FB Twitter

Eshaness Lighthouse

Eshaness Lighthouse

4.4
out of 5
Ratings from 90 reviews
98% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.3
Condition
4.0
Location
4.9
Value
4.4
Customer
Service
4.5


If you are looking for a true 'get away from it all' holiday then Eshaness Lighthouse is the perfect location.

Situated an hours drive from Shetland's capital town Lerwick, the lighthouse is on the North West coast of mainland Shetland. The simple style of the property, coupled with the scenic and historic pictures, and personal touches, give guests a real feeling of home.

Great place to stay.

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Feb 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a great place for a quiet get away with all the amenities you should need for such a break. Although quite dated this reflects the character of the building and in no way spoiled our stay. Beds were comfy & rooms warm and clean.
Mobile coverage (Vodafone) in Eshaness is very poor, however you could receive enough signal indoors to get notifications if you left your phone in the window. A payphone is provided however if needed.
During our stay it was one of the fiercer storms seen this winter but surprisingly you were unaware of it when indoors.
Will definitely book again.
Tim had the place warm and welcoming for our arrival and was the perfect host.




A stunning setting

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Feb 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My third stay at Eshaness and a wonderful place to unwind. This is a unique building in a dramatic location, made all the better by some stormy Shetland weather.
As others have said the interior is due a bit of updating but it was warm and comfortable and everything worked. Nice welcoming touches too – tea, coffee, milk plus local beer and oatcakes. A surprise since my previous visit was that EE had improved their local network and I had 4G mobile coverage – perfect for keeping in touch with envious friends back home.
Last time I said I’d have to come back because I’d not seen the aurora. Well this time I did – but I’m sure I’ll think of another excuse to return!




New year break

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Jan 2020
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Being a Shetlander I've always wanted to stay at this lighthouse and will probably try all the lighthouse accommodation on the island.
It was exciting and we enjoyed the experience.
With it being the new year some friends payed us a visit making it extra special.
Things I would change if I was the lucky owner

New window in the bathroom
I enjoy a bath so was a bracing experience

The building could do with a deep clean
Carpets etc.
The sofas needs dumping . Chose to cover up before sitting
This could easily be replaced by one from cope lerwick.

Outdated information on the wall
Couldnt fathem out how to use the oven

Apart from all this
Loved our stay as we made it suit ourselves
Left it cleaner than we found it
ie sinks....bathroom ...sticky tables
Kitchen floor




Remote and wild

Review submitted on Tue, 31 Dec 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fabulous time away from it all in a stunning location. The accommodation is lovely - period 1929, but warm and snug. The play of light on the sea and landscape is stunning. Slept like a baby with just wind and sea!



A dream come true

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a dream....going to Eshaness...but live for 3 days in Eshaness lighthouse was a bigger dream...and we realized that dream. It was amazing...going outside, early, in the morning and see the cliffs it was a fantastic experience. We are soo in love...and Eshaness is our "love place"...we'll be back...very soon!!

Marzia & Massimiliano from Arezzo- Italy




Unrivaled

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic and amazing place.
One weekend unrivaled. The weather was super too. And the lighthouse...so wow




Eshaness Lighthouse

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were on Shetland for Shetland Wool Week and were privileged to stay at Eshaness Lighthouse for a few days before the event. It’s a very comfortable place to stay, with 3 big bedrooms, a lovely lounge and separate kitchen, equipped with everything one needs. The location is amazing ... such a wild and remote spot, with fabulous views. We would definitely stay there again, next time we visit!



Our two night stay at the Eshaness Lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Oct 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed two nights at the Eshaness Lighthouse in late September of 2019. Making arrangements to gain entry was very simple and flexible; Mr. Borrill was most accommodating. We didn't know what to expect, but were pleasantly surprised. It is very spacious, with three nice bedrooms. One has a bunkbed, one has a full size bed, and the master has a queen size.The kitchen is very well equipped with pots, pans, table service, tableware, cooking utensils, an induction cooktop and oven in excellent condition, a small refrigerator and freezer, toaster, microwave, a water boiling pot and a French press. The heaters were effective and well-controlled. We had plenty of hot water. There were fireplaces, but, understandably, I don't believe guests are supposed to use them. There is no wi-fi (which would be a nice improvement), but there is a TV that works well but has limited channel selection. There is a pay telephone in the unit and Mr. Borrill left some coins for local calls in case we needed it. The kitchen faucets worked OK, but the porcelain sink had considerable damage which rendered it rusty and a little dirty in appearance, but I'm sure it was fine. The mattress in the master was pretty worn out but we were abler to sleep on it. The living room has two couches that appeared to be foldouts, but it was really worn out and should probably be replaced. The flooring in the kitchen and bathroom is old and probably need to be replaced. It is a single bath with shower/tub combo. The place was quiet and solid-I believe the walls and ceiling were solid concrete, and there was little or no wind noise despite 30+ MPH winds while we were there. Shampoo and soap are not supplied, but the linens and bat towels were of good quality. The shortcomings were very tolerable for the price paid, and were easily compensated for by the breathtaking scenery, solitude, and isolation of the location. Certainly a very memorable and unique lodging location.



