FB Twitter

Mill Race Cottage

Mill Race Cottage

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 97 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.8
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
5.0
Value
4.8
Customer
Service
5.0


'The upside-down house' The huge first floor kitchen/dining/living room has windows on three sides giving river views both upstream and downstream. Downstairs are two bedrooms and a bathroom. The stunning plantsman's garden extends 100m alongside the river and is designed as several interconnecting 'rooms'.

A magical p[lace

Review submitted on Wed, 10 Feb 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth visit to Mendham Mill and we find it a truly magical place. From the moment of arrival the beauty and tranquility enters our souls and we find ourselves relaxing as all the stresses of daily life fade away - it's like entering another world.
The lovely grounds, the amazing building, the beauty of the river and mill stream, the wildlife and the views across the water meadows, with cows quietly grazing, create a wonderfully peaceful and romantic setting for a relaxing holiday.
James and Nick are great hosts always so welcoming, making guests feel like friends returning for a visit.
We absolutely love our visits to Mendham Mill and hope there will be many more to come.


Julie from Market Rasen stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Ideal wedding anniversary minibreak at Mill Race Cottage

Review submitted on Wed, 09 Dec 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The booking process was smooth and the owners reassuring and clear about the Covid Safe practice in place in advance and about their cancellation policy. We chose the venue partly because of the possibility of using rowing boat and/or canoes. Unfortunately due to weather conditions and high river levels neither were available. The location, ease of accessing walks in the area, and availability of a games room more than made up for not being able to enjoying being on the water. The cottage is well furnished, amazingly comfortable bed, excellent water power for shower, and hot water. Kitchen facilities were also superb. 3 drawer freezer, spacious fridge, and choice of microwave or hob and oven for cooking. The owners provided tea, coffee, milk and biscuits. Views from the upstairs windows were amazing. .Each property has its own garden, which was accessed by a side gate or through one of the bedrooms in the Mill Race Cottage. The village pub is a 5-10 minute walk (depending on distractions en route). Overall A great place for relaxing and we hope to go back to enjoy the river in finer and warmer weather.

Lynne from Chelmsford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in December 2020


Absolutely stunning location, wonderful hosts.

Review submitted on Tue, 03 Nov 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is in an absolutely glorious location. The accommodation was ideally suited to our needs. James and Nick were very welcoming hosts and ensured we had all we needed. Kids loved the new games room. We would definitely come back and next time we'll be paddleboarding down river from the mill. Idyllic.

Guest from Maidstone stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


A perfect countryside retreat

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were so lucky to book the October half term during this crazy year. It was a much needed break for the family and Mendham Mill didn’t disappoint. The children loved the upside down house and the views are simply stunning. Such a warm and cosy cottage, we didn’t want to leave.

James and Nick are really lovely proprietors and made us feel very welcome. The two lovely bedrooms on the ground floor were very comfortable and to have one en-suite with a bath and a lovely separate shower room with underfloor heating was lovely! James and Nick have really made this a home from home and provide some lovely touches on arrival. There is also a very informative guest book with helpful info on the area and recommendations on where to visit and where to eat. The Fox and Goose was our last night and the food and staff were amazing. But note, nothing open on a Monday so make sure you plan to eat in.

The grounds are beautiful and although the weather wasn’t very kind to us, my husband did manage a little fishing but we didn’t get a chance to canoe, although we will next time!

The games room was a new addition that we wasn’t aware of and it is fantastic! No tech in sight! The children loved it and wanted to go every evening after dinner. As the weather wasn’t great, it was also handy to have a Smart TV that enabled us to access our Netflix so we could watch some films too.

Such a great base for exploring the Norfolk/Suffolk countryside and coast, we only managed a view locations in the time so we would love to come back again soon. Thank James and Nick for having us and providing a safe place to visit.


Caroline from Brentwood stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in October 2020


Peaceful and relaxing stay

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Oct 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The peaceful location, helpfulness of the owners and attention to detail ( particularly as regards cleanliness) made for a wonderfully relaxing stay.

Guest from Robertsbridge stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in October 2020


Back again for a quick break

Review submitted on Tue, 20 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We visited Mendham in the summer and loved it so much that we grabbed the chance of a weekend in October. We managed to get out in the canoe, and enjoy the gardens. The children loved the games room- a fantastic addition for the winter months (table tennis and pool).
We cannot recommend Mendham highly enough. The cottage is lovely, the setting is amazing and James and Nick are wonderful hosts.


Helen from London stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in October 2020


Beautiful peaceful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful environment this delightful property is set in. So peaceful and wonderfully scenic; Mill Race Cottage has everything needed for 4 people, lots of space and the ‘upside down’ arrangement allows amazing views all round the grounds. James and Nick are great hosts and very welcoming, always happy to chat about this lovely property. Norfolk and Suffolk are beautiful areas to explore and we will certainly return soon to continue our explorations. Unfortunately the weather wasn’t too good for us but my husband and brother loved the fishing despite the wet!

Jancey from Whitley Bay stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


Second stay in Mill Race

Review submitted on Mon, 21 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
this was our second stay at Mendham Mill wit friends and once again have a very relaxing stay in lovely accommodation in beautiful surroundings.
The attention to detail in these difficult times was excellent along with information of suitable excursions


Bill from Gloucester stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2020


A first class accomodation in the beautiful Waveney Valley

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accomodation was absolutely excellent and the location first class in every way.
The hosts Nick and James made us feel very welcome and we will most definitely be returning next year.


