FB Twitter

The Lodge

The Lodge

4.9
out of 5
Ratings from 98 reviews
100% of guests
recommend
Cleanliness
4.9
Comfort
4.9
Condition
4.9
Location
4.9
Value
4.7
Customer
Service
5.0


The 2-bedroom Lodge is set in the privacy the enormous (1/2 acre) walled garden. Once this was the Mill's kitchen garden and old fruit trees still fan out along the walls. This cottage is perfect for families with dogs or small children. Gates lead from your private garden to the river bank and shared gardens. The Lodge is all on one floor and has a large wet room.

Another happy visit

Review submitted on Thu, 14 Jan 2021
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In the midsts of a miserable pandemic to escape to Mendam was to find a bit of normality still existed. Despite a flooded garden and inclement weather we spent a peaceful and recuperative week, with a wonderful welcome, as always from James and Nic.

Brigid from Maldon stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in December 2020


Sharone, Mick & Dexter in The Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fab stay at Mendham.
This is the only place in the UK that we have stayed that we have returned to on numerous occasions.
Home from home & such a wonderful setting.
Lots of wildlife & fishing.
New games room that is fab
Thanks Nick & James


Michael from Southend-on-sea stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in October 2020


A warm Norfolk welcome.

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Not only was this was an amazing location steeped in history as it was the childhood home of the artist Sir Alfred Munnings, but we also received a very warm welcome from the delightful hosts James and Nick.
The mill house is architecturally interesting and the holiday cottages surround this main building.
The standard of accommodation was very high with well appointed shower facilities and kitchen and nicely furnished and cosy sitting room.
The grounds and gardens are beautifully kept and it was a pleasure to put on wellies and walk around the estate in the morning and evening to see how the fishermen and women had fared during the day. It is a fisherman's paradise and I was regaled with many tales of 'the one that got away'!
We hope to visit again next year and recommend this property as a first class place to stay.


Robert from Fleet stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in October 2020


Beautiful place

Review submitted on Fri, 09 Oct 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place to stay, and the lodge was perfect, found some lovely places to eat and everyone was very friendly

Dianne from Stockport stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2020


Another enjoyable week at the Mill ....

Review submitted on Sat, 26 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We’ve visited all the properties now at Mendham Mill over the years, finishing with The Lodge. So comfortable, and everything you could possibly need under one roof, and on one level, surrounded on two sides by an extensive, fully enclosed walled garden, ideal for our dog. So lovely to wander around the grounds again, and be back beside the rivers. Nick and James were the perfect (socially distanced) hosts as usual, and we were wondering what dates we’d be back next year before we’d even left!

Karen from Rotherham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2020


Weekend break

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2020
3.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
3.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
3.0
A great location . Fabulous gardens. Got off to a bad start as we arrived a bit early. Such a shame it's so faraway - long journey.

Guest from Cullompton stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in September 2020


Perfect break away!

Review submitted on Mon, 14 Sep 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The lodge was lovely and the garden was amazing, perfect for dogs!

James & Nick were very friendly and helpful.

Will definitely be coming back!


Chelsea from Dagenham stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in August 2020


Fantastic few days at the Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 10 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Lodge at Mendham Mill for 3 nights and were so impressed. The Lodge itself is spacious, clean, and very comfortable. The private, walled back garden is just stunning as well. If you step through the gate in the garden wall, you can see behind the Mill and take canoes up or down river. This was the highlight for us. It's truly beautiful and the perfect way to appreciate the natural area. It winds it's way through the countryside coming close to swans, cows and other points of interest. We were very impressed with everything about the Mill and surrounding villages and plan to return next year.

Andrew from Dorking stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in September 2020


Beautiful escape

Review submitted on Mon, 07 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful escape for a long weekend. The cottage is well equipped and very comfortable with everything you’d need. The half acre garden was superb for Our dogs and plenty of space to exercise is the beautiful mill gardens. Nick and James couldn’t have been more welcoming. We will definitely return and hopefully this time with better weather.

Sian from Royston stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in August 2020


Perfect break

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We booked to stay at Mendham Mill before Covid-19 was even a known illness, so we were slightly anxious going away as lock down was lifted. We really shouldn't have worried, as it was the perfect location for a safe holiday away. The accommodation was outstanding and immaculately clean. Nick and James were lovely and nothing was too much trouble. The week we stayed was really hot so we made use of the garden and had a very lazy holiday. This was perfect for the anxious children who weren't ready to be having days out mixing with people! It is a wonderful location with Harlestone close by for supplies.

It was the perfect opportunity to reconnect with our teenagers, playing tennis in the garden and watching the Perseids meteor shower with the wonderful dark sky. We were all really sad to leave and will definitely book again.


Amanda from Chatham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


The week went for too fast!

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Aug 2020
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
In these strange Covid times it was lovely to find somewhere to just relax and the Lodge was that place. The bungalow is very welcoming and has everything you need - from comfy beds to a well equipped kitchen (even has a steam pan!). The huge walled garden is perfect for humans ( big and little) and a dream for dogs. Add to this the extra bonus of the surrounding beautiful grounds and two very nice, helpful and knowledgeable hosts. If you are thinking about booking a stay here - stop thinking and do it - you won’t regret it!



Maria from Warlingham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2020


Super property great hosts definitely go there again.

Review submitted on Sun, 12 Jul 2020
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent self catering cottages in great setting, only thing we missed was a tv in our bedroom. Garden in the lodge was lovely.