An exquisite location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to enjoy the grandeur of nature...wind, surf, volcanic mysteries, beauty all around. The solitude and quiet are exquisite.



Perfect stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very lucky to learn about Eshaness. This is the perfect place if you want isolation in a grand, remote corner of Shetland. Great walks along the cliff paths. Terrifying winds, steep drops and sea spray dashing against bedroom windows add to the excitement.



An experience not to be missed

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family and I had a fabulous stay at the lighthouse. I appreciate the simplicity of the booking and the warm welcome provided. The views were spectacular and breathtaking. The accommodations clean and fully equiped.
Our stay gave my family a chance to reconnect and the opportunity to sit back and relax or go exploring at our leisure.

The literature and written history was very helpful and I am looking forward to returning.

Thank you for an amazing experience and the opportunity to create some precious memories with my family!




x

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Jun 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Unique experience

Review submitted on Thu, 06 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We brought live lobster which we steamed and enjoyed with champagne. But even without the lobster and champagne our stay at the lighthouse would have been a highlight of our 5 day visit to Shetland.



Unique

Review submitted on Thu, 30 May 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had a lovely four day stay in this unique property. Very spacious and well equipped (even includes a jigsaw puzzle of the venue!). The views were fantastic and there are many nice walks to be done in the surrounding area. The only downsize is the amount of tourists that come to see Eshaness cliffs so you aren't as remote as you think you are! But altogether a great experience and would definitely stay in here again.



traumhaft

Review submitted on Wed, 29 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
diese Location ist super, der Ausblick, die Ruhe, die Umgebung
Wir waren eine Woche da und haben jeden Tag genossen. Die Wohnung ist großzügig, gut ausgestattet und Tim hilft sofort, wenn Hilfe nötig ist.




Unfortunately - We did not stay here - weather and/or air delay from Fair Isle

Review submitted on Thu, 16 May 2019
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Our group of four adults was really looking forward to our three night stay at the Eshaness Lighthouse. Unfortunately, due to circumstances beyond our control, the wind on Fair Isle and the AirTask Plane not flying us off Fair Isle on the day of our reservation we completely missed our stay on mainland Shetland. I had good communication with the Eshaness office staff via telephone and the lighthouse custodian via phone and email. If I ever travel again to this part of the world I would try once again to stay at the Eshaness Lighthouse.



Eshaness - a stark and beautiful place.

Review submitted on Wed, 15 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the staff were great. Sharon Mann, receptionist was extremely helpful to me in contacting the warden of the property. The property warden was there to meet me as we agreed. The property was extremely clean. It can get a bit cold there, but that is to be expected. Plenty of heaters available. The surrounding area is beautiful. Ewes were enjoying the new lambs and the sea sights are always spectacular.



A holiday like no other

Review submitted on Thu, 02 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I returned to Shetland for the second year in a row last month. Central to my stay (on both occasions) were 5 nights at the Eshaness Lighthouse. A magical place to stay. The sea, the sky, and the weather often change hour by hour, sometimes minute by minute. The sunsets (and sunrises too if you are an early bird) were amazing. The cliff walks are full of wonder. Walks can be easy walks, or for those who are skilled and want more, there are longer walks. For those looking for wildlife, there is much to see if you are patient. In season you might see Orcas, Seals, Puffins and much more. So don't forget the binoculars. Inside, the Lighthouse is warm and comfortable.

Once you have stayed at the Lighthouse once you will, like me, want to return. I was hoping to be there during a dramatic storm, but alas no, it didn't happen. Maybe next time!




Easter

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Short but beautiful stay over breathtaking cliffs. The accommodation is very nice, kitchen equipped very good. We had a great time in the lighthouse.



Superb location

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Apr 2019
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Its the most beautiful area of Shetland, a superb location to stay and discover the isles. Its our 3th time we stay there. We would like to have wifi, for a lot of people it is not an item but it would be easier to get information of the isles, to book the ferries on line or to know when to spot aurora borealis, sea-life (orkas, whales, seals, ...), birds (puffins, ...).



