FB Twitter

Sumburgh Head

Sumburgh Head

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 92 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.8
Location
5.0
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
4.9


Sumburgh Lighthouse is the oldest lighthouse in Shetland, and perhaps the most well known. Rising above the precipitous Sumburgh Head cliffs at the southernmost point of mainland Shetland, the Lighthouse is visible from land and sea for miles around.
The three bedded property sleeps up to five people in traditional, yet luxurious, accommodation.

Perfect Stay

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Mar 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From start to end, the stay was absolutely perfect. We visited during the down season which meant we were the only people there for miles. Absolutely fantastic views, gorgeous house. Warm and cozy against the crazy wild weather outside.
Lots to do nearby but a car is required. Would 100% reccomend (and have done) to anyone wanting to visit Shetland.




Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 12 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Sumburgh Head for a few days at the end of our Shetland visit. The caretaker was really helpful and the property is just amazing. It’s well equipped, warm and welcoming. We wished we could have stayed longer. We’ll definitely be back.



Excellent accommodation in a superb location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was outstanding. The kitchen was lovely and comfortable, the Aga providing a great atmosphere. The kitchen was also really well equipped with good quality appliances and utensils. The living room was also really welcoming and comfortable. The location was superb, every morning and evening we marvelled at the views.



Exceptional

Review submitted on Thu, 03 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was a privilege to stay at such an awesome place, the views, accommodation and service was excellent. The price included being able to visit all the museums on site.

My only issue was that the Aga stays on 24/7 so at times the place was roasting, also it was difficult to control the temperature of the Aga when cooking (so we had a few burnt dinners).
But apart from that I would recommend this awesome accommodation to everyone.




Extraordinary

Review submitted on Wed, 25 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had three nights at the Sumburgh lighthouse- and would have loved to stay longer. It is such a special place, surrounded by the sea , the feeling of history and the power of the sea everywhere. The accommodation itself is equipped perfectly, the kitchen has everything you could need - we loved the Aga- always warm, when you come into the kitchen. All rooms are warm, provided by the underfloor heating, for a longer stay you find everything you need in the utility room- washing machine, dryer,iron, additional towels. In case of questions, Gary is there for you or you could telephone Nikki and Thomas ,when it's urgent . Puffins had gone at our time there, we knew that before, but we saw a lot of other birds, rabbits ♥️ and a pod of ORCAS !!!
Thank you for giving us this opportunity, a lighthouse us a very specual place to sleep !




As wonderful as we imagined and more

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at the lighthouse for 3 nights in September . The location is breathtaking and the lodging so well appointed and comfortable we never wanted to leave! The beds were comfortable and the Agga in the kitchen provided constant warmth. We loved every moment and the surrounding cliffs, sea, sheep and views only added to the experience of a lifetime. Excellent does not begin to describe our time there.



Fab stay at sumburgh lighthouse

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had 3 fabulous nights at sumburgh lighthouse! A ready made adventure! The rooms were more then adequate, providing us with everything we could need. If anything maybe too warm...and the water extremely hot.
A very memorable stay.




Absolute magic

Review submitted on Wed, 11 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were very glad to be able to spend a few days with my husband's 91-year-old mother at the lighthouse, which I knew from a previous visit. It was expensive compared with the Fort Charlotte flat in Lerwick where we also stayed, but it was a unique spot and we had a lovely time. The warmth and comfort were surprising but essential in the usual windy weather. The staff at the lighthouse couldn't have been more helpful or friendly. Loved the bath, the bedlinen and the well-equipped kitchen. The siting of the toilet next to the upstairs bedroom made it very suitable for a party where one member would need not to be far from a loo at night.



Fabulous

Review submitted on Wed, 28 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An amazing place to stay - fabulous location, good facilities and a lovely atmosphere. Even better in a gale.



Summer holidays at Sumburgh head

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful location. Very comfortable house, perfectly equipped. Loved the days we spent there. Only missed the puffins that had left by then.



Highly recommended location to explore the south mainland. Very spacious and well equipped property.

Review submitted on Sat, 17 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To be able to view Pufflins at close proximity was indeed a privilege. The sunrises were a bonus! The evenings and early mornings were truly special.



Amazing family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My daughter, son-in-law and two grandchildren spent a wonderful week in the lighthouse cottage. We received detailed instructions on how to find the property and were met by the friendly custodian, who showed us round and gave us lots of useful advice about the site and surrounding area.
The layout was perfect for us as the master bedroom and children’s bedroom were on the same floor and my bedroom was on another so we had our own space.
The views from the windows were amazing and the facilities were splendid, particularly the huge kitchen with the Aga and enormous dining table.
We loved watching the puffins and rabbits and having the freedom to walk outside and have it all to ourselves in the evenings.
We found it to be such a special place and were very sad to leave.
I hope to return sometime.