Robert from Dorking stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 11 nights in August 2020


Rural riverside bliss

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We loved Mendham Mill. The gardens are beautifully kept with a nice balance between private space and places for the children to roam. Being able to canoe or paddle board from the garden was a highlight. The cottage was very comfortable and well kitted out. James and Nick were charming hosts and there was loads to do in the area. The best holiday cottage we've had in England by far.

Helen from London stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 14 nights in August 2020


Nice people, good river fishing, lovely venue,

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Jul 2020
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Third time in six years, still very nice, gardens very well kept and lovely and quiet. Will come again what more is there to say.

Graham from Cambridge stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Wonderful setting in beautiful gardens with excellent facilities

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
With a real sense of history this beautiful mill provides comfortable self catering accommodation of very high quality. The grounds and gardens stretching down to the River Waveney are very beautiful and carefully designed so that each property has exclusive use of a private section. There is excellent coarse fishing in the river offering roach, perch, pike, dace and chub to good weights.

Martyn from Wallingford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


Paradise in Norfolk

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mendham Mill on many occasions but this is the first time in the Mill Race cottage, views are great of the grounds and river with lounge and opened planned kitchen on the first floor. James, Nick and Lewis make you feel so welcomed it’s like a home from home. See you all soon John, Linda

John from Tilbury stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2020


A peaceful stay in a beautiful location

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Feb 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the moment we arrived we felt relaxed. Nick and James were perfect hosts, providing valuable information about the local area. We were able to walk directly from the cottage on well marked footpaths and explored the surrounding villages. Harleston is a vibrant little town with everything that you need. This is a fabulous location with generous hosts and lots to do nearby. We would love to come back as we didn't get to explore the river from a boat !

Alison from Eastbourne stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in January 2020


Amazing place to stay

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent facilities, mill race was big enough for 4 adults, the fishing and canoeing went down well, being able to.walk to the pub just topped it off, we will return

Jayne from Mansfield stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in October 2019


Super holiday location

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth visit to Mendham Mill and we remain very happy with the overall condition of the accommodation that we have stayed in.
It is a wonderful part of the country and the Mill grounds are exceptional.
Our thanks to Nick, James and Lewis for all the hard work they put in to keep the Mill buildings, gardens and the various lets in super condition. It's always a pleasure to visit and we will most certainly go again, if only for the peace and tranquility the site provides.


Peter from Milton Keynes stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Wow!!!!!!!!!!

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first stay at Mendham Mill and it wont be the last. All we can say is Wow - what a place for a relaxing holiday. From the moment you drive into the grounds you have arrived in heaven - peace and quite - sheer bliss. Mill Race Cottage for so comfortable with everything you could wish for. The added bonus for us was the fishing at the bottom of your own private garden.
James and Nick were excellent hosts and there is no doubt we shall be back.


Jane from Sheffield stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Mendham Magic

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our 4th visit to Mendham Mill and our 3rd stay at Mill Race Cottage.
Arrived = Frazzled!
Left = Chilled!
An absolutely perfect place to unwind; eight acres of tranquil gardens and river views. The owners James and Nick make visitors so welcome and are always ready for a chat.
Nearby Harleston is a great place for coffee and cakes.
We thoroughly recommend Mendham Mill - we hope to go back next spring!


Michael from Market Rasen stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


Relaxing at The Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Had an excellent week in Mill Race welcomed by the helpful and knowledgeable hosts Nick and James. visited the local area and pubs as suggested in the information pack.
Also spent a few hours over the week fishing in rear garden along with other areas in the grounds.
All in all a very enjoyable week which I am sure will be repeated and can be recommended


Bill from Gloucester stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2019


chill out

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
No need to rush, this is a holiday destination that allows you to chill out if that's what you want to do in this great location.

Guest from Wellingborough stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Beautiful, relaxing location next to the river.

Review submitted on Sat, 10 Aug 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at Mendham Mill for a week whilst visiting family in Norwich. It is a beautiful location and has a very picturesque garden and grounds. The owners are very friendly, meet and greet you and are on hand to provide information. The cottage is very comfortable and well fitted out. We would recommend the cottage for a peaceful break in lovely surroundings.

Stephen from Towcester stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2019


Our Stay at Mill Race Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An excellent place to stay with Idyllic surroundings and welcoming hosts.
So peaceful all worldly cares seem to drift away yet with easy access to local services!


Rita from Knaresborough stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2019


Lovely hosts, beautiful grounds, great location.

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Jul 2019
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were met by Nick and James, who are very welcoming. The accommodation is very nice with everything you need.
The garden with the river running through it is beautiful. The locations not far from Southwold, Lowestoft and various villages.
Which are all worth a visit. It’s equally nice to stay in the private garden and relax sitting by the river.


Rose from Hertfordshire stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2019


Beautiful and tranquil short break in the Suffolk countryside

Review submitted on Tue, 28 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were drawn here by the thought of a River right next to the cottage where we could go canoeing easily. The owners provide canoes for guest use. We spent a wonderful couple of hours on the river in total peace. The site itself is very well maintained and the owners clearly take great pride in it. Our cottage (Mill Race) had a beautiful private garden which we could relax in and with warm weather we barbecued in the garden. The cottage itself was very well equipped, clean and spacious. It was a real home from home and a very relaxing space to be in. The only sounds were the birds. Lovely!

