FB Twitter

Violet Grove

Violet Grove

4.6
out of 5
Ratings from 22 reviews
95% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.6
Comfort
4.7
Condition
4.5
Location
4.9
Value
4.3
Customer
Service
4.8


Violet Grove is situated on the outskirts of the busy market town of Castle Douglas. The house itself is a 2 bedroom semi-detached with it’s own private garden and parking. There is a substantial decking at the front for you to enjoy the long summer evenings looking over the picturesque Carlingwark Loch and Park. It has been totally re-furbished and it will have everything the modern day self caterer requires!

Comfortable and convenient stay in roomy house..

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Nov 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our short stay at Violet Grove for a number of reasons. It was warm and welcoming from the minute we stepped through the door. The wood burner was easy to light and the kitchen was easy to use. The house is in an ideal location being a short walk away from Castle Douglas town whilst looking out at a park and loch. We would definitely come again.



Donald replied 99 days ago
Hi Aly, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Violet Grove. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a positive experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the future.

Lovely wee house

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Nov 2020
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very nice wee house in great location for all the amenities Castle Douglas has to offer. Excellent service prior to arrival in terms of answering queries, providing information and being flexible and helpful. Ideal size for a couple with 1/2 children. Would return.



Donald replied 106 days ago
Hi Lois, we really appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us at Violet Grove. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a good experience. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

I will return

Review submitted on Wed, 07 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A first-class experience all round. From booking to arrival Donald had the customer service as a top priority with prompt and efficient confirmation followed up with the relevant arrival information.
The cottage was beautiful, fully equipped and spotlessly clean and tidy.
Looking forward to another visit next year.




Donald replied 148 days ago
Hi Graeme, thank you for reviewing your recent stay at Violet Grove. We really appreciate your comments. It makes our job so much more worthwhile when our guests have a positive experience and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Wonderful Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at Violet Grove. Communication with Donald was very clear prior to arriving. On arrival there was a nice welcome gift which was a lovely touch. The cottage was very clean with everything we needed. We loved the log burner, very cosy. Location is great, looking out to a lovely view with a great walk for dogs. The local pub The Kings Arms Hotel was very handy and there’s a good chippy close by. The cottage was a great base for exploring the local area with lots to see. Would definitely recommend.



Donald replied 155 days ago
Hi Holly, many thanks for taking the time to review your stay with us. We feel we are so centrally located that various local attractions and activities are only a short drive away. We hope we can welcome you back soon.

Needs some work

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2020
3.0
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
2.0
Location
5.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Property needs a lot of tidying up. Bathroom needs new end panel as cracked. Around Bath needs re-sealant as dirty as is glass shower door, could do with plastic being replaced or good clean. Bannister half painted. Steps in garden to washing line very steep and very slippery when wet. Outside back door very grubby as the table & chairs and front decking. Couldn’t use back garden as next door was having their house karchered/cleaned & ladders in Violet Grove garden back door which left patio etc wet from karchering. Kitchen counters need tidying up. Floor not properly cleaned. 2 x Very dirty high chairs just left on floor by Dining room table. Such a shame as views at front lovely & great location for town & getting about. Very disappointing.



Violet Grove Weekend

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Violet Grove for three nights from 11th to 14th September 2020. This lovely cottage is very clean, comfortable and well equipped. It was well situated at the end of Castle Douglas near Threave Estate and Gardens which is worth a visit if you are a member of The National Trust like us . Non members have to pay to get in. There are plenty shops and places to eat or take away. We had lovely fish and chips from Moore's chippie on the Friday night and a Chinese take away from the
" Superstar " on the Saturday night, which was also excellent. On the Saturday night the " Great Wall " Chinese take away was so busy that we were told we would have to wait till 8.20pm for our meal.
Because of Covid restrictions we were advised that we should not arrive till 5.00pm on the Friday and we had to leave by 9.30am on the Monday morning. However, Donald kindly phoned us when we were en route to say that the cottage was ready and we could get in at 3.00pm . We had a very enjoyable time.
In my opinion I feel that the cost of this stay was a bit pricey considering the restrictions due to Covid and the fact that you have to leave by 9.30am after having to strip all the beds and wipe down the surfaces etc.





Donald replied 167 days ago
Hi Irene, thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Violet Grove. The prices have been held at last year's rates and we are working hard to maintain this despite the additional challenges the current pandemic has caused. The Covid cleaning protocols have dictated the arrival and departure times and is therefore outwith our control.

Week Away

Review submitted on Tue, 15 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great location for visiting the various wildlife reserves or 7 stanes mountain bike trails. Lovely walk to the nearby Loch. Highly reccomend.



Donald replied 168 days ago
Hi Nathan, we really appreciate you taking the time to leave us a review. We feel Violet Grove is perfectly located for lots of local attractions and activities. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us.