A lovely retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I stayed at Eshaness lighthouse with my boyfriend. It was a wonderful getaway location, feeling very isolated, though not too far from some amenities (25 mins in the car). The lighthouse contained all the utilities you need and access was easy to arrange. We had a lovely stay.



The location is perfect

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Jan 2019
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here a number of times (this was our fourth stay), the property has had very little done to it in the 5+ years we have been coming so the interior is getting a bit tired. The property would also benefit from having WiFi as the phone signal is poor at best (though it does have a pay phone for emergency calls, and also incoming calls). The biggest disappointment this year was the addition of frosted window protectors on the seaward side, so no sea view from the back bedrooms, no standing with binoculars looking out to sea, no checking for Northern Lights without going outside. Not a problem if the weather is good but not so good in a gale, or at night in your PJs having to go outside to check for solar activity.

We may be back but won't be anything like as regular as we have been, mainly because of the frosted windows that have been fitted.




A nice stay

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Nov 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is beautiful and equipped with everything you need. From there you can make beautiful hikes and always have a great view of the sea. In the lighthouse you will find a lot of information about sights worth seeing on Eshaness. If you want to go out for dinner, we can recommend the Busta House Hotel. Thank you for a pleasant stay.



Great holiday value

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Eshaness. At first we feared it might be cold and drafty, but we found the exact opposite. It was warm and cozy, even when a cold northerly storm with high winds blew through. The hosts had done a great job preparing for our visit. There were clear instructions and we found everything we needed for a comfortable stay.

The location is amazing. The landscape and ocean are extraordinary, the isolation is refreshing. We went for morning walks and never heard a man made sound; nothing but ocean and animals.

Visitors need to remember this lighthouse is almost 90 years old. The design is centered on the functionality of the light, not sweeping ocean views. Given that, it is very comfortable, great location and incredible value. We had a hard time leaving and can’t wait to return.




A very special place

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Oct 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Eshaness is a very special place, indeed. Staying there has been a great experience. However, it is more the location than the accomodation itself that is so attractive. There are some things that could be improved in the accomodation, to make the overall experience even more pleasant. We noticed a slightly fishy smell, which did not really disappear. What we missed most, were proper chairs to sit on while having our meals. One or two chairs in the bedrooms would be nice, too.



Wonderful stay at Eshaness lighthouse

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Eshaness lighthouse. The rooms and facilities were cozy and attractive for such a wild place, and a comfortable retreat from the October wind. And the scenery is, of course, beyond compare.



Lighthouse magic

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent stay in a very comfy home with all amenities. Glorious views and walks..even thrown in the filming of a Shetland episode for free. Great ambience..felt like home away from home. Hope to return one day. Many thanks for a great stay!!



We were so sorry to leave

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Eshaness Lighthouse was our favourite place to stay during a two week holiday in Shetland. It was warm, with a very welcoming living room, a good kitchen and pleasant bedrooms. Obviously, the location is stunning and there are loads of walks from the door. It was lovely to see the flashing beacon as we returned one night in the dark. That's our home (albeit temporarily). I am already planning my next trip.



Amazing stay at Eshaness

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Spent an amazing 3 nights at Eshaness. Great location. The accommodation was comfortable and warm. We were greatly warmly and enjoyed the welcome pack, one night was quite windy which added even more atmosphere. Would definitely stay again and/or try other lighthouses in Shetland.



Un paradiso!

Review submitted on Mon, 03 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Abbiamo trascorso 5 notti nel faro ma ne avremmo fatte almeno altre 10!
La location è bellissima, scogli, prati natura a 360 gradi. ogni momento del giorno, che sia bel tempo o brutto è un regalo. Passeggiare vedendo uccelli di ogni tipo e le foche a qualche passo è qualcosa di veramente speciale. In una delle passeggiate abbiamo avuto anche la fortuna di vedere delle orche.
Il faro internamente è un gioiello. Sono stati conservati infissi e porte originali, il lavandino in cucina è bellissimo e la vista da ogni finestra un sogno. Il check in e il check out sono stati perfetti e l'accoglienza ottima.
Anche se la posizione del faro è isolata con facilità si raggiunge un negozio fornito di tutto quello che occorre.
Ritornerei sicuramente in questo angolo di paradiso che ha saputo regalarci ricordi bellissimi.




Two nights at Eshaness lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 29 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent two nights at lighthouse and it was perfect. Iwona had inform us well and there was local bier and oatcakes waiting in the kitchen. Rooms were clean and the whole house was very nice. We took walks nearby and had
Interresting talks with people who visited the site.
Worth every pound!