Guest from Burnham-on-crouch stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


A blissful interlude

Review submitted on Fri, 24 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We really loved it here, and hope to come back soon.So sorry our stay had to be cut short due to necessary
hospital appointment. Our hosts are charming and have done a wonderful job in their restoration of the Mill.


Patricia from Cambridge stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in May 2019


Perfect accommodation in idyllic setting. Highly recommend.

Review submitted on Mon, 13 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Race cottage ticks all the boxes! It's very comfortable, spotlessly clean with beautiful views. The garden is lovely, with many different plants and flowers and right by the river. It's so peaceful and a perfect place to wind down. One of the highlights of our weekend was slowly canoeing down the river. There's a lot of wildlife to be seen here. Last but definitely not least, Nick & James are wonderful hosts. This was our 2nd visit and we'll no doubt be back!

Lucie from Leigh-on-sea stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


If we didn't have to go home, we would have moved in ;-)

Review submitted on Mon, 06 May 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Race Cottage at Mendham Mill was perfect in every way! Warm and cosy in a stunning setting on the river Waveney. James and Nick are really lovely proprietors and made us feel very welcome – we really didn't want to leave. This was echoed in the comments in the visitor book. The cottage is upside down with two lovely bedrooms on the ground floor along with one en-suite and a lovely separate shower room. Underfloor heating – lovely! James and Nick have really thought of everything and have set everything up to impeccably high standards. Top appliances and well equipped. Not many venues have kitchen scales, but we love making pancakes for breakfast and there were kitchen scales we could use! James and Nick recommended dinner at the Fox and Goose which was incredible, especially for our little birthday visit – amazing food and really friendly staff. The garden to the cottage was stunning as well. Beautiful planting and lots of wild life! We were able to launch our Kayaks from the back garden, which was great fun! We were also able to go on a lovely long walk directly from the doorstep. We can't recommend Mill Race Cottage enough! We will be returning!

Catherine from Colchester stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in May 2019


A little piece of paradise

Review submitted on Sat, 27 Apr 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We were lucky enough to stay at Mendham Mill in some glorious Spring weather and the setting is stunning. Mill Race Cottage itself is very comfortable, well-equipped and has a beautiful garden of its own alongside the Mill Race. James and Nick were charming hosts - extremely friendly and welcoming, with lots of tips and suggestions for things to do, places to eat etc. They encouraged us to use the Mill's canoes and rowing boat, which was great fun and really lovely way to see the beautiful Waveney Valley. We wouldn't hesitate to recommend this little piece of paradise to others and look forward to returning ourselves.

Jill from Leamington Spa stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in April 2019


Review of Mill Race Cottage stay in April 2019

Review submitted on Wed, 24 Apr 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
One of the best cottages we have stayed in, (and we have tried many) - comfortable, well-equipped, lovely all-round views on to wonderfully kept gardens. Our hosts were very welcoming and we had such a relaxing time. Looking forward to our next stay.


Guest from Reading stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in April 2019


Mendham Mill Magic

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third visit to Mendham and it really is a magical place. Tranquil and stress-free! We will return!

Michael from Market Rasen stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in March 2019


Lovely Stay

Review submitted on Mon, 26 Nov 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill was a wonderful and very peaceful place to stay. We will definitely be returning in the future.

Matthew from Norwich stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 13 nights in November 2018


Suffolk Paradise

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful, magical place to spend a few days. Highly recommended.
Fishing, Canoeing, watching the kingfishers fly by... what's not to like!


Steven from Stonehaven stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in October 2018


Late September in Mill Race Cottage

Review submitted on Mon, 01 Oct 2018
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Well-equipped and very comfortable cottage in a delightful setting, with thoughtful and helpful hosts. It was a pleasure to be greeted by the ducks on arrival. They also seemed to know when we were going!

Andy from Rustington stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


Feeding The DUcks

Review submitted on Sun, 23 Sep 2018
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
Memories of the ducks coming to our front door each morning and evening. Had to enjoy our coffee or G & T sat with the ducks feeding them a few crumbs. A very quiet comfortable place to stay. Very picturesque surrounfings and short walk to the local pub The Alfred Manning.Excellent bas to visit Norforl and Suffolk.

Helen from Chalfont St Peter stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2018


It’s Heaven!

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Sitting here on my last morning at Mendham Mill which is basked in sunshine! This is our second visit and there will be many more. This place is so special, this is down to two people, Nick and James the owners. They are the most amazing hosts, kind, helpful, nothing is too much trouble and they truly welcome you as friends. The gardens are amazing and it’s lovely to open the blinds and see Nick trundling past with a wheelbarrow! All the accommodation is of the highest standard, everything you need is here and I mean everything even if you want to do some baking! So thank you Nick and James, we love this slice of English heaven! Anne Peace and family.

Anne from Deal stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2018


Stunning location.

