FB Twitter

Admirals Cottage

Admirals Cottage

4.2
out of 5
Ratings from 30 reviews
90% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.3
Comfort
4.1
Condition
4.1
Location
4.6
Value
3.9
Customer
Service
4.3


Sleeps 4 in 2 bedrooms
This delightful cottage is situated a short stroll from the centre of the historic and picturesque harbour town of Yarmouth. This lovely town cottage provides accommodation for couples and small families alike. Enclosed courtyard garden.

Comfortable stay in Yarmouth town

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jan 2021
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Well equiped nice cottage 2 minute walk from Yarmouth town centre. A very comfortable and plesent stay.



A well located property

Review submitted on Mon, 05 Oct 2020
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was well situated very close to the centre of Yarmouth in a quiet street. A good range of Shops, Restaurants and Pubs close by.
Well equipped although some of the decor is becoming slightly tired. Could do with larger bath towels!
Parking does need to be arranged in the main town car park close by as it is impossible to find a space on the surrounding streets.




Another lovely time at Admirals Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Delightful cottage in a great location a few minutes walk from the shops, pub,. restaurants, pier and harbour in Yarmouth. Well equipped for four people, large kitchen, two modern bathrooms and relaxing lounge. Washing machine available. Parking nearby - you need to buy a visitors permit or pay daily.



Lovely cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Aug 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A really lovely cottage, very well equipped and both clean and comfortable. We felt quite at home! Great location too.



Admirals Cottage

Review submitted on Tue, 24 Sep 2019
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage in great location. Well equipped. Fridge faulty, gas hob difficult to light; otherwise all equipment worked well.



Admirals cottage july 2019

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent holiday many thanks. A few minor issues of which i believe you are aware,such as refuse collection why the bin is not numbered, no up to date calendar for collection dates. Also the stair handrail,and guttering to the rear of the property need attention. We would also suggest an upgrade to the hair dryer. This is not intended as a grumble,as we had a wonderful time.



Admirals Cottage, South Street, Yarmouth I o W

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Admirals Cottage is an excellent holiday cottage and we heartily recommend it to others. We look forward to possibly availing ourselves of its usage in the future.



A great cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We found this cottage quiet, clean and well equipped. Perfect for our half term in Yarmouth. The location is great and this really suited us as a family with school age kids. Hope to visit again.



Another stay at Admirals Cottage

Review submitted on Thu, 23 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Again we have had another enjoyable stay at Admirals cottage. We did see a problem with the detached guttering upstairs at the back of the property which we reported to the main office and the downstairs toilet which they thanked us for reporting and they would send the maintenance people to sort it out.











Really lovely gin fuelled weekend!

Review submitted on Sat, 11 May 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location and really central for parking. With the bus stop at the end of the road (£15 for a 48 hour unlimited bus ticket) we were able to head off to Newport connecting us to anywhere on the island.
Lucky enough to have head about the Real Ale Festival and steam railway in advance so got to make the most of that by having no driving to do!
Admirals Cottage is really well equipped so cooking a decent breakfast wasn’t an issue. Comfortable chairs in the kitchen meant we stayed up late chatting, playing cards and trying to guess the intro on the random radio channel we found.
It was a perfect getaway for 4 friends but would equally go back with children.




Practical cottage in beautiful Yarmouth

Review submitted on Wed, 03 Oct 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
This cottage was ideal for the three of us, easy walk into Yarmouth and the common and pier area. Bus station close by for island trips. Perfectly comfortable with plenty of kitchen equipment.
Only downside is the parking as you have to purchase a visitor pass but this does allow you to park all over the island for the length of your stay. Previous cottages we have stayed at have provided parking permits.




Another stay at Albert's

Review submitted on Mon, 24 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
I think this is probably our fourth stay at Admirals so clearly we are happy to return and no doubt we will return again.The house is like a 'home from home' for us as we live in a mid terrace Victorian cottage.We arrived as foot passengers from the ferry and the house is only 5 minutes walk away and the bus stop is just a 2 minute walk.