Spectacular location among puffins

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We very much enjoyed our third stay in Sumburgh Lighthouse. It´s definitely the No. 1 accomodation if you like puffins and other seabirds. The location is great and offers spectacular views. A wonderful coastal path leads you to the lounge bar in the hotel nearby. And, of course, we did not miss the visitor center with excellent exhibitions about the lighthouse history and sealife.
We will come back.




brilliant

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Best accommodation I have ever stayed in, lovely views, really well equipped kitchen and a chance to cook on an aga!



An absolute must!

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second stay at this fabulous location. We had another warm welcome from Nikki and Tony and soon settled in. This time we saw the Puffins! The property is fabulous with amazing views, is very well equipped and has plenty of space - we love the staircase. However, we thought that overall it was looking a little ‘tired’.



Fantastic stay in an awesome place

Review submitted on Wed, 22 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were there with five people, two couples and me, and we absolutely loved it. The cottage is furnished very affectionate with all the little details which make the stay really comfortable. Everything was very clean and the warden was really helpful. The location is very special. I love lighthouses since I was young, and staying in one (or at least in the cottage) was great, especially with all the sea birds and puffins around. And a fog horn which is still functional, but no more in regular use. But one has got a great view from it. We didn't have a car for the whole time, but Tesco delivered some food for a very little charge. We were absolutely in luck with the weather, five sunny days in a row, but I'm sure that even in bad weather it would have been great, as the cottage is really warm and cosy. It's crazy how far in advance it is fully booked during the puffin time, but it is definitively worth a long term planning.



An absolute must-stay location on Shetland

Review submitted on Wed, 08 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This place is just incredible!! The location is stunning - puffins on your front lawn! The views of the coastline are amazing, and people have spotted orca from here though we weren’t lucky this time. The accommodation itself is 5 star - so warm, cosy & comfortable. We had a great time cooking on the range, eating round the big table, and relaxing in the big bath tub. The beds are so very comfy - even the bunk beds! Can’t recommend this place highly enough, we just hope we’ll be back some day.



Short break at Sumburgh Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sumburgh Head Lighthouse is a stunning property which has been creatively updated to provide a comfortable and unique holiday destination.

According to local reports, Sumburgh Head is a windy spot, but the house, heated by underfloor heating and a large aga, was very cosy, especially the lovely kitchen. The renovation has been done to a high standard, retaining many of the original features and character. Much more pleasant than the conditions encountered by the Victorian lighthouse keepers. Access by car was no problem and the walk south from the house to Jarlshof was stunning. We were fortunate to witness puffins and enjoy the peace and quiet.




Great stay in a unique property.

Review submitted on Tue, 09 Apr 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Kitchen is fantastic - fully equipped
Property was warm throughout - underfloor heating is a great idea
Double bedroom is also fantastic with a really comfortable bed and excellent bathroom next door.
Linens are high quality
Cleanliness was excellent.
Hosts / custodians friendly and very helpful.
Though living room was a little sparse … bit more interior décor might have helped and perhaps a carpet.
Only complaint was lack of WiFi … not a problem on this occasion, but it could have been
Overall very good indeed and we would return.




Northern lights hunting

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a place to stay for not just looking at the aurora, If you like the experience of wild windy weather in a rugged landscape this is the place, We could not fault any thing about the place or stay from booking to actually staying there. Just looking out of the windows the views were excellent. The light house has every thing you need including extra heaters for the colder weather the kitchen is fully stocked with all the utensils you will need for cooking. Beds were comfy and the under floor heating made the cold looking slabs on the floor very nice to walk on.The only negative point i could think of is the access road is steep and gets slippery in the cold weather but it is a light house on top of a cliff and you expect cold weather in winter.



Stunning location, superb accommodation

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable accommodation in a stunning location. The custodians of the lighthouse were very helpful and friendly. Plenty of space and very warm. Very well appointed, including Aga oven. Allocated parking. Highly recommended.



A very nice stay

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Nov 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent some nice days in the lighthouse. The surroundings invite to a few small walks. The landscape is beautiful, especially the cliffs. Excursions to the Jarlshof and the beach "West Voe"; are highly recommended. At the Sumburgh Hotel you can eat very well.



Superb

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy yet atmospheric, your very own castle on a cliff top for the duration. The evening sky affords stunning views of surrounding environment.



Wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful 5 day stay here. The lighthouse accommodation far exceeded our expectations. It was so warm and comfortable. The underfloor heating and the Aga made it very cosy even on the windiest of days. Stunning location.



A wild & windy long weekend

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Oct 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent amenities. Warm and cosy. Only complaint drafty leaky windows and doors. Otherwise wonderful.



Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Review submitted on Thu, 04 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sorry we had to leave. Could have just moved it. Very peaceful. Could not fault the amenities provided.
Given ok rating for value as it was expensive for just the two of us because of Australia Dollar at the moment. Probably more suitable for family.




The lighthouse is unique and breathtaking.

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is unique and breathtaking. Mr. Marriott was a wonderful host and a terrific representative of your organization.



Amazing location. Extremely comfortable. Unique experience.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hosts were welcoming and helpful. The location was unique and amazing. The views were incredible. Accomodation was spotless, warm and comfortable with many thoughtful extras. I would highly recommend the stay to anyone wanting a memorable experience.



Very nice house on superb location

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Sep 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice and clean house on a beautiful location. Everything you need is available and service is great.



Beautiful location, beautiful property

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Sep 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage has been renovated to a very high standard. We were met and shown around as arranged. The location is good for seabird watching but should be avoided if you like to be near restaurants etc. There is a small cafe on site and the whole complex is a tourist attraction so it is quite busy with people during the day but peaceful at night.



A great place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Sep 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
To stay in a lighthouse at a place like this was fantastic. You do have a view from some of the rooms and of course if you are outside.
On a sunny sunday there will be a lot of tourists, but they do all leave in the evening and than it's even better to be there.
The house is very pretty and charming and very neat.
The Aga in the kichen was much too warm for this years summer and there is a gap in the door to the bunk-bedroom - it gets really cold if its windy!
Nikki and Tony have been more than friendly as custodians - it took no time to feel at home and we learned so much about the lighthouse and whole Shetland - Thanks a lot!




Wonderful!

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great place to stay in Shetland (plus other characters in order to meet their required minimum to post this review!)



Special Weekend

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Enjoyed a great family weekend In Sumburgh Lighthouse. What a special venue where we felt very at home yet in a unique setting . Thank you to the staff for all they did for us.



Fantastic

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic location, beautiful views and we had Puffins galore.
Kitchen was clean, warm and well equipped.
Full laundry with washing machine and clothes dryer provided, which was handy for us as we were travelling light.
Customer service was great, we were met at the arranged time and shown around.
The whole apartment was clean warm and comfortable.
We had a wonderful stay at the Sumburgh Lighthouse.




Memorable place to stay

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent, comfortable accommodation in a memorable location. So much to see and do and great to be there after any crowds have gone.
All surrounding facilities very well done . Wish there had been availability to allow us to stay longer




Best stay ever!

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is not much to say about the lighthouse keepers cottage than it was the BEST STAY EVER!!!
We liked most the AGA and the Belfast sink in the kitchen (we'd never cooked on an AGA before) and the bathroom with the vaulted ceiling. Every room was tastefully decorated and furnished. This was our dream home!




A dream!

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most enjoyable stay at Sumburgh Head; a really unique place.
Very warm welcome by Nikki.
Lovely puffins and very, very friendly Shetlanders; just like in paradise!
Everything was perfect, even the weather! Only the last night was very windy, but it was cosy to sit the warm kitchen and listen...
We wished to stay much longer and we will always remember our days at Sumburgh Head and in Shetland.

Thomas & Corrie Carl, Munich, Germany




Very unique and comfortable place to stay

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our stay immensely and wished we could have stayed longer. The accommodation was very clean and comfortable and everything we needed was provided. It was wonderful to be able to walk around the site and see the seabirds during the long daylight hours.



Amazing Time at Sumburgh Head

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse cottage is a beautiful place to stay. Amazing location. Our second time here. Highly recommended! People who care for it are such great people. So much wildlife and beautiful scenery right at your doorstep!!! Puffins were the highlight! No better place to stay on Shetland!!!



The most beautiful accommodation ever

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything in one place: puffins, sea, lighthouse, remote and still in the middle. Cooking with AGA was the cherry on the cake :-)



An Incredible Experience

Review submitted on Fri, 18 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family stayed in the Sumburgh Lighthouse on our last night of our 12 days in Scotland and the Shetland Islands. Nicky was so helpful, accommodating and sweet to meet us and show us around. The apartment was roomier than we expected and the kitchen had everything we needed. Needless to say, the location and views around the lighthouse are stunning and we couldn't believe we were actually allowed to stay there overnight. Our only regret was that we couldn't stay there for several more nights. Thank you for the incredible experience!



A superb location; great staff; an experience worth having.

Review submitted on Thu, 03 May 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved the location and being the only ones on site during some evenings. We did struggle with the bedroom being downstairs, and the associated noise from the boiler and heating system. We ended up sleeping upstairs in the single room, with a mattress on the floor, just to have a window we could open without the concern someone could climb in (double room is on ground floor and over looks a passageway) and have a view. The kitchen and lounge are really nicely done.
It is a great location. Really clean everywhere and comfy beds and linen. Powerful shower. Very friendly and helpful staff.