Review submitted on Mon, 23 Jul 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked a last minute long weekend at, Mill Race Cottage, on a recommendation from friends and what a beautiful location to de stress. The Cottage was tastefully decorated and very well equipped. The thoughtful touch of leaving, milk, tea and cookies was really appreciated.
The owners James and Nick were delightful hosts and made us feel very welcome. They have truly created a little slice of heaven.
Thank you.


Caroline from stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in July 2018


A Dream Location

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Jul 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
After a couple of horrible years we really needed a holiday to unwind. Mill Race Cottage and the lovely surroundings were just perfect, and we returned home today ready to take on the world again!.

Julie from Market Rasen stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Ideal location with beautiful surroundings.

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill race cottage was great. It was very clean, comfortable and decorated to a high standard.
We were made very welcome and enjoyed a peaceful, relaxing time enjoying the wonderful gardens.


David from Sutton stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Just a perfect place to relax and recharge far from “the maddening crowd”.

Review submitted on Mon, 25 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A most exceptional place to stay for peace and beauty, the Mill stream just outside your bedroom door, a perfect place to connect with nature and for those who wish to explore many places to visit not too far away including the famous Southwold, but for me the beauty of Mendham and the exceptional welcome of the hosts make this a perfect holiday that is hard to beat .

Marion from Great Yarmouth stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Exceptional accommodation.

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A weeks stay in lovely clean and well thought out accommodation surrounded by beautiful gardens,in a lovely part of the country.
Nothing too much trouble for the owners. Definitely a place to return to. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay.


Guest from Bognor Regis stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2018


Highly recommend

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Awesome location for relaxing holiday, gardens are lovely and a joy to spend time in. You may also paddle down the River Waveney in one the canoes.

Falk from Pforzheim stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Perfect holiday cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 26 May 2018
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful location for relaxing holiday, gardens are magnificent and a joy to spend time in. Highly recommend.


Guest from Newark stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in May 2018


Perfect property in an ideal location

Review submitted on Wed, 09 May 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The standard of the property was amongst the best that we have stayed in - anywhere. Nick and James have gone to great lengths to ensure that no detail has been missed and our stay in Mill Race Cottage was memorable. The kitchen was equipped to the very highest standard and we greatly appreciated the fact that all kitchen necessities for cleaning, etc., were provided. The underfloor heating in the bathroom and shower room was greatly appreciated. The cottage was perfect and there were absolutely no negative aspects to it.

The fact that we had pretty terrible weather all but one day of our holiday was more than outweighed by the knowledge that at the end of each day we were returning to the cottage with its stunning views from both side across the river, with all its wildlife. We can't wait for a repeat visit.


Mike from Emsworth stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in April 2018


As always a holiday at Mendham never disappoints

Review submitted on Sun, 25 Mar 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Yet again a very special holiday at Mendham Mill, the sprinkling of snow while we where there added even more magic to the scenery which at any time is spectacular, the welcome and care the owners give to your stay is simply fantastic, I can not recommend highly enough a holiday in any one of Mendham Mills holiday properties, you will not be disappointed.

Marion from Great Yarmouth stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in March 2018


Idyllic, Peaceful Site

Review submitted on Thu, 07 Dec 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
My sister and I spent a week with Nick and James last week at their idyllic, peaceful home.

Our cottage was perfect for our needs and had everything you could wish for to hand.

We particularly enjoyed exploring Mill Cottage's garden which, even in mid-winter, is clearly a plantsman's paradise thanks to Nick's expertise and knowledge. The garden nursery he recommended we visit was a real find.

We will certainly be making a return visit at some point.


Susan from Greenford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in November 2017


Beautiful setting

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Nov 2017
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A delightful venue, cosy and comfortable accommodation with all the necessary facilities and luxury bathrooms. We thoroughly enjoyed our second stay at Mill Race Cottage and hope to stay again. The hosts Nick and James are warm and welcoming.

Wood from Louth stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in October 2017


A short summery of accommodation

Review submitted on Wed, 01 Nov 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful house and location. Would definately visit in future. The house was clean and well stocked with everything we required. Would like to visit in the better weather so we can make use of the canoes on the river!!

Christine from Amersham stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in October 2017


Mill Race Cottage

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nick and James were excellent hosts at our first stay here. Very relaxing and good centre for touring Suffolk and Norfolk.
Lovely gardens and plenty of riverbank for fishing or boating.


Graham from Bracknell stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 14 nights in September 2017


Great holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our forth visit to the mill and it never disappoints peace and quiet .Relax in the grounds or visit plenty of local places of interest.No shortage of local places to eat no need to cook.We will return.

Colin from Ilford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2017


Best holiday ever!

Review submitted on Sun, 20 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful family holiday at Mendham mill, three generations of us including five lively teenagers. All their energy was catered for with the rowing, canoeing, swimming and a field for rounders. There were also many places to visit in the area so everyone was happy, even the weather was superb. The cottages were beautifully furnished, very well equipped and comfortable and the grounds were so beautiful. Many thanks to Nich and James for their patience, humour and hospitality, we shall definitely return, so watch out!


Rodney from Stamford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


Stay in the Mill Race

Review submitted on Fri, 11 Aug 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A lovely spot. A warm welcome and lots kayaking with direct water access from our garden.

Good local pubs too!