My only thought is that the front bedroom may benefit from secondary double glazing as it can be quite noisy with traffic noise from vehicles passing down South Street (the back bedroom is lovely and quiet).

We had a few minor 'niggles' with the property following our stay last year but these have all been resolved.The only thing that is outstanding is the refuse collection.As there is no big recycling bin at the cottage, we had to take all our recycling to the main carpark (glass/ aluminium cans only accepted) but paper/cardboard and plastics cannot be recycled which is surprising in this day and age..This is clearly a local council and not Island Holiday Homes Issue....











Comfy cottage once we managed to open the key safe!!

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Sep 2018
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Admirals is a pleasant well equipped cottage. We enjoyed our stay. We have stayed in neighbouring properties in the past so knew what to expect. The outbuildings were a bonus, very useful for storing our fishing gear.
However, we did find the key safe very difficult to open and would recommend that it was replaced.




nightmare holiday

Review submitted on Wed, 13 Jun 2018
2.3
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
1.0
Condition
2.0
Location
4.0
Value
1.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Arrived jet lagged from a transatlantic flight
Dishwasher ,,, not working ,,with a cursory note on it to say it was broken .ok but over the course of the long weekend the water at the bottom of the washer turned into a putrid ,,foul smelling mess,,,,,,.health hazard
No information in the cottage about the cob which I couldn't get to work automatic ignition broken ,,all weekend using old microwave
Small back garden uncared for ,,,weed covered ,,and overgrown shrubs which you have to work your way around and ,,small bench ,,no where for a family to sit
door blind broken ,,,,faded grim looking furniture ,,,,cheap foam pillows
very gloomy and disappointing
instructions for garbage disposal are confusion and filled with erroneous information ,,,there is a suggestion that you may take your garbage home !!!!!!!
good location
When I was able to get hold of the agency on Tuesday ,,day four of the holiday they were very helpful and kind and the major problems dealt with promptly
However this is a holiday rental and should be maintained at a much higher levels
The feeling that one gets from the cottage itself is far from welcoming ,,,,,,it is uncared for
and sadly this does distract immensely from a relaxing holiday





A lovely week's stay in Admiral's Cottage May 2018

Review submitted on Tue, 05 Jun 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had visited the Isle of Wight a couple of years ago and loved it so much decided to revisit the island. As we travel by public transport and ferry to Yarmouth we chose to stay in Yarmouth as the buses to Newport and onward to the rest of the island are frequent. We had chosen another cottage but were advised by Island Holiday Homes that our cottage of choice didn't supply linen - an added burden with no car! I'd looked at Admiral's Cottage but dismissed it based an previous reviews, but this was the only suitable alternative to our first choice. The previous reviews couldn't have been more wrong. The cottage was fantastic from a very well equipped kitchen with full instructions for every appliance (a welcome addition as in the past we have spent a week trying to work out how to operate a supposedly easy space age, state of the art cooker!!) to two lovely bathrooms and even the prominently displayed password for the wi-fi. Admiral's cottage is definitely spacious enough for four people (although there were only two of us) with plenty of crockery, cutlery and glasses and a very good sized kitchen/dining table. The location is brilliant as it is an absolute maximum of five minutes walk from the ferry, and just two or three minutes from the delightfully picturesque two centre and square which has a good variety of pubs and restaurants. It is also very well situated for access to the old railway shared use path to Freshwater with its two eating establishments that are a must for anyone who likes cake! "Off The Rails" is a real gourmet coffee shop and restaurant with fantastic cakes and lunches as well as being open two or three nights a week and is housed in a former railway station alongside the original platform, so is a must for railway enthusiasts. At the Freshwater end of the path, and opposite the nearest supermarket to Yarmouth, is a more 'ordinary' cafe, but equally lovely. This is on the site of the former station, but is in a newer building, though built in keeping with the railway theme. The path alongside the River Yar is a delight, with birds galore, including the song of the elusive reed warbler. All absolutely gorgeous in the Spring sunshine.