An opportunity to stay in a lighthouse

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Apr 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
There is something rather special about driving up the head to the lighthouse, past the public car park, the drop off point and down the 'lane' to the residents' car park! The accommodation consists of two levels with kitchen, lounge and a single bedroom with toilet on the top floor; a double bedroom, another room with bunk beds, the bathroom and utility room are on the ground floor. The accommodation is spotlessly clean and very well equipped. Underfloor heating keeps the place snug while the aga in the kitchen throws out tons of heat. It is worth keeping some of the blinds down if you don't like the tourists, who wander around the RSPB reserve, looking in (I like to think green with envy!). However, you are unlikely to spend all day inside as you have the reserve on your doorstep, plus a cafe complete with home baked treats, the gift shop and all the parts of the lighthouse that are open for visitors. The birds of course are the stars. You are also a 10 minute drive from the airport - you may hear helicopters, but not the planes; a few more minutes and you can dine at the Sumburgh Hotel. You are about a half hour drive from Lerwick past the most gorgeous scenery plus Shetland ponies. Sumburgh Head Lighthouse is very reasonably priced, the booking process is easy and the staff are lovely. Highly recommended.



Perfect Location!

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A long cosy week end in a fantastic remote setting provided an ideal opportunity to relax and unwind.



February lighthouse break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Feb 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the lighthouse as a family for a 60th birthday surprise. The location is spectacular and, despite snow and howling winds we were warmed by the aga and underfloor heating. The kitchen and bedrooms are very comfortable - we spent many hours playing board games and the views from the lighthouse itself were stunning - in all weather! A great base for an adventure and a very hospitable welcome from the trustees. A holiday to remember!



Shetland Visit

Review submitted on Tue, 13 Feb 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Sumburgh Lighthouse,
Just one or two things that might help others enjoy their stay.
1. I understand completely that there is very little that you can do to the building, but the rattling windows during a storm is deafening, the water pouring into the single room window is also an issue, which had to be lagged with towels, changed a few times during our stay.
2. The very bottom step from the accommodation block needs to be lit, a member of our party took a bad fall on the first evening, causing injury to his ankle.
3. The public peering into the kitchen window while we were at our meal times was also a concern, understand completely that the public need to have access to the lighthouse, but surely this part could be blocked of to ensure a little privacy during your stay, especially if your stay is longer than a couple of days.
Our party was very impressed with the underfloor heating, the large spacious kitchen with an Aga, the comfort of all the rooms, décor of the light house was fantastic.
We are very much looking forward to a return trip.
We would like to take this opportunity to thank the Shetland Amenity Trust for all their help to make our stay enjoyable.

Thanks again.

Linda Thomson




10 star accommodation in a simply idyllic location!

Review submitted on Mon, 15 Jan 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully appointed and equipped throughout in an unbeatable, stunning location! The scenery and views around the lighthouse are breathtaking- all within easy reach of the airport and the rest of the mainland.

Already planning a return.




Family Get Together

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place for a family stay, plenty of room for us 5. Beds were comfy . The kitchen was a perfect place for us all to sit around the table, plenty of cutlery, crockery etc . Everything you needed in the kitchen was there. Dishwasher a godsend. Meeting up for the keys was efficient , a time was set and we were shown round the property and given guidance on appliances , alarms.. Underfloor heating was wonderful, remember to take slippers as some corridors have stone slabs on the floor. The lounge was great for sitting around and playing games. Spectacular views, especially when its a flying gale quite exciting to look at the sea.. Very impressed with the way its been restored. Hope we get a chance to come back next year. Excellent accommodation.



Impressive accommodation - but caveats remain

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Oct 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my 3rd visit to the new lighthouse s/c accommodation at Sumburgh. Pickup of the keys from the friendly custodians went efficiently and the accommodation was as we had found it last year - very clean and quite comfortable. We had an excellent week-long stay enjoying the wild weather, great views, some fine birds, high seas, and the odd glimpse of the northern lights. The adjacent museum and tea-room were again friendly and very well worth visiting. It was nice seeing the 'artist in residence' and her work nearby too.
Nevertheless, some of the previously reported weaknesses from a year ago remain that, in my opinion, could affect guest enjoyment (detailed below as hopefully-constructive points), viz:
* The choice of sleeping arrangement (surely twin beds that can be pushed together in the main bedroom would be superior to a double) - or giving the option of guest choosing pre-arrival between a format of a double or 2 single mattresses placed into 2 single frames;
* The small slippery over-bath shower in the lower large washroom serving all residents (better & much safer if bath replaced with a proper large shower, or a half-bath with regular shower alongside) - needs bottle storage shelves too;
* The dangerous steep outer steps down to the carparking on the SE side that are completely unlit late at night or if departing pre-dawn e.g. to get early ferry (suggest add solar lights on a time or movement sensor);
* The highly slippery concrete courtyard (owing to algal film?) outside the main entrance could well be lethal in the wet (difficult one to solve - ideally needs a long heavy rubber mat laid/screwed down between door and the main courtyard exits near foghorn etc or warning reminder signs).
* Still no coat/towel hooks in the small upper bedroom;
*Note too that the handy carpark lights do not function on their timer late enough into the evening - no use for late returns from the hotel!;
*The gas stove in kitchen seemed unreliable, almost impossible to light (needs instructions!) - better to use the nice Aga cooker (though these best used by those very familiar with them).
If tackled, these issues could make the impressive accommodation even better than ever.