Donna from Reading stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2017


A totally unique and beautiful setting for a wonderful stay in the Norfolk/Suffolk area

Review submitted on Wed, 12 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
So wonderful to relax in beautiful surroundings - view aerial video on webpage.

James and Nick have worked so hard to create such a unique holiday experience.

The area has such a range of things to do - or just 'chill out in your own private garden.

This is our second visit and the diaries are being looked at for a return stay.


Maurice P from Bawtry stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Mill Race Cottage

Review submitted on Sun, 02 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
All the comforts of home in an idyllic setting.
If you enjoy peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings with an abundance of wild birds to observe, both in the extensive grounds and across the river, this is the place to be. Make sure you take binoculars.
The cottage is very comfortable and spacious with good attention to detail.
The owners, Nick & James, are welcoming, friendly and on hand for any enquiries or a chat, without being obtrusive.
We would recommend this property to anyone.
Only one regret, we didn't have enough time to borrow one of the canoes for a trip down the river !
Perhaps next time.


Graeme from Northallerton stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


A beautiful, peaceful spot

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Jun 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect location for a relaxing holiday. James and Nick have been very good hosts, the cottage has everything one could need and this ix an interesting part of the country to explore. Village pub within walking distance, which is a bonus. Wins the prize for best holiday cottage garden, too!

Jane from Winkleigh stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2017


Overall experience

Review submitted on Sat, 27 May 2017
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mills is a perfect location for you to spend a relaxing holiday away from busy lives. James and Nick are perfect hosts.

William from Newark stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in May 2017


A peaceful comfortable short stay at lovely Mendham Mill welcomed and cared for by James and Nick .

Review submitted on Sat, 06 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was a part of Norfolk that we had not visited before. From our welcome tour on arrival by James we immediately felt at home. The cottage with its secluded garden with plants chosen and nourished by Nick and its view of the river was warm and comfortable. It was furnished tastefully and provided with every possible requirement for a comfortable and trouble free stay.
The weather was cold with a bitter east wind but thanks to the well presented and thoughtful information provided we were able to get out and about everyday and thoroughly enjoyed exploring the area.
A minor incident with the hinge on the fridge door was quickly dealt with!
We had the company of the resident ducks and there was always the movement of the river to look at.
We loved the market town of Harleston- just like shopping should be -unhurried and personal.
We have lots more to see in the area- hopefully in warmer sunnier weather so will be booking to return.i


Brenda from Newark stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in May 2017


MR Doug Jolly and family

Review submitted on Sun, 01 Jan 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0

A beautiful location and excellent accommodation.The cottage is well equipped and extremely comfortable.
James and Nick(the owners) were very friendly and helpful.We would love to return in the spring or summer.


Douglas from Luton stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in December 2016


Mendham mill

Review submitted on Sat, 29 Oct 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A beautiful place to stay in peaceful surroundings. Mill race was perfect for our family, 2 lovely bathrooms and super cosy at night time, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our hosts Nick and James were friendly and helpful, a highlight of out stay was going out on one of their rowing boats!

Emily from Louth stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in October 2016


A wonderfull place

Review submitted on Fri, 23 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our third trip to Mendham Mill, each has been in different accommodation, overall an excellent place to visit and this area of Suffolk is just wonderful.
Great hosts in Nick and James, we have enjoyed all of our visits to the Mill and will return again.


Peter from Milton Keynes stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


What a beautiful and peaceful location in which to spend a relaxing week - walking, fishing- heaven!

Review submitted on Sun, 11 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you want to get away from it all and relax in some beautifully maintained surroundings there is no better place than Mendham Mill. The hosts James and Nick have created a oasis of serenity in the Waveney Valley with its historic connections to Sir Alfred Munnings. There is plenty to see in the local vicinity but with the walking in the surrounding countryside and the fishing, literally at the bottom of your garden, there is hardly any need to venture further afield. Mill Race Cottage where we stayed has all the modern equipment to enable full self catering if that is what you want - alternatively James & Nick will provide excellent recommendations on where to find the the best pubs and restaurants locally. As well as the fishing there are canoes available to enable you to drift lazily down the river with only cows, kingfishers, herons, swans and the ducks for company - a great way to spend an afternoon. In summary a fantastic place to unwind with plenty of options if you want to visit Norfolk/Suffolk towns and villages as well as the coast slightly further afield. Mendham Mill is highly recommended!

Andrew from Oakham stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2016


Superb accommodation in a stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 02 Sep 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Very comfortable property with excellent facilities,in a beautiful part of the countryside. Stay onsite and enjoy the tranquil gardens and riverside or explore the locality with lots of walks, market towns and many recommended places to stop for something to eat and drink. Southwold is 30 minutes away and Norwich with its Park and Ride parking is easy to get to. James and Nick, the owners are on hand if you want advice about where to go or you might want to find out a little more about the Mill, birth place of the artist Alfred Munnings.

Greg from Wellingborough stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


Fabulous setting, accommodation and customer service

Review submitted on Fri, 12 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is without doubt the best setting for a cottage that we have ever stayed in. The Mill is a beautiful and interesting historic building set in a fabulous and idyllic gardens. It's surrounded by rivers, streams and ponds teaming with wildlife. The accommodation is clean, spacious and very well equipped (even down to weighing scales, whisk, liquidiser). The towels were the softest towels I've ever had.
The Canadian canoes are the icing on the cake, paddling through a party of electric blue damselflies dancing on the water and watching the kingfisher swoop down and fly along the river.
And in the unlikely event you get bored of all that there are numerous walks from the cottage, including the Angles way and a lot of things to do in the near vicinity.