Ian from Market Rasen stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in July 2020


Early spring stay at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 29 Mar 2020
4.3
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge was perfect for our stay, especially the enclosed garden which was a boon as we had three small dogs with us.
Stunning location can see that it would be idyllic in high summer but as our stay was the second week of March we did not expect to be sitting outside a lot. Mendham Mills location is perfect for exploring South Norfolk and North Suffolk with Southwold being only a 30 minutes away....


Terence from Macclesfield stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in March 2020


January 2020 The Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic week at Mendham Mill , James, Nick ,Lewis was so welcoming during our stay, as a fisherman they adjusted the flow of the mill to improve the fishing how good is that. See you all soon. Thanks

John from Tilbury stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in January 2020


Our New Year stay

Review submitted on Fri, 03 Jan 2020
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A restorative stay in peaceful and comfortable surroundings
Our dog loved the garden too
Lovely for walks and friendly locals to pass the time with


Brigid from Maldon stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in December 2019


Love it!

Review submitted on Sat, 07 Dec 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We should have been here two and a half years ago but we had to postpone our reservation.
Now, from the Lakes on our way back to Holland, we spend 4 days in Mendham Mill. And we loved the place and the Lodge. Country life on its best and a very comfortable Lodge. With Christmas tree! Nick and James are easy going guys with an sharp eye for what people need. Thanks!
December 6 th, 2019, Julie and Engel


Engel from The Hague stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in December 2019


A wonderful week at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Nov 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Location was perfect, The Lodge had everything to make our stay perfect. Warm and welcoming hosts and we will definitely be visiting again.

Debra from Ellesmere stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in October 2019


Suffolk paradise

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Oct 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
A wonderful place to spend a few days relaxing.
This is the third time we have stayed at the mill and it never disappoints.
The lodge has a beautiful enclosed garden that has a gate to the river. The surrounding gardens and river frontage is a haven for birds and all sorts of wildlife.
A great place to reconnect with nature.

We will be back!


Steven from Stonehaven stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2019


Mendham 2019

Review submitted on Tue, 01 Oct 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham never fails to please. Our visits to the Mill have all been most enjoyable.
It is a magical place to spend a holiday and we have come home happy and refreshed.
Our hosts are always welcoming, helpful and jolly.
Doubtless we will be returning to this delighted Mill.


Jane from Oswestry stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2019


The Lodge Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a beautiful place. Nick and Jame's warm welcome set the scene for a wonderful week in The Lodge.
Without out doubt the nicest cottage and setting we have ever stayed in and will definitely be making another visit next year.
Thoroughly recommend Mendham Mill.


Richard from Colchester stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2019


Comfortable, well equipped cottage with wonderful gardens.

Review submitted on Fri, 20 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just arrived home from The Lodge at Mendham Mill. Excellent week away. The Lodge is well equipped, very comfortable. The beds are comfortable and the shower hot and strong. Good wi fi signal too. All the equipment is easy to use and of the best quality, as are the linen and furnishings. The beautiful large walled garden is perfect for one or two dogs to roam around and enjoy. Perfect spot to sit outside and enjoy the sunshine. Just outside the walled garden is the river Waveney - idyllic setting with swans and cygnets,ducks etc. We fished from the bank and caught a variety of small fish. Very tranquil spot. The owners are helpful and available but not intrusive. The tea , coffee, milk and biscuits on arrival were most welcome. Also good to have basic condiments/cleaning equipment on arrival- salt, pepper, vinegar, washing up liquid, dishwasher tablets etc. We have been to other more expensive cottages and been left nothing.
A perfect spot if you like peace and quiet in beautiful surroundings.


Joan from Peterborough stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2019


Our 40th Anniversary

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another fantastic week at Mendham Mill it is like a home from home see you all soon, thanks James, Nick, Lewis

John from Tilbury stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Hendry stay

Review submitted on Fri, 06 Sep 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week was wonderful, we did not go far because we wanted a peaceful stay but there is lots to do if you fancy a day out.
Nick and James are great hosts and we will of course be back to visit this beautiful place.


Tim from Guiseley stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2019


Great week in sunny Suffolk

Review submitted on Mon, 29 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a fantastic time at this lovely property. The location could not have been better.
The river was great for swimming and boating and the coast only half an hour away.
We cannot wait to come back
Andy


Andrew from Marshfield stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in July 2019


Highly recommended

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Jul 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another wonderful 2 weeks stay in the Lodge. Grounds and gardens looking fabulous. So peaceful and tranquil. The lodge is very comfortable and everything has been designed to make you feel very welcome. Home from home with benefits. Beautiful pair of swans this year on the river raising 8 signets born within the grounds. Lots of nice market towns to visit nearby and lovely seaside towns about half an hour away. Thanks again to all for making us feel so welcome and for being so friendly xxxx

Alison from Sleights stayed at The Lodge for 14 nights in June 2019


THE LODGE MENDHAM MILL

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nick and James should be complimented on the restoration and renovation . an idilic setting and we were made to feel extremely welcome cannot recommend highly enough.