Fantastic accommodation - a real holiday treat

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just come back from a few days staying at the Sumburgh Head Lighthouse holiday cottage and it has to be one of our favourite holidays ever.

The former lighthouse keeper's cottage is right at the base of the lighthouse and at the end of the complex, so the views are astonishing. The cottage itself is beautifully decorated and fitted out with good quality furniture and kitchenware (which is not as common as you might expect in self-catering!). The Aga in the kitchen keeps the cottage lovely and warm, but there's also a gas hob for the uninitiated.

It's worth noting that as this is a visitor's centre and museum as well as holiday accommodation, you will see people wandering around but it was not at all intrusive. The owners were also friendly, helpful and extremely pleasant to deal with.

There is loads to do nearby - we visited Jarlshof, Scalloway, spent a day in Lerwick, walked across the tombolo to St Ninian's plus plenty of other local attractions. The only supermarket is in Lerwick, but there are a number of small local stores for the basics. Anyone staying here should also make time to visit the museum, which has loads of information on the lighthouse's use during WWII. The coffee shop has fabulous views across the sea and some excellent cakes.

We cannot recommend Sumburgh Head lighthouse highly enough for accommodation. We wished we could have stayed longer.




A Most Memorable Stay

Review submitted on Thu, 31 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My family of three absolutely enjoyed our stay at Sumburgh Head Lighthouse. The accommodations were wonderful with a fully equipped kitchen (I want that kitchen in my home!), comfortable sleeping arrangements, quality wi-fi and a great bathroom shower. That setting, of course, was spectacular. We spent much time outside enjoying the tremendous views and taking in sunrises and sunsets. In the evening when visitors had left for the day you truly feel like it is your own special place.

We will return for a longer stay!!




LOVED thid place!

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My wife told me this was her favorite place to stay - ever(!) - so I asked her to write this review Saying it's her favorite means a lot since we've traveled extensively for pleasure since our retirement in 2012 (USA, Caribbean, South America, Europe, Africa). The atmosphere was amazing: a lighthouse on the southern coast of the Shetland Islands, surrounded by nesting sea birds and visited by wild rabbits. What's not to love? The interior has been updated with a modern, fully-equipped kitchen and bathrooms, but retains the rustic charm of an old lighthouse (especially loved the stone floors). Climbing to the top of the fog-horn support tower to enjoy the strong winds blowing off the North Sea was the highlight of our stay. Such a unique experience!

On the practical side: the large bed in the downstairs master bedroom was comfortable (also had a bedroom with bunk beds downstairs and a charming single room upstairs whose window looks directly out over the sea); cable TV offered the opportunity to keep up with the news; wifi worked well upstairs - downstairs not so much; full bath downstairs and half-bath upstairs added to the convenience; the lighthouse grounds are chock-full of history (the radar installed there during WWII averted the destruction of the British fleet by the Nazis) and interesting displays. Full downstairs laundry facilities (including a tumble dryer) and warm floors in the morning (sub-floor geothermal heating) were extra bonuses. The location was excellent to serve as a base for our southern Shetland explorations.

Our only disappointment was missing the puffins - we were about a week too late. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you plan to visit the Shetlands, and would be thrilled (especially my wife) with a repeat stay if we ever make it back up this way again.




A week at Sumburgh Head

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Aug 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A genuine alternate holiday. Great fun to stay in such an unusual location, the staff, and puffins, were friendly.



Great view great local knowledge

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Aug 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A fantastic location and the property is beautifully maintained and serviced. All the amenities you could want. The contact persons, Nickiw and Tony Marriott, super friendly and really helpful and knowledgeable about the region. Really enjoyed talking to them and getting their information. Fabulous place to stay.



An amazing place

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really enjoyed the time at Sumburgh Head. The Lighthouse Accommodian was cozy and very clean. Nikki was very friendly. The surrounding is stunning. We saw lots of tammie norries and also killer whales. We spent a really exiting and wonderful time at Sumburgh Lighthouse. Best holidays ever! And we will come back in 2018 ;-).



