FB Twitter

Bressay East

Bressay East

4.5
out of 5
Ratings from 46 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.2
Comfort
4.4
Condition
4.1
Location
4.9
Value
4.6
Customer
Service
4.7


One of two properties available at Bressay Lighthouse, situated on the rocky headland at the south entrance to Lerwick Harbour.

The nineteenth century lighthouse provides a tranquil and peaceful retreat, for up to six guests, with open views across the sea.

We had a fantastic family weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely clean, warm,roomy place to stay and Frank was very welcoming! Highly recommended for families.



A wonderful place to visit and stay

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Feb 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I stayed at Bressay Easy with 2 friends for the week of Up Helly Ah and have to say it is fantastic. The lighthouse is well equipped, the location and scenery on Bressay and the rest of the Shetlands is unbelievable too. Despite some typical January weather it was always warm, cosy and draught free. Booking and meeting up to get they keys was easy, some complimentary food items were waiting for us and all in all we were quite sad to leave - not having a lighthouse to wake up in is a little sad.



Relaxing and lovely stay at Bressay

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Bressay Lighthouse for a week and thoroughly enjoyed the location and cottage. It worked well for six adults (3 bedrooms) and the kitchen was well-stocked for self-catering. Frank was very welcoming and responsive when we needed anything. The setting spectacular and walks nearby of Crofts and pasture were great. I hope we can come back.



Definitely recommend

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were 5 adults and perfectly comfortable in the lighthouse. The decor is basic but fine. The kitchen small, but again, fine for our needs. Bathroom and shower also fine. Wifi not super fast but ok. Frank, the custodian, was there to meet us and very friendly and informative. We only stayed for one night and the price was the same as if for 3. As you have to factor in ferry costs for each journey back into the island, it would be great if stays shorter than 3 nights could receive a discount. The location is exceptional though, and it is this aspect that makes this stay so memorable. Would definitely stay again, maybe for 2 nights next time.



Peaceful and friendly.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Aug 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Bressay East is lovely, the cottage is older but warm and well stocked, the local Shetland goodies were a real treat. Frank is a wonderful 'guardian' so welcoming and a fountain of knowledge. We weren't looking for a luxury stay just peace and quiet and the sea and Bressay really delivered. There are birds, wildflowers and walks on the doorstep, the activity in the harbour and the friendly ferry crew all add up to make for a wonderful stay.



Amazing location

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing location, great wildlife watching spot. Popular for orcas spotting. We have enjoyed long walks alongside the cliffs, just at our doorstep.
Bressay East guardian was very welcoming, helpful and full of local knowledge.
The accommodation itself is very good, spacious and clean. Large rooms, comfortable beds, very good heating ( yes, needed in July ).
The interior is kept in the style of a lighthouse keepers accommodation, not "a uniform hotel like" but full of welcoming warmth.
Our children loved the space around the lighthouse, great for running around and play.
We loved every moment of our stay and will be definitely coming back to this place.




Great location, amazing place

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was our second time at the Bressay Lighthouse. It is the perfect accommodation for those who love silence, seclusion, sea and nature. Amazing land- and seascape, friendly people - especially Frank, our custodian. Thank you so much for the warm welcome. I think we will come for a third time... :-)



Stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Jul 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The stunning location of the accommodation is the main reason to come here.ou have the sea, seabirds, boats and ships around and there is always something interesting to see.
The cottage hs all you need for a self-catering holiday.
We hope to come back.




Sea Kaykers Review

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Jul 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Obsolete stunning location for a home base sea kayaking week or two week operation. Great location to access the bottom of Bressay Island. The only thing to add is the bed mattresses. I think it is time to replace them.



Lovely 3 days. Would recommend lighthouse stay

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jun 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Need to repair double bed in main bedroom- slats a problem. Fixed with loose piece of wood at present



Great family stay

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was perfect. Frank is awesome! You feel like you are alone at the end of the world. I recommend it without any hesitation!