Short stay in the lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Aug 2018
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We were in the Eshaness Lighthouse for 2 nights. One more night would be probably better, because the weather was very changing and the surrounding is so amazing and impressive that you could stay and watch the see and rocks all the day.. The lighthouse is an older building, however there is several heaters, so you can use them if you need more warm. It has 3 sleeping rooms + living room + kitchen. There is a TV, DVD player and some DVDs. Plenty of games for children and books. No mobile signal, no Wifi. There is a fixed phone line. The kitchen is very well equipped, there is even some flour and oil for cooking, spice etc. The island itself is not very large and you can go from the north to the south and back in one day. There is no big town, however food is possible to comfortably buy in Lerwick. We enjoyed the stay in the lighthouse a lot and would recommend it to anybody who likes the beauty of the nature.



Amazing days in the lighthouse and Eshaness

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Aug 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We spent a really good time in the Eshaness lighthouse. The surrounding is breathtaking. The time without the Internet was really recreative.



Breathtaking views

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Aug 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our family of five stayed at the lighthouse for five nights in July 2018. The location and views are breathtaking. We saw some incredible sunsets and made daytrips to explore other parts of Shetland including Unst and Sumburgh. The lighthouse is very spacious and easily accomodated our family. The kitchen was fully equipped and having a washing machine for laundry was great. Kids loved playing many of the classic board games that were there as well. And while they say there is limited to no cell service, we found that if we went outside and stood at the northeast corner of the property we could get 3G service from the vodaphone network.

I would suggest some updates - for example some new living room furniture would be nice. The lighthouse was clean in the sense that all of the weekly cleaning had been done, but cleaning you might do every few months was needed. For example there was a thick layer of dust along the baseboard in the bathroom that I cleaned off when we arrived.

This is our second trip to Shetland and if we ever come again, we would definitely stay at the lighthouse.




Eshaness lighthouse - beautiful but not away from it all

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jul 2018
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In general we loved our stay at the lighthouse.
It is however not as way from it all as it states on the website. With the Eshaness cliffs apparently being a tourist hotspot, you get several coaches and innumerable cars at your doorstep daily.
The accomodation itself is good, convenient and cosy, hoewever slightly rundown and cluttered for the money you get charged. Customer service was excellent and we felt very well looked after.
If we could make a wish it would be for a picnic place outside facing the sea and booking possibilities for shorter stays than the minimum of three nights.




A very special experience

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Eshaness and we enjoyed it even more than the first time. We had a very warm welcome from the custodians and loved being in such a remote and special place. Thank you, we'd love to stay again.



Trip down memory lane

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Jul 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had been to the Shetlands several times in a not to near past (1971-1986). This was quite a different location ( we used to stay on Yell) and we found it fantastic. In the first week we had stormy weather and walking past the cliffs was quite an experience. The house was wonderful and it was a relief to be deprived of modern communication means like internet and social media.In de middle of our stay there was a problem with the water and everybody went out of his way to solve it. Fortunately it rained that day so we were never really without water. The custodian was really nice and caring.
In short an experience to be repeated.




Och aye the view!!!

Review submitted on Sat, 23 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an incredible location! The view from the Eshaness Lighthouse is nothing less than amazing. A fabulous place to get away from it all. Extremely comfortable and spacious accommodations with all the necessary modern conveniences, but (thankfully) no internet or cell phone service. Enjoy a cuppa in the lighthouse yard while watching sea birds soar to and from nesting sites on the cliffs. Step out the door onto walking trails that lead you to the fantastic raw natural beauty that defines Eshaness. Eshaness Lighthouse is indeed a very special place. A sincere thank you to the Shetland Amenity Trust for making this gem available for public use and a special thank you to the lighthouse custodians (Iwona and Neil) for making us feel so very welcome at the time of our arrival.



Living the dream

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a wonderful opportunity it was! How lucky are we to have access to this wonderful building. A dream holiday so grab the chance if you have it. Good heating, comfortable bedding and a workable kitchen and laundry plus views and walking opportunities to die for. Highly recommended. (And the Braeview cafe a short distance away is excellent too.)



Wonderful

Review submitted on Fri, 25 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic place to stay at, and to be able to conveniently experience the scenery both at dusk and sunrise!



Stunning location and very well equipped definitely worth the expensive ferry crossing

Review submitted on Tue, 08 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0




Switch off and enjoy...

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a great weekend despite the grey and murky weather, the lighthouse was well equipped that you could really switch off and enjoy a good book or game. The bairns thought it was great and perfect for hide and seek. It was a good base and we all enjoyed being able to walk from it or head to the beach at Stenness just a short drive away. It was a big outdoor playground to let our imagination be our guide without the ping of an email...