Living in an extraordinay location surrounded by wonderful nature

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
recently renewed location on two floors; excellent for watching puffins and lots of other sea birds; comfortable home with all the facilities you need (including dishwasher, oven, ...)



June 2017

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely accommodation , cosy, clean , amazing situation . excellent space , we will be back.
Sea bird views outstanding




What a place to be!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Jul 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
For a second time we spent our holidays in the wonderful Lighthouse accomodation, equipped to the highest standard. It is the perfect place to enjoy observing breeding puffins and other birds, and the impressive coastal scenerie. We definitely will come again.



Beautiful accommodation in stunning location

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Jul 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The accommodation itself is beautiful, comfortable, and very well equipped but it's the location that makes it absolutely outstanding: the iconic lighthouse, puffins all over the cliffs, the sea view.



living a dream

Review submitted on Wed, 05 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This accomodation was absolutly perfect. We had a warm Welcome by Nicky although the weather was cold and very windy outside. The Location is a dream. Every evening we went out to watch the puffins just around the corner. The Appartement itself was perfectly outfitted. I loved the spacious kitchen with its special oven as well as the comfortable living room. I would love to come back one day.



No better place to stay!

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lighthouse is in the most beautiful location possible and the accommodations are spacious and comfortable. We especially enjoyed the big kitchen for our family meals. On evening walks we easily spotted Puffins, Oystercatchers, Guillemots, and Fulmar, and lots of birders watching other kinds of bird. I highly recommend a stay at this lighthouse - it was a once in a lifetime opportunity for us and we were not disappointed.



Stunning location!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 23 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived the place was perfect. The lighthouse apartment, the location, our custodian Nikki. The place was beautiful clean and made us feel special. We would love to come back to this remote place, it is just magical. We already miss the beautiful Puffins. Shetland should not be missed!



4 nights of comfort

Review submitted on Sat, 13 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A magical place to be based. Although the location as a base for exploring the Shetlands is geographically not central, the extremely high standard of accommodation more than makes up for this minor inconvenience.



Loved every minute of our stay

Review submitted on Tue, 09 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Sumburgh lighthouse was beautiful. It was like stepping back in time. Very clean. Every need thought of ahead for the guest. I want you to know that Nicky and Tony Marriott were the most amazing hosts that we have ever had any where. They went beyond the call of duty for us. I would love to come back. Thank you, Pamela



Wild and wonderful

Review submitted on Tue, 25 Apr 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sumburgh Head Lighthouse is a magnificent place to stay whilst visiting Shetland. You get a real sense of the wildness of Shetland up on the headland; whilst at the same time experiencing the cosy comfort provided by the cottage. After a windy day exploring the coasts and historical sites, we were thankful to sit by the warming Aga and thoroughly spoilt by the underfloor heating. The cottage is stylishly decorated and has all the facilities you could need. The museum is very well presented and the cafe worth a visit for its fantastic views and delicious cakes. The staff went out of their way to accommodate us and our visit was perfected by the arrival of puffins on the last day. Having arrived in Lerwick on a cold and dreary morning, we left glowing, having had such a unique experience.



Perfect self catering

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cosy, comfortable and tastefully decorated. Made the perfect base for exploring the South End.We will be back!



Its the most wonderful plase i evere see!

Review submitted on Fri, 07 Apr 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Это самое замечательное место, полное погружениеив природу! Если вы любите ходить и не боитесь испачкаться, то гуляйте вдоль берега, наблюдайте за птицами, кроликами и морскими котиками, а если повезет, повстречаете касатка! Огромное спасибо Nikki за её радушный приём и помощь во всем!



100%

Review submitted on Tue, 28 Mar 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything was above expectation, very clean an well cared for, all the help required was forthcoming and everybody was very helpful.



Perfect

Review submitted on Mon, 20 Feb 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sumburgh Head lighthouse was one of the best, if not the best place we have ever stayed. Nikki was extremely friendly and helpful, the cottage is perfect and we loved every minute of it.
We loved sitting at the kitchen table in front of the Aga after a day out walking, sitting in the living room on the sofa, watching television, standing outside at night watching the beam from the lighthouse go round and of course standing overlooking the sea cliffs watching the birds wheeling and diving.
We cannot wait to go back.




Unique place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Feb 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The previous reviews have said it all. This is a comfortable, warm and excellently equipped property run by people who really care about the place. The views are stunning and the ever changing and sometimes wild winter weather just adds to the experience.



New Year Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Jan 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by Tony & Nicky and given a warm welcome, the property was lovely and warm all ready for us to settle in. The kitchen was well equipped right down to a dish towel, comfy beds and plenty of clean linen if needed. We went for a walk along the beach on New Years day which is just a few minutes away by car then back to the Lighthouse for afternoon tea. We so enjoyed being able to look out the windows and take in the beautiful scenery and sea views, different each time you looked out! We were even lucky enough to catch a glimpse of the northern lights when out for an evening stroll.