Super location

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super Location, traumhaft, ruhig, naturnah, sehr erholsam. Wunderschöner Ausblick.
Die Wohnung ist in die Jahre gekommen und renovierungsbedürftig, aber sehr gut ausgestattet.
Bei der Küche wäre eine Grundreinigung notwendig, damit sie gut nutzbar ist.




Lovely stay

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect weekend break. We really enjoyed ourselves in a special place. Plenty of space. Thank you.



Beautiful and Peaceful

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most beautiful spot on the top of Bressay. Quiet, relaxing and peaceful break. Loved it and would love to go back



A brief stay in a dated cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Sep 2018
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We only stayed here for one night as we had to leave for a family emergency.
Our first impression remained with us, and that was that this was a cottage in need of improvement. It is kept in the style of, perhaps, a 1970's cottage, and it felt as if the decor had not been updated since then. It was warm and the welcome we received was good, but the accommodation itself left a lot to be desired. The potential is there to make a lovely holiday let but this has not been realised.
The location is lovely if you like isolation (which we do). Bressay is a quiet island but has a good ferry service to the mainland. We did not get a chance to sample the local hotel for a meal.
To be honest, even though we had to leave due to other circumstances, I wasn't sorry not to be staying.
This was a bit of a nostalgia trip for me as I worked on a ship in Shetland some years ago and my love of it has not diminished so I think we will be back, but not to this accommodation until it has been refurbished to the standard of some of the other ones on offer.




Good time in Bressay

Review submitted on Thu, 09 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed our time in Bressay! Frank was a very nice, friendly, funny and helpfull custodian.
There was all we needed in a great location.




Stunning location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My husband and I stayed at Bressay Lighthouse for 5 nights but time was running. The accommodation has all you need and there is lot of space for baggage and feeling comfortable.
Itis also a good place for watching boats coming in and out. Guillemots and razorbills were swimming close to the lighthouse and some puffins as well.




Family trip

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Jul 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Location is amazing and ferry staff great for advice. Custodian was lovely and helpful. Loads of local information. Accommodation could be updated and more comfortable for sitting in but Shetland is not that type of holiday.



Wonderfull experience

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We hoppe to come back in winter to see another atmospher !!! We enjoye this moment ! Very quiet and anusualy !
Thank you !




June stay in Bressay East

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay, lived our dream of staying in a lighthouse cottage. Frank was a wonderful host, attentive and considerate. Great base to explore Shetland via the excellent ferry service to Lerwick. Can definitely recommend the experience.



Nice stay

Review submitted on Mon, 04 Jun 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was fine also the weather was perfect. The apartment has everything you need and it is a good location for starting nice walks around the cost. The mainland for tours and shops for food are not fare away.



Amazing

Review submitted on Tue, 22 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was amazing! So quite, calm - like in my dreams! thank you very much. I will recommend your accomodation.



Stunning location marred by dirty conditions in the cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 17 May 2018
2.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
1.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Regrettably I had to complain to the Shetland Amenity Trust that the cottage was dirty. The kitchen and bathroom in particular were totally unsatisfactory, hairs in the plug hole, stained toilet, etc. They responded very promptly with an apology, a partial refund and an assurance that they will be taking steps to address the matter. I have advised that the cottage needs a professional deep clean. I would strongly suggest that any future visitors check with the Trust that this has been carried out before they visit.

I would not recommend the cottage in its current condition. However, once cleaned and with more attention to detail, some cushions in the living room and a non-slip mat in the shower for example, then I would be happy to recommend it.




Beautiful accommodation on a wonderful island

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a wonderful Break with my husband here. Lighthouse cottage is spacious and well equipped but its the location that makes it so special. We hired bikes from grantfiield garage and cycled to the lighthouse from lerwick... Via the ferry. Brilliant. Thanks to Frank for a warm welcome and a fridge stocker with welcoming Shetland beer.

We hope to return soon to continue our Shetland adventures.




