FB Twitter

Quarenden Cottage

Quarenden Cottage

4.7
out of 5
Ratings from 25 reviews
96% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.6
Condition
4.6
Location
4.8
Value
4.5
Customer
Service
4.9


Quarenden Cottage is our largest cottage, and provides a large living and dining area plus beautiful kitchen (dishwasher included) at the lower level plus 1 double, 1 twin and 1 children's bedroom (with full size bunk beds) and 2 bathrooms at the upper level.

With its oak flooring, quality and comfortable fittings and furnishings throughout, and views over the courtyard, Quarenden Cottage is ideal for larger groups and families, and can – where needed – be combined with Damson Cottage to create an even larger 5-bedroom, 3-bathroom, holiday home. Quarenden and Damson cottage both look out over the courtyard.

Beautiful family friendly accommodation in East Devon

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Jul 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We travelled to Mazzard Farm with another family and stayed in Quarenden Cottage which comfortably slept 4 adults, 2 children and a toddler. Booking was straight forward with great communication from host Ruud before we arrived with a list of local attractions, a questionnaire about how we would like the cottage arranged/ any children-related kit we might need (potty, bed rails, baby monitor etc) and offers for in-house pampering treatments.
We were a little bit later than planned arriving, but had Ruud’s number beforehand to let him know and he was ready and waiting for us to check in when we got there.
The location is fantastic. It’s very quiet and safe for the children. The grounds are lovely, and they have thought of everything! Each cottage has its own outside space to eat, there are places to BBQ, toys for the children, play areas, animals and more. As well as laundry facilities, “the laundry” is packed with books/games to borrow, more information about the area and treats such as juices/croissants/sausages!
We just stayed for a long weekend but we managed to fit in a lot including a trip to Diggerland and a day at the beach.
I thought for the standard of the accommodation, everything additional that was included and the level of care shown to the guests, that the price was very reasonable. We will definitely come again!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Rosie from Birmingham stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in July 2021


Home from home

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Jun 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were first timers at Mazzard Farm and were welcomed with open arms. The holiday cottages are fully equipped and beautiful. The grounds they’re situated within are absolutely stunning. Even our horses enjoyed their little holiday. We loved it so much that we booked to go back already.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Tracy from Newbridge stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in June 2021


A wonderful, faultless stay woth family and friendsat Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Mon, 17 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an absolutely wonderful stay over the April Bank Holiday at Mazzard Farm. We were a group of 3 families with small children and the place could not have been better set up for us. The safe courtyard (full of toys!), leading to the enclosed garden area with the (quote from my six year old) 'mega' slide and football area and topped off by the little Farm animals. Couldn't have been more perfect.

With Covid around, it was also perfectly set up for us adults to socialise as well with the cottages all framing the courtyard seating area for us all to eat/drink together and a new BBQ hut (complete with sparkly fairy lights) for proper al fresco eating.

And the hosts were so friendly and accommodating we were made to feel.right at home.

It was our second visit and it won't be our last. Brilliant stay.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Lucy from Redhill stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in April 2021


Lovely rural retreat

Review submitted on Thu, 13 May 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A great place to stay to get away from city life. The main aim was a change of scenery rather than a holiday. Peaceful, but people around so didn't feel too remote or isolated.
Ruud and Jac were very helpful and friendly. Quarenden Cottage was a good size and well equipped. The cost of the stay was very reasonable. We have already been recommending Mazzard Farm to family and friends.
Hope to return soon.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



anna from SUTTON stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 11 nights in April 2021


Fantastic stay with family

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Feb 2021
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What an amazing place Mazzard farm is. The owners were fab and extremely helpful with all requests. The place was amazing with outdoor playground, woods to walk through and animals to look at for the Kids. The cottages were exceptional lots of space to make yourself feel at home and enjoy. Definately recommend staying here.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in February 2021


Lovely hosts and holiday in East Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely family holiday at Mazzard Farm just after the Covid re-opening. The setting is lovely and our girls (age 3 and 5) loved the ride on toys, trampoline and play areas. The bedrooms are comfortable if a little small and the living area was a great place to relax and enjoy eating all the great local produce. Having access to croissants and baguettes etc during your stay and the fantastic breakfast hamper are really helpful. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful with local recommendations and very quickly sent on a loved toy which we managed to leave behind. The area has lots to do and we really enjoyed our stay - thank you!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from London stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Great for young children

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
These cottages are great for a family holiday, especially with young children who can happily roam free in the courtyard, use the play equipment or hang out with the animals. Some of the cottages have patio doors opening on to the courtyard, which as well as being great for the kids has tables for eating or hanging out. There is also a covered play area in case of rain.

The cottages are nicely converted to a high spec, and although are compact, have everything you need. For a larger group you can join 2 of the cottages together. In winter the log burners are a great addition. The owners are very attentive to customer needs and are a mine of information for getting the most out of your holiday.

The cottages are located in a very quiet location down small lanes, with ready access to lots of great things around.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from Guildford stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Mazzard Farm.

Review submitted on Fri, 14 Jun 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect place to stay as we were at a wedding in Ottery St Mary. We didn't use it to its full capacity as the weather was pretty terrible!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Polly from Wells Next The Sea stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 2 nights in June 2019


Beautiful, Peaceful Place

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Aug 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth visit to Mazzard Farm. My grandchildren adore this peaceful place and look forward to going all year. It is an ideal environment for young children and an excellent base for exploring the Jurassic coast. Ruud and Jack always make us very welcome.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Annie from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Working week

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Muzzards farm as it was close to our sons wedding venue Rudd and Jaqu where very good hosts and our accommodations was very clean and tidy our grandchildren loved playing in the court yard and going down to collect a duck egg from downstairs.
The area is fantastic for outdoor activities

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Nick from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Another fantastic stay!