We just loved this Holiday, Its the only place we've been thats hard to leave to go home.

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Eshaness lighthouse and we absolutely love the whole place, from Eshaness it self to Northmavine and all of the Shetland islands, the people are so friendly and helpful, it is a pleasure just to explore this beautiful place from the first minute you land to the last goodbye.
We will be back.




Location location location

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is the 3th time we stay at the lighthouse so we love it there. We do not like to advertise the lighthouse because we would not have the opportunity anymore to stay there...
We are totally destressed when we leave and that is te meaning of staying there ... total relaxation.
In the beginning we miss WiFi but the second day we miss it less and less whilst the wind, seahulls and the waves fill our heart!




Relaxing weekend with friends

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is a brilliant place to get out and about in the very fresh air and a superb place to relax with friends and eat and drink and play board games
The only complaint I would have is that there could be another toilet as when 4 adults are waiting to get ready in the morning and at bedtime. Perhaps if a sink could be installed in each of the bedrooms that would ease the strain a bit but there seems to be the possibility that at the end of the corridor a wee toilet could be installed - then the place would be PERFECT!!!
Thank you for a lovely weekend - we will be back!




A BIRTHDAY WEEKEND OF WALKING AND CHILLING

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jan 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
HAD A LOVELY RELAXING STAY AT ESHANESS, 5TH TIME WE'VE BEEN TO A LIGHTHOUSE IN SHETLAND, THIS WAS THE COSIEST AND BEST SO FAR :)



Eshaness, always makes us feel very humble.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Dec 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Such views ! We have traveled to many places around the world but we lost our hearts to Eshaness.
Every window allows fantastic panorama views accompanied from the sound of the waves colliding
with the cliffs below. The lighthouse itself could do with a little attention but it's shortcomings only
adds to its charm !




A unique and dramatic place to stay

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Dec 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My second stay at Eshaness and just as enjoyable as the first. Yes, some of the décor and lighting is a bit dated but this place is about what's outside, not inside. Stunning views, spray blowing over the cliffs in the gales, beautiful sunrises and sunsets (quite close together at this time of year!), and walking the clifftops with an otter for company. But still haven't seen the aurora, so will have to come back again.



A fun location especially for children

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Great place to stay but could do with a little TLC, especially the bathroom which was quite cold - no shutters or blinds on window. Huge amount of space but would be good to be able to leave dining table in situ by re-arranging room a little. Everything there that you could need.



Fantastic Location

Review submitted on Thu, 19 Oct 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
We love it here, our third visit and yet again we were lucky to see the Aurora. Internally and externally the building and furnishings are getting a bit tired, and the lack of an internet connection is a pain (no chance of emails to know the Northern Lights may make a showing). The place has a pay phone so for the trust to provide even a basic WiFi connection would be minimal investment.

Yet again we couldn't get hold of the custodians to arrange our time of arrival which is a pain that could do with sorting as you arrive on the ferry 60 miles away (so you can't just pop-in and check). It would be nice to plan your day around an arrival time especially when all you want to do after a long journey is park the car and relax asap.

We love Eshaness, if the lighthouse were anywhere else we really wouldn't bother but the location makes up for all the short comings.




Highly recommended

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With the wonderfull scenery, the landscape, the footpaths and no cellphone contact or internett it is really a meditative getaway. Highly recommended



Stunning setting

Review submitted on Sun, 17 Sep 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Quiet and relaxing stay in a beautiful setting. Well stocked for a self catering stay. Great base for exploring Shetland, as long as communication with the outside world is not a priority.



Stunning setting, adequate accommodation that needs sympathetically updated.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Could do with a bit of sympathetic updating and given a more cosy, homely feel. Setting is stunning!



Perfect

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An absolutely wonderful place to stay: being able to wake up and walk out to the views of the Eshaness Cliffs is extraordinary. I would not hesitate to stay again.



Annual light houses on the air weekend

Review submitted on Wed, 30 Aug 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
All was as expected...bathroom door bolt no alighted so would not lock very well.Possibly should be a twist lock from the inside with the emergency screwdriver override from the outside!



June 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Beautiful location , good space , but standard of cleanliness and decoration poor , especially as we had just come from a week in Sumburgh Lighthouse which was lovely. Shower was very unreliable , no dishwasher , damp interior ,could do with a significant upgrade considering the price that is being charged



Excellent location but house needs refurbishing

Review submitted on Thu, 13 Jul 2017
3.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Eshaness Lighhouse because of its amazing location and the facilities of the accommodation. However, we found that the house would need some repairs or, ideally, a complete refurbishment.