William from St Bees stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


Comfortable stay

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jun 2019
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is well appointed and comfortable. The location is ideal for those with dogs as the Lodge has a large enclosed garden and lots of country walks nearby. Ordinance Survey maps of the area are provided so it is easy to find the various footpaths one of which takes you to the nearest town, Harlestone, around 2.5 miles away. The Mill itself has landscaped grounds which you are allowed to walk round although dogs must be kept on the lead here. Although the weather wasn't ideal we were able to enjoy ourselves with visits to Southwold and Dunwich. Aldeburgh is also only a short drive away.

Ian from Sandy stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


The Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Will definetly revisit. Beautiful grounds good fishing great accommodation really nice hosts look forward to our return.

Terence from Essex stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in June 2019


The Lodge

Review submitted on Tue, 11 Jun 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The two ladies who stayed in the lodge were very pleased with everything.James and Nick were most helpful if there was a problem. A very peaceful location with plenty of space to laze around.

Philip from Dunmow stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2019


A relaxing experience.

Review submitted on Sun, 26 May 2019
4.2
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
3.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is one of a number of buildings used for holiday accommodation on the Mendham Mill estate. It was self contained with a large walled garden laid mainly to lawn. The enclosed garden is a safe area for small children bearing in mind that the river and mill race run through the much of the estate. Whilst some of the Land was private there were many public areas for bird watching or in season, fishing.

The Lodge is an old building and its amenities and decor reflect this. The beds were really comfortable. It would have been nice to have a second bathroom but the layout would preclude that without changing its character. The television was a Smart one with access to apps. A DVD player was present although there were no dvds available. The Internet speed was satisfactory but the range was limited outside of the living room. A mobile phone signal (EE) was very poor. Digital radio reception was good.

The owners were very friendly and remained on site.

Mendham Mill is located a the edge of a small village on the Norfolk/Suffolk border and well placed for visiting both counties.


Mike from Burton On Trent stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in May 2019


A relaxing stay at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 10 May 2019
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Lodge, all the amenities one could wish for are here at a very high standard. Stepping out into the walled garden was delightful surprise with it`s lawns and old fruit trees in well kept borders. We much appreciated being told by James about the weekly visit to the Mill of a fish seller on Tuesdays, his selection of fish was fantastic. James also gave us information of places to visit and especially where to eat. We chose lunch one day at the Fox and Goose at Fressingfield the food was exceptional and is highly recommended .
Mendham Mill for us gave a most relaxing and enjoyable break and would recommend a stay there to anyone.


Malcolm from Newcastle-under-lyme stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in April 2019


A thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay for all the family.

Review submitted on Tue, 23 Apr 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Have just returned from a restorative and restful stay at 'The Lodge' in Mendham Mill. There were three generations in our party and each one had a great time.
Mendham Mill is a place of outstanding beauty and tranquillity - perfect to escape the hustle and bustle of city life. We found 'The Lodge' very comfortable and well-equipped - all the 'small things' having also been considered.
The enormous and beautiful garden was hugely beneficial for our active toddler, and the dog, and greatly added to our overall enjoyment of the cottage.
The boating and wildlife just outside our door was also just lovely!
Last but not least, Nick and James were superb hosts - friendly, helpful and accommodating.
It's great to know that such a holiday destination exists (especially when so many can disappoint, it seems). We definitely plan to return to The Lodge for a future holiday.


Mary from London stayed at The Lodge for 10 nights in April 2019


Best holiday Accommation

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
It is the best accommation that I have ever stayed at, you want for nothing every detail has been thought of, it is comfortable clean in fact home from home plus the really lovey surroundings. We have been twice this year so far, and hopefully will be returning in October. Highly recommended.

Christina from Essex stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


Excellent stay and very relaxing

Review submitted on Fri, 08 Mar 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We often struggle to find the perfect cottage to accommodate both ourselves and our Great Dane, but The Lodge was just perfect! The half acre walled private garden was ideal and with the extra field next door that we could let our dog off lead, we could not have asked for more. Nick and James are both very welcoming.

Jane from Bedford stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in March 2019


My Birthday Break

Review submitted on Fri, 22 Feb 2019
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic stay at the lodge on 15/02/2019 for one week, huge thank you to James, Nick, Louis thanks for making my fishing easier. You all made us feel so welcomed.

John from Tilbury stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in February 2019


Wonderful week

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Dec 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fifth stay in the Lodge. We wanted an early winter week away and just had to come back to the Mill. It was lovely staying at this time of the year and the gardens looked wonderful in the winter light. The Lodge was so very cosy. Thank you again James and Nick and Lewis for our fabulous chats it was so nice to see you all again. One highlight was seeing the Christmas lights being switched on in Harleston. Back again in the summer xxxx

Alison from Whitby stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in November 2018


40th birthday celebration

Review submitted on Tue, 30 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Beautiful place, owners are very friendly and helpful. My mother in law suffered a stroke earlier in the year and Nick and James were fantastic making sure she had everything she needed in the lodge.


Jenny from Southminster stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in October 2018


Midweek Stay

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Oct 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second visit to Mendham Mill, fantastic location very peaceful and relaxing, the lodge is a fantastic cottage from a great Lay out to a private walled garden, we would definetly stay here again. Thanks James and Nick for making us feel welcomed. See you soon John & Linda

John from Tilbury stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in October 2018


Doesn’t get much better than this

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Aug 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is our second time at Mendham Mill. First rate accommodation and facilities. James and Nick once again so friendly and welcoming. Always helpful. The setting is beautiful with opportunities to canoe along the River Waveney. Chances to explore The coast but who would want to with these beautiful surroundings! We will definitely be back.