Atmospheric location and comfortable accommodation

Review submitted on Mon, 12 Feb 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The romance of staying in a lighthouse cottage is wonderful, and the windswept location with its 270 degree views is just fantastic. The cottage is comfortable and spacious offering generous sized rooms for all guests and good heating (we stayed in the middle of winter and were comfortably warm). The whole place has a charming 'staying at Grandmas's' feel. The towels are a variety of sizes and colours, the single bathroom lacks a ventilation fan, and the furniture seems like it was either donated or was left there by the last keeper's family. The kitchen is a little awkward to cook in - the physical arrangement of the limited space and the random distribution of crockery, cookware and utensils are somewhat unhelpful. The welcome beers and milk were great, though some sugar to go with the tea and coffee supplies would have been appreciated, as would having at least one of the towels left in the bathroom. Frank the caretaker is lovely and welcoming, adding yet more character to the unique setting. We loved our stay at the Bressay Lighthouse cottages and would heartily recommend it to anyone wanting that 'isolated' accommodation experience. Be aware that if you want to travel to the mainland of Shetland you need to use a ferry, and the costs can add up, especially if you take a car with you.



An all to brief night stop over

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing location the cottages are In. Frank greeted us and made us feel right at home telling us a lot about the history of the place.Having that context and spending time with someone who is a local and knows the place so well, was really inspirational . He made our guide special. We thought the cottage itself was extremely clean and cosy. We'd recommend a stay (however brief!) to anyone.



A warm welcome and a wonderful place

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a wonderful time at Bressay Lighthouse. It is an amazing landscape and we loved to live so close to the sea. Frank was very friendly.



Comfortable stay in a stunning location

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Frank, the custodian, was very friendly and helpful. Great views of the lighthouse in the evening light. Good place to stay for easy success to the Isle of Noss, and Bressay is lovely as well.



Great place to stay for the views

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jul 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Marvellous location with great views. and plenty space inside. The guesthouse itself might need an urgent update and modernisation. If this will be done in the near future the place will be FANTASTIC. We had a warm welcome by Frank Bremmer ( the old Lighthouse -keeper )



A beautiful location hiring both cottages for a family celebration

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful location hiring both cottages for a family celebration.......................................................................



Amazing location

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is in an amazing location which you see as you arrive and leave by ferry. The accommodation itself is a little tired in places but very well looked after and very clean. There are three large bedrooms with one living area and a small kitchen, adjacent there is also a wash/dry/store room. Its about 3 miles back to the ferry terminal for Lerwick and the one pub/restaurant and shop are that way too. The ferry runs at least hourly until late at night and although you are away from it all you never feel far from the world. Would recommend a trip to Noss!



A Week to Remember!

Review submitted on Wed, 10 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Robina Barton is my daughter. She lives in Bressay, and she booked the lighthouse for us, her parents, and two of our friends.
We had a wonderful week, partly due to the unShetland-like weather of sun and blue sky from the day we arrived.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in the lighthouse cottage. It was spacious, clean, comfortable, and equipped with everything we needed. I might just suggest putting a couple of straight chairs in each bedroom to put clothes on at night-my only very minor niggle.
My husband and I have visited Shetland almost every year since 1970, but it was the first visit for our friends. They enjoy walking (we don't!) and they said they would come back next year to do much more walking. I should not be surprised if they booked a lighthouse cottage for their stay. I don't think they could do better.
It was almost like being at home, for comfort, relaxation and well-being.
Vivienne, from Northumberland.




Wonderful time in this beautiful accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Apr 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our time in this accommodation was totally worth every pence. We are already planing to visit Bressay again :)




A place to call home

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accommodation. A cosy place to come home to during a chilly and windy week for a pair of Australians. The lighthouse feels remote and away from it all, but is only a short car and ferry trip to all the conveniences of Lerwick, with good phone and internet access as well. A good base for exploring the many delights of Shetland or staying in and watching the weather. The custodian of the lighthouse, a former lighthouse keeper provided a friendly welcome and much useful information for our stay. we hope to return.