We had a little trouble manipulating the key box to access the keys to the property, and the staff at Island Holiday Homes couldn't have been more helpful. Had we not managed to dislodge the box cover a member of staff would have come to our aid. Likewise, the booking process was pleasant due to the lovely cheerful staff, who also phoned to ensure that everythings was satisfactory.

We are planning to return and hope that Admiral's Cottage is available as we enjoyed our stay so much.




Anna (Owner) replied more than 1 year ago
I am very pleased you enjoyed the cottage, Yarmouth and your stay. I, too, thoroughly enjoy the walking around and about Yarmouth - and the local cafe's and restaurants: I can also recommend the Red Lion near the church in Freshwater that you can see from the end of the old Railway line walk route'

relaxing holiday

Review submitted on Mon, 21 May 2018
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A relaxing holiday, we found Admirals Cottage was in a quiet location and the cottage was clean and tidy with every thing to hand and a plus for us was a comfy double bed. Shops pubs ect just a short walk.



Easter break in Yarmouth

Review submitted on Sun, 22 Apr 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A week spent at Admiral’s Cottage, Yarmouth was the perfect way to recharge our batteries. I took my elderly mother who loved it. The cottage was very clean and the beds soft. It was ideal having 2 bathrooms, as we were able to have one each. My mother, who is 77, found the steep stairs daunting, but she got to grips with them. We had mixed weather but the cottage was always warm and welcoming after we’d been out for the whole day. The kitchen was very well resourced and I cooked for my mother most evenings without any hitches. The front room is particularly comfortable and we spent one day snuggled up and reading our books. The WiFi is decent and it’s always useful to be able to plan your days out and book in advance online. We know the Isle of Wight very well but still managed to find things we’d never done before-the Steam Railway, Alpacas and Quarr Abbey-all of which we’d recommend. Yarmouth itself is a lovely place, with plenty to do. We particularly love the art gallery and the Blue Crab fish and chip restaurant. There is a grocery store a 5 minute walk away and the harbour is a great place to sit and watch the comings and goings. A down side is there is no parking outside the property and the only real choice is to park in the Yarmouth car park, 5 minutes away. We paid for a week’s pass online. This costs about £40. However, it means you can park across the island for free and we made use of this in Freshwater and Newport. You need to factor this in to the cost of your week, however. A minor issue is the disposal of rubbish. It is not practical to take smelly bags of rubbish home with you. We tried to recycle using local bins but there is no where for general waste. This needs to be addressed-cleaners, contractors to dispose of rubbish so it’s not left to clients, would be better. It’s a lovely footage, in an ideal location, and I’d stay there again.



Let down by poor maintenance

Review submitted on Thu, 16 Nov 2017
2.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
2.0
Condition
2.0
Location
3.0
Value
2.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Admirals Cottage provides good accommodation and is well equipped. We were very disappointed on arrival to find only one working bedside lamp shared between four beds. In addition, the battery in the smoke alarm was chirruping repeatedly and could not be silenced. The owner cannot be contacted directly by guests. So we had to contact the agents. Although their response was commendably swift and helpful, the owner was either unwilling or unable to resolve the lamp problem. So we had to make do. The smoke alarm proved to be faulty and had to be removed by the agents' maintenance handyman. It was not replaced during our stay. It is not acceptable to let out a property with these faults.

The cottage is conveniently situated in the centre of Yarmouth. Although the rear bedroom is blissfully quiet, there is disturbance from traffic noise in the front bedroom - very disappointing to be woken by that sound. We went on holiday for a rest and to escape from that kind of disturbance.




Lovely homely cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 16 Oct 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very clean and comfortable. Lovely location. Steep staircase so not ideal if you have mobility difficulties. Well equipped.



Aug 2017

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Aug 2017
3.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
2.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Admiral cottage 3 times, it has a lovely welcome feel in a great location,but we did feel it's in need of an update it's staring to look tired .



Admirals Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 14 Jun 2017
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We have stayed at Admirals for the last 4 or 5 years. It seems to need a little more care. This year we had 3 bulbs that were out, also the back needs some TLC. We love staying in Yarmouth and Admirals but last year the kitchen was not as clean as it could be and this year it was the bulbs and it never used to be like this.