Mark from Oundle stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2018


Delightful

Review submitted on Sun, 15 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our fourth stay in as many years. This shows how much we enjoy our time spent at the Mill and in the Lodge. Another wonderful two weeks of relaxation and peace with amazing weather. The Mill is amazing and is a huge credit to the owners James and Nick whose inspiration and love of their home shines through everything. They are also always willing to help or chat and we always look forward to that part of our stay. A big thank you for all our chats this year to Nick James Lewis and Branni. A swim in the river is top on my list for next year. See you all then xxxx

Alison from Whitby stayed at The Lodge for 14 nights in June 2018


Absolutely Idyllic place

Review submitted on Sun, 08 Jul 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Amazing. Accommodation perfect. Hosts fantastic
Have been quite a few times and never disappoints.


Sharone from Southend-on-sea stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


Recent stay

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Jun 2018
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We recently had a lovely week at Mendham Mill, as always friendly, very comfortable & weather v kind

Viv from Newmarket stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


A happy holiday

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Jun 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Fantastic place to relax and unwind wildlife and scenery lovely nick and James were lovely hosts always there to help will be going back again in the future love Lynda Davy and ben

Lynda from Jarrow stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2018


A perfect week

Review submitted on Fri, 11 May 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is a comfortable self catering accommodation in excellent condition. The Mill is in a quiet location, full of wildlife and tranquil. Both Nick and James,the owners, were excellent and very helpful. For anybody staying a paddle down the River Waveney in one the canoes is a must.

Jean from Northampton stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in May 2018


Perfect place for a very relaxing holiday in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Thu, 05 Apr 2018
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is an idyllic spot whatever the weather! The Lodge is very comfortable and the owners are extremely welcoming.

Rosie from Deal stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in March 2018


Interesting location, well-appointed cottage.

Review submitted on Tue, 26 Dec 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
One feels welcomed by the owners and quickly 'at home' in the cottage where the beds and seating are very comfortable and the kitchen well-equipped. The well kept grounds are perfect for a stroll and one can spend ages watching the wild fowl on the mill stream. A very enjoyable stay.

Guest from Market Rasen stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in December 2017


A nice break

Review submitted on Fri, 13 Oct 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Absolutley loved staying at the Lodge. Nick and James were very nice and make you feel very welcome. The lodge was very nice, spacious and comfortable. The garden was to die for as we have 2 dogs who loved it. Totally relaxing break knowing the dogs were safe and couldnt escape the garden. We will be returning in the future.

Richard from Giltbrook stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


Outstanding

Review submitted on Sat, 30 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for a week in the Lodge. The cottage was clean, very well appointed and the private walled garden was a big bonus - we took our dog with us and the garden is huge and completely secure, so she could run around to her heart's content, but it's a lovely spot without dog as well! The shared grounds are also very nice and the whole place is just so peaceful, you can't help but relax. The owners James and Nick are very welcoming too. We will definitely return.

Adrian from South Croydon stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2017


Peace and Beauty

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Mendham Mill and our first in The Lodge.
What a comfortable home from home! There was everything we needed and more.
We were blessed with good weather this time and the pleasure of opening the door on to the garden in the morning and seeing the mist on the lawn and all the lovely trees and colour was a joy.
We visited some lovely places and explored off the beaten tracks.
Thank you to Nick (James was away) for making our stay such a lovely one. He was always there for queries, a catch up chat and useful information.
We hope to make a return trip next year.


Brenda from Newark stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in September 2017


The Lodge

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent accommodation in a beautiful surround. The welcome made us feel at home and relaxed. The Lodge was very well equipped and we wanted for nothing. At times we had difficulty getting our Teacup Yorkie to come in as he couldn't stop exploring the wonderful walled garden. Our only mistake was going for a short break so we will be back next year for a full week so that we can take greater advantage of the surrounding area. Thank you.

Martin from Aylesbury stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in September 2017


Returning holiday maker with dogs.

Review submitted on Fri, 15 Sep 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Another very peaceful holiday spent at Mendham Mill. Weather not very kind but the welcome and feel of The Lodge made up for the weather. Dogs, as usual, had a lovely time in the secure garden and also enjoyed the free runs on the nearby field. Love the secret mowed paths between meadows. The gardens are an absolute credit to Nick and Lewis, keep meaning to ask Nick names of some of the flowers but forget. Good fishing, nothing big but plentiful. Will be returning to this piece of tranquility. Nick and James thank you again.

Viv from Newmarket stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2017


The Lodge

Review submitted on Sat, 02 Sep 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Wonderful accommdation, everything is there very home from home. it's our second year. Ideal for children and dogs as it has a large wall gardens. Owners are on site and are friendly and very helpful. Hope to be back next year.

Linda from Stanford Le Hope stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2017


It just gets better and better

Review submitted on Wed, 26 Jul 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our 3rd stay in the Lodge in the same number of years, we love it that much. We love relaxing in the Lodge and garden and also around the Mill's gardens and river. James and Nick are really lovely people whose love and maintenance of the Mill is wonderful. Such joy to be able to stay once again. A big thank you both and to Lewis and Branni for being so welcoming and for the great chats. Already booked for next year.

Alison from Sleights stayed at The Lodge for 14 nights in June 2017


The most wonderful weekend!