October 2016

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My Wife and I plus our two grandchildren had a wonderful stay at the Bressay Lighthouse. The accommodation was very clean and spacious. Due to its location it can be very windy, but the Chalet its self is very warm and comfortable. We would fully recommend it



Cleanliness and parking

Review submitted on Thu, 29 Sep 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Cleanliness should be improved in the kitchen and bathroom.
A French press coffee pot would be an improvement.
Advise on website that parking is limited for large cars and gate is narrow.




Bressay Lighthouse is a magical place to stay

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved our week on Bressay. The house is spacious and comfortable, with a well equipped kitchen[1] and considering it is at the very far end of the island has a remarkably good internet connection. But, of course, it's the location which makes it: not just the romanticism of the lighthouse (though sadly, it no longer shines a light from the tower[2]), but it's built on a rocky promontory on top of a natural arch falling into the sea, and alongside a deep rocky cleft with sea cliffs rising immediately to the southwest which in spring must be full of nesting birds. Even in September, wildlife is everywhere: seals were in the little below the lighthouse every day, indeed we saw seals pretty much every time we looked at the sea wherever we were, and found lots hauled out on rocks a few miles north on the main island just by chance. Just over the cliff path to the east of the lighthouse there were lots of Great Skuas, as well as fabulous landscape. We saw otters in two different locations (we watched one catch an octopus just 300m from Lerwick Tesco!), and orca from the ferry in the sound between Lerwick and Bressay. Even in September, hundreds of gannets drifted past the lighthouse and dived for fish.

Weather on Shetland changes rapidly because it just gets whatever the Atlantic throws at it. No surprise there, but the very strong winds did make cycling rather harder work than we're used to, though the quiet roads still make it a joy. You could cycle every road on Bressay in under 4 hours[3]! A special thank you to Frank for helping with our luggage so we could cycle, and for telling us about his lighthouse-keeping days.

The ferry service Bressay to Lerwick is excellent, though there are some longer gaps in the mid-evening which make it awkward if you miss one - there's an app you can download with all the ferry and bus times. But the last ferry back is 11pm, later at weekends so you're not limited to Bressay in the evenings. It's not the place to go if you wanted a lively clubbing scene, but Mareel has a lot going on year round (gigs, folk, arthouse and mainstream cinema). We also chanced on a great exhibition evoking the landscapes of Iceland in watercolour, by Peter Davis, at Weisdale Mill in the western main island. Lerwick has everything for everyday needs - the Co-op near the Aberdeen ferry terminal, and Tesco, as well as smaller shops. I liked Fjarå café/restaurant overlooking the bay on the edge of Lerwick, and Peerie ("small") café by Lerwick harbour.

Outside Lerwick communities are very spread out, perhaps reflecting the crofting past, and the network of little lanes, villages and harbours down the east coast were lovely to explore. While the older houses which replaced the crofts (shells of which are everywhere) are rather plain, I thought more modern houses were really interesting - very much with a maritime Scandinavian feel, colourful weatherboarded timber, something that wouldn't have been possible previously, with almost no trees on the islands.

Finally, the journey was a big part of the holiday. We travelled by train up the east coast, which is quite spectacular from Newcastle northwards including the Forth and Tay Bridges, and then the overnight ferry from Aberdeen, so pretty much the first thing we saw on waking up in the morning from the ferry was Bressay Lighthouse. There's a few photos on twitter at https://twitter.com/frankshad/media (Sep 2016)

[1] please could you add a cheese grater though!
[2] in another review someone mentioned the sound from the radar scanner; can't speak for the West cottage, but it definitely wasn't a problem in East. The light is with the radar equipment now.
[3] but you might want to avoid the Hoegan Road because of the fish factory and its heavy lorries; bikes are easy to take on the ferry