Great week fantastic location. Very cosy and comfortable with everything you need.

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Second time at Eshaness Lighthouse and we love it. Comfortable spacious with everything you need and superb location.



Peaceful Retreat in a stunning location

Review submitted on Wed, 24 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Three days at Eshaness Lighthouse provided the ultimate winding down time. A relaxing and invigorating environment. Excellent for long walks along the stunning coastline. There is no wifi and this was a special treat. We just enjoyed the place and being there together. Excellent accommodations with everything one could need. Planning to return next year!



A Delightful Stay at Eshaness Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 15 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We stayed at the Eshaness Lighthouse for 3 days and 2 nights. The lighthouse is very well maintained and we did not find anything lacking. The bed was comfortable and the place was warm with a number of heat plates well placed around the house.

We read on the website that the house did not have good reception and don't come with wifi. From the TV box, we did notice that there is a wifi option but couldn't figure out how to connect to it. So, not sure if it works or not. We expected the place to be without connections, so it was ok.

The view was fantastic and it was very pleasant to cook and enjoy our meals during our stay in the living room.

We would love to be back again one day.




Rooms with a View

Review submitted on Sun, 16 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for an unusual, dramatic, utterly unique place away from all the trappings of modern life, a lighthouse is a pretty good choice. The cliff-side location is unforgettable. We made the right choice to leave our 3 year old back in Aberdeen with his grand parents. That left us free to explore the many walks around Esherness without worrying about the sheer drops. A very special and memorable holiday.



Nice when it is stormy outside, but please no wind in the accomodation!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Mar 2017
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The windows direction Eshaness do not close proberly. That means that the rooms can not heated properly in winter times. It is unpleasant and to cold.



Excellent as usual

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is the 4th time I've stayed at Eshaness and I found everything as expected. Some folk say they miss WiFi and mobile signals but I find this to be a bonus. In case of emergencies there is a pay phone on site.



Everyone should have a stay in a lighthouse!

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jan 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Loved it! Great place, really well equipped kitchen which was a welcome surprise. The beds were comfortable enough for a few nights. Overall no complaints and the welcome pack was a lovely touch. We will definitely go again.



Our stay at Eshaness

Review submitted on Thu, 12 Jan 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We really enjoyed our stay. The view is breathtaking and the light house is really comfortable. A great host, lovely scenery and a really comfortable place. What more can one ask for ?



A peaceful relaxing Christmas

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
As my partner hadn't had a Christmas on our own before we decided to get away from it all and take ourselves off to Shetland to stay in a lighthouse cottage and we chose Eshaness. We definitely weren't disappointed despite storms Barbara and Conor which meant we were confined to barracks for the best part of 3 days! The cottage is spacious and has everything you need. The views when we eventually saw them were wonderful and even watching the storm from the comfort of our accommodation was amazing. We definitely want to go back in the summer!



Eshaness

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is located in probably the most weather-beaten and windswept position imaginable. If like me you enjoy extreme weather you're in for a treat. The accommodation, although rather old fashioned, is always cosy and warm. What is there to do? Well, the cliff top walks are sensational. It's a "get away from it all" location. No neighbours, No mobile phone coverage, No wi-fi. nearest small shop ( 15 minute drive away).



Eshaness October 2016 - What a brilliant place to have a few days away from it all. Very cosy, quiet

Review submitted on Thu, 01 Dec 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an absolutely fantastic time. The accommodation was to a very good standard and very cosy. The scenery was breath-taking.



A short break for my wife's birthday

Review submitted on Thu, 24 Nov 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi we stayed here in Mid Nov 2016 for a few nights. It's my wives birthday shortly and she has said she like to visit Shetland. But the main reason was she had always wanted to stay in a Lighthouse. The more isolated and remote the better. So Eshaness fitted this perfectly. It's position at the top of Eshaness Cliffs is stunning. We went for a walk along the tops of the cliffs and watched seals playing and fishing in the break water below us. It was ideal for us as well as there is no mobile single close to the Lighthouse. If your looking a break away from it all this is the place. The only negative I would have would be the electric heating. It's not the lack of heat but the dryness of the heat. An upgrade to an oil fired heating system would be a very worthwhile addition. There is a Co-Op 10 miles away in Brae village to get all the supplies you'll need. If your looking to eat out some night I would highly recommend the Guest House at Busta in Muckle Roe which is a couple of miles out of Brae.



Review submitted on Mon, 14 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic time with the family at Eshaness.
Superb location, great accomodation

Local facilities are great for either cooking at the lighthouse or eating out.

The Mavis Grind challenge is also harder than it looks....I blame the wind!