Review submitted on Mon, 29 May 2017
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge was perfect for our family of four and our dog, with its lovely, large enclosed garden so we didn't have to worry about the dog and we played a lot of football. Obviously we had amazing weather which adds to any break away! The highlight of the weekend was going down the river in the canoes, it was wonderful and so peaceful, watching the swans and cows as we went by and barely saw another person.
We went to Sir Alfred Munnings for tea on the first night and had a good meal and had a Chinese takeaway last night, loads of food!
Can't fault the Lodge, everything provided, from lovely bed linen, soft fluffy towels, cushions for the garden chairs, excellent WIFI, amazing garden, all sent in a beautiful and peaceful location.
So glad we discovered this little gem xx


Lydia from Needham Market stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in May 2017


Recent mid-week stay at The Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 12 May 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Once again a lovely break at Mendham Mill, so relaxing, the weather was very kind, Dogs in heaven too

Viv from Newmarket stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in May 2017


Just a one worded review from us

Review submitted on Tue, 14 Mar 2017
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
FAULTLESS. Thank you so much James and Nick for letting us return to your magical secret location. See you in the Autumn.

Claire from Aldeburgh stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in March 2017


Another lovely week at Mendham.

Review submitted on Sat, 22 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Never disappointing and the dogs think they have gone to heaven. It was good to see Nick and James again, both looking well and as helpful and cheerful as usual. Arnold had good fishing (no blanks) always a good thing. We returned home relaxed and refreshed. Looking forward to our next visit.

Viv from Suffolk stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in October 2016


Peace and quiet at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Mon, 10 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Warm and welcoming hosts, a picturesque setting and a location ideal for exploring coast and countryside. The accommodation at The Lodge was excellent in every respect with the beautiful walled garden as a bonus. So enjoyable and relaxing.

Paul from Doncaster stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in October 2016


A little piece of heaven!

Review submitted on Tue, 04 Oct 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed for 3 days and I wish it could have been for 3 weeks. Warm, clean, comfortable, relaxing, peaceful and set in simply stunning grounds. Wonderful walks around the village or slightly further afield - our black lab loved it. A beautiful sun trap of a garden for me to relax in and the dog to play in while my husband fished - access to the river just through the gate at the bottom of the garden. James and Nick were friendly, helpful and approachable and work incredibly hard to provide such an idyllic setting for their guests year round. Like most of the visitors to The Lodge, we shall most definitely be coming back again and, frankly, I can't wait!!

Julia from Suffolk stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in September 2016


Family Holiday in the Lodge in Aug 2016

Review submitted on Sat, 03 Sep 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed in the Lodge for 4 days in Aug 2016. 2 adults & 2 boys aged 7 & 8. The whole experience was fantastic. As a former employee of VisitBritain I'm a stickler for good customer service & we received it from start to finish. Nick & James had thought of everything from putting some milk in the fridge (& chocolate biscuits!) for when we arrived, to helping us into the canoe for our first trip along the river. The gardens & scenery were exceptional & our boys loved canoeing along the river. My husband even had to take them again on our last morning before checking out! You really feel the passion that both Nick & James have for both the buildings themselves & for making their visitors' holidays special. They will leave you alone if you so wish or they're happy to talk if you have any queries. Having worked in the tourist industry for many years I am often left disappointed by holidays due to the lack of detail & customer service. However I cannot recommend Mendham Mill highly enough. I can now see why on all the reviews I read before booking that people come back year after year. I certainly hope to visit again!

Beth from Halifax stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


A relaxing break in beautiful surroundings

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had the most amazing time celebrating our 1 year wedding anniversary. The Lodge provides everything u need and more. Nick and James are extremely lovely hosts and we are so grateful that they share this hidden treasure. We are very sad to leave but are going home relaxed and refreshed. We will definitely return.

Stacey from Ipswich stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in August 2016


What a little gem !

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Aug 2016
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have loved every minute here. Great location to explore many great attractions and villages. Accommodation was comfortable and had everything we needed, the coffee and biscuits an added treat. The use of the boats was a brilliant and fun addition. Our hosts were warm, friendly and helpful and it was lovely to find somewhere that our dog felt so at home too. Thank you for an amazing time we wish we could have stayed longer.

Anna from High Wycombe stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


2 weeks in heaven!

Review submitted on Tue, 16 Aug 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
What a magical holiday we have had at The Lodge. The garden is perfect for humans and dogs! Lilly,our miniature schnauzer, had a wonderful time, as did we. Nick and James are the perfect hosts - loved interrupting Nick in the morning when he was laid out on the sun lounger, drinking his tea and listening to his music! Sorry Nick! Hubby, Alan, enjoyed his fishing when he wasn't relaxing and I walked the legs off Lilly. We walked the country roads twice a day as the footpaths were lost under long grass! We adopted The Kings Head at Brockdish as our local - food is lovely, very relaxed atmosphere and is dog friendly. If you like pizzas and Italian food, that is the pub for you. Southwold and Aldborough are easily reached. Mendham Mill is a brilliant location for visiting Suffolk and the accommodation has everything you could wish for. We've already booked for a week next year.

Bonita from Norwich stayed at The Lodge for 14 nights in July 2016


Outstanding place

Review submitted on Sat, 13 Aug 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
3.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Mendham Mill has to be up there with the best, you're surrounded by outstanding natural beauty, beautifully maintained gardens and grounds. The owners work hard on keeping it looking this way. The fishing on the river that flows through the grounds is great. Perch, Chub, Roach & large pike are all available. The walled garden of the lodge was perfect for our dog to bound around without getting into trouble, and the kids loved the rope swing by the river.