Nice cottage for short break

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Sep 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The property was lovely , cosy and comfortable within walking distance of the town centre. A few teething problems initially which were sorted quickly by Donald. However during the current climate it was asked that we disinfect bench’s and touch areas before leaving but there was nothing to do this with luckily we had our own.



Donald replied 169 days ago
Hi Jenni, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay. We really appreciate your comments. Thank you for raising the issue regarding disinfecting we will address the situation.

Perfect little getaway

Review submitted on Mon, 06 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week was so enjoyable it went in a blink. We couldn’t fault this place for comfort cleanliness and convenience.



Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Patrick, many thanks for your review. We really appreciate your comments. We work hard to produce that home from home feeling and we are pleased you had a good experience.

Welcoming, warm on arrival, clean and airy

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I enjoyed my break. It was walking distance to the town which had plenty of places to eat from and a few mins to the cinema .
Comfortable and spacious. Enjoyed the log fire with the free logs, the cooked breakfast pkt and milk. Very thoughtful. Thank you, Donald.




Donald replied 222 days ago
Hello Teresa, thanks so much for taking the time to review your stay with us at Violet Grove. We really appreciate your feedback. We are lucky to have such good establishments close by. Hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Ideal location

Review submitted on Sun, 10 Nov 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Really enjoyed the easy access to the town and the view of the Loch. The house was well equipped and provided a cosy comfortable base from which to explore the coast and towns. Donald was really helpful and accommodating too with the addition of a complimentary breakfast pack much appreciated.



great location

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
perfectly located to explore the area , super local chippy. Lovely walk around the loch from the doorstep [ 3 miles ]




Beautifully decorated and very comfortable house. Perfectly positioned near to the town centre

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A very comfortable house that has recently been refurbished. Very close to the town centre yet with a beautiful open view over the loch.



A lovely home-from-home in a great location

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautifully furnished and decorated, immaculately clean and very comfortable, Violet Grove was a great choice for our week in Dumfries and Galloway - our first visit to this beautiful region but certainly not our last!
Castle Douglas is ideally situated for exploring the area, and lives up to its billing as the region's Food Town by having plenty of good places to eat (don't miss Moore's fish & chip shop and Earth's Crust Bakery!).




Our wee break

Review submitted on Sat, 21 Sep 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Lovely house in a really good location, enjoyed our stay. Dog friendly as well which is a big plus for us and Donald was very helpful with our queries.



General review

Review submitted on Tue, 17 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Good accommodation in good location. We found everything to our satisfaction. We would suggest some whisky tumblers would be a useful addition!



So glad we opted for violet grove

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Super location and very conveniently situated for the short walk into all the amenities in lovely Castle Douglas, what a revelation it was and also easy to explore the local countryside. Everything we could want was provided, sadly not the weather, but it is Scotland after all and to be fair June is usually great! We also had the best nights sleep in ages and our collie dog had a brilliant visit. Just a couple of things the addition of which may assist future visitors, perhaps a slip mat in the shower/bath for safety and a few guidance notes about the sky tv remote for those of us unfamiliar with such technicals? Otherwise couldn’t fault this beautiful holiday cottage and the area. We will be back!



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for your lovely comments. As you say we are lucky that we are situated on the edge of town but we are a 5 minute walk from the main street. I appreciate you thinking of improvements that we can make and I will sort that out hopefully for your return!! Many thanks again.

Fantastic property overlooking the Loch, in Castle Douglas.

Review submitted on Sat, 15 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay in this beautiful, clean, comfortable home from home cottage. Everything was as described and we would certainly go back again. It was well positioned for travelling about Galloway and surrounding areas. Lovely cottage to come back to and relax or enjoy a walk around the loch or watch the birds feeding from the front window. Would definitely recommend.



Donald replied more than 1 year ago
Thank you for taking the time to send a review for your break. We have a great situation for visiting all the beauty of Dumfries and Galloway. Hopefully we will see you soon.

Fabulous 4 days away.

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We all had a fabulous stay at Violet Grove, there was lots of places to visit even though the weather was not great. The loch and the park over the road was ideal for walking our dog. It was a very relaxing holiday.



Lovely weekend break

Review submitted on Tue, 21 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend/stay at violet grove. We cannot fault the accomodation for cleanliness, amenities and location.
The breakfast pack and bubbly were a lovely addition and most welcomed.
We would recommend this holiday property highly as worth every penny.
Thanks again for the stay
Graeme, Jacky and Bobby




Superb short break

Review submitted on Sat, 18 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a place to stay in Dumfries and Galloway which is central to all amenities Violet Grove has it all. A lovely well set out home with fantastic views out the front. A very short stroll takes you into Castle Douglas which is a fab wee town. Beautiful scenery all around. Donald was amazing right from booking and through our stay. Can’t wait to go back



Location

Review submitted on Sun, 31 Mar 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Comfortable cottage great location with loch view. Tastefully decorated, nice breakfast welcome pack