Abi from Bristol stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2016


A family 80th Birthday celebration

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Race Cottage was occupied by my son and his family from California. From the moment they arrived in quintessentially English surrounding they were happy! The adults enjoyed the comfortable cottage and two teenage boys had a brilliant time with the canoes on the river.

They have returned home with great memories of a special occasion.


Brigid from Maldon stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


A little oasis of beauty and peace, with such very welcoming hosts.

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay within a matter of weeks, we loved it so much we just had to return very quickly, the quality of the cottage was 1st class. beds so comfy and large, as where the settees and everything you needed was there, including the most special of surroundings, the beauty of the river Waveney that wanders through giving fishermen or canoeists a pleasant past time with the gardens that you can wander in filled with plants, trees, flowers making it such a special place to relax and recharge your batteries and for me the thing that made it the most special of all where the hosts and the team around them, such a special couple are Nick and James, to meet them and enjoy there home has been a privilege, the welcome and care that is taken to make your holiday that bit extra special, i have never encountered before, anyone booking a holiday at Mendham Mill we certainly not be disappointed

Marion from Great Yarmouth stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Superb Location

Review submitted on Sat, 09 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mill Race Cottage is exquisitely situated; surrounded by stunning gardens that are thronged with wildlife. A stable door from the master bedroom opens on to a gorgeous private garden and a view of the mill stream. The garden is just lovely; beautifully tended and with a tremendous variety of plants.

The couple who own Mendham Mill are affable and helpful in pointing out places to visit and things to see. It's clear that they take a great pride in the property and that they are genuinely delighted to share it's peace and beauty. Whilst you don't see a lot of them (the cottages and their private gardens are skillfully arranged to give guests privacy), it's nice to know that they're around; it gives a real sense of home to your stay.

The cottage is very well equipped. We found that we had everything we needed for a comfortable stay; a well equipped kitchen, spotless bedding, fluffy towels and a cosy, well thought out living area.

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend Mill Race Cottage.


Caroline from Islip, Kettering stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2016


A Beautiful Spot

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation is first class and very comfortable. A beautiful setting and despite the very heavy showers which flooded the river the men managed to catch fish in various places every day. The village centre is only a 10 minute walk away and the Alfred Munnings Pub serves excellent meals at a reasonably price. We ate their twice, Sunday lunch and an evening meal in the week.
There is so much to see in the area and the coast is only a short drive away.


Trevor from Waterlooville stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


Top notch accommodation in idyllic surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a wonderful time in Mendham Mill. The cottage itself is fitted to a very high standard and the location is idyllic. Nick and James made us feel very welcome and took the time to give us a potted history of the property and also show my wife (a keen gardner) around the extensive gardens. . We used a number of the pubs (recommended by Nick and James) for meals and all were very friendly and welcoming whilst the food was of a high standard. There are also many lovely villages/gardens to visit in the area.

John from Hassocks stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2016


A lovely cottage in suberb surroundings.

Review submitted on Sat, 11 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We all had an excellent stay at the end of May. Cottage very well suited for two couples with all the equipment you would ever need. Peaceful location but not remote, local shops and pubs within easy reach. River and boats were a super bonus to enjoy.
Gardens and wildlife first class. Nick and James were always very friendly and approachable both giving suggestions for walks, trips out etc. Thank you very much to you both for everything. We hope to return again.


Guest from Whitby stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Memorable holiday break

Review submitted on Sun, 22 May 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I thoroughly recommend a stay at Mendham Mill,
both hosts Nick and James made every effort to make us welcome during our stay and were always on hand at any time to offer help or answer any queries we had.
The property is surrounded by beautiful park like surroundings with the River Waveney running through the grounds,giving access to the river via the two canadian canoes or rowing boat, or if you prefer, a quiet walk anywhere in the grounds .Accessed by its own private approach road off a very quiet country lane ,just a couple of hundred yards from the village centre of Mendham the mill and grounds were very quiet with just the birdsong for company!
Our cottage was very clean with good quality fixtures and fittings ,with very thoughtful layout,we will definitely consider a return booking,many thanks to our hosts .


David from Maldon stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in May 2016


Wonderful location. Ideal hosts.

Review submitted on Mon, 16 May 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nick and James were very welcoming and we had a very pleasant stay at Mill Race Cottage. The grounds of the cottage are idyllic and gave us a chance to see the backdrop of some of Sir Alfred Munnings' paintings. The cottage is also well placed for visits to other attractions nearby in Norfolk and Suffolk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Bridget from Tring stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in May 2016


Wonderful week at the Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Apr 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely week at the Mill. James and Nick are very welcoming and helpful. The houses are all furnished to a very high standard, spacious and tastefully decorated. It was a beautiful spot with extensive grounds to wander round and sit in, canoes to paddle up and down the river and the surrounding lanes were fun to cycle round. Near to the sea too - another fun cycle. Lots of footpaths as well. All very enjoyable.