What a place ...loved it.


Duncan from Birmingham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2016


A great place to stay and doggy heaven!

Review submitted on Fri, 29 Jul 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We wanted a relaxing holiday and that is exactly what we got. The accommodation and environment was lovely and even better because it had its own walled garden, so our dog could roam safely. The hosts were very welcoming and the weather was absolutely perfect, so a definite success in every way. Fishing was an added bonus and we would definitely recommend it as a holiday venue.

Pam from Holmfirth stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


WONDERFUL

Review submitted on Mon, 18 Jul 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second visit and we treated ourselves to 2 weeks. The Lodge is perfect for us and we made good use of the stunning garden. A stay at Mendham Mill is a wonderful experience. The grounds are delightful and the Mill and cottages beautiful. We are made to feel so at home by the owners James and Nick who are extremely generous with their time when you want to have a chat or if you have any questions. Lots of places to go and visit in the area and none too far away. However always lovely to get back to the peace and tranquility of the Mill. A credit to you all, James, Nick, Lewis and Branni. Already booked for another stay next year - looking forward to it already.

Alison from Whitby stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in July 2016


This was our third visit

Review submitted on Mon, 11 Jul 2016
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
As dog owners the Lodge is an excellent venue with security at all times. The friendship of Nick and James makes you feel like family visitors rather than paying guests. We are looking forward to our fourth visit to this beautiful area of the country.

John from Chesterfield stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Beautiful Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Mon, 13 Jun 2016
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
An exceptionally lovely setting to enjoy a peaceful holiday. The Lodge having the benefit of a walled garden is ideal for dog lovers. Nick and James were very friendly and helpful.

Nick from stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2016


Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Thu, 02 Jun 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Just spent a lot of time describing the beauty and comfort of the Mill. Only to see my efforts disappear to where ever these reviews go. Never mind.
We love the lodge, the location and our wonderful hosts Nick and James. Will we go again? Yes! It is an idyllic location.de Looking 4ward to next year. Helen and Jane.


Jane from Oswestry stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in May 2016


A HAPPY COUPLE WHEN STAYING AT THE MILL

Review submitted on Thu, 28 Apr 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
HAVE STAYED AT MENDHAMMILL 17 TIMES SO THIS SPEAKS FOR ITSELF ,ALWAYS HAVE A GREAT TIME NICK AND JAMES ARE VERY NICE PEOPLE HELPFUL IN EVERY WAY GOOD FISHING AND GOOD LAKES CLOSE BY .READY FOR NEXT HOLIDAY AT THE MILL

Peter from Nottingham stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in April 2016


Highly recommended!

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Mar 2016
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is a place for total relaxation, it is beautifully situated, and the countryside around offers excellent walking and bird life. It is also within easy access of the coast.

Rosie from Deal stayed at The Lodge for 9 nights in March 2016


Christmas break

Review submitted on Mon, 28 Dec 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
4.0
It was the perfect size for all 12 of us as we took the millers house and lodge . It was cosey around the dining table but it worked well
Both houses were very well equipped although I did bring a few home comforts eg tablecloths etc
It was the perfect Christmas !!


Eileen from Tonbridge stayed at The Lodge for 5 nights in December 2015


Excellent short stay

Review submitted on Mon, 02 Nov 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We had a lovely weekend staying at The Lodge at Mendham Mill. The walled garden was perfect for our dog to play around in and for our 15 month old to explore. The real selling point for us, and the reason why we will certainly try to return, is the beautifully tranquil gardens and outlook towards the countryside.


Christopher from Newmarket stayed at The Lodge for 3 nights in October 2015


The ideal holiday

Review submitted on Sun, 18 Oct 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our week at Mendham MIll started with a very warm welcome.

The Mill is located in fantastic surrounds and staying at the Lodge has the benefit of a marvelous walled garden - a real hit with our dogs!

It is a great base for exploring Suffolk and Norfolk, providing clean, comfortable and relaxing accommodation.

Nick and James are great hosts and always helpful in suggesting what to do and where to eat.

We, and our dogs, have no hesitation in recommending this location which is picturesque, peaceful and very pleasant.

This was our second year here and we will return next year.


Jutta from Corbridge stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Heavenly location

Review submitted on Tue, 29 Sep 2015
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
3.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Lovely cottage with a half acre garden which everyone enjoyed, especially the dogs! Such a beautiful and peaceful area, which is great for wildlife. Fishing, practically at the end of the garden. The hosts are very friendly & helpful. Some great places to visit right on the doorstep, with Framlingham Castle just 30mins down the road. We were there for our sons first birthday and will be returning when he's a little older so he can enjoy the garden more.

Melanie from Glemsford stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


mendam mill

Review submitted on Wed, 16 Sep 2015
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
3.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
been going for 7 years and been happy all the time nick and james are perfect hosts and the mill is very homely fishing is good but if large fish is wanted there are lakes close by .shoping is good at harlston.

Peter from Nottingham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Marvellous Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sun, 13 Sep 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our first visit to this lovely peaceful Mill. Our stay in the Lodge was perfect for us and our two little dogs. We all enjoyed our stay so much we have already booked for another week next year. A very special place owned and run by lovely people.

