and would highly recommend this cottage.



Carrie Toms replied 11 days ago
Thank you for the 5 star review of Front Row Cottage and for highly recommending the cottage as a place to stay. I so pleased you enjoyed your stay and exploring Brixham. The parking provided is a great bouns and to have this included with the price paid makes the cottage very popular with our guests. Hope to see you again in the future.

A

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Oct 2019
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Wonderful location , great views over the harbour and across Torbay from the living room and also from the bedrooms .

The accommodation could improve the soft furnishings as these seem worn out and update the kitchen pots and pans to match up with what is a lovely cottage overlooking Brixham harbour, we will return to holiday again in Brixham and “front row” is defiantly on the list .




Carrie Toms replied 37 days ago
Many thanks for your review of Front Row. I have forwarded the review for the owner to see. There will be a spare key in the near future, unfortunately, the lock needed changing recently and there was a delay in getting additional key cut. I am delighted you loved the location and views from this lovely cottage and glad you would look at staying again in the future.

Delightful!

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I'm sure all the other reviews have mentioned what a great little house this is, and perfect for a couple for a short break. So comfortable.

The highlight was definitely being able to watch the fishing boats come in and out (including from bed!) and all the activity in the harbour. The Fish Market Tour (highly recommended despite the early start) brought it all to life.

The only thing I'd point out is that the staircase is very steep and narrow, but what you'd expect in a cottage like this.




Carrie Toms replied 71 days ago
Thank you very much for writing a review for Front Row Cottage, It was lovely to meet you during your stay. The Fish Market Tour is something I have never done I am ashamed to say, I must make a point of doing it. The cottage does have wonderful views of the harbour which must be amazing to wake up too.

Lovely cottage in a great location

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a beautiful cottage, very well presented in a 'shabby chic' style which is just my thing. Perfect location overlooking the inner harbour and just a short walk into town. The car park for which there is a permit provided is quite a walk from the property but none the less it is great to have a space as these are hard to come by in Brixham!
In reviewing the cottage there are a few a few points, both positive and negative, which I would like to leave;
Positives- fantastic shower on middle floor, wonderful décor, great views from lounge and both bedrooms, lots of wardrobe space.
Negatives- now I appreciate that this is a subjective matter but we found the bed in the top floor bedroom REALLY uncomfortable and had to swap bedroom with our young child after the first night. I literally had no sleep at all. The mattress could really do with being a lot deeper and sprung for support. Again, I realise that this is a personal matter but bed comfort is a major factor and sadly, just this one thing would stop us booking this cottage again.




Carrie Toms replied 95 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage, I am delighted you like the style of the cottage. Sorry to hear that the top floor bed was uncomfortable it is a very personal thing you are right and impossible to get right for everyone. But I will mention it to the owner for her consideration. The parking is a massive bonus and although a small stroll from the cottage the views as you walk along the marina are lovely. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit to Brixham and hope you will consider staying with us again at another of our properties in the future.

Home from home

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very well located, right in the harbour so very handy for restaurants ,shops etc. The cottage was very well equipped with plenty of knives ,forks etc.Comfortable beds & quality linen, lovely having two bathrooms too.We booked this cottage for a relaxing break & that's what we had.Would book again.



Carrie Toms replied 158 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage. It is good to hear you enjoyed a comfortable stay and felt at home there. The location of the cottage is very handy and I am delighted it suited your needs so well. We hope to see you again in the future.

Second time on the Front Row

Review submitted on Fri, 31 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were pleased to find the Front Row Cottage available again as we had such a relaxing time there before. The cottage has a calm, welcoming feeling and is equipped with everything we might need for a week-long stay. Sachets of milk and biscuits were a welcome addition, after a drive to get there, and the provision of clean bedding and towels, tea towels etc. takes the hassle out of coming for a last-minute break. Beds are lovely and comfortable and while the windows have an excellent view of the bustle of the harbour, the cottage is just far enough away to not be too noisy. We love the cottage and always find booking easy. An initial confusion over parking was quickly dealt with by Steve from Brixham Holidays so this is rapidly becoming our "go to" for a relaxing holiday.



Carrie Toms replied 172 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage, I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your second stay at the cottage and felt that it was still a great place to enjoy a break away. We are pleased to hear you felt Steve was helpful regarding confusion over the location of the parking for this year. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Amazing and exactly what i hoped for.