Nikki from Reading stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in April 2016


Lovely stay with 5 year old son

Review submitted on Sun, 03 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We thoroughly enjoyed our time in Mill Race Cottage. Lovely hosts, lots of easily accessible and fun things to do with our son. It was relaxing, idyllic and a great place to get away to.

Rachel from Beckenham stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in March 2016


Five star and more!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Feb 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we say? What a beautiful place and setting! Will hopefully return in the warmer weather to enjoy sitting out by the river. The cottage is lovely and the views amazing.

Jean from Ipswich stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in February 2016


Christmas Break

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Dec 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you are looking for a short break to get away from it all then Mendham Mill is for you. We thoroughly enjoyed a short break across the Christmas period in Mill Race Cottage. Relaxation was the priority and that came in bucket loads including watching a host of delightful wildlife. If you don't feel like venturing very far then this cottage is so comfortable it makes staying in easy. Sufficient local amenities should you need them. Wonderful.

Kate from Swarland stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in December 2015


If there was a higher than Excellent option I would use it!

Review submitted on Sat, 24 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Perfect. Everything we could have possibly wanted, set amongst stunning grounds. So clean it was if no one else had ever stayed there. Can't praise it highly enough.

Denis from Canterbury stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in October 2015


Stunning location

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a week at Mendham Mill, staying in Mill Race Cottage. The location is absolutely stuning and the reception from Nick and James is very welcoming. This was our first time at Mendham, but not our last. We have already booked to come back next year for 2 weeks - this time we will stay in The Lodge so that our dog can holiday with us! Nick and James are very helpful with recommendations on where to eat and in general about the local area. I walked for miles in the lovely Waveney Valley, but would have been just as happy to chill out in the fabulous grounds. The cottages are very comfortable, well equipped and finished to a high standard. Thoroughly recommended for a relaxing holiday.

Bonita from Norwich stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Tranquil and relaxing Mill cottage

Review submitted on Sat, 19 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Over the years my wife and i have stayed in many excellent holiday properties and i can safely say this was one of the best.

Right from the start our hosts , James and Nick,made us feel very welcome.Not only assisting us with recommendations for places to eat and to visit but also taking time to chat.

The mill house itself was superb and standing as it did in several acres of carefully tended gardens couldn't have been better.

With it's own river and canoes to explore it's tranquil meanders watching the abundant wildlife it was thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing


Guest from Chester stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Immaculate Accommodation in Idyllic Surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 18 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is in a beautiful, tranquil location and provides an ideal base for exploring locally or just to sit and enjoy the peace and quiet, either on a garden chair or in a canoe. The facilities in Mill Race Cottage are first class.

David from Charvil stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in September 2015


Special Place

Review submitted on Sat, 05 Sep 2015
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
From the time of booking to time of departure our hosts could not have been more welcoming
and helpful. Mill Race Cottage is a pleasant and very comfortable holiday home,and the gardens
would enthral anyone.Would recommend Mendham Mill to anybody looking for a special break.


Jackie from Hadleigh, stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


Simply beautiful

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful stay, stunning surroundings, outstanding Customer Care, simply beautiful - a holiday to remember, lovely to be able to bring our dog too -will definitely be coming back one day .

Guest from Hemel Hempstead stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2015


steve tetlow review

Review submitted on Sat, 08 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
I can recommend Mendham Mill as a truly perfect holiday destination.
Beautiful accommodation and surroundings.
James and Nick have developed the complex but kept the original feel of the mill and waterways.
Fishing was entertaining, recommend
You take some Pike tackle.


Stephen from Warrington stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


Beauty & Tranquility

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill is beautiful place to stay. The accommodation is first class but it is the setting that is the real winner. The mill is set in amazing gardens and paddocks with wildlife everywhere with the River Waveney peacefully meandering through. Great place to relax and enjoy the countryside.

Robin from Ampthill stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2015


A real gem

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place, exceeding our wildest dreams. Looking out of our window and seeing the beautiful river with swans and their cygnets was a perfect view. Sitting on the river bank in the evening and watching a pair of barn owls hunting was even better. An ideal place to relax and unwind in these quiet, peaceful surroundings. Fantastic for anglers with its private stretch of the river. Can't wait to return

Guest from West Malling stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Excellent

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jul 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
James & Nick are two of the nicest people you could wish to meet they have made mendham mill into an excellent holiday retreat, I would certainly go back

Guest from Salford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Our perfect holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jun 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our third visit to this little sample of heaven . It is the best place to unwind and appreciate the peace & quiet & the best nature can provide

Guest from Ilford stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2015


Week-end break

Review submitted on Tue, 05 May 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our first visit to the mill for a week-end break and will definitely be coming back for a longer stay.The accommodation was outstanding and well equipped and coupled with the very well kept grounds and gardens made it a perfect place to relax.Plenty of wildlife for nature lovers,fish in the river and 2 local real ale breweries to visit who could ask for more.Will be back…...

Guest from Ipswich stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in May 2015


Ideal place to relax and de-stress

Review submitted on Fri, 01 May 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
If you're looking for somewhere to escape to to just sit and unwind, relax and de-stress then look no further. Mendham Mill is a fabulous retreat set in the most stunning grounds. We stayed in Mill Race Cottage which has two brand new bathrooms, one with a great shower and both have underfloor heating. Soft white bedding and fluffy white towels complement probably the most comfortable hotel/holiday home bed I've ever slept in either here or abroad. Mill Race has a door opening directly onto your own private stretch of garden, which meant I could keep sneaking out to check on the various groups of ducklings that paddled up and down the river.
A modern kitchen, smart tv, wifi and excellent central heating give you all the comforts of home in the most stunning of countryside settings.
Thank you Nick & James for a wonderful stay, we hope to see you again soon.