Alison from Whitby stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2015


Another great week in Norfolk

Review submitted on Fri, 04 Sep 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our second visit to mendham mill was all that we expected! Great location, great accomodation, a fantastic week to relax and unwind. Good fun in the canoes and a few relaxing hours fishing at the river - didn't catch many this time but didn't care a bit!

Ian from Darlington stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Tim, Nancy, Ruby and the dogs stay at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 28 Aug 2015
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have visited Mendham Mill many times and will certainly be back.
Nick and James are very accomodating and the location is great.
Home from home.



Guest from Guiseley stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


another excellent holiday at the Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 21 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our fifth stay at the Lodge. It was thoroughly relaxing and completely enjoyable. Mendham is a great place from which to explore both Suffolk and Norfolk. The Lodge is very well appointed and the Mill as a whole is beautiful. James and Nick are excellent hosts. The Lodge's large walled garden makes it perfect for dog owners. We love it.

Val from Weybridge stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2015


Didn't Want to Leave!

Review submitted on Wed, 19 Aug 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We stayed at The Lodge for two weeks and enjoyed staying here so very much that we wanted to stay for the rest of the summer.. The Lodge is bright, clean, comfortable and with all mod cons too. We arrived to find a full caddy of Yorkshire tea, sugar, a packet of coffee, a pint of milk plus some delicious biscuits. There were plenty of condiments, kitchen rolls, cleaning products, toilet rolls, kitchen foil etc. The best supplied property we have stayed in, and the most luxurious large towels! The beds were also very comfortable. The half acre walled garden is delightful, sunny and peaceful and our greyhound loved it! The grounds at Mendham Mill are lovely and well-kept and, once again, so very peaceful. We enjoyed a spot of fishing with plenty of species to catch in beautiful surroundings with pretty kingfishers and dragonflies. The owners Nick and James can only be described as the perfect hosts and are what makes this accommodation extra special. They work very hard to ensure Mendham Mill is kept in excellent condition and provided everything we could want and more. They are friendly and helpful but not intrusive. We felt that nothing was too much trouble and that we could contact them if we needed to and not feel we were being a nuisance. In addition, a fresh fish van calls once a week with the most delicious fish and Nick was on hand to give me some helpful advice about cooking some tuna.

The location is well away from busy roads and it was lovely not to hear traffic noise. However, the property is only a few minutes drive from Harleston which is a lovely small town with everything you could need and with a spacious free car park.
Mendham Mill is quite central and we drove easily to the coast and the surrounding areas. We don't normally write such a long review but felt that The Lodge at Mendham Mill deserved it.


Guest from Maidstone stayed at The Lodge for 14 nights in July 2015


A relaxing short break at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 10 Apr 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We abandoned our plans to explore Norfolk because the lodge was so comfortable, beautiful and peaceful that we felt no need to go elsewhere during our stay.
We relaxed in the gardens, paddled around the water meadows in a canoe and even saw a Kingfisher. Our hosts, James and Nick, were welcoming, helpful and friendly and have made Mendham Mill a very special place to stay.


Marion from Swavesey stayed at The Lodge for 4 nights in April 2015


Comfortable, well equipped cottage in beautiful peaceful surroundings with charming, landlords

Review submitted on Fri, 27 Mar 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The accommodation was clean, well equipped and warm. The walled garden made managing our dog very easy. The location is beautiful, tranquil and well off the beaten track. Our landlords were charming and available but not at all intrusive.
We enjoyed a most memorable week on the Suffolk/Norfolk border.


Guest from Market Harborough stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in March 2015


A truly wonderful place to stay

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Feb 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Our stay was wonderful, everything we needed was catered for.

Even in February the scenery is stunning, from majestic Swans swimming the river to Kingfishers diving for small fry.

A truly idyllic break.

Thank you.


Guest from Stonehaven stayed at The Lodge for 5 nights in February 2015


Christmas at Mendham

Review submitted on Tue, 06 Jan 2015
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This was our second stay at Mendham over the Christmas period and as before we had a wonderful welcome from James and Nick.

Everything that we needed was there, even an enclosed garden for the dog. We were able to entertain friends who live locally but apart from that we were more than content to wander in the grounds and relax in the comfortable Lodge


Guest from Maldon stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in December 2014


October break

Review submitted on Fri, 24 Oct 2014
4.7
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Excellent as always. Perhaps the TV package could be upgraded The only annoying thing is this review why do I need to write more than I want to?. This is impertinent

Raymond from Edinburgh stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in October 2014


The Lodge

Review submitted on Fri, 17 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have stayed at Mendham Mill on more than one occasion, which obviously means we like it. The accommodation is extremely comfortable, clean and homely. Nick and James are very friendly and helpful are always there if you need them. My husband enjoys the fishing which is good (no blanks) and just a short walk through one of the gates in the walled garden of The Lodge. The grounds are lovely to walk around and very well kept.

The Lodge is very dog friendly and our two thought they had gone to doggy heaven with the half acre garden to run around and also the field they can have free runs. We have also visited the coast when staying which isn't too far away.

Harleston is a nice little town with everything you need including some of the best fish and chips we have had not from the seaside.

We will be returning as we need to recharge our batteries from time to time and The Lodge is just the place.