Review submitted on Tue, 27 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
OMG the view from this property.. watching the trawlers come in and out.

I stayed here with my bf and his parents. I couldnt have wished for a better place. The house was comfy and spacious with having a floor each.

We will be back next year with my parents...




Carrie Toms replied 354 days ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage. I am delighted you all enjoyed your stay, the view is lovely and ever changing isn't it. The cottage lay out does lend it self very nicely to family holidays like yours and I am glad you found this to be the case. We look froward to you next year with your parents.

Great location

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Oct 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A lovely cottage with lots of charm, great views. Directly opposite steps that go down to the harbour. Pub next door had closed down when we were there, not sure what it's going to be, or if this will have an impact on noise levels



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and where taken by the cottage's charm. It is in a lovely position close to the harbour and town area. We are unsure what the future of the pub will be at this time, it was featured on 'Fish Town TV Series' a few years back and was visited by Prince Harry.

Will go to Front Row Cottage again

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location. Unbeatable views. Good, close by parking. Very tastefully done out. Extremely comfortable. Property manager, Steve very helpful.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for Front Row Cottage. I am very pleased to hear you were happy with our customer service and that you found Steve very helpful during your stay. The views from the cottage are lovely glad to hear you loved them. Hope to see you again in the future.

Beautiful location

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely stay at Front Row Cottage. Comfortable beds and great bathrooms. The kitchen was well equipped but maybe a tumble dryer instead of two fridges would be better. Stairs to the top bedroom are very steep, especially if your carrying luggage. But all in all it was a fabulous week and we were very lucky with the weather.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for leaving a review for Front Row Cottage, I am delighted you enjoyed a comfortable weeks stay and found the kitchen well equipped. We have been enjoying some really lovely weather lately, lucky us. I will pass on your suggestion to the owner regarding the tumble dryer.

Ideal location

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The view from the cottage was perfect,to see to see all the fishing boats coming and going.the cottage itself was very comfortable and had everything to make a wonderful stay.A nice touch was a complimentary bottle of wine and binoculars.



Brixham Break

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The cottage was lovely overall.the beds very comfortable and views from all rooms great. The settees are very low and not very comfortable. The stairs need care .the steps from front door also. The showers are super. Cottage on a busy road so any one with children would need to take care. We found the local drivers very considerate though. Close enough to town and shops and excellent fish and chip shops.good bus service . We would gladly book again.



Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage. I will mention your feedback on the settees to the owners for their consideration. It is good to hear you enjoyed your stay at the cottage. Glad that the location of the cottage suited your needs and that you found the local bus service handy for getting about. Hope to see you again in the future.

Just as described

Review submitted on Thu, 10 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This is a comfortable, spacious, and well presented cottage.It is one of the better ones that i have stayed in at various holiday lets in the UK and will more than likely be staying there again.The location is excellent overlooking the harbour and within a stones throw of the town and all it has to offer. The outside front veranda with the chairs and bench was a good place to sit and relax with a drink and watch the activities in the harbour.
The 2 large bedrooms are comfortable with plenty of wardrobe space and both have views of the harbour and out to sea. Both bathrooms are spacious and have good sized shower cubicles (the best showers I have had in a holiday let) with the top floor one having a bath as well.My only comment on them is that the first floor bathroom could do with a shaving mirror over the sink and perhaps mats down the sides of both beds as the floors are a hard floor and cold to step out of bed on.
All in all a property well worth staying in with an excellent location, and I would recommend it. In my opinion I think the owners do take more pride in there property than a lot I have seen.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage. I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and feel it is somewhere you would like to stay again. I will pass on your thoughts about shaving mirror and mats by the beds to the owners for their consideration. We hope to welcome you back to Brixham in the future.

The best in Brixham

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed in four different homes around the harbour in Brixham. The first three were all very nice but Front Row Cottage tops them all. We have stayed in the cottage twice now. The living room is nice and comfortable, kitchen has everything you need, bedrooms are very comfortable and bathrooms have been fitted to a high standard. The decor is nice and modern, but sympathetic to the age of the cottage.

The views from the windows are amazing; it's location is perfect.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing another review for Front Row Cottage, I know the owners will be so delighted that you have once again enjoyed your stay. We look forward to hopefully seeing you again soon.