Weekend break

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed here from Fri until Mon. Location is lovely, watched ships go in and out the harbour. Went for walks around Bressay because the weather was fine. Accommodation was good, beds were comfy and was cosy with the heating on. Near lerwick but you face south so you feel further away. Will definitely book again



Warm and cosy well equipped accommodation in a fantastic location

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful stay at Bressay lighthouse. The property was very warm and cosy and a joy to come back to after we'd been out walking. The kitchen although small was very well equipped, we were thrilled to find a tea strainer (has been lacking on other self catering holidays) as we like loose leaf tea. The sitting room was comfortable with fabulous views of the light house and beyond. Beds comfy and bathroom good size. The location was perfect. We loved exploring Bressay and were handy for our gorgeous day trip to Noss. Lerwick was only a short ferry ride away so we could get shopping and have days out further afield. The information leaflets in the property were very helpful and comprehensive. Frank was very welcoming and gave us some good tips e.g. buying a strip of 10 ferry tickets. We enjoyed the welcome pack of beer and oatcakes, a nice touch. Our only regret, that we couldn't have stayed for longer. Hope to come back again.



Lovely, peaceful location with stunning views

Review submitted on Wed, 06 Jul 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Perfect location for a Shetland holiday. Easy to get to Lerwick on the ferry. Lovely walks from the door. Bressay is a great island to explore with cliffs, bays and lots of wildlife. Comfortable, warm cottage.



Get away from it all!

Review submitted on Mon, 27 Jun 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A magical place perched high above the sound between Bressay and Lerwick, ideal for those who enjoy walking and bird-watching. If you had young children you would need to keep a close eye on them as, although the green space around the cottages is enclosed with a high-ish wall and a gate there are sheer drops on at least one side.
The cottages are warm, comfortable and homely but need some replacement of basic crockery (mugs, larger bowls, a casserole dish). It is essential to have a car, bike or motorbike to reach the lighthouse from the ferry. It is also worth knowing that the ferry costs can add up so if you are going with two cars you might want to leave one either in Lerwick or in Bressay to save on ferry charges. It's also worth looking at taking out a book of passenger tickets as this is cheaper.
Frank, the custodian for Bressay Lighthouse, was friendly and welcoming and we were thrilled to know he's once worked at the Lighthouse! We had a most enjoyable stay.




Could have been more tidy

Review submitted on Tue, 07 Jun 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
First of all: it was the most impressive accommodation of our three weeks Scotland-holidays and we wouldn´t have missed this experience of living in such a remote location.
The sleeping rooms were all in good condition and tidy, but the cleanliness of the kitchen and all its equipment was very poor. We used only two cups, which we cleaned before using. All used other stuff was our own.
So please make a general cleaning and everything will be at its best.
Thank you for offering this spectacular accommodation, hopefully we will come back sometimes.




Absolutely Wonderful!

Review submitted on Sat, 04 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My stay at your lighthouse was wonderful. From the moment Frank met us to the sad moment of closing the lighthouse gate, the experience was fantastic. You provided great directions, cozy rooms, a beautiful isle, travel brochures in the home, easy access to Noss, and more. THANK YOU!



Blown away at Bressay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As holiday locations in Scotland go you will struggle to find one that's more spectacular. So much to see that we are planning a return next year. We were lucky enough to see the Northern Lights from the lighthouse premises during our stay which was an added bonus. If you like the outdoors, natural history and an inspiring location then this property should be at the top of your list!



Perfect and incredible place for hollidays

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Jan 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything perfect : very confortable, extremely clean. well furnished (kitchen bedroom, heater).
Franck our contact in Bressay is really a nice guy !!!!!
we recommend Bressay lighthouse to spend unforgettable holidays.

please mask my name online.

Regards




Perfect Peace

Review submitted on Sun, 06 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want away from the hustle and bustle Bressey lighthouse is the place for you, fabulous views and walks on the doorstep of your very cosy and comfortable accomodation.