Thanks for a great stay at Sumburgh Lighthouse

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Nov 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Hi, we had a fantastic stay at the lighthouse. Even with a few days of wild weather it was a fun place to be, and the near 360 degree views are amazing.

Seeing the Northern Lights on the last day was a real highlight.

Thanks,
Justin.




Wonderful location for a Vacation!

Review submitted on Sun, 30 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Shetland proved to be a hidden treasure with stunning vistas around every corner. The Sumburgh Head lighthouse proved to be the highlight.



A comfortable cottage in a fantastic location.

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Sumburgh Lighthouse twice, coming as birdwatchers in the autumn. The clifftop setting and the adjacent lighthouse make this a very attractive place for anyone to stay, and though in no way a central location, it is close to many places which feature in a birdwatcher's autumn itinerary, while seabirds are right on the doorstep in the spring. The accommodation is very comfortable, and the Aga in the kitchen and the underfloor heating make this a cosy place to return to after a day in Shetland's weather.



Impressive accommodation in a great location

Review submitted on Thu, 20 Oct 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was my second stay in the Sumburgh Head s/c accommodation (1 single, 1 double, 1 twin bunk room). It is approached via a twisty narrow road that has to be driven with care, especially in high winds... It provides warm, comfortable accommodation for 3-5 people, in an area renowned for its views, cliffs, wildlife etc (we saw a pod of 6 killer whales from the building on our first morning!).

The custodians are very friendly and solve any problems swiftly. There is adequate parking for 2 cars. It has a very well-equipped kitchen, with Aga-style oven. The living room is nice and has a good TV. Wi-Fi is useful, although it only works in certain locations owing, presumably, to the thick walls, and there is a landline telephone. There is a large bathroom - with shower-over-bath arrangement. Adjacent to this is a well-equipped washing/drying room - often essential on trips to the northern isles, which can be very wet. There is a small 'upstairs' toilet/sink, adjacent to the single room.
The doors and floors throughout are 'squeak free', good for a sound sleep! There is little disturbance from light or sound from the adjacent lighthouse workings at night. The lighthouse education centre/tea room is only a few metres away and provides refreshments & a warm welcome 11-5 pm most days spring til autumn - it provides super views of the adjacent bays/voe. A tour of the old lighthouse and the visual displays/museum is strongly recommended. Note that some ‘disturbance’ from visitors to the centre can be expected during opening hours. It is only a 10 minute drive down to the Sumburgh Hotel for fine restaurant meals, and a bar, at night if not self-catering.

Suggestions for small improvements:
It has a double bed in the main bedroom that may not suit everybody - side-by-side twins would be better for some.

The kitchen cupboards did not have quite the correct number of bowls etc for 5 people – ideally an excess is required to allow for times that utensils are in the dishwasher.

There is no grab rail in the bath area for safe entry into/out of shower - much better would be to install a fullsize corner shower and reduce the size of the bath. Addition of a shelf for shower gel etc would be useful.

Some extra coat hooks in corridors/bedrooms would be helpful.

Addition of lights (or solar-powered lamps on a timer) to illuminate the steep outside passage down to the car park along the south-east side of the building would aid safety on the often-slippery/dark steps.

The location and steep stairs may mean that the accommodation is not very suitable for those of limited fitness/mobility.

The nearby steep cliffs mean that visiting children would have to be very well monitored.





Excellent accommodation

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our short stay. The house is very well equipped and very warm. five of us stayed comfortably and felt we had plenty of space. Highly recommended.



Stunning location for a special birthday.

Review submitted on Thu, 08 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I booked this for my husbands birthday weekend.
The Lighthouse was extremely comfortable and had all we needed. The Aga was an unexpected luxury.
The setting on Sumburgh Head is breathtaking . The on site museum and visitor center is informative and free for residents of The Lighthouse. We hired a car from Star Cars and got out and about a bit but the lLighthouse is so comfortable and has such stunning views it was hard to leave.
However I would recommend The Quendale Mill, where Alistair is very helpful on local history and is kind and warm to guests.
The Scalloway Museam and Shetland Post Memorial. A Steak in Da Steak House Lerwick is a must!! You have to book though.
The Custodian is very helpful and lives locally so we knew she was there if need be.