Guest from Southampton stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in April 2015


Very friendly quiet country stay

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Apr 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had an excellent stay this Easter at Mendham Mill in Mill Race Cottage. Lovely grounds - with plenty of space for the boys to play football and good accommodation - and a very friendly welcome.The canoeing was an added bonus!

Guest from Richmond stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in April 2015


a short winter break

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Dec 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
we were visiting relatives in the area, so this was just a short 3 night stay. What a beautiful location, even in the frost. James and Nick couldn't have been more helpful especially as we arrived very late. Cottage was comfy, warm and with everything we could possibly need. Can't wait to return in the summer.

Guest from Rugby stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in December 2014


Perfect country retreat

Review submitted on Sat, 01 Nov 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What can we add to the other reviews? A very well equipped, comfortable cottage in beautiful surroundings. Nick & James have created a gem here and their warm welcome reflects the relaxed atmosphere. If you are looking for peace and quiet then this is one for you.

Guest from Littlehampton stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in October 2014


A LITTLE PIECE OF MAGIC

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
PERHAPS IT WAS THE LATE AUTUMNAL SUNSHINE, BUT MENDHAM MILL CERTAINLY HAS AN AIR OF MAGIC AND MYSTERY - IT IS A TRULY LOVELY LOCATION. THE ACCOMMODATION WAS FIRST CLASS, COMFY BED, SUPERB LINEN, LUXURIOUS TOWELS AND POWERFUL SHOWER AND BOTH NICK AND JAMES WERE ATTENTIVE HOSTS, WHAT MORE COULD YOU ASK FOR.

Guest from St Albans stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 4 nights in September 2014


What a perfect birthday surprise!

Review submitted on Mon, 22 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Having had to tear ourselves away from this soothing place after only three nights, we are already looking forward to our next visit! Nick and James were the perfect hosts in this oasis, with its gorgeous mill and cottages full of character; its stunning gardens and beautiful river views. We loved the canoeing both upstream and downstream. What a treat to have access to boats right on the doorstep! It is so tranquil on the river, and we spotted owls and herons. We also loved cooking in Mill Race's expertly equipped kitchen while adoring the views through every window. We even managed a sun drenched breakfast in our massive riverside garden. Nick and James recommended a lovely restaurant for a special dinner (The Fox and Goose in Fressingfield) and we couldn't have been happier with the ambience and quality of the meal. Great little extras for the seasoned self-catering guest: Hand soap and shower gel provided; plenty of tea towels, dishwasher tabs and washing up liquid; a whole bag of filter coffee, tea bags, milk in the fridge and ice in the freezer. So yes, wholly excellent.

Guest from Cambridge stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 3 nights in September 2014


Well equipped, comfortable home from home accommodation

Review submitted on Fri, 05 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent self catering accommodation in beautiful surroundings with friendly and helpful owners on site. Furnishings and equipment of very high standard.

Guest from Lewes stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Perfect retreat

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Aug 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just back from a wonderful week at this delightful cottage. The grounds, the river and surrounding countryside are stunning. The cottage was so comfortable, with everything you need. (I haven't slept so well in months). James and Nick were fantastic hosts - giving us tips on great days out, good local walks and places to eat. I have come home revitalised but wishing we had been able to stay for one more week. We particularly loved taking the boats out - the river makes this property so special and unique. Perfect retreat.

Guest from London stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in August 2014


Beautiful setting, lovely people, a gem!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
When we arrived at Mill Race Cottage we were struck by the peace and beauty of the grounds. The cottage was welcoming, warm and well equipped. The beds were especially comfortable. The bird song and wildlife made our stay really relaxing and enjoyable. Nick and James are warm, relaxed and helpful hosts who went out of their way to make us welcome. They even showed us where the best fishing spots were. We enjoyed walking and cycling in the local area. A stay here is a real opportunity to unwind and escape to wonderful rural Suffolk. We look forward to returning soon.

Guest from Woodbridge stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in July 2014


Every attention was paid to detail - delightful.

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Jul 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
We three greatly enjoyed out week's fishing at Mendham Mill. It would have been rather difficult if everyone booked in to the Mill was a fisherman, as there would not be enough comfortable fishing places for too many people. Thankfully most were just boarding at the Mill.

Bathroom and shower spotless and perfect. Cooking facilities in excellent working order. Welcoming packs of tea and coffee etc most helpful. Give it full marks.



Guest from North Wembley stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014


Just perfect

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Jun 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked 'Mill Race Cottage' with our parents staying at 'The Nest' and we cannot fault any aspect of our holiday. From arrival to departure our time spent at Mendham Mill was truly wonderful. The accommodation was perfect, the grounds beautiful and our hosts Nick and James a real pleasure. Thank you both for being so hospitable and informative. We cannot wait to come again!

Guest from Clacton On Sea stayed at Mill Race Cottage for 7 nights in June 2014