Would highly recommend

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a lovely cottage . The views were breathtaking. You have see views for every front window. Kitchen well stock. Great wood burner.
Very comfortable and clean. Brixham is a very pretty town . Will be back
Paul and sue from Essex




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Front Row Cottage. Glad to hear you enjoyed the wood burner that must have made the cottage very warm . I am delighted you enjoyed your visit to Brixham, hope to see you again in the future.

Best Brixham cottage we've stayed in

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We're regular visitors to Brixham and usually stay in a different cottage or apartment each time. However, from now on we'll always be trying to book this one first - it's absolutely the best we've stayed in (and the others were lovely too!)

The views from the cottage's front windows are all "wow" and the pictures don't do justice of just how roomy it is. The living room and kitchen are superb - spacious, comfortable and well-equipped with everything you might need.

Upstairs, there's loads of storage and wardrobe space (and lots of hangers, very important!) My husband said the bed was one of the most comfortable he'd ever slept in. The bath is really lovely too.

All in all, an excellent cottage with great views and close to all that Brixham has to offer.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review for Front Row Cottage and for staying with Brixham Holiday Homes again. I am delighted you were so taken with the cottage and felt so comfortable and at home there during your recent stay. I am pleased the location suited the things you wanted to do during your holiday and we look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

A great few days in Brixham

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent a wonderful few days down in the lovely Front Row Cottage. What a lovely home from home. Cottage equipped with all the home comforts you need. Furnishings and equipment all to a high standard, the owner has thought of everything.
Would highly recommend and will be returning again soon.




Carrie Toms replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for writing a review of your stay at Front Row Cottage and for the high recommendation. I am delighted to hear you thought the cottage was well equipped and was like a home from home during your visit to Brixham. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Disappointing experience due to lack of attention to the basics

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Apr 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Beautiful location and fabulous views from each room overlooking harbour. Very nicely furnished - on the surface a very well presented cottage. Sadly uncomfortable beds resulted in poor nights' sleep and backache for the duration of the stay. Mattresses in both bedrooms need replacing. Was advised cottage has recently been refurbished therefore expected new, comfortable, bed. Tried both beds to try and get good night's sleep but unfortunately both uncomfortable; springs gone in middle bedroom mattress and top floor bedroom mattress like concrete. When first arrived found clump of black hair on edge of middle floor bathroom washbasin. Attention needs to be given to woodlice as they appeared in porch, kitchen and walls outside kitchen each evening. One morning found woodlice in half a banana left on worktop from previous day. Kitchen cupboards not as clean as would expect.This cottage has the potential to be outstanding, however the finer detail needs more attention. Don't feel comfortable giving negative comments, however we did feel very disappointed due to the points raised and hope these will be addressed. Happy to discuss if required.



Steven King - owner of Brixham Holiday Homes replied more than 1 year ago
I'm disappointed to learn that everything was not perfect for your recent stay at Front Row. This is a new property to our site and you were one of the first guests to stay, so your feedback is very valuable in helping us to ensure that the comfort and condition is to a high standard for everyone. I've spoken to the owners regarding the beds, both of which were brand new when they purchased the cottage 2 years ago. I appreciate that mattress comfort is a subjective thing but I will personally check to make sure that they are either an acceptable standard or ask for replacements if not. I'm sorry you found them not to your satisfaction. Insects can be an intermittent problem in any property at any time. I have asked that appropriate treatment is used to eliminate this issue in the future. Once again thank you for bringing this to my attention. I've also contacted the cleaning team to let them know that the cupboard interiors were not up to scratch and for them to rectify this on the next clean and also mentioned about hair left in one of the bathrooms. Once again I'm sorry you experienced these issues and am sending you a voucher, which I hope will compensate you and as a thank you for letting me know about these problems so that they can be rectified for future guests.

Lovely cottage in excellent location

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for four nights with our two-year-old in April. The cottage is newly refurbished and very comfortable, with two big bedrooms and 2 new bathrooms. As stated in the description, the stairs to the top bedroom are very steep but that wasn't a problem for us or our toddler. The location for Brixham is extremely convenient, right above the harbour and there is parking at the bottom of the steps just over the road. Steve from Brixham Holidays was very helpful too when we needed some help with the Wi-Fi. If you're looking for a lovely two bed cottage in Brixham this place is ideal.