An Enjoyable Visit

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a relaxing visit to Sumburgh. We admired the renovations which had been carried out to a high standard in an imaginative way while remaining sympathetic to the building. The accommodation was warm and comfortable and, clearly, a lot of thought had gone into the choice of furniture and furnishings all of which complemented one another.
The only suggestion I'd have, and this is certainly not a complaint, would be that you provide towel rails in the bathroom; there is room on the wall alongside the towel ring that's already provided for a hand towel. With just the two of us there, each day we took our towels up to the kitchen and hung them to dry over the Aga rail, but with five people in residence, I don't think that would be an option.




What a beautiful spot

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved this place. Breathtaking views, very complete and modern interior, very friendly hosts. It was truly a memorable experience. My wife especially loved the Aga in the kitchen.



Great Experience

Review submitted on Thu, 25 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Accommodation was spacious and of a high quality, the internet does not fully do it justice, highly recommended. Plenty to keep you busy for the week, boat trips, walks beaches, wildlife with trips to Lerwick and ferry to Unst amongst others. Only disappointment was weather did not allow our flight to The Fair Isle.



The fulfilment of a dream

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As I was a child I
I dreamt about the possibility to live in a lighthouse. Now I am 50 and I fulfilled a dream. The accommodation is wonderful, one feels at home, it allows you enjoy the place by sun and by rain. The kitchen is really well equipped. The furniture respects the style of the building. Everything is very clean. You can enjoy beautiful sunsets, admire puffins, listen to the roaring waves. Even more than I expected




Wonderful!

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lighthouse cottage turned out to be luxiorious, spacious and warm accommodation, the unique combination of old and modern. The kitched supplied with a massive fridge/freezer and a dishwasher made self-catering a pleasure. The house has even had a washing machine.
The custodians of the cottage Nikki and Tony had prepared everything to meet our needs and then left us a free telephone contact in case we needed them.
We could wander around and visit the Lighthouse buildings, we were even offered a guided tour.
My bedroom window overlooked the sea. We were lucky to have sunshine and good weather all way through. The colony of puffins was living on the cliff below us, as well as of guillemots. After breakfast we watched the seals down the cliff, busking in the sun.
The place and all holiday was a wonder, totally unreal.




A magical stay

Review submitted on Wed, 08 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Staying in a lighthouse was a fantastic experience. The accommodation was to the highest specifications and we wanted for nothing.The view from the lounge was stunning. We were even able to find a corner out of the wind but in the sun to enjoy the view outside. Being the only two people there in the evening gave us a real feeling of being the lighthouse keepers! I was thrilled to be on a RSPB Puffin site as I have always wanted to see them. I went out every day to have another look!

Nicky was very friendly and helpful, both about our journey and what to see in the local area.

Shetland is a great place to visit- and bigger than you think. We are definitely coming back again in order to discover more of the island.




Excellent accommodation in a perfect setting

Review submitted on Sun, 29 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Everything about the accommodation was very well considered. It was well equipped, homely, warm and comfortable. The setting of course is amazing and it was great in the evenings to have the puffins right on your doorstep!



Awe inspiring

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to stay and so well converted and comfortable. Surrounded by Puffins helps the atmosphere and we would wholeheartedly recommend the Lighthouse living experience to all age groups.



Excellent location

Review submitted on Thu, 05 May 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Quirky layout and only one window with a fantastic view which I was surprised about, although the wind probably dictates where doors and windows are situated on houses on the island. Lovely and warm house with underfloor heating and the Aga. Puffins very close. Be prepared for visitors to the site looking in all windows at the property. Good powerful shower in the bathroom.



Luxury lighthouse!

Review submitted on Tue, 03 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommodation and location. Beautiful views. Could see puffins just over the wall!
Can walk to the amazing Jarlshof site a couple of miles away, and Quendale Mill and St.Ninian's island are only short drives.




A very relaxing short break.

Review submitted on Wed, 20 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second time at Sumburgh lighthouse and everything was just how we would have liked. An incredibly relaxing stay. Loved the addition of the cafe. We have done all the lighthouses but particularly love this one and its setting. Spectacular view and so much to do. We'll return again.



It was all excellent

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It was all excellent, warm and good. The welcome was very good indeed. We were made to feel very special and have vowed to go back. Nikki, our custodian, was especially attentive.



Fantastic Holiday

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully renovated accommodation in a perfect location. Great attention to detail and customer service. The perfect base for exploring Shetland.



A magical place to stay

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so impressed with the facilities the kitchen and aga were so beautiful we stayed in to cook meals. The under floor heating made it so cosy. Also great laundry room. The views are stunning with something new to look at every moment and changing light. We will never forget our stay in this wonderful location and hope to return in future. We feel totally relaxed calm and refreshed after our short stay at sumburgh just wish we had longer .... Maybe next time!



90/100 very good - plenty quality fixtures and utensils.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Dec 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
very comfortable and clean and good value for money, only slight drawback was view from windows were limited. Another tip would be to move fire detector away from dryer to avoid potential to set it off.