Good location but only if you have a car

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Nov 2016
3.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
3.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
2.0
The property is big and comfortable. The cleanliness was good. However, the water tastes horrible (I even wondered if it was drinkable) so it's essential to buy bottles of water. Also several windows have to be repared as the glass is cracked. The place is beautiful but very isolated so not for people without car.
I did not meet the customers. It think it would have been nice to have let me known before my arrival that I will meet nobody and that the property will be opened. As I was alone, without car and with no signal for my mobile I was very afraid during several minutes until I saw the property was opened. Also it would have been friendly to let a personalized handwritten note of welcome in the living-room.




Having extended my holiday I was lucky enough to return to Eshaness.

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Oct 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After staying here for 7 nights, just a fortnight ago, I'd decided to extend my holiday and was lucky enough to be able to return for a further 6 nights.This gave me more chances to catch a good dawn or dusk photo opportunity, and to enjoy the long walks.I note that a previous reviewer commented on the lack of mobile and Wi-Fi signals, to me this is another plus point. There is a land line phone on site and a mobile signal can be picked up while driving towards Braewick. I must admit it did take me a while to catch up with text's and e-mails on my return to Lerwick, but it was a small price to pay for the peace and quite of Eshaness. All being well I'll be returning next year.



Great Sensitization

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Sep 2016
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Eshaness Lighthouse in Northmavine is unique.
You can experience nature directly, because the sea is right on the doorstep. Also directly in front of the house you will find several coastel walks, which are very impressive in all weathers. Parking lots are also there.
The interior of the lighthouse is fairly simple, but everything is very lovingly prepared. You will find everything you need.
What is very difficult to find there is WiFi or phone network for your mobile phone (but there is a landline telephone in the house!).
Unfortunately you will not have the chance to go to the tower of the lighthouse. There is no access.

If you love nature, wind and sheep and you love extraordinary places, it is a must have for you to come to the Eshaness Lighthouse if you come to the Shetland Islands!




Third time of asking and looking forward to a fourth visit.

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My third year of staying here proved to as enjoyable as my first two trips. The weather was, as usual, changeable and all the better for it. Photography is my main hobby and trying to get that one off shot in the late or early hours when there's a mist to define the light beam continues to be a challenge....... maybe next time !!



Beautiful location

Review submitted on Fri, 16 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This property is at a stunning location and has everything you need for a comfortable stay. The decor is a little dated but this didn't detract from our enjoyment staying at the lighthouse. Lots of excellent coastal walks straight out of the front door.



Great place, could do with Wifi though

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Sep 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Location was great, could think about getting WiFi installed as there is no phone signal or anything as such. Thanks for the wonderful holiday. 8 out of 10 - would definitely stay again.



Nice

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a location. amazing. We loved every second there. We had problems with the shower. there is virtually no cold water pressure in the bathroom. however not a problem as we used the bath. lots of hot water. so, not really a problem.

The reason I gave it "Good" for cleanliness and condition, it that it is not quite the same as Trininty Lighthouse standard. That said, it is very good, and we will be back. Thank you so much for a wonderful accommodation and location.




Revisit to Shetland nearly 30 years on.

Review submitted on Tue, 31 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My mother was with NAAFI during 2nd world war. She told us lots of stories about U-Boats off Sumburgh Head. My first visit with a motor-caravan ,in the 80's enabled us to go to all the islands near the Mainland. This time I had my sister with me and we stayed at Bressay as well as Eshaness lighthouse cottages. I loved the Shetlands in the 80's, the friendliness and kindness of the people, the wonderful wildness of the landscape, birds and wildlife. Apart from two-lane roads, a much larger Lerwick Town and Harbour there was still that specialness of all that is Shetland.
The cottage at Eshaness was delightful, very well furnished, heated and with essentials of tea coffee etc., that you want after a long day's travelling. We thoroughly enjoyed ourselves visiting Sumburgh, Scalloway, the working Crofters cottage at ?Boddam and investigating the roads to their ends.
Last but not least we thank Aurora very much for making sure everything was there for us, and her kindness in forwarding some important items I had left behind.
Marion Minney visited 23rd - 27th May,thankyou



























May 2016 at Eshaness

Review submitted on Tue, 24 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Unique opportunity to stay in a truly beautiful location. Easy to book, very accommodating management and a chance to disconnect from the world. We highly recommend the area to hikers and anyone wanting a break in a gorgeous place. The entire trip was an adventure - from the overnight ferry to the drive out.