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Nov 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Love Mazzards Farm! We had a week with my cousin and their little one. The small people loved the animals, play ground and just wandering about in the outdoors. The larger people loved the Rusty Pig in Ottery and trips to the beach (and the wood burner!!). We had a brilliant week. Thank you!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Emma from Bromley stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


Fantastic time had by all our group

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Dec 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very enjoyable stay. Our children really enjoyed all the facilities in the ground. Especially the log/ rope bridge and the fantastic climbing frame. They spent lots of time watching the goats playing too. Great countryside for walking too.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Zoe from Horley stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 2 nights in November 2016


Great location, accommodation could be better

Review submitted on Thu, 15 Sep 2016
3.5
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Farm is lovely with great setting and superb outdoor facilities for kids. Location great for visiting the area. Stayed in Quarenden as we wanted a bit more room however upstairs (with 3 rooms) felt v cramped. If there were 2 adults and 4 kids staying (we had the 1 toddler) then I have no idea where you'd put everything...! The barn conversion must have been done a while ago as it's starting to look tired and there was a damp smell upstairs. We really wanted to love it here but for almost £800 for 4 nights I expect a lot more, especially out of the school hols.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Okay

Helen from Loughborough stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 4 nights in September 2016


Lovely place for a family holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Aug 2016
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We had a lovely stay at Mazzard Farm. The apartment was spacious and comfortable. Everything you can think of was at hand to keep the whole family happy: plenty of toys for the kids, a garden to explore, play football or relax in, freshly laid (chicken&duck) eggs, a utility room stuffed with magazines, DVDs and information on things to do in East-Devon etc.. It is at a quiet location, a perfect basis for exploring the Jurrasic Coast, which is 20-30 minutes away by car.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Aleid from Naarden stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Third Visit

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another lovely holiday in this beautiful place. Our children love coming here. They love the outside play space - trampoline, climbing equipment, animals and woodland area. They have made new friends each year. We had some great night-time 'bat-walks'. We love the friendly welcome we always receive. Reflexology with Jack was the icing on the cake!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Annie from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


Lovely place, warm hosts

Review submitted on Tue, 19 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We just spent a lovely couple of days at Mazzard Farm. Highly recommended. All the amenities needed for a great family break. Hosts were so helpful and gracious. Kids loved the animals and playground, and we loved having so much for them to do on the doorstep. Recommend going to Escot, and the Donkey Sanctuary.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Very Poor



Sara from Twickenham stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 4 nights in July 2016


Tranquil

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The English weather let us down, as did catching colds, so sadly, we were unable to make use of everything available in the area surrounding the farm.
Ruud was really helpful, understanding and made us very welcome.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Guest from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Relaxing vacation

Review submitted on Wed, 04 May 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a very nice stay and enjoyed a lot jack's pamper treatments! Kitchen is well equipied and the beds are very good. Thanks for the extra service for our little baby.
Bert, Goedele & Lou

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Good



Bert from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Car Free Holiday at Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Sat, 16 Apr 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a long weekend where the ages of the party was from 2 to 68 years old! We decided to go car free and spent most of our time on the grounds itself. When the sun was out, the 2 year old loved the trampoline, games room, playground and woods. That meant the adults could relax in the communal courtyard while the kids played almost unsupervised. Ruud was a considerate host and made sure we were looked after throughout our stay. We really appreciated him offering us rides into town knowing we didn't have a car with us. We strongly recommend Mazzard Farm as a relaxing family holiday destination.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in April 2016


Great holliday at Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a great stay at Mazzard farm. We enjoyed the wel provided cottage the good beds and the personal touch of our cottage.
The grounds belonging to Mazzard farm are excellend, nice garden, beautifull applegarden and verry nice playgrounds for the kids.
The service was verry good.
We loved our holliday!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Marco from Ermelo stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Family week at Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mazzard Farm's Querenden Cottage for two consecutive summer breaks (of a week) as a party of two children (3 and 5), two parents and one grandparent. We have booked to go again next year. The location is beautiful - rural Devon at its best. The grounds of Mazzard Farm provide a safe, stimulating and well-equipped environment which our children loved and there are masses of places to visit in the area generally. The nearby town of Ottery St Mary is full of history, with treasures including the independent book shop, The Rusty Pig and the wonderful Samosa Lady. Mazzard Farm's owners, Ruud and Jacqueline, are welcoming and deal quickly with any practical matters that arise for the guests.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent

Guest from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Enjoyed our first holiday with our twins

Review submitted on Wed, 22 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Everything we needed for our twin boys was provided (high chairs, cots, changing mat etc) and there was lots for them to do at the farm.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Peterborough stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


wonderful weekend

Review submitted on Sat, 25 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We (group of 5 friends) stayed at mazzard farm for a long weekend to celebrate a friend's wedding in honiton.

The accommodation was perfect, lovely, clean and comfortable and of course fresh made scones as a welcome is always great! Ruud was very welcoming and helpful and the grounds are beautiful. Would definitely come back, might even bring the kids next time! Loads of stuff for kids to do with a play bit and toys/ bikes for them to use.

Thanks for a great stay!!

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Suzanne from Alexandria stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 3 nights in April 2015


Fantastic stay at Mazzard Farm

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Feb 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Easy to get to (we travelled from London), excellent location for discovering the surrounding area (even in Winter). The farm has everything a family of any age could want. Very friendly host, fantastic service, willl be recommending to friends and family.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from Westcliff-on-Sea stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 5 nights in February 2015


Magical Holiday Location in Devon

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mazzard Farm was excellent - first rate facilities combined with a relaxed, welcoming atmosphere. My grandchildren loved the garden, animals and woodland.Beautiful spot.

How do rate the information provided before and during your stay?
Excellent



Guest from stayed at Quarenden Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014