Guest from Newmarket stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in October 2014


'Home from Home'

Review submitted on Wed, 15 Oct 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Tim, Ruby me (Nancy) and our dogs Freddie and Rosie have stayed many times in 'The Lodge' and it always feels like home. A relaxing stay :)

Fishing was great for Tim and the dogs were very tired and slept for a week when they got back home to Yorkshire!

There are plenty of places to visit and eat out but we have done all that and so just like to potter in the garden and tootle around the grounds because before you know it, its time to leave and get on with our busy lives again.

Thank you Nick and James xxxxx


Guest from Guiseley stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


one of the best cottage holidays experienced

Review submitted on Sun, 05 Oct 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Brillimnt location, friendly hosts, very dog friendly, most relaxing holiday ever. The grounds are stunning, cottage very comfortable with secure walled garden ideal for children and dogs.
Thank you James and Nick


Guest from Leigh on Sea stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


The ideal place to relax

Review submitted on Fri, 26 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
This is one of our favourite holiday locations. The Lodge provides all that one could wish for comfort and relaxation. It is well appointed with a wonderful walled garden which our dogs love amid a beautiful setting. The owners are very welcoming and provide much local information as well as warm hospitality. We have stayed several times and will certainly be returning in the future.

Guest from Fareham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


A very enjoyable stay in 'The Lodge'

Review submitted on Fri, 19 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We have just spent an exceptional holiday in the company of Nick and James in The Lodge cottage, with the addition of a very delightful walled garden that was just right for our dog ''Jess''. The gate in the wall opens out onto the banks of the River Waverly where I spent many hours of catching Roach, Perch small Chub and varying sizes of Pike, the Pike I was informed have been caught up to 25lbs and I certainly saw some very big ones. The cottage is well situated for touring the areas of the South of Norfolk as well as the North of Suffolk with many good Public Houses in the vicinity. Although only just home we are already looking forward to the week we have already booked for next July. Thanks to everyone in the area that made us feel so very welcome.
Pat & John Lewis


Guest from Chesterfield stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


mendam mill

Review submitted on Wed, 17 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
have stayed at the mill twice a a year for six years and still think its a perfect place to stay . both nick and james are great people and very helpful in every way

Guest from Nottingham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in September 2014


A fantastic vacation in Suffolk England

Review submitted on Sun, 07 Sep 2014
5.0
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Great facilities, brilliant location, and wonderful hosts.
The grounds and gardens are immaculate.
A fantastic holiday made perfect by Nick & James the hosts.
Look forward to another great two weeks next year.


Guest from Billericay stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


One week at the Lodge, Mendham Mill.

Review submitted on Wed, 27 Aug 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
4.0
Location
5.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Stayed at the Lodge for a week in August 2014. Family of two adults and two children aged eleven and nine.

Beautiful location and setting, we thought the lodge with its walled garden was delightful. The children had a great time playing in the grounds.

As novice anglers, we had a fantastic time down by the river most evenings, trying to catch the fish! Also had great fun in the canoes!


Guest from Darlington stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in August 2014


The Lodge at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Fri, 01 Aug 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
We spent a glorious week at Mendham Mill, staying in The Lodge with our 17 year old son. The Lodge is very well equipped and extremely comfortable from the beds to the linen and towels and great shower. The living area opens out on to a huge private walled garden which is set within extensive ŵell-maintained grounds with the river and ponds providing the main focus. Utterly peaceful and beautiful - perfect for a relaxing week. Our son took full advantage of the opportunity to fish and landed a 5lb pike which he was very chuffed with. Also took the canoes for a meander along the river. Lots of wildlife - river is teeming with electric blue damselflies; saw deer, egrets, hares. Village pub within walking distance and good food shopping in the local village of Harleston. And James and Nick are perfect hosts. Actually didn't really explore the local area as much as I thought we would, simply because the weather was wonderful and allowed us to enjoy the beauty and tranquility of the grounds.

Guest from Edinburgh stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in July 2014


The Lodge at Mendham Mill

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
The Lodge is a very good property in an idyllic location. Inside the layout of lounge/diner, seperate kitchen, 2 bedrooms and luxurious shower room worked well for us. We enjoyed the outside space to the full - both our own private, large walled garden and the extensive and beautiful communal areas. Our hosts were both charming and helpful. We.found lots to do in the Waveney valley and the surrounding countryside. This is certainly a wonderful part of England. We had a great holiday at the Lodge - so did the dogs! "We will be back".

Guest from Eastleigh stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in May 2014


Amazing place

Review submitted on Sat, 28 Jun 2014
4.8
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
4.0
Comfort
5.0
Condition
5.0
Location
5.0
Value
5.0
Customer
Service
5.0
Nick and James were just the perfect hosts, nothing was too much trouble. Fantastic recommendations on day trips and places to eat. The local village has everything to offer with smiley faces. The location was beautiful, with breathtaking scenery right on your doorstep. The only trouble with Mendham Mill is that you just want to return. Thanks again Nick and James for a very special holiday. Also perfect for doggies.

Claire from Aldeburgh stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2014


have been going here foe several years and will be for some time

Review submitted on Thu, 26 Jun 2014
4.5
out of 5

Guest recommends this property
Cleanliness
5.0
Comfort
4.0
Condition
5.0
Location
4.0
Value
4.0
Customer
Service
5.0
nick and james are helpful in all ways relaxing place to stay its very near several places of interest like sothwold and garden centres like brooms of bressingham

Guest from Nottingham stayed at The Lodge for 7 nights in June 2014