On the edge of the world

Review submitted on Sat, 21 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay in a fantastic location. The lighthouse is so full of character, and the location unbelievable. Wonderful walks from the doorstep. We did not move our car for 3 days. Accomodation fully equipped, and extremely warm and cosy. Wide range of books and games ( which we did not use) and Sky TV if desperate!

Highly recommended. We should have booked for a longer stay: will need to return. 4 days is too short




Experience the landscape of N Mainland Shetland

Review submitted on Wed, 11 May 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The younger members of the party have every intention to return with children and friends.The Shetland Amenity Trust is to be complimented on the way they have developed former lighthouse keeper accommodation to suit the visitor.We will be recommending the holiday to our friends.



A unique place in a stunning landscape

Review submitted on Mon, 02 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed here for three nights at the end of April and wished I had stayed longer. Eshaness Lighthouse is comfortable, warm and well equipped for holidays but still has the atmosphere of the keeper's cottage that it previously was. There's a large screen TV and plenty of books to read but with the views outside you don't really need them.

It won't suit everyone. It's a lighthouse on a remote and exposed clifftop, built to do a job. But if you like dramatic scenery and equally dramatic weather (I had snow, hail and sunshine) you will love this place.




A very pleasant stay on a beautifull location

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is exactly what you expect and want in staying in a lighthouse
Absolutely perfect.
Very comfortable house and very good equipped
excellent parking facility.
Luckily the weather was quite rough and that is what is supposed to be




Cosy, comfortable and stunning - Eashness Lighthouse

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The setting is stunning, changing with the light from moment to moment, but once you've stepped inside Eashness Lighthouse you'll be reluctant to leave. We were welcomed with Shetland brewed beer and Shetland Oatcakes, into a beautifully kept house. I was surprised by the period details of the tiles by the front door. The wooden shutters are practical and beautiful. Each window frames a fantastic view. We found everything we could possibly need in the kitchen and bathroom and had plenty of linen to keep us cosy. A wonderfully relaxing place to rest with the family!



Exactly as described.

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife and I stayed at Eshaness over Easter 2016 and had the most marvellously relaxing time.

If you are expecting 5 star luxury then you will be disappointed, but if you are happy in a comfortable and most importantly, a warm lighthouse keepers cottage then this is what Eshaness is. Bear in mind however that no one would choose to build a house in such an exposed position, so there is a utilitarian feel to the place and it has been built to cope with being in such an exposed location. Don't expect panoramic sea views from the rooms as there are none, the west facing side takes a battering from the weather so the windows on that side are necessarily covered by an extra set of storm protection that has become a little opaque over time.

Don't be put of though, it is a really special place and has an absolutely wonderful feel to it. Highly recommended!




Beautiful location - our house with a little light on roof

Review submitted on Sun, 27 Mar 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had an excellent stay, enjoyed the quietness and walks along the dramatic cliffs. Its the most beautiful place we stayed in. The lighthouse itself is comfortable, everything you need in a household is present. Or like the Scottish people say: it is GREAT;



very pleasant stay

Review submitted on Tue, 22 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
nice place, wonderful scenery, very peaceful. we were Lucky enough to see a northern light; very best place to visit north of Shetland and some isles.



Great stay

Review submitted on Tue, 02 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is as you expect, its location was fabulous and the interior had everything we need, we weren't after 100% luxury but it had everything we needed. The info in the lighthouse was very useful, shop opening times, those mini leaflets on each area. It had everything we needed. Our showers topped working and after a call to the custodian he got it all fixed whilst were out for the day, and left us some complimentary ales and biscuits. I am just happy that places like this are still around and that hopefully by us using them it keeps them running.



Sky TV but no wifi

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Dec 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
2.0
3 days spent during the winter.
No external lights to the property except the rotating light on the light house so it's unsafe at night/ arriving/ or fetching items from the car.
I suppose also there should be Some warning on how close the building is situated to the cliff edge and about the blow hole to the cave below especially if their are children staying.
The hot water was playing up one night and I telephoned the designated contact and left a message but never got a response. Luckily it began working the following day.
Why have sky tv but no wifi?
I suppose the feeling of a country retreat like this is accentuated by no phone signal and having to talk to one another than staring at our phones! But it would be nice to at least have the option. (There is a pay phone but ensure you have a deep pockets as it runs out fast).
The house is brilliantly warm, well decorated and has secure feeling window shutters.
There is ample towels and bed linen and some complimentary foods.
The price was dirt cheap and not in line with some of the other extortionate holiday letting or hotel rates across the islands.




Great location needs renovation

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2015
3.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A great location on the cliffs of Eshaness needs some renovation (kitchen, bathroom, windows and doors). The cleanliness is after a Change of the curator much better.