Everything you could want.

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Jun 2017
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was clean and well equipped. It was very close to ferry, shops, harbour and bus stops. A very good find.



Home from home

Review submitted on Sun, 04 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Cental location for our holiday the puds were excellent food excellent lovely cottage and tranquility of the village brilliant



Comfy cottage in Yarmouth

Review submitted on Sun, 21 May 2017
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
4.0
A very comfortable cottage right in town with everything you need. It was a bonus to find WiFi had been installed



Albert's Revisited......

Review submitted on Wed, 17 May 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Another fine stay in Albert's cottage, this time for a fortnight rather than a week so that tells you something ?..We will return for another stay in the future :-))



Great location, beautiful walks

Review submitted on Sun, 09 Apr 2017
4.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We enjoyed our week in Yarmouth. Admirals cottage is minutes walk from the shops and there is a good selection of restaurants. We paid for parking in the local car park which was 5 minutes walk to the cottage and we used the pass in all other towns on the island.
The kitchen is well equiped but we felt that the old mattresses and bedding were definitely due for renewal and that the cottage could do with a little maintenance, such as replacing light bulbs.




Admiral's Cottage Review

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Oct 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
3.0
The house was comfortable and well kitted out and well positioned for the local amenities. Relating to our first impressions,there were just a few little things that we were surprised about, namely;
(i) There was a big bramble creeping up from the threshold of the back door that we had to cut to remove,
(ii) As we used both bedrooms, the bedside lampshade in the twin bedded room was completely broken and couldn't be used so a replacement lamp from the other bedroom was acquired.
(iii) The blind pull for the kitchen backdoor window was not attached to the blind (it was on the kitchen worktop).
(iv) The kitchen seat cushion covers were covered in food debris.
(v) The disposal of 'general waste' is a bit of a nuisance as we could not locate the 'Red' general waste bin at the location in the town as indicated on the posted notice.We were able to locate the bin for re-cycling in the town carpark but either way having to carry your refuse to various locations in the town is not exactly convenient. Note; we did not take our waste back home as suggested as we were travelling by train....

However, despite these little 'niggles' we would definitely return to Admiral's Cottage in the future....




Our stay at Admiral's Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 28 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic stay at the cottage. It was clean and comfortable and well stocked for all of our needs. The compromise you make in staying in the heart of Yarmouth is cottages with no parking and small back yards. We bought a permit for the car park which we then used at all the council run car parks over the island which saved a lot of hassle. It was a bit of a pain loading and unloading with two small boys and lots of beach gear everyday but there is no solution to this. Being such a close distance from the sea was lovely for the boys to play so we didn't miss a garden for that. A more pleasant back yard would have been nice for sitting out on an evening; a table and chairs for example but with the weather being so fabulous we were out and about until late.

We would certainly return, I really fell in love with Yarmouth and a daily stroll to get fresh bread and walk along by the harbour!!




small but great location

Review submitted on Sun, 21 Aug 2016
3.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
4.0
The cottage was small but well equipped for its size. We were lucky with the weather so didn't spend much time there. The downside was the outside space which was just big enough for us to store bikes and surf boards but there was no room to sit outside. We have 2 teenagers who are adult size and I would recommend younger kids as it was cramped in the kitchen. Good for a short stay as fab location.



Great property,a few gotchas

Review submitted on Mon, 08 Aug 2016
3.7
out of 5

Guest doesn't recommend this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
Very picturesque cottage which is clean and well presented. It's location is good with a co op shop close by open till 9.30 pm. (this is important as no grocery shops in walking distance ). we had a good time with a few hidden gotchas. Firstly,there's no parking at the house. You got to pay for it down the road. Secondly your asked to take your own rubbish and dispose of it. This means a trip to the tip as the bins advised in text do not exist. Lastly mobile phone signal is practically non existent on some carriers which while can be a benefit for a holiday but is not great if you have you children in an emergency. Other than that good times had ,nice property,but not looking to return.